Tim Flannery Warns of Endangered Species in National Parks

Submitted: Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 10:48
ThreadID: 99076 Views:5639 Replies:20 FollowUps:64
It can be worth listening to Tim Flannery's ABC interview here.

Tim Flannery is not a radical, he speaks commonsense

Reply By: Ray 3 - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:29

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:29
Debateable............Sometimes!
AnswerID: 498765

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:32

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:32
None of us are perfect Ray, especially me!

FollowupID: 774751

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:41

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 11:41
Hi Allan,
Yes he makes some good points in the interview - and he is one his home turf here so maybe worth taking notice of. Unfortunately the good doctor has lost a lot of the credibility that he formerly had (15 years ago) because of really OTT statements about climate change, weather patterns - of the scaremongering "its never going to rain again" variety.

The cynic in me wonders if perhaps he is trying to reposition himself onto safer ground?

Val.

AnswerID: 498767

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:42

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:42
Val, changing the subject can often be a good ruse. LOL

FollowupID: 774757

Reply By: Dust-Devil - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:02

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:02
It' is absolutely gobsmacking what one will expouse, say, rabbit on about etc etc etc, when one has their snout shoulders deep in the Federal Government tax payers dollar trough.
AnswerID: 498770

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:34

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:34
Tim Flannery is about as believable as Peter Garrett!!!
FollowupID: 774755

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:40

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:40
Well he looks more credible than Garrett.

FollowupID: 774756

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 14:12

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 14:12
Allan B

Yep! I will allow him that point. (LOL)
FollowupID: 774760

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:50

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 12:50
Flannery!!......Ha ha ha!!
I would not quote, link or associate myself with anything that man says.
Enough said.

AnswerID: 498772

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 16:43

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 16:43
I would not quote, link or associate myself with anything that is said on EO either.

I have worked out that most people on this site are either Google travellers or Google mechanics, most of the info on here these days can or has been Googled within seconds.

I happen to agree with every word he has said, I have witnessed a large amount of the things he has spoken about, I will go with the science, as opposed to the arm chair experts.

Tim Flannery believes in climate change and has science to back him up,Tony Abbott is a climate change denier and is backed up by Barnaby Joyce, and people on this site say that Tim has no credibility, you lot make me laugh that is why I look on this site, I use it for my daily laugh.

FollowupID: 774777

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:33

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:33
"I would not quote, link or associate myself with anything that is said on EO either"

Thanks for clearing that up, I guess Google helped you decide Flannery was credible.
I would believe anything you wanted me to believe if I was paid as much money as Flannery is paid.
Cash for comment, Gillard style!!

FollowupID: 774786

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:50

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:50
"Tim Flannery believes in climate change and has science to back him up"

In Tim Flannery's documentary - Two men in the top end - both Tim Flannery and John Doyle were sitting high up on an escarpment looking toward central Australia where Tim Flannery was explaining to John Doyle about the vast inland sea that once covered the majority of Australia. When John Doyle asked Tim what caused the vast inland sea to dissappear - Tim Flannery's exact words were " It was through a freak of nature John, a freak of nature "

Well I'm guessing that there must have been a " Lot of freaks of nature " over the years because we have had a lot of "Climate change " going on for at least a couple million years !

I wonder what caused all the ice, snow and glaciers to melt that covered planet earth for millions of years long before us humans were around driving V8 petrol guzzling cars and burning fossil fuels - must have been another " freak of nature "

I do my bit for the planet with recycling etc etc but some of these scientists are getting paid big money from the Government to come up with one sided statistics to scare us into believing that taxing big business etc will alter what has been happening with "climate change " for millions of years !

Happy Travelling - take your rubbish with you and leave nothing but footprints !

Gazz
FollowupID: 774789

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:06

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:06
No Gazz, no no no. You need to pay closer attention.
Tim was referring to it being Anastacia's fault.

FollowupID: 774791

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:09

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:09
Flannery has probably long since stopped worrying about sceptics who prefer ignorance over science. There's no convincing folk with closed minds irrespective of the subject.

Yes he has been guilty of some hyperbole and probably lost some cred as a result but picking Flannery up on a few throw away lines in any of the Two Men shows is more than a bit silly. The shows were light entertainment not scientific docos and a lot of the conversation was obviously ad hoc. I always thought he was a bit uncomfortable in those shows - he certainly isn't a natural a la Doyle, Palin, Rhys Jones and co. Few scientists are.
FollowupID: 774792

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:10

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:10
Ok then Gazz, just to keep the ball rolling, I'll chuck this one in..

FollowupID: 774793

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:43

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:43
Wow!! The World Bank and the UN agreeing with each other, fancy that!!
And it's reported on the ABC, why am I not surprised.

Next you'll be suggesting Al Gore is also credible.

FollowupID: 774798

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:42

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:42
Thanks Allan, very interesting. knowledgeable unlike some.

