15 best camping modifications you can't live without.

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 08:50
ThreadID: 130895 Views:5935 Replies:17 FollowUps:38
What are some of the best aids to camping, with or with out a trailer/van/whatever, that you have encountered?

Here's my list, in no particular order.

1 - Long handled shovel - ground levelling device/anti bog device/fire device/lever/lifting device – e.g. camp ovens from fire to bench/toilet hole device.

2 - LED camp lights - low power drag, tough, bright light.

3 - LED headlight - best all round item in an outdoors camp. Don't buy the cheapies.

4 - Supplementary 12 Volt system, rechargeable by tow vehicle, for back up engine starting, lights, radio, fridge etc.

5 - 12 Volt fridge - use with cryovaced food for maximum time away from towns & re-supply points.

6 - Rims & tyre interchangeable with tow vehicle makes for much greater flexibility when tyre troubles strike.

7 - Firelighters - makes life so much easier when free camping and relying on a fire for cooking/focal point/warming/socialising.

8 - Big plastic ‘fisherman’ tubs, with lids - to stop dirt ingress, for organising, storing & shifting multiple smaller items.

9 - 3.6 x 6 m minimum size tarp (poly or canvas) & aluminium poles for shelter from sun/wind/rain.

10 - Treg hitch or similar - allows flex of trailer; way better than a 50 mm towbar ball.

11 - Electric trailer brakes; once you have used 'em you'll never go back to hydraulic.

12 - Milk crates, as they are cheap & fantastic steps, containers, emergency seats.

13 - Jerry cans or long range fuel tanks so you can stay free camping and away from towns/fuel top ups for as long as possible.

14 - Small tool kit of pliers or multigrips, wire cutters, screwdrivers x 2, adjustable shifter, pocket knife along with 100 mph tape. Stored for quick & easy access (e.g. under driver’s seat), you'll be surprised how often you reach for this cheap & simple toolkit.

15 - Garbage bin bags- get the tough ones; keep the mess & smells away from you. Bundle the rubbish up, seal it, store it out of the way & forget it until you pass a tip at the end of your free camping adventure.

Cheers!

Reply By: swampy - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:00

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:00
hi
Having way over 200 watts solar reduces dependency on generator .
About to invest in a second 120ah battery for the same reasons .
Quality 160-200 watt is more avoidable than it ever has been ,no excuses IMO.

swampy
AnswerID: 592736

Follow Up By: Hewy54 - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:10

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:10
Assume you mean affordable.
FollowupID: 860899

Follow Up By: swampy - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:34

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:34
hi hewy54,
thanks
u r correct ,have to have a laugh over this ha ha ha -affordable

swampy
FollowupID: 860901

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 11:43

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 11:43
What do you want solar for? Three batteries gives us enough to run two fridges and camp for three days and not even start the motor. Crank will disconnect automatically from the 4WD system when the alternator stops.

Lighting; I thought your mummy taught you to go to bed when the little hand was on seven and the big one on twelve. ooops - digital!Well that stuffed my argument. We have one rechargeable led lantern that lasts two nights and gets charged from the high current USB port running off the secondary 4WD batteries.

No need for mobile, laptops and tablet etc etc etc and technical kit recharging, as we don't take any. We would be in trouble if we copied Swampy and his air conditioned, LED lit camping setup though. (ducking)

So it's just the fridges.

FollowupID: 860905

Reply By: Mick O - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:27

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:27
A couple of "poppy" tables for eating meals at night. You know the ones, the lap trays with the bean bag type bottom. Makes balancing the evening meal on the knees around the fire much easier and comfortable.

Cheers mick

AnswerID: 592739

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 12:34

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 12:34
Would have thought your knees were big enough to dispense with the need for a table such as you describe. :)

FollowupID: 860910

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 16:28

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 16:28
" Poppy " as in grand-poppy uses 'em while eating tea in front of the tele?
Ha ha.
FollowupID: 860917

Reply By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:29

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:29
Surely every mid you do makes life out bush easier, or not enough to thought's gone into it.
My latest mid has really made things easier, and in some cases just totally doable . . . outing in the tilt window RH side instead of the slider I originally got for that side ( for the lads dog, who has been in there maybe half a dozen times in the past 4-1/2 years).
I can now access my reserve diesel tank tap, water tank tap and controls through the window :)
On a few past trips delivering big items in the back, I have had no access to especially fuel capacity that would save me quite a bit though regional areas, because I simply couldn't access the tap with the back loaded up.
Now, will have easy access in be able to drive Sydney one hit, even Brissy with one 20lt jerry on board if I like.
Getting to water tap and switch for pump and air comp will also be great at times even on these hwy drives.
Never listen to a 4x4 shop sales guy suggesting a slider one side.
AnswerID: 592740

Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:31

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:31
Lol, mid = mod.
Darned auto correct.
FollowupID: 860900

Reply By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:33

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:33
Hey Rick, I'll send you a fire extinguisher for Christmas. lol

AnswerID: 592741

Follow Up By: Allan B (Member, SunCoast) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:41

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 10:41
And a first-aid kit for your birthday!

