Going bush the old way............

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:10
ThreadID: 18396 Views:6161 Replies:34 FollowUps:52
I have been on this forum for nigh on two and half years now and do the odd stir every now and then by putting my point of view across much to the chagrin of some :o)

I am still amazed at the constant barrage of questions on fridges and batteries and many other things electrical. I am even more amazed at the technical know-how by some of the forumites who can give a break down on how many ohms there are in a degree of BTU. More posts evolve about tyres, where proponents claim outlandish results from the brands which they have shod their truck with Then there have been the dumb questions about the weather which have brought out responses uninvited from a whole sector of the community especially when a bit of tongue in cheek is used. On the whole this website and its forum has provided for many hours of entertainment when maybe I should have been reading a book or working in the shed.

So now we are all going through a technical revolution and gadgetry seems to run our lives. I for one have also bought a lot of toys recently and do play with them as often as I can. I do find however that I do not need them and they are only a distraction and a not essential to enjoying a trip in to the bush. Running a GPS and mapping software on a laptop is purely a waste of time as most roads and tracks are marked these days. A GPS, Oziexplorer and Natmap Mosaics do have their uses when going cross country though.

By way of the thousands of posts on this forum I have come to the conclusion that we are not travelling to marvel at nature, to enjoy the quiet of the outdoors or to look around us and to see that we are also part of the equation. Most travellers are now hell bent on doing a few thousand kilometres in a very short space of time whilst driving at breakneck speeds and keeping the kids entertained with continuous music or DVD’s. Scant notice is taken of the environment( as we see very little posted about that) and the scenery, as long as the trucks, trailers and tyres last.

The recreational industry is a billion light-years ahead of what it was in the 1970’s when I started going bush. Now it seems that we must have what everyone else has got and if they get something new then we have to get something better.

I still try to go bush and camp in the simplest way I can despite all the technology I have with me. I try to keep the weight of all the gear to the minimum and leave things behind of not considered necessary.

Normally I travel alone and do not go anywhere in a group unless it is a special occasion

I have had a car fridge since the 1980’s. Fridge contents are prefrozen and lately I have meat cryovaced. I run the fridge just under freeze when travelling and switch it off at night from about 8pm till early morning. I do not take beer with me so there is no need to get paranoid over cold drinks.
I sometimes carry a drop of Chateaux Cardboard. Vegetables are individually wrapped in newspaper. I make fresh damper as often as I can and carry very little tinned food.

I light a small fire for cooking whenever and wherever I can unless it is in a fire ban area. I carry a gas canister fired stove which works OK. I carry 40 litres of water for drinking and food preparation and minimise by washing of the body to two litres of water per day. I do have a cheap shower unit which I seldom use. I have a sleeping arrangement inside my truck and any passengers have to accommodate themselves outside in their own mode.

I bury human waste and burn the paper and take all my rubbish with me till I get to the next town. My truck does not have a Long Range tank and I rely on carrying jerries with me when doing remote travelling. I carry one extra spare wheel and have the necessary recovery gear to get myself out of strife should I have to. I have UHF, HF and Satphone communications.

I try to keep my travelling simple and make it as enjoyable as I can by going down tracks to places I would not always go and by planning one big trip per year if the budget allows it

So take care out there forumites and have a good festive season.

Reply By: Moz - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 00:26
G'day Willem,
Agree with everything you say, however this is coming from someone
who can't afford the big ticket items like fridges,long range tanks etc.
but I reckon I have less to worry about breaking.
I remember as a teenager in Scouts we used to compete against each other
to see how little we could take on camp and still eat, sleep and have fun.
The difference these days is I've got a great big truck(HJ60) to fill up, but I still
try to keep things to minimum.
Life's pretty good when I can throw a few essentials in the back, take wife
and baby and go bush.

Happy Xmas
Moz
AnswerID: 87703

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:51
G'day Moz

When we started on our bush journeys we fitted everything in a Suzuki 2 stroke soft top. It was a long learning curve :o)
FollowupID: 346664

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 06:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 06:43
You have said it all.