AnswerID: 498810

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 17:52
Flannery is paid $200,000 a year part time to be a mouthpiece for our current Socialist Federal Goverment. For that incentive, i would talk the same crap as he does!! Michael
AnswerID: 498818

Reply By: murranji - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:12

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:12
Tim Flannery.
Do you believe there are fairys in the botton of the garden ?
Lock up the country and let the ferrals have it .Keep ccommon sense out of the argument.!!
Give every doomsdayer a govt. job,forget about industry.farming,livestock.If you worry about the country stay in the city....
Cut it out..
AnswerID: 498822

Reply By: Bazooka - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:18

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:18
Extract from the Quarterly Essay.
AnswerID: 498823

Reply By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:30

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:30
I wonder who's paying the world bank? they seem to think were in trouble

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-11-19/world-bank-issues-global-warming-warning/4379634

AnswerID: 498825

Follow Up By: Member - Noldi (WA) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:32

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:32
Sorry Allan see you beat me to it
FollowupID: 774796

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:38

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 18:38
Don't be sorry. Two Great Minds etc............

FollowupID: 774797

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 22:58

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 19:33

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 19:33
"Tim Flannery Warns of Endangered Species in National Parks". Now we know they are all going to be OK. He warned us in Sydney that we would never see Warragamba Dam full again ... but .... surprise ... it is ....

Get back in your tinny Tim, and crack a cold one.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 498830

Follow Up By: barraboy2 - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 22:16

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 22:16
If you dont believe in science, what do you believe in?( Allan Jones I guess)
FollowupID: 774811

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 23:09

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 23:09
There is Climate science & then there is the truth!
Don't confuse the two!!

FollowupID: 774815

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:04

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:04
Really John? Fill us in with the details will ya. Is all climate science a lie then? Or perhaps just bits? Which bits? Have you published something I can read to form an educated opinion?
FollowupID: 774853

Reply By: Bazooka - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 20:07

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 20:07
One species appears to be thriving
AnswerID: 498831

Reply By: howesy - Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 23:22

Monday, Nov 19, 2012 at 23:22
anyone that is on a payroll to one of the players cant be trusted to give the whole story.
Personally I want to know why tim rejects the science that says the ice age was caused by a cosmic event and the earth still has not returned to pre-ice age temperatures.
I figure its all crapola and I love the smell of overfuelled V8's and diesels and we should log every forest because trees cause almost all carbon dioxide. we can get all the unemployed greenies to do it.
AnswerID: 498845

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:03

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:03
Mate, trees "eat" carbon dioxide and turn it into oxygen and water? They call it photosynthesis, it's a big word and not crapola.
FollowupID: 774878

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:24

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:24
I always remembered that idiot Green, Christine Milne a year or so back who said she would not be happy until we eliminated CO2 completely from our planet.

It may help in that regard if Milne just stopped breathing.

Just proved how stupid this debate has become!!

FollowupID: 774883

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:41

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:41
Large corporations making millions from consuming natural resources must surely have our best interests at heart. I trust them. For example, it would be awesome if they go ahead with the gas mining and harbour jetty over the dinosaur footprints in the north west. The Greens don't seem to be making money from anything? Losers. In fact, they want us to spend money...ouch! Answer with cartoons if you like :-)
FollowupID: 774886

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 20:04

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 20:04
Whilst I understand your sentiment Mike, James Price Point is a bit more complex than that and they moved the proposed site to ensure the footprints and the song line etc are protected.

FollowupID: 774896

Follow Up By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 00:23

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 00:23
Hi John.

You are kidding.

Cheers Graeme
FollowupID: 774922

Reply By: Gnomey - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:42

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 08:42
G'day Allan
Late to this but it reads just like all the others. Here's the precis. Someone puts forward views backed by respectable climate science. The reactionaries then pour out their vitriol and attempt to confound the science with pseudo science and all that rather childish "explain this then" guff.

And behind it all is the inconvenient truth that some people simply won't accept any restriction on their divine right to sodomise the planet. There is a word for that mentality. In fact rather a lot words flood into my head, but giving voice to them would serve little purpose.

I like Flannery, not least because he feels as well as thinks. Sadly, such people are wasted on those who react instead of doing either convincingly.

AnswerID: 498857

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 09:58

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 09:58
Wow Mark, I posted the link to Tim Flannery's interview because I thought it significant and informative to EO readers. The response has astonished me and your words "vitriol" and "pseudo science" seem very appropriate. The avalanche of negative response caused me regret for having made the original posting.

Whether one likes Flannery or not, I would consider that the man has way more understanding and knowledge of our environment than all EO contributors added together, and should be listened to.
It seems to be a common reaction to shoot the messenger if you do not like the message rather than mount an alternate properly supported argument.

I too am concerned at the heritage we are leaving my kids, and their kids.

With regards, thanks Mark.