FollowupID: 860902

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 11:30

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 11:30
Thanks, but no thanks (I get your drift).

Got two - one in the cab to the rear of my feet, one in the canopy. And if I'm towing the trailer, there's one in there also. They're essentials, not mods, IMHO. As is the first aid kit.
FollowupID: 860903

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 14:11

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 14:11
We have a 2Kg powder one on the rear of the centre console so that it can be accessed from any of the the front or rear seats.

FollowupID: 860914

Reply By: Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 12:25

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 12:25
Lots of solar and lithium batteries.

AnswerID: 592745

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 13:17

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 13:17
My 12v Oven, side awning, draws, & water tank with the electric pump.

Moving from a dome tent to an Oz Tent.

AnswerID: 592747

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:31

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:31
Hi Dunc

You will love the OzTent, they are fantastic and I am very happy to say it is the best tent by far that we have ever purchased.

FollowupID: 860916

Follow Up By: RobMac (QLD_Member) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:57

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:57
What size OZ Tent if u don't mind me asking :) RV4.... RV5 ???
Cheers..... RobM
Defender PUMA 110 "New School Tourer"
Defender 110 Tdi300 "Old School Tourer for Solo Trips"
DiscoTDi for Work/Play

FollowupID: 860929

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:46

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:46
Hi Rob

We have the RV4

It is true to 30 seconds to setup, and 150% waterproof.

One time on Kangaroo Island, we had 110mm of rain overnight, it just would not stop. Next morning in the caravan park, people in caravans, tents and what ever else you mopping out the water and one guy come up to us and said, how wet did you get?

We we said that we never got one drop of water in the tent, he could not believe us. I then showed him a 50mm water ring around the outside of the tent and then he had to agree that we did not get any water in the tent.

FollowupID: 860932

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 21:50

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 21:50
Mines one of the original ones. With the green walls, yellow roof & fly. Now equivalent to the RV2 I think. Only down side is that it is not quite deep enough so the bed pushes against the canvas. Tried it with the 2 beds length ways but it's a pain getting around in the dark.

FollowupID: 860933

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:08

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:08
My onboard Shower on the Patrol after a long hot day driving, "Oh what a Feeling", Michael

AnswerID: 592749

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 22:29

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 22:29
You've got the jingle down pat Michael!

Now you just have to mod that Patrol into a landcruiser LOL

Anthony
FollowupID: 860934

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:02

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:02
Anthony! Great idea but I wouldn't want to compromise its toughness & reliability Lol! Michael

FollowupID: 860943

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:36

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 15:36
Hi Rick

The best ever thing that I have changed for camping is Fiona. Before knowing me Fiona had never been camping in her life and after 40 years she still loves it, so basicly, Fiona is one thing I could not go camping without.

AnswerID: 592751

Follow Up By: aussiedingo (River Rina) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 19:16

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 19:16
suck up! lotsa brownie points there! lol
"the only thing constant in my life is change"

FollowupID: 860959

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:33

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:33
Smooth!! ??

FollowupID: 861008

Reply By: Member - Odog - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 16:48

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 16:48
G'day Rick, think we have 4 things on our favourites list.. First: our Cgear mat, so good on sand or dirt, nice and clean getting in and out of camp trailer.. Second: porta loo, so convenient, just sits in the corner of the camp trailer.. Great for in the middle of the night, if needed.. Third: got mate to make up aluminium box on draw bar to fit the porta loo, so handy, and perfect height for using as a table, to boil the Billy or cook a quick meal.. Fourth: we have a couple of fold up, lie down in, type lounge chairs, very light weight, just a couple of ocky straps to hold them on the top of the camp trailer.. Only trouble is once you lie in them, and lean back, they tip back, and so comfy, don't/ can't get out of them.. Just got to make sure you have a six pack within reach.. Lol Odog
Some people want it to happen, some people wish it could happen, others make it happen!

AnswerID: 592754

Reply By: Gronk - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:09

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:09
Hospital bottle....one of the cheapest and best mods I ever did..

No getting dressed in the middle of the night to go outside....jump up, use it and back in bed in 30 secs !!
AnswerID: 592758

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 02:50

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 02:50
And...for an exceptionally lower cost, an ex cordial bottle does as well as long as accuracy is a long shot, or lucky enough to have a suitably fitting personal tip :-).

Usual sizes for receptacles are 1L, but up to 2L for expansion if sharing :-).

FollowupID: 860937

Follow Up By: fredwho - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 07:11

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 07:11
Are you taking the piss?
FollowupID: 860941

Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:41

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:41
Only during the night !! LOL
FollowupID: 860945

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:42

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:42
I found that a 2 lt cloths conditioner bottle does the trick size does matter.
FollowupID: 860946

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 09:47

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 09:47
I use an old Liptons Cold Tea bottle 1.5 Lt and I do not even have to get out of bed. Great system. I also use it when visiting, saves walking around someone elses house at night half naked.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 860951

Follow Up By: Gronk - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 11:49

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 11:49
Haven't mastered the not getting out of bed bit yet....especially if I'm still a bit intoxicated !!

