Advice From you Pros out there for my Big Trip!!!!

Submitted: Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 07:47
ThreadID: 99422 Views:5653 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
OK I need to have some advice from experienced people who have been there and done that.

So I'm Australian but been living in the UK for the past 10 years. I am coming home for 5 months to spend some time with my son and I am planning a 3 month 4wd trip to do with him. Now I have grown up in Oz camping my hole life but not through the outback region, mostly just East Coast. So I appreciate I have plenty to consider.

Now my trip before I start the questions:

Leaving Newcastle and travelling via Dubbo to Broken Hill, into South Australia we will head up the middle through Coober Pedy, Alice Springs, Katherine, Kakadu, Darwin, Litchfield NP, then onto Gibb River Road, broome, down West Coast into Perth then back across the Nallarbor and back home.

QUESTIONS:
* I'm assuming 3 months should be enough to enjoy this at a leisurely pace?
* I am buying my 4wd and price is the issue, my total budget is 43k now with no income for 3 months I have allowed 3.5k for food and beer, 4k fuel & 2k accommodation (camping, permits etc). So I'm left with roughly 30k for my total setup cost. Now I have seen some Nissan patrols for sale for around 23k and are already setup fairly well (Dual battery, bull bars, snorkel, lift kits etc). The thing is, they are 2005 models with around 115k klms, so I'm really worried is this to old??? After 3 month trip I will sell it again.
* I have budgeted for new AT Tyres, recovery gear, Fridge, Solar System, Roof Top Tent, Lighting, Sat Phone, cooking gear, etc etc but have no idea on cost allowance for all this?? Any help of advice???
* diff Breathers cost?? Do I really need this? I do want to see all the site so don't want roads to prevent us.
* patrol has limited slip diff, I'm hoping this is enough to allow me to get access to all the good places?

I will no doubt have loads more questions but that will do for now. I have allowed one month from when I land in Sydney before we head off to find 4wd, have anything needed done to the car and checked, little test trip for a few days then off we go.

Any advice is going to be really appreciated....

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 12:28

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 12:28
3 Months, way too short........ but you will have a ball anyway, so enjoy.

What time of year do you plan to do this trip?

2005 Patrol if a 4.2 TD should be fine, if a 3ltr hand grenade, steer clear. You may have to look at an earlier Patrol to get the better engine. The better engine will be easier to resell also. You really only need a bull bar and a dual battery system. The rest is a nice to have. Tyre pressures and picking a good line are more important than extra diff locks etc. If road worthy when you buy it, you may not need new tyres. Sat phone is nice, but expensive, maybe consider a SPOT messenger or similar, hire a Sat Phone if you really want comms. Most of where you want to go is fairly accessible, just have to be careful in some places. Hope I have answered some of your questions.....

AnswerID: 500107

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:37

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:37
Well That rules out the ones I had my eye on. They were all 3.0L. Maybe need to look at other vehicles.

My biggest worry is if I go for anything to old it will give me problems?
FollowupID: 776136

Reply By: Michaeljp - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 13:30

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 13:30
Gday Skip,
3 months is enough time to do your planned route, not everyone has a whole year to travel oz so we have to do it in the time we have. Ive done a similar trip in 7 weeks with a whole lot of driving everyday but we saw what we wanted to see.
On the issue of your expenses food 3.5k thats about $38 a day, a burger at some places are $10. Fuel 4k i'd add another grand at least depending on what 4wd you buy. Your trip you outlined will be about 20000km at worst scenario 14l /100km @1.76c/L average whole trip, $5000 diesel. I always work out my expenses at worst case scenario. If its only 2 of you id look at a diesel Hilux thats what ive been traveling Australia in for the past 26 years and they are cheap to run compared to a Patrol or cruiser. In the hilux non turbo model i was consistently getting 10.5 - 11 L /100km in a Patrol id say you'd be getting 12.5-14L / 100km. Thats what i own now 2012 gu8 3L CRD turbo Patrol. steer clear of early to mid 2000 Patrols, like the other fella said they tend to blow up.Thats why i recommend a early to mid 90's hilux 2.8l non turbo. You will find ones with lift kits, good offroad tyres canopy, long range tanks etc etc for under $13000 and they are easy to work on, oil & filter change every 5000km for diesels I traveled with bare arse necessity camping stuff, tent, 2 chairs, esky, gas cooker, head torch's etc etc
AnswerID: 500112

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:47

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:47
I think 3 Months is enough, I mean from Home until about Coober Pedy will be one nights stops and push on. I'm thinking Coober Pedy we will stay just a couple of nights for rest and see the underground homes then push on for Uluru and Alice. So 3 months will really start from Alice to be fair.