FollowupID: 774831

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 10:16

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 10:16
We can do a lot for what we leave the kids by each one of us cutting out as much of our personal pollution. Business can no doubt be persuaded to do it's biggger bit by government policies although our State and Feds seem to fall in line with what ever they want at the mere sniff of dollars going their way.
Stop knocking down native forests to make woodchips to send to Japan so they can send it back as newsprint paper for a start.
Climate change is a reality but we aren't ever going to influence that and the global warming loonies are, as others have said, in the pay of those who stand to get the most out of it.
There are places where wind farms may be worthwhile but we still need base load coal, gas or diesel fired power stations for back up when it doesn't blow.
There also would be a lot less air pollution if we stopped the mass junkets enjoyed by those who keep spouting about the "accepted science", as they jet around the world gobbing off nonsense on taxpayers money.
And they never ever coming up with any solution because that would be self defeating and end their fun.
But they always manage to agree on the next exotic, expensive venue for their next gab fest.
AlanH.

FollowupID: 774835

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 14:52

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 14:52
" and the global warming loonies are, as others have said, in the pay of those who stand to get the most out of it."

This is another comment commonly rolled out by sceptics in the hope that some mud will stick and people who can't be bothered to look at the issues in detail will nod and conclude yes climate change, global warming, and climate science is an enormous beat up. Even a tiny scratch of the surface will show that such comments are rubbish. It is an outrageous slur on individual scientists as well as eminent scientific bodies across the globe who, unlike mudslingers such as yourself, have their theories, conclusions, data and procedures regularly scrutinised for accuracy and integrity. If you have any evidence of mass sell out by climate and other scientists why not write it up like they do and submit it for public comment so that people can respond? Am I angry? You're darned right I am because this sort of inane "opinion" isn't worth two bob. Don't accept the science? Fine, but don't make slurs which are obviously nonsense - unless you are prepared to make your evidence public and cop the fallout.
FollowupID: 774852

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:12

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:12

FollowupID: 774855

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:27

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:27
Jeez - can't argue with that response ..... cartoon will beat rational debate any day....................................
FollowupID: 774856

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:48

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:48
AlanH can answer for himself but should I take that as your best effort in response to my questions of you above then John?

I'm embarrassed for you but frankly I wouldn't expect anything less. Any other professionals or organisations you'd like to slur without evidence? Do you have a similar cartoon for medical researchers for example? All the painstaking and often inconclusive research all scientists do is simply to keep themselves in work and rolling in dough apparently. As they say in the vernacular - what a crock.
FollowupID: 774859

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:50

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:50
Another interesting picture
FollowupID: 774860

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:51

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 15:51
FollowupID: 774861

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:15

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:15
My one is better Scott as it supports the reason for those "Opinions"

Maybe a better question is why has none of the predictions based on "computer models" used by those so called climate scientists to form their "opinion" come to fruition?
And why won't they actually acknowledge that point?

I guess it will take a lot more research and "money" to discover that reason huh!!

The world has woken up to the climate lies and its a disappearing topic only propagated now by those with a vested political or financial interest or those that can't come to terms with the simple fact that they have been suckered into believing AGW.

FollowupID: 774863

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:22

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 16:22
Good discussion.............

Just remember that some of these same scientists were predicting a coming ice age back in the 1970's

The Coming Ice Age

Meanwhile I am a strong believer in climate change, it's hot in summer, cold in winter and in-between in spring and autumn. Some years it's hotter, some colder, some wet and some dry.

FollowupID: 774864

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:16

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:16
Just so we are clear John.
Could you please quote all the expert opinions that you have based your conclutions on, I meen there is no better way to get your point across than backing your story with factual information, the cartoon above was funny but hardly well sourced information.

Thanks Phil.
FollowupID: 774869

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:41

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:41
So what were climate modellers predicting precisely again John?

Anyone who has done even a little actual reading on the subject SHOULD know that climate models have always had a wide range of best to worse case scenarios, as all good models do - scientific, financial or otherwise. The ones most commonly reported, particularly by sceptics, are at the extreme end of the scale as one might expect, although I can recall some climate scientists saying early on that reporting of worst-case scenarios might at least help to get the topic "out there".

I attended a lecture by a climate scientist a few years back and she pointed out that local climate/weather patterns were following model predictions quite closely. These included extremely cold winters in some areas, very hot summers in others, and an increase in the number and severity of extreme weather events in some parts of the globe. Plugging actual data into models and running scenarios is one of many tools modellers use to verify and improve their models. Two things which stuck in my mind from that presentation were the localised nature of the weather patterns which models were predicting - even in this country - and the uniformity of the outputs from different models from scientists in Europe, Russia, the USA and Australia.
--------------------------------------

Sorry Lyn that's one of the many pieces of misinformation which have been debunked. One of the many ways science and knowledge is advanced is through the publication of peer reviewed papers, and scientists are always hypothesising, theorising, and publishing to test the waters on the accuracy of their data, assumptions, models, and conclusions. It is a rare event to get consensus such as there is on climate change and anthropogenic causes.