Having a wide opening is a must, less chance of missing ..LOL
FollowupID: 860952

Follow Up By: Bosun Broome - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 05:17

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 05:17
Screw top plastic fruit container does the job nicely !
FollowupID: 861004

Follow Up By: Idler Chris - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:04

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:04
A fruit container was my first solution but I found it was not big enough, to easy to drop with the lid off, and besides you have to get out of bed to use it. When you come from Victoria getting out of bed in the middle of the night is not always a pleasant experience.
What other people think of me is none of my business.
Do unto others what you would have them do unto you.

FollowupID: 861005

Reply By: Member - Will 76 Series - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:52

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 19:52
Rick, you started with a great list of items but the only addition we have now included is a small ladder that folds flat but so handy for putting up the wind flappers on the camper, hanging washing or cleaning to of camper etc. We also carry a sealable tub which sits up on the roof rack for long trips and is the washing machine. The other basic items is the MSA dash organizer for him and her (sunnies, glasses etc).
AnswerID: 592760

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:10

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:10
My Missus !
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 592761

Reply By: Slow one - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:25

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:25
Believe this or not, a backup set of double pluggers. From the desert to the tropics and onto the snow, these are my jewels when walking and climbing.

Don't laugh, just ask my lovely lady.
AnswerID: 592762

Follow Up By: rumpig - Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:38

Sunday, Nov 15, 2015 at 20:38
These days i always have a spare set of pluggers along in the camper, nothing worse then a blow out and then having no back up pair on hand
FollowupID: 860931

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 00:46

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 00:46
Two words ........ Cable Ties.
AnswerID: 592768

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:53

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 08:53
Cable ties - agreed. Make that heading the 16 best camping mods
FollowupID: 860948

Reply By: Jackolux - Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 18:01

Monday, Nov 16, 2015 at 18:01
AnswerID: 592783

Follow Up By: Hewy54 - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 07:41

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 07:41
Modifications you can't live without?????
FollowupID: 860969

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:23

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:23
Fair dinkum....you going to pull the gennie out just to brown some bread ???
FollowupID: 860977

Follow Up By: Jackolux - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:37

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:37
Yep Gronk , fair dinkum Mate .
FollowupID: 860978

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 13:58

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 13:58
I thought it was a gee up, but I think you're serious ??
FollowupID: 860987

Follow Up By: Jackolux - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 17:01

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 17:01
Well Gronk , it is sort of a gee up , l tried it the other day for the first time.
But l bet , I can have the gennie off the Tvan and be pumping toast out a lot quicker than you sitting by the camp fire ,
FollowupID: 860989

Follow Up By: swampy - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 16:35

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 16:35
hi
Dam its not a 4 slice toaster !!
Oh well just use him twice .
I take 1x jam 1x vegemite 2x honey

Be around shortly
swampy

Ps put on the electric fry pan luv bacon and eggs
FollowupID: 861023

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:51

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 10:51
Number 10 fencing wire, followed closely by my Jetboil kettle...

Cheers, Baz - The Landy
AnswerID: 592797

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 12:29

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 12:29
Was expecting you to say a receptacle of some sort, in which to enjoy that evening tipple ;-).

Zip ties go close to replacing # 10 wire in many situations - but not all, I reckon.
FollowupID: 860983

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 17:11

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 17:11
Hey Rick

Rest assured, the Jetboil is a great Tankard!

Cheers, Baz
FollowupID: 860990

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 23:29

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2015 at 23:29
Gotta agree Baz

Love my jet boil. Quick, compact and the biggest vessel when the port comes out.

Fill 'er up!

Anthony
FollowupID: 861003

Follow Up By: Member - wicket - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:39

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 08:39
anyone tried the ecobilly ? no gas only leaves

http://www.ecobilly.com/
FollowupID: 861009

Follow Up By: Member - ACD 1 - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 10:45

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2015 at 10:45
I have a small one.

Yes they are good but... No good if you can't have a fire!

I do still use it in the winter months, but using it less and less these days - the jetboil is a lot quicker, cleaner and you can use it for a lot more. Kettle, saucepan, frypan - it even comes with a coffee press and you have a huge insulated mug you can drink straight from.

Don't forget the biggest vessel for goodnight ports - ("I don't know why I snored all night and slept in while you packed up my dear!" LOL)

Anthony
FollowupID: 861011

Reply By: Marty D2 - Thursday, Nov 19, 2015 at 13:42

Thursday, Nov 19, 2015 at 13:42
All 15 plus the extended list are worthy entrants. My better half would add a coffee machine, nicely setup on an aluminium platform / step from Bunnings, beside aforementioned toaster with genie underneath. The platform also helps enormously getting to anything over 6ft off the ground for me.
I would add a pair of welding gloves which help turn anyone into a fire whisperer when the long handled shovel is out of reach due to the port mug sitting in prime position.
Great List
Marty
AnswerID: 592900