If u could live anywhere...where in Oz would u live for the lifestyle?

Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 16:38
ThreadID: 105479 Views:5310 Replies:37 FollowUps:35
Suppose for a moment that you didn’t need to work, and you weren’t restricted by the need to be close to existing family etc.

In what town/city/area in Australia would you choose to live, and why?

Reply By: Phil B (WA) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 16:45

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 16:45
For me that would be Perth so I was on the doorstep of the western deserts; one solid days drive and I'm there.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 523017

Follow Up By: DiscoTourer - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:35

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:35
Perth for me too. Having lived in every other state of Australia (apart from Tassie) Perth has just a touch more to offer for the areas that I love to travel.
Only downside to Perth is the fleecing and gouging that is common.
Every place has its beauty and benefits.
Brett....
FollowupID: 804282

Reply By: passionfruit - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 16:49

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 16:49
An hour out of Cairns........close to a big town and the Cape,reef and the Atherton Table Lands.
AnswerID: 523019

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:02

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:02
Summer: here in Mandurah WA.

Winter: somewhere in the Atherton Tablelands in QLD.

AnswerID: 523020

Follow Up By: allein m - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 21:12

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 21:12
Mandurah used to be a fatastic place in the 70s and 60s but it is so dam big now

do not like the new Mandurah

Sunday sessions at the Peninsula Hotel

PUb
FollowupID: 804304

Follow Up By: new boy - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:13

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:13
Gee the Pen out on the lawn watching the boats and world go by they were the days and it was a cut lunch and water bag to get to Mandurah, 80mph down the Mandurah straight in a FJ hero stuff it,s now a surburb of Perth
Me I,d stay in Geraldton but have the money for a big enough boat to get to the Abrolhos when ever I wanted
FollowupID: 804345

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:16

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:16
My Bundy for Winter eh....

FollowupID: 804377

Follow Up By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:18

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:18
I'll try again for that elusive little T

Mt (got it) Bundy

FollowupID: 804378

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:06

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:06
Another one for Perth - as most people would know, David and I have already moved away from family, friends, work and all trappings, travelled around Australia (deserts and coasts) for almost 2 years and found the lifestyle of Perth on the other side of the country so incredibly appealing we started from scratch here, doing this website. Perth is full of opportunities for people willing to give something a go. It's possible to have a lifestyle here that doesn't revolve around 3 hours a day driving. The climate is is so forgiving - endless glorious days of blue sky, predictable weather (no 4 seasons in one day) and the most gorgeous white sandy beaches, the bluest clear water you've ever seen and like Phil says, easy access to the best remote outback you'll ever see. Every suburb is not far from the beach, kids have a great upbringing, the suburbia that I see is a true community. I can't go anywhere without bumping into people I know. We shop at growers markets, frequent the same local stall holders and feel a part of a community like the one I grew up in back in the 1960s and 70s. It does still exist and I'm proud to be a part of that in modern day Australia.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 523021

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:23

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:23
Interesting. "Your" Perth is obviously different to mine. Then again I was born and raised here so I guess I've become a bit jaded over how the place has changed over the years, not necessarily for the better.

I haven't seen enough of this wonderful continent to really make a call on where else I'd rather live (aside from SW WA or Denmark)
FollowupID: 804278

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:08

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:08
Gidday Michelle

Interesting view of Perth from someone who came here, some from other places are not always so positive. I live there too and I sometimes wonder if we take it a bit for granted. familiarity breeds contempt maybe.
I am old enough to remember when people went on holidays to Mullaloo and What is now Leach Highway was the southern boundary of the city so I have seen a few changes with the growth but I think I am happy to stay.
I lived in Adelaide for a while in the 80s and that was ok and I think the other capitals might just be too big for me though I enjoy Sydney and Melbourne for a visit.
And while there are many idyllic places I have visited I am not sure as a city boy I would be able to live in rural or regional Australia.
I guess home is where the heart is.