Ice Age Predictions - The Reality

---------------------------------------

A list of common claims by sceptics and explanations of why they are not credible can be found on the Skeptical Science website. Worth a read if anyone is interested in broadening his/her knowledge - as against feeding one's prejudices. When I last looked there was only 130-something on the list now I see there's 173.
FollowupID: 774873

Follow Up By: byronbryan - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:55

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:55
"Wow Mark, I posted the link to Tim Flannery's interview because I thought it significant and informative to EO readers. The response has astonished me and your words "vitriol" and "pseudo science" seem very appropriate. The avalanche of negative response caused me regret for having made the original posting."

Gee Alan B, you need to harden up a bit I think. I'd reckon you knew exactly what type of response you'd get and that's why you posted this topic. "Vitriol" - I see some strong opinions on both sides but certainly nothing vitriolic. Now you're crying poor me. You must live in a vaccum if you didn't expect people to have opinions on either side of the debate. Personally I reckon you did it deliberatly. You have far too much time on your hands.

Now to Climate Change... I reckon theres too much hysteria on both sides. Regardless of the climate debate, I reckon the environment could do with a bit of looking after anyway.
FollowupID: 774875

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:56

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 17:56
* sigh * one shouldn't argue with conspiracy theorists - it's like trying to nail jello to a wall, but .....

"National and international science academies and scientific societies have assessed the current scientific opinion, in particular on recent global warming. These assessments have largely followed or endorsed the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) position of January 2001 which states:

An increasing body of observations gives a collective picture of a warming world and other changes in the climate system... There is new and stronger evidence that most of the warming observed over the last 50 years is attributable to human activities.

The main conclusions of the IPCC on global warming were the following:

1. The global average surface temperature has risen 0.6 ± 0.2 °C since the late 19th century, and 0.17 °C per decade in the last 30 years.
2. "There is new and stronger evidence that most of the warming observed over the last 50 years is attributable to human activities", in particular emissions of the greenhouse gases carbon dioxide and methane.
3. If greenhouse gas emissions continue the warming will also continue, with temperatures projected to increase by 1.4 °C to 5.8 °C between 1990 and 2100. Accompanying this temperature increase will be increases in some types of extreme weather and a projected sea level rise. On balance the impacts of global warming will be significantly negative, especially for larger values of warming.

No scientific body of national or international standing has maintained a dissenting opinion; the last was the American Association of Petroleum Geologists, which in 2007 updated its 1999 statement rejecting the likelihood of human influence on recent climate with its current non-committal position."

However this debate is getting off the OP's original point that there is a measurable depletion of species diversity going on at the moment. The evidence that species are going or bordering on extinct is very strong. Getting past the Ad hominem attacks on Flannery, his warning is relevant, and the type who enjoy attacking his character is I suspect is half the problem here.
FollowupID: 774876

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:16

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:16
Heres a link to a recent Forbes article with a few simple in text references of data support graphs from GISS (NASA) it outlines why the data is corrupt and who is trying to protect their funding source.
I could link tens of thousands of articles that offer contrary science to every claim made by the hysterical warmists, but I'm sure you're capable of searching for yourself if you are really interested.
I used this article as its a recent writing and its fairly simple for people who care to read it to understand with simple references.

Maybe you would like to offer the IPCC as some sort of reputable source, thats what most hysterical warmists fall back on. Before doing that maybe a bit of fairdinkum research on the basis of the IPCC and who actually writes the final submission on that report would be in order, its rather embarrassing as a source document.

This article relates to the temperature data from the US and you may well scream that it does not reflect global trends, but consider that the US has the best long term temperature data as it has maintained fixed reference points across the US for a hundred odd years (well before Sat data) as opposed to places like China who have had no long term fixed reference points until recently.

It used to be Global Warming, since the trend now shows we are actually experiencing a cooling trend as discussed in the article, its become Climate Change. I have now seen the use of the term "Dirty Weather" starting to appear in an attempt to find another scary description, seems they are running out of headlines hey!!

Forbes Temperature Article

Knock yourself out by claiming its just another hysterical sceptic and the science is always right!

By the way if you want any further stuff maybe start searching and reading for your yourself before playing the warmist game of trying to denigrate anyone who questions the so called science.

FollowupID: 774880

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:25

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:25
The cartoon was for you Aussi Traveller as you stated that you only come here for a laugh.

FollowupID: 774884

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:46

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:46
Yep there's that IPCC fall back I mentioned, knew it was coming.

Lyn my link supports the cooling trend that you mentioned with the unaltered data from the same sources the hysterical warmists use.
What's clear is what I said earlier, none of the predictions made by the hysterical AGW mob have come to fruition.

The link from Bazooka is a warmist site that is run by those with a vested interest in perpetrating the fraud, their claims have been countered by many scientists utilising real world data which a little research easily exposes.

FollowupID: 774888

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:39

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:39
Of course it is John. But before you make such inaccurate statements how about you read how and why the Skeptical Science website came about, the credentials of those involved, and the work required simply to counter the pseudo-science and opinion which permeates mostly right wing media. There's also some interesting debate from people on both sides of the fence on Skeptical Science iirc.

