Whats your worst/ best experience travelling around oz?

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 03:29
ThreadID: 99501 Views:4321 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
Whats your worst/ best experience travelling around oz? or better still whats the most trouble you have gotten into out bush and how did you get yourself out of it? So many people come up with amazing ideas thinking outside the square to get themselves out of the "poop", would love to hear your stories!

Reply By: Wilko (Parkes NSW) - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 08:38

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 08:38
Hi Jacent,

Back when I was a wee lad I had an XC falcon ute. I was travelling around seeing the sights. I was in west Qld between Normanton and Karumba (and in those days it wasn't a very good road at all.

I had 2 spares on-board when I got a puncture, but unfortunately in the haste to get going, my mate loaded 2 XY spares with a smaller centre hub. We spent the best part of 2 days filling the centre out on both rims so we could get going. It was hot dusty and flys were so big and thick they were deciding whether to eat us there or take us away.

God damn it was fun times though.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 500457

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 10:25

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 10:25
Way back when we were young and inexperienced at travelling, we took a trip from Armidale NSW up to the Whitsundays. We had an Austin 1800 and an old lean-to canvas tent. The road between Rocky and Mackay was narrow single lane bitumen and seemed to go through pretty lonely country that was full of prickly pear. In the previous couple of years there had been a couple of murders along that road of people sleeping in their cars so we were a bit apprehensive about driving that stretch. I think some people would try to make up a convoy to have some support.

At some point along that road we came up behind an old "jalopy" travelling quite slowly. When we tried to overtake, which happened a few times, he would pull right in to the middle of the road so we could not get past. Had us a bit worried for a while, but eventually did get around him and lived to tell the tale.

BTW that holiday was great - we slept in the car for a few nights in what was then just bush overlooking Shute Harbour. Couldn't do that now.

Val

Val

AnswerID: 500466

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:28

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:28
10 years ago we had Long service leave & a second hand 4x4.
We had over heating problems near Kununurra W.A. We'd had the vehicle fully serviced before we left & asked them to check the viscous fan in particular. Yep, working fine!
Off we went ... soooooo.excited.
We were overheating at Elquestro & went straight into Kununura.
It was on a Friday afternoon. Nobody was interested.
In short, we were told that it had a cracked head & they would need three weeks to do what had to be done .The cost of a new Engine 6,000.00.
That's a very short version of events, we did do all that we could & decided to ship it home & go home on the bus with our Insurance.
It was a 2nd hand vehicle & the Insurance gave us 3 days to decide
The Big 4 Park in Kununura were Fantastic.

The Bus trip was dreadful, no light in toilet, toilet overflowing.
We decided to to a break in the trip in Alice Springs & hope the next bus was better. We woke up next morning to the terrorist attacks & People crying in the Foyer of our motel .
When we got the 4x4 home months later . No cracked head , It was the viscous fan! We were told a few stories when we continued our trip the next yr.
We stayed at what we thought was a beautiful C.P this time ,out of town a bit & that is a whole new roll of toilet paper. We were told to go anywhere in the Park by the receptionist & then the bloke came along & put us almost on top of other campers because he was putting Urea out. We hated that & so did the Neighbours.
Take care, safe travels. Ma.

FollowupID: 776531

Reply By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:13

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:13
G'day jacent,

one of best/worst was last September, just of the Gibb River Road.

We'd crossed the Pentecost River and turned left, heading for the Old Karunjie Road.
About a km from the river we were heading up a washout when the Cruiser wouldn't steer properly. Mrs got out to have a look and said we weren't going anywhere. I said I'll back down because we were sitting on a 30 degree angle and was told "NO". We were staying where we were.

Turns out the studs that hold the steering arm to the front hub were snapped off.
Anyhow, we chocked it, organised shade, had a cuppa. Then we jacked it up, got everything in about the right place, pinched a stud from the other side, wrapped it in tie wire, tightened it up with a tie down strap and checked it every 10 minutes or so.

This little set up got us to Wyndham, and a bottle shop.