FollowupID: 804286

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:17

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:17
there is definitly "2 perths"

there is the trendy parts of perth more or less going from hillarys to Belmont and to freo
here you will have no issues paying $40 for a pub meal, $11 a pint DVD hire costs $7 and can spent hours sitting in traffick jams.
Had a mate in Innaloo and for that reason i hated visiting him

outside of that however things are vastly different, where pub meals are pub prices Pints are under $5, Its cheaper to hire movies than download them and driving around doesnt involve being parked most of the time.

there are good places to go around Perth I particulary like Being in close proximity to the hills and waterfalls where I spend a fair bit of time bushwalking and bike riding. The murrys a great place for side of the river camping and the SW always worth a visit .

Ive never been too keen on the west coast beaches though especially the metro coastline. Apart from the area around rockingham and Pt Peron its realy devoid of character being just sand and shorebreak and much prefer the beaches of the south coast.
Hitting the inland is also a fair stretch from perth as you first need to get past the barron wastelands of the wheatbelt.
I Do miss my time in Kalgoorlie where a short drive in any direction got you into endless bush tracks a bit further to the east got you out to the desert.
While it was a 1/2 day drive to the beaches - they were some of if not the best beaches in Australia.

More than likely my next move will be to Kununnurra
FollowupID: 804288

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:24

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:24
Great post Michelle. I was born and raised in Perth until I was about 18. When I moved out I moved down to the Dunsborough/Margaret River area for about 7 years and then lived in the UK for 7 years. I returned home in 2006 and after a short stint back in Margaret River I moved back to Perth for work reasons.

I agree with a lot of what you say but some things have changed hugely. Having said that these changes are happening to society as a whole so it's easy to contribute them to one particular place when you see these changes taking place before your eyes where you are living. The one thing that can be attributed to Perth though is the staggering increase in the cost of living. After having lived in the UK for so long and coming back I was well and truly shocked at this and it is still something that gets up my nose. It is not a deal breaker though.

The one thing I love about Perth the most is the ability to escape and the enormity and choice of destinations to escape to. It is a constant. From red deserts, to deserted beaches, to lush forests and star filled skies all mere hours away in any direction you choose. Having been land locked in the UK and coming back to this I never take it for granted and am always in awe of what we have here. The space, the freedom to explore. I absolutely treasure it.

FollowupID: 804289

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:36

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:36
"Endless wasteland of the wheatbelt"???

I have to disagree. There are some great places to explore, terrific campsites, history right in front of you.

WA's Wheatbelt Granite Trail

FollowupID: 804292

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:42

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:42
Gidday Get out more

Where are those $5 pints to be found please

FollowupID: 804293

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:42

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:42
well yes there are a few very small patches of bush around the granite rocks that dot the wheatbelt, alot of them ive visited but climbing to the top shows you all the rest has been bulldozed flat
FollowupID: 804294

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:44

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:44
under $5 I said

2 places that spring to mind is 7th avenue and the High Wycombe Tavern
FollowupID: 804295

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 20:49

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 20:49
Was at the High Wycombe Tavern for lunch today. You can get fish and chips or a beef burger or ribs for $15 & it comes with a pint of James Squire beer or $10 gets you a steak sanga & chips. Couldn't eat all my chips either. Fantastic value just ask all the oldies that get in there.

FollowupID: 804303

Follow Up By: Bob W8 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:16

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:16
Roast dinners $3.50 at the waves club in Bundaberg qld and schooners $4.20 not bad and a petty good meat to boot. Plus the weather is terrific
FollowupID: 804332

Follow Up By: Bob W8 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:21

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:21
OH and we make bloody good rum here that's got to be worth a few points
FollowupID: 804333

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:34

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 12:34
Heavily subsidized by pokies Bob. We don't have them in pubs & clubs in WA. I agree about the rum, particularly the coffee/chocolate licqueur drop. We buy a triple pack every visit.