Neither Taylor nor Goddard has climate change credibility. So let's see what credible scientists are actually saying about NOAA temperatures Taylor accusations.

Or perhaps you'd prefer an expanded view of Taylor's comment about
Antarctic sea ice and its relevance to global warming. Often it's not what is said but what is intentionally omitted that exposes frauds such as Taylor.

The truth is out there but it certainly seems to be eluding both Taylor and Goddard.
FollowupID: 774893

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:43

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:43
Great thread this. Nothing like a bit of opposition to get the warmists throwing around descriptions such as "climate deniers" and saying the science is accepted.
Certainly it's accepted by a large body of scientists, equally it's not accepted by another huge body of scientitsts all of whom are no doubt "deniers"according to the true believers.
I personally don't doubt that climate change is happening but do doubt very much that we're to blame for it.
There's a huge body of very widely read and researched info out there which shows not all scientists are falling into line with what Gillard and other money grabbing govs are up to.
The garbage put about concerning "clean" wind power etc.. No one talks about the amount of power generated, but installed power is the only figure they use.
Why?
Quite simple really, in the northern hemisphere they just don't produce power when it's needed like in the middle of Winter when the wind inconveniently won't blow. But never mind that, the owners of the things are getting massive subsidies from the taxpayer through their bills so we won't talk about their real worth to the production of power.
China and India are apparently opening new coal fired plants every week or so and they on past experience won't be too bothered about a bit more carbon in the air or real pollution. Same as they don't care about how many miners are killed every year...bit off topic but is an example of what caring people they are!
One of my nieces works for the USGS measuring glaciers in South America by various methods, on the ground, by sattelite etc, and she reckons there's a considerable amount of sceptism amongst them that we're the cause of it all.
Bah humbug to all of it, the greatest scam of all time to get yet more of the taxpayers hard earned without any blame being attached to the Gov, and for the many many thousands of warmists around the globe to enjoy plenty of gabfests at the same time.
AlanH.
FollowupID: 774894

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 21:28

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 21:28
So where are the papers and reviewed climate science of a this "other huge body of scientists" you refer to Alan? And do these sceptical scientists fit into your mold of people creating lies and myths solely to prop up their lifestyles - or they exceptional in some mysterious way? Putting aside your disgraceful (imo) slagging of scientists who you obviously know nothing (and I mean nothing) about there seems to be a bit of inconsistency in your argument there.
FollowupID: 774906

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:43

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:43
Thanks Bazooka, I was going to post a comment about Forbes political lean, however I figured it was going to get lost somehwere. Nothing like quoting a single source to shred a vast body of empirical evidence.

However, despite the inference, I'm not some hysterical GW tree hugger.
FollowupID: 774915

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:11

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:11
I just don't understand what all the "Believers" are doing on this site anyway, which promotes leisure travel throughout Australia in fuel guzzling 4WD's, surely you should be staying in your earthen dugout conserving what precious little time the planet has left.

You would also be collecting your solar rebates from the government which are funded by the export of coal to industrial nations.

AnswerID: 498890

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:20

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:20
Good summation Lyn! :)

FollowupID: 774882

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:50

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 18:50
The old hair shirt argument? The earth would probably agree if it could talk but it's another red herring. First one decides if global warming is a reality, then if we are significant contributors, then what we can do within the human, financial and environmental parameters which exist at the time. These vary hugely depending on one's circumstances and country.

For example, no-one should expect poor nations to wreck their economies in order to attack climate change, nor should we think we can simply shut down big polluting industries totally overnight. That is irresponsible. There's no doubt that we are all contributing to global warming and environmental degradation in numerous ways - which is precisely the reason why we should support policies and large-scale action by governments and nations.

Very few things in life are all or nothing choices - we can enjoy our lives without excess while simultaneously supporting actions and organisations which try to offset or ameliorate the effects of our footprints. I cite the humane treatment of animals as a case in point. Not buying battery cage eggs can help but it would be a far more effective solution if governments simply legislated to phase out their use over time, or better still slap a big tax battery eggs and channel the revenue to poor families.
FollowupID: 774889

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:08

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:08
Using up all the oil in our big guzzlers would end the argument. Our whole society of excess is driven by petroleum. If the tank runs dry the results would be interesting to say the least. It will eventually run dry. Try getting a load of coal anywhere without a truck. There goes the electricity as well. Anything that slows our energy use is a GOOD THING global warming or not.
FollowupID: 774892

Follow Up By: Teraa - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:56

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 19:56
At least they holiday in there own country and regulary enjoy all that wonderful bush. How does Tim lock up and let ferals go ?
FollowupID: 774895

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:23

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:23
Well Lyn, unlike John who can't substantiate his claims and I doubt you could either by your posts. I have dropped my carbon footprint by 30% this year, both at home and for my buisness, this was done by less power use and re-designing my fleet.

My power bill has dropped by close to $1000 this year (last 3 quarters) and my fuel bill has dropped substantially as well.

