Has COVID & the price of fuel affected your travel plans?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 15:00
ThreadID: 144075 Views:6712 Replies:20 FollowUps:26
Given the recent comments regarding the lack of campfire discussions I thought I'd throw this out there.

Ignoring the current debacle at airports putting many peoples travel arrangements in disarray, I'm referring to our outback and grey nomad travel.

I could be going on a CSR trip next month but I just can't be bothered with all the hassle of getting my car pre-trip ready, the potential wait time and cost (cost not as much an issue), whether I can get in with my mechanic and if I need spares are they going to be available. Normally I get really excited about the pre-planning and prep, not this time.

I was speaking to a mate about this the other day and he said he was feeing the same. It's as if all the effects of isolation, masks, can't do this and can't do that, is taking it's toll.

Then of course we have the current cost of fuel, lack of food and other products, and the current cost of what limited produce is available all add to this feeing of is it all worth it.

I really need a holiday but can I really be bothered?

Dunc.

Reply By: Member - Suitcase (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 15:18

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 15:18
We're going to try to get away - maybe just around the southwest corner of QLD for a couple of weeks. Fuel price is about the only issue for us (other than more rain of course). It will put a bigger dent in the budget but we figure "what the hell". If fuel had been cheaper we may have tried to travel further in the same time period so maybe it's a good thing for us to slow down a bit and smell the wildflowers.
suitcase
Prado SX and a little van

AnswerID: 641121

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 16:01

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 16:01
Hi Dunc
Sounds like you need to just go. Needn’t be very far, just pack up and find a nice place for a few days.
I had a laugh when you mentioned Covid hassles. Got a phone call yesterday from my Isuzu dealer asking if we could postpone the booked service ……… most of the service guys had contracted the bug and they were in strife.
Had a nice few days with the grandkids a couple of weeks ago. Didn’t go far, but a great time.
Just packing up gets the blood flowing.
Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 641122

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 19:01

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 19:01
G'day Jim, we actually will be heading down south later in the year, but that holiday initially, for the first 2 days is forced on us, so extending out for 8 days or more. Looking forward to it.

FollowupID: 920222

Reply By: axle - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 16:20

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 16:20
G/Day Dunc , Its all over the place with it all at the moment thats for sure,

Its tightened up for a lot due to fuel costs, but as i live close to a seaside caravan park am amazed at the amount towing vans travelling around, Large ones at that!!

Now i will just go and keep working on my motorised push bike..lol.

AnswerID: 641124

Reply By: guiguizi g - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 18:01

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 18:01
n china , we often have a birthday party at home or in a eating place to have the meal collectively. and we usually consume the birthday cake after the meal.occasionally we play a few games during the birthday celebration .for instance,we dance or sing and so on.or we regularly buy a unique present as a birthday gift . we can also mak
business voip service
AnswerID: 641125

Reply By: Member - pete g1 - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 18:55

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 18:55
Hello OZ possums. Interesting topic
Fuel is as Fuel does....
Life's too short to sit home choosing wall paint colours

Planning...........that's half the challenge & fun.
Where? what? why ? (cos it's there) should we? can we!? .....endless possibilities emerge.
It may all turn to XXXXX, but at least you're ready for the good times....when they return...& they will return.

We're currently planning a 6 weeks road cruise, ADL to Khancoban, with a return trip following the mighty Murray to Goolwa. Late Aug thru Oct..... easy as.
Okay not 4x4 sand munching stuff, but a bloke's got to smell the bush !!.(been there, done & enjoyed that facet of the RV/4x4 world- Simpson, GRR, Tamami, Birdsville, Mt Augusta, Yorke in a'95 80 Series 'Cruiser.

Late 2020 I'd started planning a boat trip down the Murray, eventually realised it's not where I needed to be (buying a boat yudda yudda), altho many have successfully achieved it.

Last year, mid the C-19 dramas in June -July we looped around from ADL -Broken Hill-Tibooburra-Innamincka-Quilpie-Hungerford-St George-Thallon-Lightening Ridge-Cobar-B/Hill -ADL, scraped across the SA/NSW border by the skin of our teeth b4 drawbridge crashed down. Sooooo good just to be out there.
( 1996 NP Pajero - accommodation; shearing sheds/old pubs/cabins/old rail maintenance accommodation/budget motels ) MAGIC.