FollowupID: 804334

Follow Up By: Member-George (WA) - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 13:28

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 13:28
Don't make Perth sound so good. We want to keep it all to our self. I would not like to see it become another big city, like Melbourne or Sydney. Unfortunately Perth is going to keep growing as the secret gets out.
FollowupID: 804338

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser74 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:06

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:06
Hi George, fair point but unfortunately the forecast population for Perth by 2050 based on current growth is 5.5 million people. Most of us won't be around to see that (I may just be clinging to the perch!) but even in the next 10 years it's going to increase a fair bit based on those figures. Scary! Don't think a few comments on here are going to influence that much sad to say!

FollowupID: 804340

Follow Up By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:55

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:55
Heres the true story on the cheap food and drinks at the Waves

http://www.acrossthewaves.com/?p=gaming

another good thing about WA no cheap feeds on the back of misery and addiction of others
FollowupID: 804349

Follow Up By: Ron N - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 13:01

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 13:01
One of the reasons I choose to live in Perth is because there's NO POKIES.

The W.A. Govt is dead set against them, for all time, and I love that, and I hope it stays that way forever.
I'm no protester, but I'll be burning tyres in the streets if they ever try to introduce pokies to W.A.

Pokies have to be the greatest social curse ever unleashed upon a nation.

I can remember when I stayed in S.A. for a few weeks, how pokies occupied every facet of social life, and even the tiniest outback pubs had pokies.
The second thing that struck me, was how relatively poor and haggard a lot of suburban Croweaters appeared.
I'm convinced it was because of the constant financial losses of pokies, and the pressure on marriages and relationships as important household money went on pokies.

I'm no wowser, I used to enjoy the money wheel, the dice games, and the other simple games in the Burswood Casino - where you had a reasonable and regular chance of winning a few dollars, and it was fun.

Then along came Packer, who immediately got rid of any simple games where there was a chance of losing money to punters - and he installed 1300 press-button machines to rip off the punters continuously.

I've never been back to Burswood since Packer took it over and expanded it. I don't need to sit in front of a machine all day long pumping in $2 coins or chips, pressing buttons and watching all my money disappear. Talk about soul-destroying.

FollowupID: 804465

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:28

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:28
Magnetic Island. Used to go there each year for a bit of "do nothing" and some fishing. People are just tops. No pretentious or egotistical ones and they smile or talk to you at the shops or just on the wharf. Just nice people who don't mind saying hello and if you accidentally bump someone you don't get a scowl or your not "king hit". Just as life used to be.

AnswerID: 523022

Reply By: wombat100 - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:43

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:43
St Helens- Tassie

AnswerID: 523023

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 07:22

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 07:22
Good onya Wombat

St Helens would be on my shortlist.

FollowupID: 804445

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:50

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 17:50
I wouldn't live anywhere else.
I live at Woolgoolga and next Monday the new Pacific Highway bypasses us.
No more Bdoubles and exhaust brakes.
My backyard looks and feels like a resort and a six minute walk to the ocean.
Paradise ...
And I don't work anymore !
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 523024

Reply By: allein m - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:02

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 18:02
Broken Hill an amazing place
AnswerID: 523025

Follow Up By: Gustle - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 18:03

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 18:03
The country around Broken Hill is just amazing. What is it like living there?
FollowupID: 804352

Reply By: Member - VickiW - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 20:52

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 20:52
Ha - does Arkaroola count as a town? Love South Australia - Eyre Peninsula, Flinders, Innamincka region & Simpson, Oodnadatta, Nullabour, etc etc etc SA has all of my favourite places.
AnswerID: 523026

Reply By: WBS - Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 22:34

Friday, Dec 13, 2013 at 22:34
I grew up in Perth but my career took me east. I've lived in quite a few places, Bendigo, Sydney, Canberra and Wadonga and I liked them all including Perth, but where I live now is where I choose to live - Berwick Victoria-. It suits me fine.
WBS
AnswerID: 523032

Reply By: splits - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 00:34

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 00:34
In the the Armed Forces I lived in Sydney, Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Wagga Wagga, Albury and Puckapunyal Vic. In civilian life you can include the Snowy Mountains. I am currently back in Sydney. I have driven through the central deserts, all over Tasmania and the top of Queensland.