Those are some of my effort that not only saves me money but the planet as well, and the best bit the cost involved was minimal and not as your mate Tony has been saying a viper strike on my buisness.

I now have a better way of doing buisness and a near new fleet.

This John is were the joke is on you.
FollowupID: 774914

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:59

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:59
I'm pleased for you mate, always good to ensure you keep your costs under tight control, pity you were running so loose before and letting costs and dollars get away from you.
Maybe you could teach Gillard a thing or two about cost control.
Will be good to see you reap the extra savings when Abbott dumps the CT after the next election and saves you a few more bucks.
Nice that you get a feel good effect from it also.

FollowupID: 774917

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 00:04

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 00:04
Well I guess I've also reduced my carbon footprint but it has nothing to do with pollution. I do everything on a purely economic basis.

If the government wants to give me $1,500 worth of pink bats I'll take it, If the government wants to give me a solar rebate I'll take it, If the government wants to pay me 44c/kwh for solar electricity and then SELL it back to me for 23c/kwh I'll take it.

FollowupID: 774920

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 21:53

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 21:53
Well, The worlds population is growing at an alarming rate, governments and businesses think that if we have more people we get more jobs and then that creates never ending growth to fuel the need for more people to create more jobs and more super profits for the already very rich and greedy? We are now seeing third world countries like China and India buying cars like never before, millions of them, more electricity to people that never had it before. Not to mention the extra pollution!! More upmarket goods are being manufactured and purchased in these third world countries than even before as the emerging middle class starts to spend. We as ordinary people have no say in the way the world is changing and making small changes to the way we live is merely a "feel good" gesture. With resources being consumed at the rate they are around the world, the earth has a finite life, Australia and Africa and Canada will more than likely be the main quarries for the world resources in the future and I wonder how long it will take our beautiful Australia, the Apple of the world, to become a mere Apple core, due to mining and Coal seam gas wells! With a prediction of 12 billion people on the planet by 2050, its obvious the planet cannot stay the way it is, so live on and enjoy, prolonging the inevitable is futile, squeezing in one or two more generations is neither here nor there!! More people, more jobs and more growth is not sustainable! Michael
AnswerID: 498900

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:22

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:22
By the way, the above has nothing to do with global warming, I think it's the least of the worlds problems if if has any validity at all! Michael
FollowupID: 774913

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:58

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 22:58
Probably the smartest thing said on this thread, Michael.

I too wouldnt worry about global warming, I'm more concerned with unsustainable population growth which will unsustainably deplete all the resources we (at least as westerners) depend on to live; most importantly food and fossil fuel.

You can carbon neutralise your life as much as you want but unless we reduce or halt population growth and reduce our standard of living this will be what tips it all over methinks.

FollowupID: 774916

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 04:43

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 04:43
Michael.

You have just described the apothiosis of all 'Ponzi Schemes' - the sustainability of the Human Race, in that it requires more to sustain those currently living.

Global warming, Climate Change, Devils weather etc etc are a scientifically proven historical fact. The world goes through heating and cooling cycles of it's own accord, which no amount of Tim Flattery's and his/their accolytes will be able to influence in any way whatsoever.

If these Bolsheviks were to recant their Govt financed mantras re Global warming, Climate Change, and put the same amount of effort into enlightening people of the looming catastrophic effects of Humans poisoning the world with polution other than CO2 emissions, then they may have a case.

Also the subject of population control (birth rate/s) should be included in the debate on extinction of species as it is the Human Race colectively with their increasing voracious exploitation of natural resources (Flora & Fauna) and subsequent polution emissions, eg using river systems as sewer, industrial waste and/or garbage disposal systems, using ocean outfalls of untreated sewerage (Australia continues to do this as I write). Allowing land management chemicals to leech into the oceans via major river systems. The list is infinite, however does not attract the attention of the Flattery's of this world as it doesn't attract $$$$$$$$$$.

The Human Race is racing to do the 'DoDo bird dance' on itself and once completed the world will continue cycle Hot and Cold regardless.

DD

FollowupID: 774923

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 10:38

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 10:38
A bit of campfire philosophy beats proven scientific fact eh Dust Devil. Most people acknowledge that population, pollution, education, war, energy security, environmental degradation, species loss...... are all big issues for the human race and the planet which supports us. Many of them are interlinked and millions of people all over the world are working in fields trying to find political, economic and scientific solutions for these problems. Despite what you seem to think, climate change has always been a bit player both politically and economically. It gets a lot of publicity simply because sceptics are constantly trying to confuse the issue with (mostly) misinformation, intentional misinterpretation, and straightout fabrication. There is nothing at all wrong with healthy scepticism, but if you have an argument you need to be transparent about your data, processes, and conclusions in the same way real scientists are.

