Snakes

Submitted: Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 05:59
ThreadID: 98918 Views:4425 Replies:6 FollowUps:20
This poor fella was just in the wrong place at the wrong time as reported by the Courier mail this morning.

Taipan kills worker in Central Queensland

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:01

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:01
Poor bloke. I wonder where he was bitten? I always where high sided boots and long pants when walking though shrub. Also where gloves when collecting firewood.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 498173

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:19

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 09:19
Lyndon,
I would imagine he would have had long pants as he worked for Ergon.
I think they even have to wear long sleeve shirts also. He may not have high sided boots though.

Being in Lantana he may not have even seen the snake of felt the strike or strikes.

RA.
FollowupID: 774152

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:47

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 10:47
RA,

I wouldn't want to meet a taipan anywhere, let alone in thick lantana!!!

The few I have seen had more attitude than Mike Tyson on ICE. Really touchy reptiles.

Even wondered if he might have a had a heart attack too, especially if he did see the offending snake. If he'd known he was bitten, you'd think he'd yell out and alert his mates.

Saw a doco some years back, and it was a "comparison" of the Coastal and Inland taipans. Pretty interesting, and showed the different modus operandi of each, to kill their principle diet......rats. The coastal bloke is extremely fast, multiple strikes 'cause their prey is much bigger than the Long-Haired Plague Rat, consumed by the Inland Taipan. With the venom potency of the inland bloke, he's like Clint Eastwood, with a .44 magnum!!!

Saw a large specimen in Diamantina Lakes N/Park, one day. He was on the track, and he didn't move. I sat in the toyota, and wisely didn't get out. Just sorry I didn't have a camera with me at the time.

Pretty sad for this bloke and his family and mates,

AnswerID: 498185

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:17

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:17
They believe he died almost instantly. It sounds like he was bitten and would have been disabled very very quickly, hence not giving himself a chance to yell out.
FollowupID: 774163

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:29

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:29
Yep! Here is an interesting snippet about the only person to survive a Taipan bite without the aid of antivenene.

The only person ever to survive a taipan bite without antivenom was a pastor, George Rosendale, who was bitten in 1949 at the age of 19 as he sorted timber near a church at Hopevale, near Cooktown, in far north Queensland.
He lost consciousness after 15 minutes and was taken 50km to Cooktown on the back of a truck.
A visiting doctor on holiday from Victoria treated him, and despite pronouncing him dead four times, managed to repeatedly revive him.
He was taken to Cairns Hospital where he recovered after about two weeks, but he lost his sense of taste for six months and turned grey at 21.

FollowupID: 774165

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:31

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 11:31
Wow sounds like God may have taken a liking to Pastor George. Not enough to let him keep his youthful hair.! LOL
FollowupID: 774166

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 20:40

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 20:40
A bloke here survived a bite from one a couple of years back. Happens to be the local wires snake catcher and breeder, who is also allergic to antivenom.

From memory the the bloke who opened Gosford reptile park is also allergic, and survived a bite.
FollowupID: 774205

Follow Up By: carnaby - Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 01:39

Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 01:39
[img]
[/img]Check out this little bugger i found near cooktown
FollowupID: 774347

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 21:22

Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 21:22
You're a brave man, Carnaby :-)))

The stick still hasn't grown long enough yet, for me to get near one of those buggers. Give me a Mulga snake anyday!!

SDG,
The bloke who opened the Gosford park was Frank Worrell. Think he might have gone to the big snake park in the sky, some years back. Saw him one day, in one of the snake enclosures, with shorts & gum boots on, chipping weeds. Snakes everywhere, and he's cool as.

They did heaps of work with funnel-webs too. Used to send all the venom down to CSL in Victoria.

FollowupID: 774392

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:11

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:11
When doing a bit of gold detecting in areas where the spinifex is fairly dense I always wore fairly high boots. I kicked aside a clump one day and got the shock of my life when a death adder came out looking for a fight. Now I wear the boots and a pair of gators (not the snappy snappy type..lol) made of canvas. I wonder if I need a pair made of something a bit stronger. I know snakes like the death adder don't have quite the venom potency of the taipan but in a remote area they can still kill.