AnswerID: 87708

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:52
Thanks Eric
FollowupID: 346665

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:22

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:22
Ya Ain't whistl'n Dixie !!!!
AnswerID: 87710

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:53

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:53
Que? as Manuel used to say on the Fawlty Towers Show.......
FollowupID: 346666

Reply By: bushfix - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:27
G'day Willem,

I travel pretty simply. As you said "travelling to marvel at nature, to enjoy the quiet of the outdoors," hence "bushfix." The bush is good medicine to me.

I can't get enough of this country.

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 87711

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:54
It is a good feeling Jeremy
FollowupID: 346668

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:39

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:39
"..... ohms there are in a degree of BTU...."

Answer.... 42. Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy.

Ford Prefect...
AnswerID: 87713

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:15

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:15
wrong! I will keep the numbers simple

3.4118 BTU/hr = 1 watt

therefore
29.31 btu/hr = 100 watts

using ohms law

kW x 1000 / e = i
then
i x e = r

therefore .1 kW x1000/12v = 8.33 amps

8.33 x 12 = 999.9 ohms

so there we have it ....999.9999 ohms in 29.31 btu/hr
and you all thought it couldnt be done!
FollowupID: 346527

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:57

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:57
Thanks Ford Prefect

Of course I knew 42 was the answer.

Trust Nudie to work something out of nothing. Might send him out to work for the mice.

Sladi Barvast
FollowupID: 346669

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:43
I'm happy to keep it simple and sleep in a swag, keep the beer in an esky etc.

If all the mod cons make more people appreciative of this great land then I'm all for it. The problem is it can also encourage too many people into the bush who don't treat it with the respect it deserves but just see it as another destination to tick off a list.
AnswerID: 87715

Reply By: theshadows - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:44

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 07:44
but what about the gps ploting system , PS2 console, mp3 players, hair dryer. electric viabrater, and best of al the saterlite broad band conection to down load the latest big broter show?
you mean there is more to life?

shadow
AnswerID: 87716

Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:07
Hmmm!

Now you've got me thinking Willem.

It’s one thing to burn toilet paper before burying the waste, but tell me oh people with young ’uns.
What does one do with nappies?

AnswerID: 87720

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:36
Airtight box double bagged and a good gas mask with an Organic Vapour cannister
FollowupID: 346529

Follow Up By: MrBitchi - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:25

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 09:25
Use the cloth ones and carry them in a sealed nappy bucket till you can wash 'em. Worked for us when junior came along a few years back. Better for them too.
FollowupID: 346537

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:31
Sealed Laundry bag on the roof is our option and will be used from Saturday for the next 8 weeks.

Getting ready and excited....
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 346616

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:18

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:18
every one to his own i guess

i do like your style Willem....some of it may not be suitable for me ie No Coldies!???..... but the rest i can handle any time
AnswerID: 87723

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:07
I'll be out bush in the Flinders for 2 weeks starting 2 January. Come up for a day or two. Will have a supply :o)
FollowupID: 346679

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:21
We have a few luxuries like the fridge, $50 at a garage sale, looks it's age but works a treat. We have a gps! (Does that put us in the tech junkies group)

We have thought about the DVD for the kids for the annual trip to Townsville from Canberra to entertain the kids, just did it again in September, but we resorted to the good old eye spy and with the younger kids and their creative spelling it kept us very busy and provided a lot of amusement.

Sandy
AnswerID: 87725

Follow Up By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:50
Steve so glad to hear about your eye spy etc. I think it is the pits that parents cannot talk to their kids on a trip and keep them entertained. I think putting a DVD in the car to keep the kids occupied is the bottom of the barrel. While I have no religious connotations, one of the religious groups had an ad on the TV a while ago, about parents having at best six minutes a day dialogue with their other half or children.
FollowupID: 346629

Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:26

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 08:26
Willem,
some interesting observations, and you have obviously been sitting pondering the meaning of life, and why we do what we do before posting today, and I think your viewed slant on what is questioned here, and what isnt may come from the fact it is "advertised" as "ExplorOz/ is an interactive site for people interested in camping, four wheel driving and caravanning in Australia. Used by more than ¼ million readers each month, this is the leading reference for Australian travellers! "

And when you post a thread you get
"The ExplorOz Forum is a topic specific forum and is not designed for general chatting. This forum is purposely designed for public exchange of questions, answers, comment and advice on the myriad of issues relating to Camping, Four wheel driving and Caravanning in Australia. Content posted here is searchable in search engines and is a valuable resource for other people wishing to find useful information on these topics. "

Meaning people come here and ask questions to get information, and it is a bit hard to give information on a view, or the quiet camping, which are a given for our recreation I would of thought anyway, compared to the miriad of new electrical gadgets available, and the choices open to people who take up the recreation.