Getting back to the discussion about endangered species and climate change - one of the most basic elements of the global warming/climate change argument is the accepted imbalance caused by greenhouse gases. But apparently methane isn't a pollutant according to you so we have no need to be concerned even a tiny bit. There is a huge amount of evidence that this imbalance is one of the primary causes of rising global temperatures, acidic seas, and increasingly severe and regular 'freak' weather events among other things. The vast majority of informed scientists believe that human activity (including such things as cattle production) is the primary cause for the current imbalance in greenhouse, and that it is within our capacity globally to act responsibly to try and reduce the imbalance. Two of the highly desirable side effects of curbing greenhouse gases are that alternative energies become more cost effective and the inefficient use of energy more costly. And before the political troglodytes weigh in, private companies and governments of all political colours have been developing policies and spending funds to improve efficiencies and develop alternatives for decades - it has nothing at all to do with Julia Gillard - although some people on here would no doubt blame her for their latest pimple breakout or their tyres wearing out inordinately quickly. Such is life.
FollowupID: 774934

Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 13:01

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 13:01
Bazooka Dude
Last weekend I sold one of my 4WDs to a Marine Biologist from Queensland whose speciality is providing marine enviromental impact studies with a focus on Marine Mega Fauna and constantly travels the world in this professional capacity.

Marine Mega Fauna today apparently is classed as any marine animal size wise from turtles upwards.

I asked this person what is the correct position/facts re Global warming, climate change etc etc. and in a nutshell was told the following:

(1) Global warming/cooling is a factual event that is cyclical and has been happening since the formation of planet Earth and will continue to happen regardless of any efforts on the part of the Human race

(2) Climate change is also a factual event that is one of the effects of the Global warming/cooling cycle.

(3) Human activity exacerbates the Global warming/cooling cycle and its downstream effects, however is not resposible for it.

(4) Species on Earth come and go with these cyclical changes.

(5) CO2 emisions are and always have been a constant on planet Earth

(6) Mega Volcanoes eject more carbon emissions into the atmosphere than Humans.

(7) The oceans trap/hold gigantic amounts of methane which is constantly being released.

(6) Homo Sapiens may well be one of the current species on Earth that 'goes' as described in (4) above.

I then asked if there was a solution and was told - not really with the view of halting all of the above, however the reduction of the worlds population to a sustainable level (a number was not mentioned) education of same along with R&D of new technologies that will allow humans to either survive or escape the enviromental changes to come, was the key to things.

I then queried Australia's current policies on the subject of carbon emissions and was told point blank that to survive Economically and Diplomatically in the arena of Global Politics, you have to be seen to have the 'Domestic Policy Creds' that includes the current 'carbon hot potato'.

Well that was enough for me to determine where my 'swinging vote' will be directed in the next federal elections.

As an aside there has been a few of my 'Darwinian friends' in the news of late.

DD

FollowupID: 774940

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 15:38

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 15:38
I'm surprised that you'd take the word of a single Qld marine biologist over thousands of other scientists who have studied and published on various climate change issues DD but that's just one area where we differ obviously. As is usual, there is a little bit of truth in what he/she said mixed with some woeful inaccuracies.

6, and possibly 5 on your list depending on your meaning of constant, are myths which even a novice should know, so his credibility is shot there for starters, while 1 and 3 are clearly not supported by science. It is a well accepted fact that CO2 concentrations in the atmosphere are out of balance and probably at their highest levels for tens of millions of years so while it is a constant, it's concentrations are not in fact constant.

Methane hydrates in the ocean are both potential hazards and possible opportunities (as energy sources) from what I've read and it has been suggested that rises in ocean temperatures could lead to more of these hydrates being released. They are much more prevalent that atmospheric methane so the environmental implications are/ought to be obvious.

I don't particularly care who you or anyone else votes for, just that people are better informed before making up their minds about any issue. An uninformed opinion isn't worth the 3 seconds it took to be formed. And anecdotal 'matey' opinion should not be held in the same regard as conclusions drawn from transparent, disciplined, well-debated scientific studies.

Time for me to get off the soapbox now, but I don't apologise for getting fired up. Denigrating climate scientists en masse (or pretty much any respected group for that matter) is, apart from having no basis in fact, extremely poor form in my book.
FollowupID: 774948

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 23:58

Tuesday, Nov 20, 2012 at 23:58
As I said above, this debate is getting off the OP's original point that there is a measurable depletion of species diversity going on at the moment. The evidence that species are going or bordering on extinction is very strong. Getting past the Ad hominem attacks on Flannery, his warning is relevant, and the type who enjoy attacking his character is I suspect is half the problem here.
AnswerID: 498908

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 07:08

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 07:08
Hi Allan,

I reckon what he says is very true. You only have to travel to any of the Western NSW National Parks to see the huge numbers of feral animals which now occupy them...especially goats and cats. Any small marsupials do not stand a chance of survival with cats around. It is a tragedy!
Thanks for providing the link to the Interview.

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 498917

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 09:53

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 09:53
Thanks Heather,

I too have seen the ingress of feral animals into our National Parks and elsewhere. It concerns me and I support any action to control this.