It was great to have good mates that are bush mechanics and love a challenge. We had fantastic views along that drive to fill in the time because we had to take it easy.

I'm really glad it didn't break half way across the Pentecost River, that would have been a totally different story.
AnswerID: 500473

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:40

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 12:40
Oh ,Eighty Matey, You were Lucky!
We've had to do some bush repairs too,thankfully there's been one lucky aspect that enabled them to be carried out.
Take Care Safe travels. Ma.
FollowupID: 776533

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:59

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:59
Hi Ma,

a cup of tea and a bit of nouse will get you through most things.

FollowupID: 776546

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 19:00

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 19:00
Eighty Matey. I'm glad you said most things! There are some times when Murphy appears to be an Optimist.
I left a lot out of my story!
I'm enjoying these replies, but perhaps not quite what jacent was after?
We got out of the Poo in that bus! LOL.
Take care, safe travels Ma.
FollowupID: 776549

Follow Up By: flashcher - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:59

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:59
Funny enough, I saw exactly the same thing today in an underground shopping centre carpark.
FollowupID: 776559

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 21:53

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 21:53
It's sort of not what jacent seemed to start out requesting, but all the stories are a worst/best scenario.

The stories start out with things going awry and end up ending well, although you did mention there are parts of your story missing. I hope it ended well for you.

Steve.
FollowupID: 776564

Follow Up By: jacent - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:48

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:48
I think if that was me it would be a beer to think about it! good on ya for getting yourself outa there! BTW any story is fine! just thought I would start with a topic, people tend to wander anyway!
FollowupID: 776571

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:07

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:07
I'm a big fan of beer, but at that point we'd consumed the last of our beers days before. We were hanging to get to Wyndham and resupply the beer stocks.

I'd truly have to say the first six beers I had a Wyndham were in the top 3 first six beers I've ever had. They were grouse.

FollowupID: 776605

Reply By: Robyn R4 - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 15:58

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 15:58
My first big trip with hubby while we were dating and on major time and financial restrictions...
Travelled by motorbike from NSW central coast to Uluru in 1988 with 2 other couples. Decided to part company and go it alone at Erldunda. The next day, the bike wouldn't start and our friends had already gone. Murphy's Law, eh?!
Took hours to get one of the many motorists at the servo to help us with jumper leads-a bit intimidated by "bikies" even though we were on an unassuming Kawasaki!
Limped to Uluru. On day 2, the bike wouldn't start. 2 blokes helped us get going and we limped it down to Coober Pedy.
Yep, bike wouldn't start the next day either. The only bike mechanic was in Adelaide for a week. No good. We don't have a week. Rooms were hard to find in town (they were filming Mad Max 2) but we finally found one for the weekend. Booked out on the Sunday morning and had to stay clean (in Coober Pedy?!) until our bus left at midnight.
While we were killing time, we saw one of the 2 guys who'd helped us at Erldunda. They'd left later that day and swerved to miss a roo...their car rolled and the other guy was killed. The one who survived was wearing a neck brace curtesy of the RFDS and Coober Pedy hospital.
Got the bike up onto a truck Sunday afternoon- the bike was half on a wooden pallet (the bike was too long for any other strategy we came up with!),with hubby sitting on the bike and holding onto the forklift as they were lifted onto the truck! Waved the bike off to Adelaide where we'd hopefully work out where to find it again and organise for repairs...!
Left Coober Pedy at midnight and apparently a big opal robbery took place a few hours later with all roads being closed temporarily while police did searches of vehicles...
Miraculously found suburb and shop where bike went and hubby did part of the repairs to cut costs.
And after all that, we still managed to meander through some of Victoria and eastern Riverina on our way home in time to go back to work!