Now, when you put all that together with a sector of the hobby who have to be seen with the latest gadget, and brand name marketing which has bred some of this mentality, and marketing which makes ordinary, or below ordinary equipment [OME suspension for example] appear to be the best money can buy, the only ones who win are the retailers and advertisers of said product, which means, if it wasnt working, they wouldnt be doing it.

Now, I tend to leave behind anything I didnt use recently while camping, and everything should have more than one use, and fit into the space allocated, and when purchased, should be good value for money [not cheapest ;-) ] I think the rest is just common sense you learn as you go, by looking, watching others, and asking questions ;-)
AnswerID: 87726

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:04

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:04
I take your point GO

No I have not been pondering the meaning of life...I know what it is :o)
FollowupID: 346677

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:57

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:57
Willem I know the meaning of life I just havent got to the point where, like you I can be enjoying it enough to slake my thirst.

GO your points and Willems add to the bigger tapestry of life

FollowupID: 346700

Follow Up By: GO_OFFROAD - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:52
Well, theres 3 of us that know ;-)
FollowupID: 346735

Reply By: D110V8D - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:36

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:36
Well said Willem. I also often watch this forum with amusment at what people will analyze to death. I do alot of bushwalking as well as 4x4ing and try to travel as light as possible, I guess to try to keep some of the experience of being out there. I often see people struggling up a section of track with 30 + kilos on their back and wonder how much they are enjoying themselves. When they get to camp all the gizmos come out, you know a little pack sized coffee maker, all sorts of unecessary gadets etc. The same goes for 4x4ing and camping. Less is more in my opinion.

If you need a fridge, sure take one but do you really need to know how many ohms per BTU's it uses? Just have fun and enjoy the planet while you can. Life is short.

Good on ya.

Mick
AnswerID: 87741

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:09

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:09
You are right about life, Mick...it is short and I am on the downhill run :o)
FollowupID: 346681

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:46
Heeeyyyyyyy.... Easy on the 'outlandish' comment there bigfella... I havent finished yet,,, i still have a fuel economy figure to post since the turbo has been fitted whilst using the Coopers.... *lol*...
AnswerID: 87742

Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:47

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 10:47
Hi Willem:

There is much in what you say. I must admit I learned to "travel light" following my 2 years Nasho stint, 12 months of which was spent in Vietnam as an infantry soldier. It is amazing how comfortable you can get, and stay dry in the rainy season with a nylon "hootchy" and a silk sleeping bag. You can cook a meal fit for a (deposed) king on a small metal stove with a hexamine tablet.

I was also reminded of the major exercise we did in the Newcastle area prior to embarkation, where we were allowed two waterbottles of water per day. From this we washed, drank, shaved, and cooked. (Two mates of mine were charged when they refilled their bottles as we walked down a river).

So I like to travel light. SWMBO is not so motivated, and often reminds me that "I am not in the Army now ..". So, in goes the big Tanami tent, a variety of stoves and other cooking tools and implements, a variety of sleeping gear to cover the temperature range -10 to +120 degrees (... just in case ...).

My "concession" to modern technology is a very basic Magellan 310 GPS unit, which does nothing more than tell me where I am on my maps. I have always enjpyed navigating from maps. The GPS lets me know I have it right.

But once on the road, it's all worth it. If this is not the most fascinating country that still offers us city-bred folk a chance to "adventure", I don't know where it is.

Enjoy your travels ... I certainly do.

Safe travels and Merry Christmas to all who participate on this website.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 87743

Follow Up By: Member - Peter H (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 05:07

Tuesday, Dec 21, 2004 at 05:07
G'Day Jack
Tell me more about using your GPS with the maps. I have a Garmin GPS 12. It won't tell me when to turn left or right, but it will show bearings and waypoints, distant travelled and distance to next waypoint.
If I don't get the oportunity have a merry christmas and fun filled new year.
Peter and Dawn
FollowupID: 348493

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:18

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:18
Willem - I share your sentiments except for one glaring omission.