But it is what followed my original post that concerned and dismayed me. It quickly degenerated into a debate on global warming with accompanying mudslinging and personal denigration. One contributor to this fracas, "byronbrian" even accused me effectively of trolling with his FollowUp of....... "Gee Alan B, you need to harden up a bit I think. I'd reckon you knew exactly what type of response you'd get and that's why you posted this topic."........ I chose not to respond to his unfounded allegation.

Tim Flannery is a highly acknowledged Environmental Scientist. I have no such skills or qualifications, and accordingly would not even consider entering into the arguments being conducted here.

FollowupID: 774931

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 11:47

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 11:47
I guess we agree to differ. Here is a link to an Andrew Bolt column

Flannery's climate change predictions

And I know EXACTLY what you are going to say "Bolt is a right wing nutcase"well fair enough cause a lot of people think that Flannery is a left wing nutcase.
FollowupID: 774937

Follow Up By: barraboy2 - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 14:46

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 14:46
Lyn you are wright"Bolt is a right wing nut case" and "Flannery maybe a left wing nutcase" so go and check the science out for your self. I mean with creditable science not Allan Jones.
FollowupID: 774946

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:29

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:29
Love that the wide eyed Flannery lovers will denigrate and label anyone who points out the simple truth about the man.
Bolt is simply telling the story in a straight no bullshit manner and the hysterical fanatics try to shoot the messenger.

It's the typical methods of the "world is doomed" group.

FollowupID: 774951

Follow Up By: Aussi Traveller - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:36

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:36
Bolt is simply telling the story in a straight hysterical bullshit manner, Bolt should be shot not the messenger.

There John I just fixed that sentence for you. LOL
FollowupID: 774953

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 16:51
I rest my case :))

FollowupID: 774955

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:31

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:31
Phil, John and others. This is doing little to advance the debate or the topic which was in fact about endangered wildlife. Enough is enough thanks.

The squad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 774959

Reply By: Member-Heather MG NSW - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 10:02

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 10:02
Yes Allan,

Many of the responses to your original post also alarmed and shocked me! If we dont get our act together soon then the generations who follow us will have a vastly different experience to us when they visit National Parks.

regards,

Heather
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 498925

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 11:51

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 11:51

As the Original Poster of this thread I would point out that the topic was "Endangered Species in National Parks".

There have been 73 responses to the topic of that original post.
Only 5 of those responses have addressed the topic.
The rest have banged on about climate change and expressions to denigrate Tim Flannery.

Clearly the thread is off topic.

Accordingly at an earlier point in this debate I used the "Alert Moderator" facility to express that this has become a mud-slinging debate and that the Moderator should perhaps consider locking the thread. Nothing happened to the thread and I received no response from the Modsquad. As this has happened on the only two other occasions that I have used the "Alert Moderator" function I wonder if that function is actually operative from my computer and hope that a Moderator will read this post and act or contact me via Member Message.

I hasten to add that this is not a criticism of Moderation. It is an attempt at an alternative means of contacting a moderator.

AnswerID: 498929

Reply By: ModSquad - Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:04

Wednesday, Nov 21, 2012 at 17:04
Allan,

The modsquad received your request and provided due consideration. Our apologies for not having responded directly but we have day jobs, family commitments and the like that keep us busy. The excuse you provided for requesting the thread be locked was that the thread had descended into mud-slinging. At the time of your request we, reviewed and discussed the thread. Because we have the previousely mentioned day jobs and family commitments and the fact that we all live in different parts and time zones of Oz, it can take a bit of time to get responses. The end result was that we didn’t see mud slinging as such, just strong opinions as is often the case in emotive topics. That opinion still holds.

One of the root causes for the comments on climate debate would seem to be the fact that you refer directly to Mr Flannery who most people would recognise as the head of the Australian Climate Commission. In fact in the start of the link you provided, Mr Flannery is introduced as exactly that. “The head of the Australian Climate Commission says that.......”

Further, you then make a broad generalisation that, and these are your words right at the top of the post; “Tim Flannery is not a radical, he speaks common sense”. Now like politics, the climate debate engenders strong debate and opinions. Tim Flannery is inescapably linked to that debate and a person would have to be Robinson Crusoe to have thought otherwise. Perhaps it might have been wise to make the clear distinction that you were referring to Tim’s view on the Wildlife because hanging an unqualified statement out there on a public forum is just asking for trouble. Alan, it’s a little bit rich to say you didn’t intend this to be about climate debate and global warming but then quite early in the piece, you directly linked an article on that very subject with the World Bank 4C hotter article.

Even if there had been name calling and hair pulling, the thread would not have been affected, just the offensive posts moderated. This post could be held out as an example of why considered thought before initiating a thread could be a very good idea.

Now that said, the argument is getting somewhat circular though people so it may be time to take your arguments about climate change off line and perhaps provide comment on endangered wildlife as we are sure Alan intended.

If anyone has any further issues, please contact us through the mod alert function or modsquad email and not the forum.

Thanks all

The Modsquad

Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 498934