Give me the Snowy Mountains any day. You get all four seasons, no high humidity, snow in winter, magnificernt scenery, the huge man made lakes, great four wheel driving, excellent camping, no crowds or traffic jams, wood fires at home and you are not far from the coast and cities like Canberra or large rural towns if you need any of their facilities.

I can't leave Sydny at the moment but I'll get back into those mountains one day.
AnswerID: 523033

Follow Up By: fisherPete - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 21:09

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 21:09
We spend on average 3 weeks a year camped in the snowies mainly flyfishing for trout.I could not agree more.
FollowupID: 804369

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 00:57

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 00:57
I reckon Denmark on the south coast of WA would take a lot of beating for year round beauty and mild climate.

If you like winter - Tasmania.

AnswerID: 523037

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 01:11

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 01:11
Hi Motherhen,
I agree but don't tell too many people, we who live there don't want it to get like that other place on the SW corner, the one with expensive everything, and supposedly the best wines, surf and climate.

Seasons Greetings

Disco.
FollowupID: 804312

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 01:16

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 01:16
Very true Disco. I don't go near that other place now.Denmark had changed very little from when my mother used to holiday there and when I holidayed there with a school friend. It has grown and changed considerably now, but still a beautiful place if you can afford the land these days.

Mh

FollowupID: 804313

Reply By: Slow one - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 05:41

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 05:41
Atherton or Kilcoy
AnswerID: 523038

Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 08:04

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 08:04
The best place in IMHO is Wamuran in the foothills of the D’Aguilar Range just north west of Brisbane. Here you can experience the best of everything. Beautiful views to the coast (cool summer breezes) but close enough to the Pumicestone Passage for day trips fishing, water sports. Close to Sunshine tourist attractions for day trips…eg Noosa restaurant trips. Should a bit of culture be desired its only 1 hour drive to Brisbane southbank theatres, art galleries, museum etc (or 15 min drive to Caboolture Railway station then air con electric train to city). An easy commute to annual Woodfordia for the Folk Festival. Close to nearby farms where fresh bananas, pineapples, avocadoes, lychees, pawpaws, custard apples, mangoes can be purchased from road side stalls or farms direct (or grow your own).
This is a mini acreage area without the high price tag. Middle income earners can afford to buy (or retire) here. Plenty of room on mini acreage to park caravan, boat. A nice big shed will always keep a man happy.
Life could not get any better than this.

Who would not like this view from their deck or kitchen window???

AnswerID: 523040

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 07:25

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 07:25
My earlier answer of Magnetic Island, QLD still stands if I was on my own. But the boss wants to see out this place. We like the front view over the southern suburbs of Canberra towards the Brindabellas and the Snowy in the far distance. Bit cold for me but this is a partnership.

You may see a btter view of the panorama photo on here:Photobucket
FollowupID: 804446

Reply By: Graeme - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 08:52

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 08:52
Coffs Harbour for me having lived there for 13 years now.
I spent about 35 years wandering the world in my line of work and even when I am away I look forward to the flight up the coast from Sydney, especially on a beautiful day. It is paradise.
I am over big cities, so when I have to go to them I am in a hurry to get back home.
AnswerID: 523042

Reply By: Member - Chris_K - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:24

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:24
I have to be beside the water or I go mad....Perth is lovely - but too far away from everything else in the world. So for me it's Rainbow Beach to relax, Brisbane for the lifestyle and access to the bay islands, or Southport for boating. :) Great topic, and nice to see how passionate people are about where they love to live!
AnswerID: 523046

Reply By: Member - Geoff B (WA) - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:47