We'd love to re-do the trip one day in an uneventful manner...!
AnswerID: 500480

Reply By: Gaynor - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 16:22

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 16:22
I was hitching the CSR for a second year in a row. At Well 36 I was very comfortable with clean water and camped there for a few days waiting for traffic and the possibility of a lift to Well 37. The flies and ants started to get to me on about the 4th day however. It had rained through the night and was overcast the next day as well. I knew I could not stray from water for longer than two days and that Well 37 water was not the best I had seen the year before. But with cloud cover, the chance of further rain and the knowledge that I could probably make do with whatever water I found in an emergency, I set out. My pack weight was 40kg, 8 litres being water.

Carrying that much weight almost crippled me. I staggered along for a whole day, camped overnight, caught a bit of rain to top up my water and staggered along into the next day. The distance between the wells was only 20km, but in one day I had only covered 10kms. My feet were in agony, my inner resources under pressure, one foot in front of the other. Then I heard an unfamiliar sound. That of a machine. A vehicle. I call them the Parrot People. Two friends attending a conference in Alice Springs, decided to make a little detour home onto the CSR for the specific purpose of looking for the Princess Parrots which live in only a few areas around Australia. I think they said from Well 34 to Well 39, Kings Canyon and a couple of other small areas. I was so relieved as I cast my over the inside of the vehicle. It was not overloaded to the ceiling as other CSR vehicles. There was space enough for me. Not. My hopes were dashed when the lovely couple said there was no space to give me a lift to Well 37, 5kms down the track. I saw plenty of space!!! I would hang off the sides even if I had to. But as a hitch hiker I have a value system. Do not impose myself. This is their journey too. If people offer me water or a lift I may accept, but I will not make my situation their problem. They were both keen bushwalkers themselves and when the lady offered to take my heavy pack and leave it at the next well, I fell over myself accepting the offer. It was a risk being separated from my kit, but I removed my emergency supplies and equipment and gratefully loaded the majority of my kit into their 4x4. And topped up with their offer of water.

The walking was much faster now and very pleasant. Such a relief to only be carrying 10kg, I was enjoying my surroundings again. Between Well36 and 37 is a particularly beautiful section of the CSR with lovely desert pines and lots of bird life, camels and dingoes. At the Well 37 I was relieved to see my red backpack and delighted to find a surprise. An orange and apple wrapped in paper and somehow kept cool. What a treat. I then looked into the well. The water was a horrible grey gruel of moving things and nasty! It tried not to let the shock get to me. I could boil it and treat it with water purifying tablets and in an emergency, I would drink it, but now I had to decide if I was in an emergency. I went and found a nice place to camp under the trees and then assessed my situation. The next well with water was an impossible walk. If I stayed where I was for longer than 24 hours waiting for a lift, my water reserves would be depleted. If a lift did not come, one that had space or even just spare water, I would be be forced to drink the bad looking water. I would survive but I preferred an alternative. Well 36 had good, clean water. I was wishing I was back at my old home. My strength was very low and I doubted my ability to to carry my heavy backback all the way. I accepted that I might have to ditch my kit close to Well36 and travel the last bit lighter, to get water.

I decided to carbo load with food over lunch, evening meal and breakfast, building my strength for the ordeal ahead. It was incredible to feel the power returning to my body as I put in fuel. After breakfast I prepared to start the trek. What a lovely surprise then, to meet the Parrot People again on their way back!!! The road ahead had not look good and they had decided not to go to Well 39 and rather turn back early. I was delighted. They shared a meal with me again, topped up my water and again offered to carry my backpack to Well36. This time I could not give them most of my pack as I would need it for an overnight camp, but I did give them my months supply of food less what I needed for two days. 10kgs off my weight helped a lot.

I arrived the next day at Well 36 with a massive blister on a big toe, but very happy to see my old home, the food store hanging from a tree...... and clean water. Of course, after this epic 4 day adventure, lots of traffic suddenly all arrived at once at Well 36!