I really believe you've got to "hit it & suck up any consequences" , altho that's tempered by the reality of any C-19 infection & Govt restrictions. Mitigate the risks & just do it.

1-7 July I took 2 mates in an old 'gunka '96 Merc wagon' (if it died it stayed there & we'd bus it home or wing it home somehow - but it survived) on a "Blokes go bush", a 1500km road cruise around SA's mid north (NOTE, put Dare's Hill Summit in your to do list) Hawker-Jarvis Hill Lookout, Craddock pub, Burra Motel, Melrose C/park cabin, Mt Mary Hotel (gr8 tucker) Wirrabara-Julie's Kitchen -GR8 pies!! Pt Pirie - Caputo's seafood & RSL museum.
JUST GET OUT THERE..these country towns desperately need our support no matter which state you're in.

So chasps ...start planning.

Safe travels

AnswerID: 641126

Reply By: Michael H9 - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 19:38

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 19:38
I bought an ebike due to covid. I live in the Blue Mountains and have plenty of trails to ride even when the lockdowns are on as you could excercise in your local government area. I like it so much I now go off ebiking everywhere. I'm planning some long ebike packing expeditions as a total change from what I'm used to. An old fella like me needs the motor to take the edge of anything uphill. :-)
AnswerID: 641127

Reply By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 20:03
Nah Dunc, cost of fuel is not deterring us...... just drinking a cheaper wine!
But Covid has changed our travels. We intended to be on the WA coast soon but are wary of their Covid rate.
So we have restricted ourselves to shorter trips to mid Queensland. Apart from fuel savings we are discovering the features of towns that we previously passed straight through. I never knew that Maryborough had so many delights.

Would love to get down to visit some of those enchanting little towns in Victoria with their interesting boutiques and eateries, but too damn cold just yet.
But nice to have something to look forward to.

AnswerID: 641128

Follow Up By: Zippo - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 21:50
Allan, if drinking a cheaper wine can significantly offset your fuel bill, all I can say is you don't travel far or you go through a lot of wine ;-)

Being from Fortress-WA we are always wary of being locked out by our G2G/border shenanigans, but head off through NT next week for the QLD coast, then trickle down through inland NSW and back into SA. That is of course all subject to the roads and the mercy of the weather gods.

If WA turns into Covid-hell while we're away and the border is closed (or worse, only open at Eucla!) then we'll face that at the time.

Back to Dunc's question, Covid only affects us as above - we already wear masks when interacting outside our own castle. Fuel is what it is. Like Opal $3.30 at Warakurna. Meh! If you can't afford the fuel it's time to give it all away.
FollowupID: 920223

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:28

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:28
Ah Zippo, I didn't say that it was a "significant" saving....... But it helps.
Besides, you wouldn't believe what I paid for a couple of bottles to celebrate my 90th. To my dismay, I did find that taste calibre was not proportional to price!!!!

If the WA gates lock you out of home, you can always camp on my driveway on the beautiful Sunshine Coast. But I warn that I am only serving cheap wine. lol

So, what do you reckon? Should we chance a trip to WA right now? Roz is keen to swim with some fish it seems.

Returning to topic... we paid $3.60 for diesel once at a remote community..... Kiwirrkurra I think.
Fuel certainly is the most significant cost of outback travel. But it's worth it.

FollowupID: 920224

Follow Up By: Zippo - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:08

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:08
Allan, WA only locked people out, not IN, so you at least won't get trapped here.

I reckon you should go for it. You're only young once!
FollowupID: 920230

Reply By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 21:21

Wednesday, Jul 13, 2022 at 21:21
We are heading over your way Kimberly, Pilbara, West Coast down south and then home. Planning was an effort with places to go to written on paper every where. Worked out camping costs and fuel costs etc, with fuel being the big share of the trip. I'm glad we are doing the trip now and not starting off in September when the 22 cent fuel excise goes back on as that would have added many more $ to the trip possibly cutting a lot of bucket list places off the trip. That said there are heaps of people out there traveling as most WA national parks are full as are c/van parks when you look into booking online, so covid, high fuel costs, food costs and a shortage of some goods has not deterred many people.
As we have been trying to do the trip pre covid its now or never. Will it all be worth it yes.