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:47
Australind/Bunbury WA. With in 20kms of home we can be 4WDving on the beach, or through the state forests, or out in the ocean trying to catch some Dhuies. In under a two hour drive we can be in Perth (maybe for the footy or concerts), camping at granite rocks etc in the wheat belt or be down among the tall timbers or the vineyards of the SW.
Sue B
AnswerID: 523047

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:56

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 09:56
Katherine NT.
Beautiful weather. Gorge just up the road. Only a short drive to Kakadu, Gregory National Park, Litchfield NP.
A little bit further and you have the Kimberly.
It is at a crossroads and you have the choice of heading North South or West.
Drive a short distance south and you can head east.
It is ideally situated to explore the top of Australia.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 523048

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:06

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:06
Agree about the gorge, but take that out of Katherine and you have a Tenant Creek. The location as you pointed out is excellent as a cross roads though.
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 804484

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 15:24

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 15:24
Lyndon
We are all different. I believe you live in Darwin. You probably like it. For me Darwin is too big. Too many people. Too many traffic lights. Too much traffic. At least Darwin is smaller than the other capital cities, but I prefer not to go to cities unless I have too. PS I actually live at Lansdowne but if I put that no one would know where it was so it was easier to put Katherine.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 804530

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 16:06

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 16:06
Yep, we sure are all different. Darwin is about the right size for us, 15 minutes to anywhere in town. I can just see someone from the likes of Gregory Downs saying "Katherine, too many people and traffic lights for me" :-)
We are all better off than most people overseas though. My brother lives in the UK. Commutes for 6.5 Hrs a DAY, 3.25 each way!
All to earn what we would consider an ordinary wage!
I would live anywhere in OZ before I did that!

FollowupID: 804534

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 11:31

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 11:31
Would have to say Laurieton on the mid north coast NSW. Pop 2000 has 2 medical centres, vampire centre (blood) 2 dentists, 2 fire stations (one rural), police station, ambulance station, 1/2 hour to major hospital, library, swimming pool, old school picture theatre, school, Coles and Woolworths, pub, 2 clubs, 2 lakes, river, countless beaches, and is only 15 min from the hinterlands and 4x4 tracks, and the weather is mild all year round(except in April it rains for a week)

AnswerID: 523052

Follow Up By: ian59 - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 12:51

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 12:51
that would be only for the easter weekend the rest of the month is beautiful
FollowupID: 804728

Reply By: Lyn W3 - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 11:31

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 11:31
Woodgate, Childers, Hervey Bay, Wide Bay area,
Great Climate......not too hot in summer no frosts in winter
Good rainfall so it is generally green
No cyclones.......yet
Just an occasional stinger
No crocs............well maybe an odd one
Great river, reef and ocean fishing
You can get to Fraser Is by boat or ferry in less than an hour
Anything grows
Reasonable land and house prices
Bundy Rum close by
Good medical facilities
Brisbane less than three hours away.
AnswerID: 523053

Reply By: Ron N - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:20

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:20
There's a lot of places in Australia that are worthy of living in. I was born in, and I've lived in Perth for more than half my life. I've lived in the S.E. wheatbelt of W.A., the Northern and Southern Goldfields of W.A. - in Western Sydney - and in inland Victoria. I've stayed for extended periods in Darwin, Brisbane and the GC, and even Marble Bar!
I enjoyed living in most of them, particularly the heavily-treed Southern Goldfields, around Kambalda and Norseman.
I also really enjoyed the S.E. wheatbelt for its peacefulness and beauty, especially the heavier treed areas there, too.

Every one of these places has its highs and lows, and its particularly scenic spots and interesting and historic places.
However, for "lifestyle", you can't beat living close to the water somewhere - as 80% of Australians do. If you have a particularly scenic view, even better.

I don't like the cold, so I can't see myself living in the lower Southern parts of Australia.
I currently live in a leafy inner-city Perth suburb, and that suits me just fine. From where I live, there's easy and close access to major highways that make getting out of the city easy - along with easy and close access to both domestic and international air terminals.

