Comment: Buying a 4WD

I would really appreciate some straightforward help on purchasing a 4wd. I will be moving to the middle of the Gibb River Road next year and would eventually like to to do a bit (nothing too crazy) of off road driving. I am wanting a 4WD that I will feel safe in and will be fine in the conditions. I have heard the road is different to what it used to be 10 years ago but can still be tough on cars.
I found a used 2009 Landcruiser workmate troopcarrier. It has done 106,000km, ex car of the Kimberley Conservation Council, has full service history, diesel and is $42990. What do you all think?
If not that car, ideally the car will cost between $30k and $40k.
So:
What cars should I be looking at? Where should I be looking? What extras do I need? (I have been told 2 spare tyres, new suspension, sat phone is adequate?)
Thank-you all so much in advance for your help.

Reply By: bluefella - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:23

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:23
i reckon a toyoya cruiser is the way to go
AnswerID: 499486

Follow Up By: bluefella - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:24

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:24
typo......toyota
FollowupID: 775488

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:30

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:30
Toyota 70 series
Also consider availabity of parts and service, and in remote areas you will have a chance with land cruisers, especially 1HZ powered models.

AnswerID: 499487

Reply By: zenonie - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:36

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 06:36
Definately a toyota cruiser, most of the work vehicles in the bush are cruisers. they are tough, have sufficient bells and whistles and there are plenty of dealers out there to service them for you. You could buy something a bit older and still get a good car for a bit less money. Cheers zenonie
AnswerID: 499488

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 08:41

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 08:41
Hi Meredith

Think carefully about your needs - that type of cruiser is tough and reliable , but also top heavy and rough.

Friends of ours have had to dump them or fit aftermarket seats from back problems.

Focus on what could go wrong - and the car sliding/rollover is probably highest on the list.

These days stability controls are fitted to most cars and should be a real consideration.

I don't anything about your general stuation and vechiles duties but for your $43000 you could even get dual cab utes (even new) and a few wagons.

AnswerID: 499497

Follow Up By: NTVRX - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 09:58

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 09:58
Hi Meredith, I agree with Robin. Decide what your needs are & number 1 I think on the list would be safety. Toyota make great vehicles however at $40,000 or more you are looking at a 2007 to maybe 2008 workmate ute,wagon or troopy. They are a basic vehicle with no bells & whistles like passenger & driver air bags. There are no side impact air bags or even ABS for that matter!! (starting to type this hiding under my desk fearing incoming missiles from w/mate owners!!!). The w/mate wagon does not even have an interior light in the rear cargo section. The troopy is a great vehicle but remember any vehicle with a high centre of gravity can & may fall over easier than others with a low cog. The other main criteria for vehicle purchase is creature comfort.....seats play the most important part. A seat with lumbar support,good adjustment features & excellent construction like padding is essential. Most of the seats in your poverty pack Nissans,Tojos & others may need replacing with after market quality seats (extra cost involved). It's difficult to comment further because I do not know what equipment & what load you wish to carry,do you want to sleep in the vehicle?. It may be a good idea to look at dual or single cab utes like a Ford Ranger,Nissan Navara & others some of these vehicles offer good value for $$$$ & excellent safety features too. Regardless of what vehicle you buy I would look seriously at after market accessories such as ,sat phone,UHF,90 litrle water bladder across back floor, after market suspension such as ARB Old Man Emu...tried & tested is Australia. A good reliable & proven air compressor,tyre deflators,good quality recovery kit & a long handle shovel. Good hunting. Robert
FollowupID: 775505

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 10:44

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 10:44
Just a follow on guys as just come back from reading the Herald/sun and it had a big spread on the new 7 seat wagon version of the Holden Colorado ute which is under 50k but also carried adds for brand new D22 Navara at $29880 drive away and D40's at $39k

Some seriously good deals out there all right.

FollowupID: 775510

Reply By: Danna - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 09:47

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 09:47
Dear Meredith R
You are looking at exactly same vehicle we have, only we bought it brand new. We are very, very happy with our choice. We decide to buy 2009 Troopy on Anne Beadell Hwy. We met some people there and they told us about introduction of Federal Government Legislation of drives & passengers airbags. They told us that next shipment comes with drives & passengers airbags only. We were rushing from Anne Beadell Hwy to Sydney, lucky to buy last new no airbag Troopy in NSW. All Troopys comes only diesel and with manual only gearbox. With V8 motor they are strong working horses not a pleasure vehicles. If the one you looking at, have full service history it would make a difference in its value. Well look after Troopy, with full history, retains its value more than other 4WDs. People in remote areas will tell you that Troopy is the best choice. It is not only a strong vehicle, but also well known by mechanics and spare parts are usually available locally.