Murray
Another Mexican

AnswerID: 641131

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:53

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:53
Hi Murray, forgot about the excise. Cost of fuel has never bothered me and going forward it may or may not start to be, but it is definitely a consideration these days. I've never had to budget for anything, been fortunate there but the future will be what it is and I'll worry about that then.

With me ATM it's more a mental thing where I just can't get motivated to get of my fat arse and just go. Plenty of leave available, plenty of opportunity but just getting motivated.

FollowupID: 920225

Reply By: Member - Bigfish - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 07:20

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 07:20
You need a holiday but can you be bothered? Nah..stuff it....just stay at home and maybe the next time you leave home for a long time might be in a pine box. Just get out and enjoy!!!
AnswerID: 641134

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:55

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:55
Never a truer word said.

FollowupID: 920226

Reply By: Member - rocco2010 - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:48

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 09:48
I’m heading off for a trip to the Kimberley on Saturday.

This thread prompted a look through some trip notes from my last visit there in 2016.

The dearest diesel then was $2.09 a litre at Drysdale River station.

I’d like to be able to fill up at that price in Perth tomorrow!

All time record is $3.40 at Kunawarritji in 2019.

This is not a whinge. After all I stayed home most of 2020 and 2021 so I guess I can look at this trip being paid with savings.

That makes me feel a bit better.

Travel safe people.
AnswerID: 641135

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:04

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:04
Rocco, I also keep fuel logs and I was just reading a journal of when I first crossed the Nullarbor fuel at Eucla was 99c/l we just about fell of our seats, how times have changed. Most I've ever paid was $3/l at Ilkurlka on the Anne Beadell and didn't bat an eye, it was what it was.
Can't remember what I paid last year at Drysdale but would most probably have been north of $2.50, again it was what it was.

If you're out there enjoying yourself and soaking in what our great land has to offer, fuel costs are a small price to pay.

FollowupID: 920227

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:36

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:36
Fuel costs have skyrocketed, and so have campground costs.
It is quite significant for many of us older campers, and a definite serious consideration for future plans.
If you are looking at $45 per night in a campground, and a $200 fill up of fuel, it becomes a considerable burden for many.

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 641137

Follow Up By: Member - reggy 2 (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:05

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:05
Hi yes u r right just come back from 6 weeks away cv/parks $45 plus to wet to pull off road for a free camp plus as u say $200 every 5 hundred ks towing a van might be a while before we hit the road again keeping our fingers crossed hoping things will change in the near future. Cheers to all
FollowupID: 920231

Reply By: GarryR - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:36

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 10:36
After 2 years of lock down in Vic we had a holiday booked to do Arnhem Land earlier this year but had to cancel due to health issues till next year. Now we have booked a trip to see family in Townsville, but low and be hold the same issues have re-rose. Yep getting away for some RNR seems to be an issue. For some, the time taken out has put a small dent in their enthusiasm to get away.
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

AnswerID: 641138

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 10:59

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 10:59
Hope your health issue resolve themselves soon Garry?

FollowupID: 920246

Reply By: Member - Ross N (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:25

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:25
I guess I’m lucky, fuel costs don’t affect me as I have always only put $100 in each time
Ross
Ross N

AnswerID: 641139

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 14:45

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 14:45
That $100, is taking you less and less Ross so it may not even get you to the next servo the way things are going. :)

FollowupID: 920236

Follow Up By: Member - pete g1 - Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 09:31

Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 09:31
Good 1 Ross !!
LOL.
Top way to keep reality at bay. Luv ya work mate.
Best 1 liner I've seen in ages.
FollowupID: 920254

Reply By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:33

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 11:33
I havent really stopped travelling since covid started (in between work commitments) - was just restricted to WA....planning next lot of trips now. You only live once.

Greg.