All my neighbours are quiet and friendly. A number of friends and family live not far away. There's no hoons or partygoers anywhere near us. We had one drug-dealing house about 400M up the street, the police sorted them out several times, and now there's no problem from that house.

My rates and water costs are modest, we have solar power that ensures our total annual power bill is about $300.
We have no major traffic, noise or pollution problems.
Houses put up for sale in my suburb usually sell within days, such is the demand for the area, and the suburbs good name.

I have hundreds of excellent cafes and restaurants to choose from within a 10km radius, along with at least 20 pubs. Several of those pubs are top-class and reasonably priced, as are many dozens of the cafes and restaurants.

I have river access within 3 kms, beach access within 18 kms, and 3 major shopping malls with all the bells and whistles within 5kms.
There's one of Perths biggest industrial/retail areas within 5 kms. My 18M x 12M workshop and large yard is just 4 kms away and it takes me 6 mins to get there. I can ride my bike there, if I feel like it.

The climate here is highly enjoyable for all but the months of July and August, when it gets too cold for us. That's the months we go roaming and exploring to warmer climes.
I can't see myself moving anywhere else in the near future. We've lived in the same spot for 23 1/2 years, and we've only ever had one minor crime committed against our property in that time, and that was 23 yrs ago. Even my workshop is totally safe, I've never lost a single item, nor had any attempted break-ins, in 13 years.

I think most people choose their spot to live because of family ties, or because of their job.
Some choose their spot to live for their selected lifestyle (major boating, fishing or watersport interests) and nothing else.
Whatever spot you choose, there's nearly always a downside of some type - either climate problems, distance to facilities, annoying neighbours, or poor social aspects such as hoons and partygoers running amok. I doubt that there's the one totally perfect spot.

The media did a story on an old couple living on an island in the Buccaneer Archipelago. Despite the glorious surroundings, they face a lack of social life, costly living, and a lack of important facilities such as health facilities. I guess they can claim they have no annoying neighbours, though. [:-)
AnswerID: 523059

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:41

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:41
As is apparent by the range of responses here, everyone's opinion is varied based on the lifestyle they desire. I think we create our own lifestyles wherever we live. For example, the person above who felt I lived in a different 'Perth" to him, obviously doesn't do the things I like to do - and vice versa. Good post, thanks the responses are interesting!
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 523060

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:56

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 14:56
There are good parts in most of the Australian Capitals. I grew up in Melbourne, but have lived in Sydney and Canberra. I now live in Echuca, and feel unhappy when I'm in our larger cities. If I had to live in a city, it might be Perth, perhaps City Beach or Floreat, or even Cottesloe.

I made a conscious decision three years ago to move to the bush. The people in country towns are more uniformly tolerable than in the cities or big regional towns (Bendigo is full of crazies!). The cost of real estate is lower. There is no commuting in traffic. My back fence is Australia's biggest river. The roos and kookaburras remind me which country I am living in.
AnswerID: 523062

Reply By: Pradobob - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:20

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 15:20
November to April -- Adelaide
May to October -- Anywhere from Hervey Bay to Mission Beach
Reason? I hate the cold weather!!!!

AnswerID: 523063

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:09

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:09
I hate the cold also, so much so that I choose to live in Darwin! :-)

FollowupID: 804485

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 22:43

Saturday, Dec 14, 2013 at 22:43
Either Dandaragan or Broome.
Dandaragan seem like a nice place, not far from the big smoke, big enough to provide for the necessities of life with out a fast paced attitude.
Broome, because of its location to quite a few places that I could easily hang out and spend a long weekend or three. I often look for jobs in Broome in my field of expertise, nothings come up yet.

AnswerID: 523072

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 13:58

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 13:58
The area around Dandaragan is nice but unfortunately for me it has proven to be tick central.

The little buggers bury themselves in my flesh everytime I go near the place.