I have increased my food budget so thanks for that and fuel. To be fair we will mostly be buying food and stocking up in the freezer and fridge and camp cooking. We don't drink a lot so only maybe 4 beers each, each night.

I have considered a hilux a lot and I'm was worried about going older than a 2007? I'm worried I will just have trouble with it out there if I go to old? Also was only looking around 150k klms max as I'm worried if the klms are to high I will end up with troubles?
Maybe I should go older and have the car checked over etc? And save money?

I have budgeted a contingency fund of 2k for repairs on the road, services etc. hope that's enough.

I will be arriving in May and heading off in June so best time I think.
FollowupID: 776139

Follow Up By: Michaeljp - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:34

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:34
Newcastle to Coober Pedy is really a 2 day drive. To do it in 1 day is very very tireing with a lot of night driving. You will need good spot lights for night driving. one of my hiluxs had 1989 model 528000 km on it and my last one had 1996 model 418000km and did the kimberleys 5 times, 2005,6,7,8 and 2009 with no problems at all.
Good luck with your trip and planing.
FollowupID: 776157

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:41

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 00:41
No sorry I didn't mean that we will do it in 3 days first stop will be broken hill and then head off early to port Augusta again 1 night then early off to Coober Pedy.

Thanks will look into the Hilux, as I do like the double cab utes.
FollowupID: 776158

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:20

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 15:20
Hi Skippy,

You will have a great time, and you will find plenty to fill in 3 months but you wont have time to do more than just scratch the surface. You could fine tune your route a bit to see more of the special places. eg from Broken Hill turn north at Yunta and go up through the Flinders Ranges, through one of the gorges on the western side, then up to Maree and along the Oodnadatta Track to Marla. Closer to Alice maybe do side trips in to Chambers Pillar and in through Finke Gorge. If you run out of time after getting to Broome you could come back via the Tanami Track - you would miss out on the rest of WA but by the time you have got to Broome your head will be spinning with what you have seen anyway. Our blogs cover much of your proposed route so you might get extra ideas from them - click on the button beside my name at the bottom of this post.

Re your other questions: fuel in the more remote areas can be expensive so suggest add another thousand to cover extras there.

Food and grog - how long is a piece of string? Really it depends on how much you drink and eat takeaways or eat out. We cook most of our food ourselves and very rarely get takeaways, so we just have the cost of meat and groceries - and these can also be more expensive away from the bigger towns. Our food bill for a recent 2 month trip through remote WA and back across the Nullarbor would have been in the hundreds rather than thousands of dollars.

Accommodation is similar - your costs will quickly climb if you use cabins, motels or even some caravan parks. Alternatively you can do a lot of bush camping and keep costs quite low.

A general rule of thumb is that a trip costs about one dollar per kilometre but we usually find that we come in under that figure.

Some items that you don't seem to have included are for contingencies to cover unexpected vehicle issues like broken shocks, springs etc - or any of the myriad things that can go wrong with a vehicle in remote places. Also those special tourist things like flights and boat trips - there are a number along the route you are proposing and they are definitely well worth the cost. Our reasoning is that we spend a fair bit to get to those places and we may never be back so we had better make the most of the opportunities while we are there!

Diff breathers you can fit yourself for little cost - there will be a few water crossings along the Gibb (and the side tracks leading from it) so better to be sure than sorry. LS diff is all you will need. A snatch strap and long handle shovel should be all you need for recovery gear, just make sure you have proper recovery points on whatever vehicle you get.

Often you see vehicles for sale that are all set up for touring complete with fridges, cooking and camping gear. If you could find a vehicle like that you could at least save yourself some time chasing around after all that stuff that we carry with us on camping trips.

You dont say what time of year you are doing your trip - presumably in the winter months?

Hope that helps,

Val.

AnswerID: 500116

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:58

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:58
Our trip is really focused on the top end and gibb river road, so from home to about Alice/Uluru will just be overnight stops and a solid push. So in effect our trip will start from there for 3 months.

Thanks for the blogs I will definitely be reading those. I have increased my fuel allowance thanks. Food wise we will mostly be camp cooking and will on,y have around 4 beers each a night so cost should be down on that. But I have increased my food budget to 4k :-)

We will certainly be taking advantage of the free bush camping sites where ever possible.