AnswerID: 641140

Follow Up By: Michael H9 - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 19:21

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 19:21
Unless you're a Buddhist of course, they live many lives. It's just as valid as any other religion.
FollowupID: 920241

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 19:51

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 19:51
or James Bond ....and just as valid as any other religion. :)

FollowupID: 920242

Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:17

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:17
Just back from 78 days Syd, Bris Gulf, Darwin back to Qld coast at Cooktown and home. 14,000 km and $5300 in diesel into the 3.0 L D4D. Towing 1.5 t so burned thru 2523 L at 6.55km/L. Average fuel price $2.08/ L so it cost 37.45 cents per km. Thanks to Putin, Shell and BP etc I estimate an extra 50 cents/L was added to the price so it cost us over $1200 more than it may have based on Petrol Spy prices in the towns we visited prior to the trip.
Regardless of that it was the best trip ever but part of that may be the relief of the Cabin Fever ending as we could get out and do a trip I had originally planned for 2019. Same folder of notes, just kept crossing out the old dates LOL We bush camped most of the way so factoring in 70 nights at $40 each thats a saving of $2800 so in effect I covered the fuel hike and have a surplus of $1600. Hey. it's all smoke and mirrors this accounting business.
Warrie

AnswerID: 641141

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:53
Well Warrie, based on your figures, if you had travelled a bit slower, taking 156 days (instead of 78) to travel the same distance you would still spend the same in fuel but double your benefit in saved accomodation costs and return a surplus of $3200. Put in a couple of days doing maintenance on your vehicle to write off your tax liability and your'e home and hosed.
Like you say.... "smoke & mirrors". lol

FollowupID: 920234

Reply By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:53

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 12:53
" Has COVID & the price of fuel affected your travel plans? "

Certainly has - not so much covid but the price of diesel has.

So to keep the overall cost of my next trip down I've decided to leave the missus at home !
The money she spends on food, wine and unnecessary crap along the way should cover the extra fuel price leaving me with the same amount of beer I would normally consume at the campsite !!

Happy, safe and peaceful travels

Gazz
AnswerID: 641142

Follow Up By: Frank P (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:02

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:02
Crikey, Gazz, I hope she doesn't read the forum when you're gone!!! LOL

FollowupID: 920232

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:53

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:53
He might have to just keep travelling if she does!!..LOL

Axle
FollowupID: 920233

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:57

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 13:57
Bright idea Gaza, but have you considered the possibility of "pool cleaning" costs while you are away? lol

FollowupID: 920235

Follow Up By: Member - Outback Gazz - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 15:26

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 15:26
Howdy Frank - She can read it all she wants - after 35 years she knows what I'm like LOL.

Axle - " He might have to just keep travelling if she does!!..LOL "
Where's the problem, have I missed something ??

Allan - It's not the pool cleaning costs that are the problem ;) - it's the short time she spends at the high end department stores. She has a black belt in shopping and she's fast AND good at it !! To be honest she doesn't mind getting left at home sometimes ( depending on where I go ) as her idea of roughing it is a motel with no room service !!!

All good guys - she has her little getaways with the girls and I have my bigger getaways with boys and somewhere in between we have "our" getaways - seems to work well !

Take care

Gazz
FollowupID: 920238

Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 15:40

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 15:40
We have been away from home for just over 5 years now, & since Covid reared it's ugly head have effectively isolated ourselves in areas of FNQ - out of reach of any community transmission - until now! Currently caretaking a rainforest property near the top of Cape York & had visitors over the past few days who may have been infectious despite negative RAT tests - the constant coughing certainly saw us keeping our distance. Today I got hold of a RAT test from the local health clinic, the first one I have ever seen in the flesh. My dry throat & mild cough from this morning seem to have dissipated, so I'll hold on to the RAT for now. The fear factor is real however.

This may seem like 'run of the mill' stuff to many, but not to me! My first 'brush with covid'. At 65 & with an auto immune disease I really don't like it. I do however appreciate this is a drop in the ocean compared to what many have been through over multiple lockdowns, mask wearing, travel restrictions & suspected or actual infections. I can only begin to know what others experiences have been like & the depressive/closing down effects upon thinking. Throw shortages, masks, isolation, prices, super losses etc etc into the mix & it's not hard to imagine the feelings of fear & of losing against an unstoppable attack from all sides.

However I suggest that you build the internal rage enough to decide that it's YOUR life & that you are going to damn well live it, & not let all these things outside of your control push you into a corner! Get out there on the trip to spite all those that seem to conspire to stop you. If you do that - live I mean, it will become a reminder of the important things in life & help to put all that other crap back in it's place. It's the getting started again that's hard. Once you do it will all flow again. A bit like not seeing old friends - sometimes it becomes harder the longer you leave it, but when you do, you wonder why you ever left it so long.