FollowupID: 804468

Reply By: Life Member-Doug T NSW - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:15

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 06:15
I love Darwin and the climate , after 4 years in Adelaide River it was a body shock to move to Orange NSW, and for health reasons it has been a good move to be close to my Family , I miss Adelaide River but life goes on.
I have come to like Orange now , every thing one needs is here and I love doing the radio program, by the way... today , Sunday 15th Dec is the last day for Sundays, I will be moving to Wednesday 2pm to 5pm including Christmas Day.

AnswerID: 523074

Reply By: Tjukayirla Roadhouse - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 08:12

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 08:12
If it had to be a city, then it'd be Darwin or Townsville.. Otherwise anywhere in Nth QLD, and that will be the plan after a few more years at the Roadhouse :-)
Perth is nice in spots, but far too busy and far too cold..lol
AnswerID: 523078

Reply By: Member - sparra - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 11:23

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 11:23
Cooktown or Dargo. Lived in Pine creek (n.t) for a few years,loved that area.
Where i am now ,Useless Loop would be a top place to live if i was allowed once i finish working. (company owned township)

cheers and merry xmas.
sparra
no good being the richest man in the cemetry

AnswerID: 523092

Follow Up By: Member - john y - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 16:21

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 16:21
G'day all It's great that we are all different. Where I live now is my piece of Paradise,on a few acres on the top of a mountain directly overlooking Lake Eildon in the gateway to the Victorian High Country. Water based activities in Summer,fishing all year round.beautiful Autumns and Springs and cold winters sitting by a cosey fire. Heaps of local attractions to visit especially the High Country.No traffic lights not even a pedestrian crossing in Eildon township.

Not going to say any more ,just want to keep it a secret a bit longer. Regards to alljohn y
FollowupID: 804408

Reply By: Sandman - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 16:24

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 16:24
Alice Springs and I am here already !
AnswerID: 523108

Reply By: Villatranquilla - Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 19:15

Sunday, Dec 15, 2013 at 19:15
lived in Perth for 9 years - have been away for 2 and now we are back I know why we left. Too hot and too windy.
Love East Gippsland but the mid NSW coast gets my vote
AnswerID: 523123

Reply By: bgreeni - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 00:54

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 00:54
Currently live in Mandurah. Is reasonable, but after being bought up in Gippsland, and living in most capitals, with many years in North Queensland, and some time in Western Queensland, my ideal would be somewhere in South Eastern Queensland. On the coast north of Noosa.

Agree that the Perth region has a lot going for it, and due to family I will probably spend the rest of my days here.
AnswerID: 523145

Reply By: jamesgill - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 15:06

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 15:06
I'm enjoying reading all of your replies and the diversity of views. Keep them coming!
AnswerID: 523169

Reply By: jamesgill - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 15:18

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 15:18
If anyone hasnt yet chimed in with their opinion, please do!

For me, if it wasnt for work i'd like to live somewhere out of the big capital cities, where there is a lot of diverse outdoor activities on offer. Somewhere where there is a good sense of community. I've traveled little in oz so im not sure where this is just yet!
AnswerID: 523170

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 16:09

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 16:09
I should add Dongara to my list, me and wifey stayed there a few months back on return from Carnarvon and we reckoned it was a beaut little spot.
FollowupID: 804480

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:16

Monday, Dec 16, 2013 at 17:16
Darwin, where we currently live. At least for now anyway. Always warm. Friendly town, gateway to the top end. The roads are almost all 4 or 6 lanes wide, how many places with a similar population have that? You either love it or hate it :-)

AnswerID: 523175

Reply By: Kimbos - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 20:55

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 20:55
Kalbarri WA. Bloody beautifull!!!!!
AnswerID: 523227

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 23:21

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 23:21
South West Rocks on the Mid Nth Coast NSW would be my choice, That's why I moved here about 6 years ago.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 523232

Reply By: jamesgill - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2013 at 00:37

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2013 at 00:37
What do you like about it?
AnswerID: 523233