AnswerID: 498198

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:22

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:22
Pop,
Adders would have to be one of the most awesome snakes when it comes to spinning and striking.

They maybe slow but if you are behind them they can strike with awesome speed.

They might not have quite the same punch but I can assure you if bitten by one you will not want to have it happen again. Watched what happened to a work mate who was very healthy and after he came back from the bite he looked like death warmed up.

All the best,
RA.
FollowupID: 774194

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 22:17

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 22:17
the other thing with death adders is (for those that may need it ) they dont get oviously aggressive and basically "tell you to not get any closer" like most other snakes will

I approached on on a road to get some picks and rather than rear up like a brown and perhaps give a mock strike in my direction to tell me to keep back

all it did was go from fully stretched out to contract its self to a loose "S" ready to strike if I got close enough
FollowupID: 774276

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 22:39

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 22:39
typical brown snake defensive pose

death adder in defensive pose

FollowupID: 774278

Reply By: The Bantam - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:38

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 13:38
I know this is an individual case....but I understand the snake population has both had a bit of a growth spurt withe the breaking of the drought and there may be more of them than there have been where humans can encounter them.

So we should be pretty carefull.

AnswerID: 498200

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:21

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:21
G'day Rockape

Your Taipan post is certainly interesting and eye opening and it should stand as a warning to anyone who works in the outdoors.

Australia is home to some of the most venomous and at certain times in their season, very aggressive snakes.

The Taipan is possibly the most venomous of them all and even if antivenene is administered quickly enough, recovery of the patient can be a long and problematic porcess as the Taipan is a rapid striker and with each individual strike (bite) the invenomation is increased (more bang for it's bite).

I had the fortune in meeting Mr Ram Chandra, when I lived and worked in the Mackay region many years ago, Mr Chandra was known as the "Taipan man" and had been on the business end of these snakes and several others a few times in his life, he barely survived the snake bites but I beleive he lived well into his seventies.

Mr Chandra used to run educational shows on snakes for many years, I'm not sure if any of his family continued with the shows, but one of his sons was a first class crane operator with Walter Wright.

Safe Travels :
FollowupID: 774193

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:30

Friday, Nov 09, 2012 at 19:30
Joe,
someone we both know is back in the west and will be starting at a new mine near you. She will be the boss cockie of the electrical mill department.

As for the Mr Ram Chandra he was awesome and how he survived I will never know. No they didn't continue and I remember one of his sons ended up on boats.

Hope the cyclone season is quiet for you,

RA.
FollowupID: 774195

Follow Up By: Shaver - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 13:42

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 13:42
Funny to hear again of Ram Chandra ! I can remember his shows when I lived in the Mackay region in the 50's. It used to open my eyes. The silly part of it was we used to on occasion (10 year old at time) bail up Taipans, throw rocks at it untill it got agro & came at us & we would then take off at 100mph home. The things kid's do, and we did'nt even wear shoes !
FollowupID: 774242

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:13

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:13
I'me expecting a spate of snake incidents and fatalities...we have come out of 15 pluss years of drought and we are now in a time where ther is a....UM....less stringet parental outlook...we also have a considerable increase in people traveling and recreating in rural areas.

People have generally not been properly schooled about snakes and are oblivious to the risks of charging arround in the bush.

Personally I don't go far even in my back yard without boots and long trousers.
My brother who lives in snake country says he wont walk where he has not mowed or can not clearly see the ground.
Go walking with a mate of mine and he looks suspicioulsy at every stick in case its a snake.

Some may say that is over the top...but when we have 3 of the top 5 most dangerous snakes in the world...a little paranoya might save a few lives.

Certainly not wise to go charging off into the bush bare legged and careless.