On the fuel price side we've been lucky to date. Last fuel I paid for was in early September '21.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

AnswerID: 641143

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 17:34

Thursday, Jul 14, 2022 at 17:34
A lot to be said about the advantages of being in isolation such as you have been, but when visitors from down south come a knocking you definitely need to protect yourself.
Totally agree what you say about old friends. (we need a thumbs up emoji).

FollowupID: 920240

Reply By: Richard M29 - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 00:34

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 00:34
The wife paid $84 for 27 lt, in our 55 lt car yesterday, near home. This price as pensioners, has stopped us doing our winter trips up north like usual. So I will be going on my own at the end of the month to a local dam, for 4 nights on a powered site .., As I really need a camp. She wont be coming as temps here, lately have only got to to 6C during the day, and minus 6 over night. I will be in our hardfloor campertrailer, and will have an electric fan heater. The dog will be with me. We just cannot afford to travel long distance anymore. And if the price of fuel does not go down after this war is over, then I doubt we will be leaving the district, for anything more then heaven forbid, an emergency to see our daughter interstate.
AnswerID: 641149

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 13:48

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 13:48
Hi Dunc

In a nutshell, no, we are on the roads at the moment and have no set travel itinerary, just as long as we are home by Christmas

AnswerID: 641155

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 14:35

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 14:35
Which one? LOL

FollowupID: 920248

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 16:33

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 16:33
Lots, just finished the full Binns Track, Oodnadatta to Timber Creek, they claim the longest and continuous off road track in Australia.

Them ducking over Kununurra for a week, then east again, to Darwin and then making our way to Cairns.

First time ever we have no time frame and it has taken us 5 weeks to get to Timber Creek.

Dearest diesel so far $3.20 litre at Mt Dare

FollowupID: 920249

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 18:01

Friday, Jul 15, 2022 at 18:01
Oh to be retired, lucky you. Only 17mths to go and then I'll be doing whatever my wife tells me to do.

You could easily spend more than a week in Kununurra - lots to see and do.

FollowupID: 920250

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 06:02

Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 06:02
Retirement is not all beer & skittles Dunc.

No public holidays, no long weekends, no RDO's, no sickies, no annual leave.

Just day-after-day of Cloud Nine!

It can get boring if you don't work at it! LOL

FollowupID: 920251

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 08:37

Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 08:37
Hey Dunc, I showed up in Kununurra 40 years after I had supplied the instrument that controlled the dam water level. Tried (unsucessfully) to locate the Chief Engineer to tell him that I had arrived to provide the free 40-year service on it! Failed to locate him, which was probably fortunate in avoiding dropping a 'lead balloon'.

As it happened, I could see through the window of the control room that there was a new control system in place, although the original one was still in the panel...... enjoying it's retirement maybe?

FollowupID: 920252

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 12:38

Saturday, Jul 16, 2022 at 12:38
Allan, when my dad retired he said he never knew how he ever found time to work as he was busier in retirement. LOL

FollowupID: 920255

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Wednesday, Jul 20, 2022 at 22:55

Wednesday, Jul 20, 2022 at 22:55
It's a very good quetion...and one we were just discussing. From our perspective, COVID is a nin-event in our life in WA. No one in our household or even our immediate extended family has been affected...ages range from 4-78. Neither is food affected. So not sure what you are referring to. Fuel however hurts...badly. Our current winter research expedition has covered approx 3000km and fuel is averaging 240/L diesel. Our last week exploring 4wd tracks around Newman has cost us about $200. It's expensive but wow, some of the best 4wd tracks and free camps we've ever encountered so from a cost justification perspective it varies depending who you are, and where you go. For us, it's a real cost to consider... but thankfully we actually love what we do and this is both work and our holiday and we hate Bali (haha) so it's better value. Everyone is different. But I do recall paying $3 for fuel many years ago on the CSR so it's all relative.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 641207

Follow Up By: Life Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 21, 2022 at 09:28

Thursday, Jul 21, 2022 at 09:28
Hi Michelle, glad you and David are enjoying your winter escape. Yes everything is relative, and once you are on the road enjoying everything that is offered, everything else is what it is.

Re COVID we and our immediate families have dodged that bullet so far, many at work have come down with it and including 2 of my staff. Fingers crossed it will remain that way.

Safe travels!

FollowupID: 920280