I NEVER go anywhere without our trusty coffee plunger and coffee grounds. They are an absolute essential.

Everything else, I buy along the way when and if we need it....unless we go into remote areas for a few days and then we take the fridge....

Cheers :)
AnswerID: 87752

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:17

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:17

Coffee plunger????????....I have even dispensed with coffee.....tea bags for me (oh yes they are a modern convenience ...hahahaha)
FollowupID: 346686

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:27
Willem - good coffee is our last real vice...... after living in the USA for years you could call me addicted to the real thing.

Tea's good too!

FollowupID: 346688

Reply By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:21

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 11:21
As you know Willie I also get quite a giggle out of this forum occaisionally. I do love my electronic toys but when I go camping I generally only take the GPS, digital camera and UHF. I take my laptop if I'm going somewhere specifically to map an area. I also only take jerries as I can't see why I should pay $1000 to have the quivalent of 3 jerry cans more fuel capacity. It should also be said that 'I' pack light. If it is just me in my ute then I often get people asking where all my camping gear is when camping. When I pull on the handbrake on arrival to my campsite then I am officially 'set up'. However if my Wife comes then the ute is packed to the gills. However it is worth it for her to come with me.

I got an offer the other day I just can't refuse............I can get a new fourby if she can get a camper trailer :-)

I personally don't care what gear other people have. If I'm in the market for something then I certainly am going to ask other peoples opinion on it however I would never buy something just because someone else has one or the one I have isn't 'new' enough.

Although if someone wants to tow a mobile house with them when they go bush then that's fine with me. Each to their own Willie.
AnswerID: 87753

Follow Up By: beatit - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:05
G'day,

Its all been said but utemad I'm with you, I have migrated to the trailer take all for the bride approach because this results in more time away. Whilst I have the option of going on my own my life probably wouldn't be worth living so now have the lot. Sure it takes away from what was once a simple exercise (5 minutes to decide and pack to go somewhere) to something in need of a written packing list etc but hey, I'm just conditioning her for a life on the road.

I listened to her past objections and figured a QS bed, hot shower and a very comfy chair was a small price for not staying home.

FollowupID: 346554

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:43
G'day Utemad

You trading up to another Rodeo or somethin' else? :o)
FollowupID: 346692

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:51
No not another ute. At the moment I'm thinking Prado maybe Patrol.

Why.................are you interested? LOL

FollowupID: 346724

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:09

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:09
I think I have an answer to "I try to keep my travelling simple".
Just buy a smaller car.
30 years ago I could fit all my camping gear in a back pack & now I have a 105 Landcruiser it's still packed to the roof (& above). It seems the more room we have the more space that needs to be filled. So just like going on a diet I think I'll buy a Prado next & will be forced to leave a few things behind. Who knows I may go full circle & get another back pack so I can "marvel at nature, to enjoy the quiet of the outdoors"
Cheers Craig................
AnswerID: 87759

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:14

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:14
G'day Craig

I have even managed to free up the rear seat of late. Would like to back pack again but them days are over.....sigh!
FollowupID: 346683

Reply By: johnsie - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:51

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 12:51
Willem it depends on the purpose of the trip as to how much gear is involved but your right less is good but just enough is perfect!

A few mates and my family did a trip out to Ruby Gorge when it was classified as a reserve not a park and the convoy consisted of 2x f100 1nissan tray 1hilux 1 suzi and 2 bikes.departed Alice boxing day and were out for a week .Two bush freezers with lge quantity of grog and food 400 lts of fuel swags tarps etc and out to party and find the miners graves.got home after a great time with 6 pk to spare.

The other exteme was motor bikes rifle in saddle holster and water and back packs looking for a spring on Tempe downs.

Horses for courses ay anyway as long as we enjoy the bush and dont upset too many its our country dont lock it up and all the best for Xmas and the New Year every one.
AnswerID: 87770

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:32

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:32
johnsie

I did a little bit of exploring around Tempe Downs some years back. Went past Illara Waterhole and along the valley through to Ayreonga. Quite different country to the rest of Central Australia

Hard track in to Glen Annie Gorge but worthwhile getting there. That was around '92/93. Walked up the rest of the gorge to where it opens up. Found one gravestone but it has been relocated to higher ground.
FollowupID: 346689

Follow Up By: toymn8r - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:30

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 18:30
Hey Johnsie.
The troopy is never full I don't own that much gear (yet) But the fridge is
Anyway I couldn't fit the dog in if I loaded anything else.

