New Member, Old Eyre Highway Motorcycle Trip

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 10:57
ThreadID: 110640 Views:3090 Replies:8 FollowUps:23
Myself and a mate are planning a Motorcycle trip along as much of the old Eyre Highway as possible to Perth (hopefully), I have read a lot of information about others doing the trip mostly in cars some on bikes. I am after old photographs (copies) of the original road, mainly so we can see the terrain, where it's differed from new pictures, any pictures from the old days when it was a true adventure.
We are in our early fifties, trying to recapture some of our youth for adventure before dementia.
Also if there are any others, particuly on dirtbikes, that are intersted in coming along Adelaide to Perth and back in 2016 (late April for 3 weeks) let me know.

Reply By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 11:11

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 11:11
Good luck with your trip Peter.

You probably know about this forum: http://www.advrider.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32
AnswerID: 543855

Reply By: Idler Chris - Vic - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:19

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:19
Early fifties - your still kids. As long as you are on nobblies it would be a blast. I had better take a Bex and lie down otherwise I might be tempted to get the DRZ out of the shed.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

AnswerID: 543858

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:25

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:25
Hi Chris,
We done a quick 2 day run out in the bush 2 weeks ago, haven't been on a dirtbike for 30 years, what a wake up call that was.
Breakout the DRZ, we'll all get enough rest when we are dead. I'm hoping some will email me pics of there trips from the 60-70's, it's always good to see how it was when it was real adventure.
FollowupID: 830951

Reply By: Member - Odog - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:50

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:50
Hey Peter
You didn't say what type of bikes? I've got a ktm625 with the big tank on it, or drag the 1200 bmw adventure out of the shed, both gathering dust at the moment.. Think it would be a good deal of sand riding I guess.. Would be a great trip though.. I'm in the similar age group... I'll keep a look out for any threads you post.. Although I don't know if this is the right site for organising a moto trip.. Might upset someone.. Lol. Cheers
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 543861

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:59

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 13:59
Thanks, I don't want to upset anyone. I'm happy to be pointed to the right area if i'm in the wrong area.
FollowupID: 830953

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 14:32

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 14:32
If there are four bikes ,,it will be four wheel drive...
I did a trip from Sydney to Hobart and then to Darwin in 1968 but the photos are in slide form and locked in a cupboard somewhere.
Ill have to rebuild the Ducati and talk Ma into letting me go...

FollowupID: 830958

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:13

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:13
Hey Muzbry
My first road bike was a Ducati, rocked up at the local police station to go for my licence on it, he was more intested in the bike, than me getting my licence.. Just said to me "do a lap down the main drag" stood out the front of the cop shop and watched... Ain't that easy these days.. Love the old Ducatis..
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

FollowupID: 830962

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:13

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:13
We are a long time dead guy's, got KLR's. Tell her your going to get some milk and join us, milk is better in WA anyway. We are hoping to get others interested in it, even 4x4's. I'm checking someones old slides out this saturday and looking forward to it ah the good ol days.
FollowupID: 830963

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:25

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:25
I've just gone to a KTM 1190 Adventure & it's a brilliant bike to ride. It's been decades since I did any real dirt road work but this thing makes it easy. Just as well @ 62 yo.
FollowupID: 830965

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:49

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:49
Hi Sigmund
I did take a look at the 1190.. My young bloke in Perth recons if he was two foot taller, he'd get one.. Lol. From what I've read, they are a weapon... Odog

FollowupID: 830970

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:59

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:59
Odog, sounds like my bike license ... was told to ride around the block, the local copper had it written out by the time I got back.

Did a trip in the late 80's across the Eyre Highway on an XJ900. Brilliant trip.
FollowupID: 830971

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:16
It is indeed odog. Like a plush armchair mounted on a bullet train!
FollowupID: 830974

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 18:35

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 18:35
Same here Scott. Friday arvo. Ride around the block while he did the paperwork then drive him to the bank to deposit the week's takings. 2 birds.

Ah, an XJ900 - classy.
FollowupID: 830982

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 19:01
Sigmund, it was the XJ900N model - the maroon & black one. Added an after-market fairing - one pretty bike. The only one of my many motorbikes I ever regret selling to this day. Should have hung onto it.