This was one of my toughest stints on the CSR. It was also one I remember with fondness for the sense of achievement and the incredible feeling of being looked out for when I am in the middle of nowhere. I am allowed to struggle and grow and experience all that I want to experience, but .... that little bit of help, just enough, not too much, is always provided when needed most ... and I am grateful.
AnswerID: 500481

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:05

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 17:05
I'm planning a CSR crossing next year with some friends. We are crapping oursleves with how we'll manage in our air conditioned Toyota's and instant pop up tents, and on board Fridges (cold beer and wine every day) and you not only walked the CSR you were hitch hiking.......in a word...wow
FollowupID: 776598

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:02

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 19:02
I can't wait to read Gaynor's book when she gets to write it..
FollowupID: 776604

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 10:28

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 10:28
It would be a great read, although I gather many have done it and I was reading on another Forum where someone was planning to do it next year. Whilst I am in awe of them doing that I am not sure it's really the smartest thing to do...after all if the crap hits the fan you are relying on everyone else to get you out (through). BUT it's certainly some sort of badge to wear "what you crossed the CSR in 21 days in your air conditioned 4WD...bah, I walked it in 3 months".

And that IS somethig to tell the grandkids
FollowupID: 776639

Follow Up By: Gaynor - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:30

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 18:30
You have a great sense of humour Mark T6 :-) And it is all true what you said in your first post about people crapping about doing it in luxury.

With regards to relying on others to get me out or through:

My perspective is a little different, naturally. I do not like relying on other people. I am fiercely independent. Something my friends and family struggle with. By joining up with Pam and Tony with their support vehicle this is the first time I am relying on others to follow through with a certain course of action. It scares the shit out of me. It goes against everything I live by. I am a loner. I don't know how to play well with others over an extended period of time. Traveling with Pam and Tony will be an extreme test of my ability to adapt and work as a team. A test I am both daunted by .... and challenged. If we can do this successfully, I will learn that it is possible for people to change. That is is possible for Me to change.

But knowing how hard that is from experience, I am obviously planning a backup option that does not rely on daily assistance. I have a body that has been broken and a difficult personality to contend with. To get to the other side is a major goal if I do not want to feel like a failure in everything and so I prepare for the alternative - walking the last half alone if I have to, in my own time, making food and water drops ahead of the start.

I also carry a SPOT. A satellite tracker with a paid up extraction and repatriation option and I have direct contact with the GEOS Alliance rescue coordinator in Australia who will be monitoring my progress. This is not reliance. This is forward planning. A service paid for in advance. I don't expect anything from anyone, other than the normal courtesy I have been offered by fellow travelers in all my years of travelling around Australia. It makes the journey more pleasant and sometimes, a little easier. Ultimately I choose to do what I am doing with eyes wide open, and I accept the consequences of the outcome as being my sole responsibility.

Hopefully Mark T6, we will get to meet on the CSR next year (2013) and share a few stories over a camp fire :-)
FollowupID: 776661

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:33

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:33
Hi Mark T6,

I suggest you check out ThreadID: 99313 to get an idea of the background to Gaynor's hitchhiking history, plus a bit more.

FollowupID: 776671

Follow Up By: Member - eighty matey - Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:38

Tuesday, Dec 18, 2012 at 21:38
Hi Mark T6,

I suggest you check out ThreadID: 99313 to get an idea of the background to Gaynor's hitchhiking history, plus a bit more.

FollowupID: 776673

Follow Up By: Mark T6 - Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 09:48

Wednesday, Dec 19, 2012 at 09:48
It would be a pleasure Gaynor, as I said in my first reply I am in absolute awe of someone who would do that. I crossed the Simpson last year, lots of Dunes, very remote and he's us arriving, setting up our 2 minute "Taj Mahal" tents, digging a hole for the pop up dunny, starting the fire, grabbing a coldie out of the fridge, checking the footy scores on the sat phone and saying "boy that was a tough day...52 Kms in 7 hours"

And then I read this, and I am somewhat embarressed in comparison.

We'll be doing a crossing mid July to 1st week August, me in my Silver Prado, a mate in a Cruiser Troopy, and a couple of other mates in a 100 and 200 landcruiser...if we run into you I'll be saying "hey are you that lady from Explore Oz"...and if so I'd be delighted to share a cuppa, or one of my cold beers or one of my wifes cold wines.