Merry Christmas to you and the Family.

I heard you had some visitors from Townsville not long ago. Hope you all had a beer for me.

CYA Bart
FollowupID: 347081

Reply By: Member - Graham P (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:30
I agree with what you say, I was taught by a scout leader of the old school. When we had stacked up all the gear to take on camp beside his truck, he would look at what we had and if we had too much he would then drive his truck 1mile down the road and then come back and tell us too load it on - you soon learnt what you didn't need.

graham P
AnswerID: 87786

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:40

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 14:40
G'day Willem
Were you expecting the techno gadget lovers and claimers of millions of kms from their BF Cooperyears to really speak up?
We do own a fridge (who doesn't these days) but I don't know what the temperature is inside - rely on setting the thermostat. Don't have a GPS or laptop (use those old fashioned paper things). Do have a LR tank (vehicle is petrol and thirsty). Only use a tent. Try to cook on fire as much as possible. Only have UHF radio (but mates we travel with have HF for remote areas). Car does has a CD player (no stacker) but don't mind driving in silence. Air con too (once again who doesn't - Qld living just about demands it)- but I prefer to drive to windows down except for the boring bits along the blacktop. Bush camp as much as possible (bloody van parks charge too much for the use of a small piece of dirt/grass so we avoid them if possible).
So I guess I can honestly say I concur with your views.
But each to his own - some simply can't go bush without all the gizmos. Some have the gizmos and go from van part to van park.
Keep posting and stirring every now and then - I always open your posts.
AnswerID: 87788

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:50

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:50
G,day

No I didn't think the technos would come on board but it has turned out to be a good discussion. I only make observations...what people do with that is their own thing............lol
FollowupID: 346694

Reply By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:43

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 16:43
Willem,

I think it is each and everyones perogative to take what they wish.
Unless it is interfering with others, and I am sure being comfortable is not always
annoying to others (I hope).
I think that to go bush with all mod cons, doesn't prevent you from enjoying
this great country any more than someone who wants to travel lighter, and
perhaps more uncomfortably.
And not everyone with these mod cons races through the country at breakneck speeds, I most certainly don't, and I do see all of the scenery at a leisurley pace, and I do enjoy my comfort at camp.

see you in the bush some day,

AnswerID: 87810

Reply By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:46

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:46
I'm waiting for a virtual reality widget so I can take the ultimate tour around Oz anytime I want from the comfort of my armchair. No flat tyres, battery always fully charged, fridge always at correct temperature, 0L/100km

Whatever turns ya on

sunny side up

AnswerID: 87824

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:52

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:52
Ray maybe you would be able to get one with engine noises and exhaust fumes as well...hahahaha
FollowupID: 346696

Reply By: Member - Spook (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 17:54
Willem
I always enjoy/learn something when reading your posts, as a young bloke (22 on Friday) I try to take as much advice from more experienced travellers that I can get. As I am in the process of planning my first "Big Trip" around oz with my partner your post has put a different light on my shopping list of "must have's" before we go. I agree that there are essentials like recovery gear, food and water and communications, but I personally have decided not to take a laptop, DVD player etc. etc. but I also respect those that choose to take these item due to having kids to entertain etc. I think just the fact that there are people still out there that take the time to get away and enjoy their family is wonderful thing.
While a lot of my friends are travelling/saving to travel the world, most of them have not seen much of what this country has to offer and to have a wall map as full of plots as yours is something that I can only aspire to.
Brad
AnswerID: 87827

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:54

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:54
Happy Birthday Brad!

