5 week trip – How far could we go?

Submitted: Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 11:19
ThreadID: 105770 Views:2495 Replies:17 FollowUps:8
This Thread has been Archived
Hi there, this is my first post, I’m new to explore oz :D
My husband and I (+ 2 kids) are from Melbourne, are doing planning our first big trip with 4WD and Tambo Camper in April this year. We have 5 weeks off total (can't squeeze any more out). We were initially thinking of doing both Central Australia and then NT up as far as Darwin. With only 5 weeks (including allowing time to get home to Melbourne), are we better of doing only Central Australia, or do you think we have time to go further.
We do have a friends itinery who did this in 6 weeks, but they were from Sydney (so not quite so far) and they seemed to Central Australia quicker than we thought we would have.
All comments and suggestions appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 11:40

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 11:40
Bek,
I think you should take your time, smell the roses on the way up and on the way back. Explore a few National Parks, country towns, and their history, etc. And limit yourself to the Centre on this trip. There's plenty to see and do on the journey up and back, plus in the Centre, of course. Do some research.

I've learned the hard way travelling with folk who did not have the time I do - an overfull itinerary is not the way to do it. All you do is burn fuel.

Cheers
FrankP

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 524263

Reply By: Idler Chris - Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 11:52

Saturday, Jan 11, 2014 at 11:52