Definitely have the contingencies sorted for servicing and any repairs, but only 2k? I hope that's enough??? We have some spending money also for the tourist things :-)

Will be arriving in May and setting off in June so best time to go trouble free I think?

FollowupID: 776141

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:52

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 16:52
G'day again, forgot to mention Total Cover from one of the Motoring Organisations, RACV, RACQ etc, must have if you break down far from home.......... well worth the money if you need it. John

AnswerID: 500122

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:59

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 21:59
Good call, didn't think about that? Do any cover you for remote locations like that?
FollowupID: 776142

Reply By: Jan B (VIC) - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 17:47

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 17:47
Hi UKSkippy, when are you due home, I Have a 4.2 1998 ready to go if you are interested and in melb.
AnswerID: 500126

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:00

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:00
Due home in May fella.
FollowupID: 776143

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:31

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 18:31
G'day UKSkippy,

if you have your heart set on setting up with all the gear you noted, it might be an idea to get it all from the one place to get a decent discount.

I have no affiliation with the business, but a place like JTS, at www.jtsonline.com.au, might be able to give you an idea - or a scare.

Just a thought,

AnswerID: 500134

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:00

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:00
Thanks I will take a look.
FollowupID: 776144

Follow Up By: tuck - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:27

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:27
Think you should check you dates . 3ltr problems are BEFORE about 03 not after 05
FollowupID: 776147

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:57

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 22:57
A couple of other things too,

- we have a 1996 Landcruiser 80 series diesel. It has done just over 426,000 kms and I reckon it'd be good for that again. I have a mate with a petrol 80 series that has over 550,000 hard km on the clock and still going well. A diesel with less than 300,000 kms hasn't been run in yet,

- and, we did a trip from NSW Central Coast, to the Kimberley, through Alice and the Centre in August / September. 13,000 kms in 6 weeks and we saw plenty. You'll have plenty of time to see heaps. Consider it a big tasting plate, because you'll be wanting to come back for more, for sure.

Even when you're travelling between places, you'll be somewhere and there'll be sights and things to experience and soak in.

Travelling through most parts of Australia is like travelling through a huge water colour painting, with it going all over and around you. The red dirt will get in your blood and you'll be addicted. When you go back to the UK you'll find that everyday you'll be having flashbacks of places you've been.
There are scenes and panoramas that are huge. They are so beautifulthey look fake.

Almost everyday I change my desktop background. This is our current scene -

Have fun,
FollowupID: 776148

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:08

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:08
Hi Steve,

What an inspiring reply you have done thanks and you photo adds more to my desire to do this trip. So a car that old will I not have Gasket, or head issues being so old surely I am setting myself up for a breakdown? What inspections can be done that will make me have piece of mind that my car is ready and in top condition before I head off?

Incidentally I am from the Central Coast, grew up there and born in Gosford Hospital, this is where I will be leaving from.

FollowupID: 776149

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 18:11

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 18:11
G'day,

like anything used, it depends on it's history.

I know for a fact that the 80 Series Landcruiser is a tough, comfortable tourer.
There are many on the market at any one time and they will all vary in quality.

We bought ours off an old bloke who maintained it meticulously. I have made sure it is serviced when it needs to.
We do about 50,000 kms a year in it for work and leisure.
Everything from outback touring to playing around near Lithgow.

It started as an 8 seater but now the kids have grown up we have it set up as a two seat tourer.

The 4.2 litre diesel is basically a truck motor. It's not the quickest thing on Earth but it's reliable.

If you can find something with records of it's service history you should be off to a good start.

As for where to go, head west from the coast. I've got a book called Australian Bush Pubs that I use as an atlas. It's a good excuse to have a beer and go for a drive (I don't condone drink driving though).

Feel free to contact me if you want. If you're not a member you might have to put a reply on this thread, until it's archived.

Here's another picture for you -
Hoo roo,
FollowupID: 776222

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 06:39

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 06:39
Do you know what the land cruiser prado are like? Around the 2004 year 3.0L Deisel???
FollowupID: 776256

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 21:53

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 21:53
I haven't had any experience with Prados, except my sister has a petrol Prado.

They are a different set up to the Landcruisers, same basic idea but downsized.
Many people have used them for what you want but I tend to shy away from those 3.0 litre turbos.

A trip like you are doing is long and constant.
You'll be travelling long distances, carrying a fair load. Rough roads and long hot bitumen roads. That'll have the four cylinder working it's back side off. That's my way of thinking.