Geez I wish I was 22 again....best years of me life....I think? Now where was I again................lol
FollowupID: 346697

Reply By: David Au - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:08

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:08
Yes, I am a little bit of a technology junkie, and yes, I do love the modern comforts that technology brings me. I have to confess, I also have a 14 litre gas hot water system in my 4WD, as well as a Coleman catalytic gas heater. The rivers in the mountains in Victoria in mid-summer are to cold to swim in. I would be happy with a heating a kettle of water and washing in a bucket, but the ladies like a shower. My good wife will go anywhere as long as she can have a hot shower. With all my toys, that is her only wish and I am only to happy to oblige. We also go away all through winter, and heating of some type is necessary. The Coleman heater will be a better solution to what we have previously used.
AnswerID: 87829

Reply By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:14

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:14
Me, I like to do it tough and don't take anything but the bare essentials:

Camper with a Q/S bed, water tank, kitchen, shelf unit, awning, etc
Drawers full of all the normal kitchen essentials
Carpet for the floor of the camper
80 L Fridge/Freezer
Portable Dunny
Solar Shower
Shower/toilet tent
600 watt inverter
Laptop
3 fluoro lights
Dual battery
2 tables
Folding "armchair" for Jenny
Folding chair for me
12V portable oven
Some DVD's to watch on the laptop occasionally
12V fan
Camp Oven
Jaffle Iron

And lots more.

As I said, it's tough; no surround sound, air conditionong, central heating, internet, fax, etc.

See I can do without luxuries and rough it with the best of them LOL.

AnswerID: 87833

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:31

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 18:31
What no air-con or heating in the Terracan? LOL

You just need some ducting to get that air into the camper now.
FollowupID: 346636

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:16

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:16
Hey Jimbo.....Better give up now......Eric is the King of Toys....hahahaha
FollowupID: 346709

Follow Up By: Member - Jimbo (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:30

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:30
Willie,

I've got more toys than the XXX shop, just don't want to talk about them here LOL
FollowupID: 346718

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:11

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 19:11
Hmmmmm. Willie....

Lot of people here professing they could possibly do without.

Idea surfacing......

Yep.... it's coming.....aggghhhhh..... here it comes......

........... got it......

Survivor EO!

We organise some forumites, and have them do it really hard. We, ( the support crew ), can have our tents, stoves, and toys & stuff, 'cause we have to document it all.

We upload reports to EO, and the forum have a say who gets voted off!

Now, Willie can be the anchorman. Pesty can dig the latrines with his golden shovel...LOL!!

We need 3 camera operators, maybe a steadicam dude as well. A couple of sound guys, catering, hairdresser for Willie, wardrobe, grips, best boy... ( don't know what the last two do, but I always wanted to say it!!).

Get some EO bandanas made up, maybe some loin cloths.....

We need those really big fire stick come torch thingies as well.

What could the prize be? What about a DVD Player, and a Coffee Maker, and a ......

Wolfie
AnswerID: 87841

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:20

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:20
goodday willem
ab it of light line asmall amount of bait and look at the bites you have got again rotflmao

but it keeps the interest up though
AnswerID: 87851

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:07

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:07
Only observations Steve.........lol
FollowupID: 346706

Reply By: Member Eric - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:44

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 20:44
When the first travelers went bush , did they have the latest saddles ? Did they have the latest wheel carrage ? What did they endertain them selves with ?

The latest gadgets of there time , \\

Improvement on Horse shoes . Nahh thats not going real bush

Then came the horsless carrage , Lets go bush in that

Nahhhhh . Horse is better

You can do either ,

Move with the times , or winge about change

Why upgrade Rosie ?
You telling me you dont like your aircon now ?

Hmm , last time I looked , I saw a GPS in the GQ a winch a laptop , and a list of what else to buy.

Yes Willem , you ARE well traveled , this is why I love to sit and talk to you and ask as many questions as possible , I would listen to you talk to me about bush things for hrs on end.

It is FACT that most people will not cover 1/8th of Oz as you have , but its comforting to know we can speak to you and be told about the best must see places to visit before we leave this place called earth.
So Yes , I get 4 weeks a year holidays ,
Yes I do want to knwp the best time to visit a place
Yes I woud like to be prepared for weather

I will ask ask ask ask ask ask ask as many questions as I can .
If i could afford more mod con , I would have them

But at the end of all this , I still luv ya
AnswerID: 87859

Follow Up By: Allan Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:57

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:57
Eric,
Amen to that :-)
FollowupID: 346701

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:14

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:14
Hear Hear

FollowupID: 346707

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:22

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:22
Oh Eric...you are confused!!!!

I admitted to having all the mod cons too.......

No...you will always have more toys than me...lol

Twas only observations mate.