FollowupID: 830985

Reply By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:29

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:29
How old do you want?

http://www.bonzle.com/c/a?a=pic&fn=eqfk2hut&s=3
AnswerID: 543867

Follow Up By: Flighty ( WA ) - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:49

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 15:49
Sigmund
Thanks for posting this link, great photos showing the true times
Flighty

FollowupID: 830969

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:01

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:01
Thanks, have seen those pics, they are the type i'm after, copies, so I can put a wall full of them up in my shed, doesn't matter who it is just old nullabor pics in real cars (eh,fb, vw etc), stopovers, camps.
FollowupID: 830972

Follow Up By: Member - Odog - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:37

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:37
Thanks Sigmund, great photos, that old nullabour road house sign, is that the one that's still there.. ? Looks like it..
Even the Penong hotel, stopped in Penong for a coffee 10 months ago.. Two sisters had just opened up a coffee/groceries shop there. Great cuppa too! Cheers

FollowupID: 830977

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:56

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 16:56
These are still copyright, but you can look at 'em :)
All from December 1954.
A caving trip. I was 8 years old.

Nullarbor Station. The homestead is gone, but the outbuildings are still there.

Eucla Telegraph Station. The ruins you see there now are the manager's residence on the left of the pic. The main building was salvaged to build the new servo etc at the top of the escarpment.

Koonalda Station homestead.

Over heated vehicles on the plain. This was a few days before "Black Sunday" in Adelaide. We ran back to the main road with a scorching northerly tail wind because we expected thunderstorms and rain.

The group that travelled in the truck and the Holden for 3 weeks.

OKA196 Motorhome

AnswerID: 543870

Follow Up By: Member - tommo05 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 20:46

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 20:46
We need a 'like' button. Great photos Peter

FollowupID: 830998

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 21:12

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 21:12
When I think back now on those people who lived in those homesteads in 1954, I think of the depravation and isolation that was their lot in life.
They were beautiful people and very welcoming and hospitable, but bleep they had it tough!

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 831003

Follow Up By: Member - tommo05 - Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 21:46

Wednesday, Jan 07, 2015 at 21:46
I'll say. Can't even imagine what it would have been like.

FollowupID: 831007

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 06:18

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 06:18
Thanks Peter, it is good to look back and remember the old days. Copyright DAM.
FollowupID: 831016

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 14:37

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 14:37
You the young fellar on top of the truck, Peter?

Saw a photo, b&w, at Longreach Stockman's Hall of Fame, of Diamantina Lakes station, about 1895 or so. Canvas tents, no shade and couple of ladies, complete with full length dresses, and numerous petticoats, along with a few blokes, posing for the photo, taken from top of the sandhill.

Knowing that climate well, life in the summer would have been atrocious. No wonder Rum was a popular drink!

FollowupID: 831041

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 18:29

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 18:29
Yes.
There was another lad the same age sitting partly behind the guy next to me. He was the son of the cave guide Captain Maitland J. Thompson who is the guy with the white hat standing in front.
My father was the trip leader, standing on the far right.
It was a Rover Scout trip. The Cave Exploration Group of South Australia was formed directly afterwards.

OKA196 Motorhome
FollowupID: 831057

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 16:53

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 16:53
I would love to get a KLR650, but Mrs Bush reckons two bikes is enough (at this stage).

I've got a Kawasaki W800 read about it here.

and a Harly Ultra Limited here

I found this blog which might inspire the armchair adventurers to get out and do it.

Mid Life Crisis on a Budget

AnswerID: 543934

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:11

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:11
I've got a Harley Street Bob and an Ultra Classic in the shed, gonna try the dirt again for awhile.
Sell the 800 and meet us halfway on your KLR!!
FollowupID: 831050

Follow Up By: Peter B59 - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:13

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:13
I used to live in WA was a bouncer at the Coolabah Tavern in Morley, lived in Bassendean.
FollowupID: 831051

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:19

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:19
Sell the 800??

Not possible, it's a thing of beauty.

I used to live near the intersection of Beechboro and Benara Rds, now in Mandurah.

FollowupID: 831052

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:01

Thursday, Jan 08, 2015 at 17:01
Put the Readymix Sign on your list of things to look at.

AnswerID: 543935

Reply By: Member - Laurie K (WA) - Friday, Jan 09, 2015 at 01:19

Friday, Jan 09, 2015 at 01:19
I drove from Koonalda Homestead to Border Village along the Old Eyre Hwy (80 kms) towing my 23'6" caravan in November 2010. The road was firm limestone type of country. I also towed the van into Ivy Tank in November 2013. It was also a firm gravel type road out there. Should be no problem at all on bikes, depending on what time of year you plan travelling. I'm not sure, but I think the OEH finishes at the border.
You say late April - it could be wet by then.

Laurie
AnswerID: 543953