I you have the time to check out every possible vehicle option, look at the price and what you get for that price, how many kilometres they have clocked up.
After you get confused you will have a good idea what is the best value for you.

One thing to consider too, is that in the more remote areas of Australia will most likely find Landcruiser parts if you need something quick. Patrol drivers will probably say that's because they breakdown more often, but the fact is they are the vehicle of choice for the vast majortity of landholders and Government Depts.

We broke our steering arm off our front hub about 1 kilometre north of the Pentecost River on the Gibb River Road. We fixed it enough to get to Wyndham, 100 km away. We got it repaired in Kununnurra overnight.
I have heard of people being stuck there for a week waiting for parts to be shipped up there from Southern States.

Just something to consider.

FollowupID: 776308

Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:25

Monday, Dec 10, 2012 at 23:25
Just my opinion, but I don't reckon you need half that stuff for that route.
- 3mths is not long enough to do at a 'leisurely pace' Long enough to do it, but you can't dawdle.
- Since I personally wouldn't touch a 3lt Patrol with a bargepole, I'd be looking at something else. As you're not towing I wouldn't discount a petrol. It won't eat that much more fuel, you'll buy it for less, sell it for less, the difference probably not that much different from doing the same with a higher priced diesel. I have friends that did the majority of this trip in a Mazda Tribute towing a camper trailer and another in a Subaru Outback (towing a wind-up camper) so hard core diesel 4WD not mandatory.
- Might not need new tyres however one way of avoiding punctures is to have good condition tyres in the beginning so this will depend on what you get with the vehicle. I'd get the dual battery, a fridge (handy for beer and milk), tent (but not sure about those roof top things anyway, I'd go a simple tent), simple cooking stuff (gas bottle, burner, frypan & saucepan) but not the solar or sat phone.
- I'd forget the diff breathers unless you do them yourself. I did get mine done but have many relatives and friends that have done this trek without them. There's not that much water to cross.
- I don't know what the good places are that require hard core 4WD action.

Others will think otherwise, but as I said, just my opinion...
AnswerID: 500153

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 08:38

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 08:38
I did most of that trip about 6 years ago in a Subaru Outback, camping with 4 people. You have to go way off the beaten track to need a modded up 4x4 in my opinion. A stock Hilux or Patrol would be better for carrying more gear and handle your needs easily. The only mods I would do are some good a/t tyres with an extra spare, maybe some lights, a roof awning and second battery. Swags under the awning are a good quick setup. Extra fuel and water are a must.
FollowupID: 776168

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 19:14

Tuesday, Dec 11, 2012 at 19:14
Three months will NOT be a leisurely pace Skippy. My theory is when you have a time frame to have an idea what your highest priorities are and look at those closest, thinking of the next stage if you have the time. Take it easy and enjoy, seeing places thoroughly, then approaching half way through the time, plot a different route home. It doesn't matter if you don't get far - you will have enjoyed it and had a relaxing time.

AnswerID: 500191

Reply By: UKSkippy - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 02:44

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 02:44
So as most people are saying the 80 or 100 series Landcruiser is as tough as nails and I should go for that, is that the same for the Prado version?

Is a 3.0L turbo deisel 2004 prado ok? Bearing in mind we would be towing and will only be roof top tent camping?
AnswerID: 500210

Follow Up By: UKSkippy - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 02:46

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 02:46
WOULD NOT BE TOWING I MEANT!!!
FollowupID: 776253

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 08:31

Thursday, Dec 13, 2012 at 08:31
Surprising that no one has yet suggested looking at a Troopy for toughness and ability to carry a big load. Also for easy access to spares should the need arise as troopys and the cab chassis versions are the most common vehicle in the northern half of Oz.

And before anyone says that they roll over...maybe a few do when they are driven by inexperienced drivers, but not when driven with due care. We are just one of many happy Troopy owners that have taken our big beasts into many out of the way places and enjoyed what they have to offer.

IMHO a troopy would be the ideal vehicle for your trip.

Val

FollowupID: 776323

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 14:22

Wednesday, Dec 12, 2012 at 14:22
UkSkippy

You are making the wrong car choice - go for the petrol 4800 GU Patrol (2002-2010)

You will end up paying $2000 more for the fuel to run it , but could save that on deprecitation / service cost alone.

They sell for about $15 - $25K up to 2005 which should help your budget.

But beyond that they are probably one of the most reliable - powerful and smooth cars around with all the patrol strengths and then some but without the engine issues.

P.S. avoid buying one on gas - go for manual if you can get it

AnswerID: 500233