Please ask more questions

Please don't stress

I luv ya too :o)

Take care
FollowupID: 346713

Reply By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:58

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 21:58
Distilled from Willie's musings:

"I still try to go bush and camp in the simplest way I can despite all the technology I have with me. I try to keep the weight of all the gear to the minimum and leave things behind of not considered necessary. "

To support that notion, I recently saw at L. Eyre South, a bloke travelling by himself. Later that day we spotted each other while having a lemonade in the front bar of the Marree hotel. He was a retired railway worker, and was touring around looking at 'railway things'.

His set up impressed me enormously, and as I headed off I thought it was pretty obvious who was the more intelligent of us.

The set up was:

1500cc Beetle
40 mph travel speed
big wheels (for a little car) to give clearance - memory tells me they are 15 "
windows down if hot, up if cold
front seat removed
small esky + cheap folding chair in that space
bed roll in rear
jerry can in rear
no set agenda - if he wanted to stay & look, he did.

Yes, less IS more.

AnswerID: 87873

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:05
Didn't the Leyland brothers do west to east like this, in a VW? I remember reading Where dead Men Lie when I was a kid, and i am sure it was a VW, and they got booked for wide tyres when in NSW, on the way home.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 346704

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:24

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:24
Lemonade in the fron bar of the Hotel?....you must've been ill.....hahahaha
FollowupID: 346714

Follow Up By: Member - Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:02

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:02
Didn't wanna tip the hand too openly......they were big fat chilly schooners

FollowupID: 346727

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Victoria) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:10

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 23:10
And I suppose this guy had a million in the bank...not
FollowupID: 346730

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:23

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:23
Willem you bought a tear to my eye. Its expoerience such as yours that people such as me seek and thru EO we can find it. Yes we ask about tyres and tents and the like but its merely a means to an end, the end being the experience we all seek, nay crave, nay hunger for.

Your knowledge and easy going demeanour not only draws us in, look at Erics post re listening for hours but also those you meet down to the youngest. My daughter of 11 has only met you twice but talks about what Willem knows and what you think about the places we plan on visiting. Its these experiences that are life guiding and life long learning experiences.

We all take too much when we go away and we should all bring home vastly more than we take. Nothing that weighs the vehicle down but in our experiences and memories. Life is indeed short. 42 is indeed the answer. We all seek the question.

AnswerID: 87878

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:27

Wednesday, Dec 08, 2004 at 22:27
Very very deep.........Bonz :o)
FollowupID: 346716

Follow Up By: bushfix - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:15

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:15
come on you Nissan fans, it has been given to you on a platter..

the answer to life, the universe and everything? 4.2

cheers!

Jeremy. (96 Prado GXL V6, 4 kids, 2 adults)
FollowupID: 346746

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:53

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 07:53
Now, THAT..... that IS good!!!!

wow......

When I was young, I had a VH Pacer, with a 265 Hemi..... which, wait for it... was a 4.2!!!

Now, we ALL know it's the meaning of life, and mate, I used to try my hardest at starting new life in the back seat of that bloody thing.....

wow....

.... it's enough to put you into.... Deep Thought.

I was 42, once, Wolfie
FollowupID: 346749

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:59

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:59
Sorry to spoil your ponderings Wolfie but 265 cubic inches equates to 4.3 litres.
FollowupID: 346834

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:29

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:29
Oh Wombie...you are a pain............
FollowupID: 346844

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:37

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:37
If the Wolfmeister is going to work out the meaning of life I would hate for him to be reckoning with misinformation!

Like yourself, I already know the meaning of life.

Now if you want to start a really deep thread I dare you to ask our fellow forumites what they believe to be the meaning of life.
FollowupID: 346846

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:52

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 16:52
Wombat, you ARE correct!

It was my mates Monaro 253 that I was tryin'!!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 346865

Reply By: Baz (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:50

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 09:50
Hey Willem spot on mate, i am amazed when i look at the stuff we carry now and think back when i did the same thing on a motorbike.