FollowupID: 774248

Follow Up By: Shaver - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:39

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:39
Strangely enough if you visit most of the farm areas around Mackay etc, including my cousin's, they still wear shorts & no shoes. I visited the old homestead & the current owner was wearing shorts & no shoes. In fact at the time he mentioned how a Taipan had come out of the old shed in hot pusuit of a rat & went straight between his legs. We never thought about snakes as a problem to worry about. We used to chase the eels into the shallows of the creek before the Monsoons & throw them onto the bank, until one day the Cousin yelled out snake ! I looked down to see a Black Snake jammed under the rock I had straddled trying to strike my crotch. He could easily got me on either side of my leg & it was 15 miles to a QATB & 75 to Mackay. I don't think I would have made it ! I think back now of how silly I was, even trying to pick up a so called Blue Tongue, that turned out to be a Death Adder, saved by a timely warning from my Uncle.
FollowupID: 774249

Follow Up By: Shaver - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:48

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 15:48
Just a short add on. The main things we worried about was getting stung by a Moonlighter or Stinging Nettle !
FollowupID: 774250

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:28

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 16:28
Shaver,
I know what you are talking about with stinging nettle. Bugger it hurts.

I never wore a pair of shoes until I went to high school and didn't I put on a turn about having to wear them. One thing if a snake had bitten me on the soul of the foot he would have broken it's fangs.

The cockies here in Mackay still lose between 2 and 3 dogs a week to snakes during the cutting season.

RA.
FollowupID: 774254

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:38

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 17:38
Bantam,

".......and recreating in rural areas."

Half their luck, mate.....half their luck! :-)))

FollowupID: 774259

Follow Up By: Shaver - Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 08:28

Sunday, Nov 11, 2012 at 08:28
Rockape,

Yeh your right about the feet, people would not believe how hard they get. Any bad cuts were treated with a bit of Peroxide & a bath in Condies Crystal . Always remember the Raleigh's man coming around with his medicine to sell & still remember the vile taste of the cough medicine.I spent 20 years as a Line Faultman for Telecom in some of the worst snake areas, plenty of run in's but thankfully no bites.
FollowupID: 774293

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 21:11

Monday, Nov 12, 2012 at 21:11
Shaver,

Some years back, a group of blokes were going into the Overlander pub, in the Isa, and one of them, who didn't wear shoes much, if at all, felt something "hit" his foot. Back then the large carpark, and the pub were on the edge of town, and no doubt the area had a few visitors, especially at night.

After a couple of sherbets he was starting to feel a bit ordinary. They took him to hospital, but if my memory serves me well, he later died.

The nurses/doctors said it would have been impossible to visually tell if he'd been bitten, because of all the cracks and callouses on his feet. Think a brown snake was the culprit.

Yeah, I remember the Raleigh's man....that's dating us a bit, I'd reckon. :-)))

FollowupID: 774389

Reply By: Member - Rich - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 18:27

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 18:27
May be there should be campaign on snake awareness from the government. There seems to be one for every thing else.

I reckon first aid and this sort of thing should be mandatory subjects at school.

I speak from total ignorance of what to do in emergency situations.

I nearly stood on a bloody big brown earlier in the year, would have got me if I hadn't jumped a world record (or that is what my mate and I believe) but was close. We we doing a bit of a reckie for a walk in the bush and was not paying attention.

I must admit I would not have known what to do even if I had bandages etc.

Since then I have looked up what to do and bought a bit of gear to take with me when bush walking but still not confident. One thing there is a lot of differing opinions of what to do when bitten by a snake - re how to apply the bandages. I got some very good advice from people who were supposed to know but had different opinions. Both may have been correct - I still do not know for sure.

Unfortunately I doubt any government will do any thing unless there are a lot more sad situations like this poor guy.

Rich

AnswerID: 498293

Reply By: Robtbob NSW - Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 20:11

Saturday, Nov 10, 2012 at 20:11
I've seen browns and red bellies just disappear into cracks in the ground. If I had not seen it I wouldn't believe it. No thongs in the bush for me.
AnswerID: 498301