And I am about to read thread 99313 (thanks Steve)
FollowupID: 776692

Reply By: Member - Berylvt - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:24

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:24
1981, travelling I the NT in a Holden station wagon. We were in a fairly new relationship - he working in the NT and me working in Sydney. I had flown out to meet him for this trip for 2 weeks after being apart for about 6 months. We were still being polite to each other....

On our way to Palm Valley, on a rough road, I noticed a rather foul odour. Politely I refrained from mentioning it. But then again, again! He was farting! As the afternoon went on I became more than a little incensed. By the time we stopped to camp I was rather annoyed.

So while we were making camp, I firmly suggested he take the shovel and find a good spot......

Well -long story short - he thought I was doing the farting. The disagreement was only resolved when we opened the esky - and found a very ripe cheese which had "blossomed " in the heat. The esky lid had been lifting momentarily as we went over bumps, releasing a small "taste" of what it had to offer.

My goodness it did smell good -once the context was clear.

We have loved that cheese ever since. Esrom.
AnswerID: 500484

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:50

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 17:50
Hi Beryl,

What a great story!

Our first trip with a trailer was only a few years ago and we went down part of the CSR. Being a novice at packing food in a trailer, many of the lids worked their way off the dried food containers. As a result the bottom of the trailer contained a wonderful mixture of flour, powdered milk, muesli, rice and pasta. We cleaned it up easily and thought no more about it.

A few weeks later we were further west and the weather was damp. The flies were bad - every time we opened up the trailer, flies seemed to come swarming about. And we had a couple of camps which seemed to have a bad small.

Eventually the penny dropped. The flies and the smell were coming from the trailer. Under the false floor was the remains of the spilled dried food. A bottle of wine had broken and dampened it, along with a bit of condensation ... and that was a great place for flies to lay their eggs. Yuk, what an awful mess. We had to ditch the carpet in the bottom of the trailer and give the whole lot a very thorough clean out. But I did learn a bit about how NOT to pack a trailer.

Such are the adventures that we have on our travels!

Val.

FollowupID: 776544

Follow Up By: jacent - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:42

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:42
ha ha that story is so funny! one to remember!
FollowupID: 776569

Reply By: mountainman - Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:00

Sunday, Dec 16, 2012 at 20:00
funny that about the maggots.
i just paid and got the new kitchen installed at home, mums place.
and she thaws out the meat on the bench..not best idea from hygiene ive been told.
soo she put said meat in one of the cupboards.... forgets its their..
anyway this fowl smell was in the kitchen, horendous!! and thought thats the sinks plumbing.. only when i realy went looking, their was said meat, under the bench on a plate, with HUNDREDS of maggots on it...
brand new kitchen, well i rang her up, and she came home to clean it, because i aint!!

i can handle dead cows full of maggots, and drag chain them down to the graveyard, but the stupidity of that in the kitchen wins hands down.
thats why you should always thaw it in the fridge... or buy fresh.
few contents of the said cupboard got thrown.. soo not all lost.
psst.. it kind of needed a clean out. ha haa
AnswerID: 500494

Reply By: Member - OnYaBike - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 00:11

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 00:11
I was coming from Kowanyama (then still called Mitchell River Mission) to Cairns in a ten year old Series 2 Landrover. The Developmental Road was still being built and didn't go much past Wrotham Park. Suddenly there was a banging and clanging from underneath and we ground to a halt. All the nuts and bolts holding the propellor shaft to the diff had let go at once, and the shaft was somewhat bent.
I had been giving a couple of aboriginal guys a lift to Chillagoe. They walked back and in bulldust like talcum powder found three nuts and three bolts which was enough to get us to Cairns at a greatly reduced speed. Although "speed" and "Series 2 Landrover" are not words generally found in close proximity.
AnswerID: 500513

Follow Up By: jacent - Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:45

Monday, Dec 17, 2012 at 03:45
ha ha definately not! you were very lucky to have found the nuts!
FollowupID: 776570