AnswerID: 87919

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:27

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:27
G'day Baz

I am going through a sea change with stuff. Going to see what else I can dump from the packing list.
FollowupID: 346843

Reply By: Member - glenno (bris) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:23

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 13:23
Which group do you fit into ?
1/ like techno gear but cannot afford it.
2/ buy all the latest techno gear.
3/ never cared much for techno gear.
4/ over 40 and drive a troopy.
AnswerID: 87945

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:26

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:26
The only category I fit into is Over 40(well over it ..hahaha) but no Troopy

Click on my rig pic and see what techno gear I have
FollowupID: 346842

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 00:30

Friday, Dec 10, 2004 at 00:30
Number 4
FollowupID: 346948

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:16

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:16
I love it Willem, well said. I just need'ed to go and put "I still call Australia home" on in the background while I read that! :-) LOL

Fair enough too. I like my toys, hell I'm an ozy bloke and since the dawn of time it has been an ozy blokes mission to invent new and clever ways to ensure he does not have to do as much work as he used to! :-)

I install gagetary in my truck for 2 reasons:
1. It's my hobby, it's not to keep up with the jones'ss'ss., I just love playing around with it on a saturday morning, seeing what new things I can come up with, adapt and make work.
2. I reckon the less time you spend friggin around setting up and packing up the more time you can spend enjoying the bush. If I install somting in the truck, it's either automatic or a flick of 1 switch, no one like wires, noises, and piss farting around, if you putting a gadet in, it should be to make it easier not harder!

now I'm a little contraversial because I like a bit of music when I'm away with friends. But we always ensure we are in the middle of nowhere so nobody else will be annoyed, if that is not possible, we keep quiet or move on. However, just because we like a bit of music and a few beers after dinner does not mean we don't enjoy nature. We will normally get up in the morning, have a coffe and some breaky and go for an explore on foot, as morning IMO is the best time of the day for it. We enjoy nature, but we enjoy having a good time with friends too, but I guess it's like everything in life, it's all good in moderation. I think the important thing is to keep things simple (even if that means having gadgets to do some of the work for you) and not annoy any other bugger while your out there!!
And of course, take out more than you take in! Clean up your own mess, and any other buggers mess you find on your travels.
AnswerID: 87954

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:37

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:37
G'day Jeff

How's the bub? Giving you lots of joy, no doubt.

Ahhh...music. I was starved from it when I had the old G60 as the radio had packed up and I had to sing for amusement whilst driving. The GQ however came with a good Radio and Tape and 4 speakers and I have added a plug-in CD. Can blast the Blues to distortion.......... :o) Way to go...........No wonder I am a bit deaf.
FollowupID: 346847

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:52

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 14:52
The bub... What a joyous little thing she is. Just can't put it into words mate, and thank you for remembering and asking.

Blues... Love it, wish I had more of it!

Sounds like you need some more gadgets to get rid of that distortion! LOL!!
FollowupID: 346850

Follow Up By: bushfix - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:16

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:16
aaaaahhhhh,

dippin me lid to both of you,

aaahh, some quiet Robert Johnson/Son House or some blasting Hound Dog Taylor/John Lee Hooker/Hendrix etc., while sipping some Maker's Mark or a good single malt. hmmmmmm......... I love that ending on your rig list Willem where you mention the blues cds and say "YEAH", fair dinkum you can't beat it.

Jeff, I had my fourth kid the same day as you I think, 6 November? Good to hear all okay, I can't thank God enough for my kids' health, especially as I talk to others and read.

kind regards,

Jeremy.
FollowupID: 346902

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:25

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 20:25
bushfix, ooo yeah some maker's mark, good drop you don't hear people speak of it very much. You do see glimps of it in a lot of yankie movies though!
Some John Lee Hooker, oh yes, it's all good!

6th of Novemer, sure was my little darlings birthday, 2 days before mine. The hospital staff were nice enough to let my two lovley girls come home a day early to help me celebrate, it's going to be hard to ever top that for a birthday present!
FollowupID: 346906

Reply By: Member - Mungo Explorer (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:06

Thursday, Dec 09, 2004 at 23:06
I'm with you when it comes to all the electronic gadgets people take into the outback - DVD, laptop, fridge, what's the point? But my approach is different: I likew my creature comforts at night so I avoid camping and try, as much as possible, to stay in motels or farm stations to have these provided by someone else, even if I have to pay for it (puts money into the bush economy, can't do any harm). But between stopovers, I like to have as little "civilisation" as possible: no music, no computers. GPS and UHF radio is all I admit to, simply to keep it safe.
AnswerID: 88071