Total essentials for any 4WD:

Polycarbonate protectors;
(For bonnet and headlights of you vehicle)

Netting at least for radiator;
(Spinifex seeds can clock-up radiator and around vital parts under vehicle and vehicle catch a fire)

Fire extinguisher;
(Should be always placed in front of vehicle near door, so it is handy in case of emergency [we have it installed next a drivers seat from right side on raised floor …when you open door, you can see it rightaway])

Radio UHF;
(Best is to have new 80 channels with scanning possibility)

Satellite phone;
(Iridium Sat. Ph. by Motorola is still overall preferred by most people)

Bulbar;
(Winch bulbar, if you decide later to have a winch….)

Double wheel carrier;
(If you skip that, doors will sag sooner or later on any barn door 4WD. No one repair them ever 100% and dust inside vehicle will drive you banana)

Proper strong suspension;
(Suspension upgrade is always last to be installed on vehicle, so whole set-up is right)

Good luck Dana
AnswerID: 499504

Follow Up By: Danna - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:33

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 12:33
Meredith R
I forgotten three more very important items to have with you.
Second battery, pack with first aid and book "Outback Survival" by Bob Cooper. This book should by always in every-ones glove-box when going to Outback.
Of cause there going to be more you would need to take with you, like enough of water and food and so on & on.....
Ciao Dana
FollowupID: 775579

Reply By: 410 - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 17:24

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 17:24
Hi Meredith
The troopy is a great wagon, but as said not good for the back. If this 4x4 is to be your main transport and to explore then as suggested the Navara, Triton etc also buying new come with warranty. A second hand Hilux is a option or 100 seriers cruiser.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 499527

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 21:51

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 21:51
Merideth

Don’t listen to these guys - a bit of jealousy involved here.
Robin is a well known Troopy phobic.

All the big mining companies, outback ambulances, police, and fire and emergency services use them in the outback – what more can I say?
AnswerID: 499545

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 23:23

Friday, Nov 30, 2012 at 23:23
Come on Dennis!

Why not focus solely on published specifications/engineering? Actual examples of why Toyota troopies are worth considering are just for those living in the real world :)

FollowupID: 775555

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 10:02

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 10:02
Yep, didn’t want to confuse people with that technical stuff.
FollowupID: 775570

Reply By: WBS - Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:13

Saturday, Dec 01, 2012 at 09:13
Meredith,
If it were up to me, I would not go past a Troopie for a vehicle to operate out there. They are built for it. They are not designed to corner at high speeds or be driven at 130kph. If I had to make a decision on whether to buy a troopie or something "more comfortable" I'd spend an extra bit of money on getting good shock absorbing seats to fit to the troopie to make it more comfortable. My experience with them was in a work capacity and they are tough reliable and built for the bush, not the highway. Mind you, driven sensibly, they're fine on the highways too. I cannot think of any vehicle on the market today that can compare. Perhaps the Nissan Patrol Ute 4.2 litre turbo diesel which I don't think is in production any more?

WBS
AnswerID: 499562

Reply By: Meredith R - Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 12:53

Sunday, Dec 02, 2012 at 12:53
Thank-you all very much for your input and sound advice. We test drove the troopie and unfortunately it showed signs of being thrashed and not well looked after at all. What a shame! My absolute favourite car is the Landcruiser 70 series GXL wagon but it is out of our price range. We are going to look at a Toyota HILUX this weekend which has some of the extras already included and doesn't (so far) show any signs of not being looked after.

After thinking a lot about your replies my husband and I really thought about what we will be using the vehicle for. We are not using it to tow anything or for work purposes and will probably use it more for going to gorges and camping spots. We also like the idea of keeping it as our family car when we get back to Perth so a Hilux or something of the sort certainly fits the bill.

One big lessons I have learned during this exercise of buying cars is how cunning used car salesmen are! They just don't give it a rest! The more they push, the more my shutters go up and some of the meetings have ended up a little heated. Drove me nuts!

Thank-you all so much again for your help and I might see you on the GRR!
AnswerID: 499660