Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 09:55
Drew - Karratha
G'day
I am driving over to Tasmania around Xmas / New Years and am currently trying to work out where to go. It is a bit hard looking in the tourist brochures, so I was hoping a few people might have some ideas for must-see
places to go. I will have all of my
camping gear so some out of the way
places as
well as normal tourist things would be what we are looking for. (maybe some secret Trout fishing
places too). We will be there for around 2 weeks, so if anyone has any ideas for budget accommodation to help keep the costs down that would be great too - and some good 4x4 tracks!!!
- I'm not asking for much am I.....
Drew
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 09:57
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 09:57
how long /high is your snorkle ,LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 15:26
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 15:26
You forgot to mention the muddies...
Seriously though, Tassie is about how much time you have and which things you want to leave until your next trip...
Reply By: Phil P - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 10:42
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 10:42
This was a trip I did a couple of years ago, no 4wding. This is a busy time in Tas.
Saturday 27th December - Cars arrive in
Devonport
Drive to Great Northern, 3 Earl St,
Launceston
Lunch at
DeloraineCradle Mountain (Waldheim Chalet, Leven
Canyon lookout,
The Nut)
Accommodation;
Tullah Lake Side Chalet, Farrell St, Tullah – 03 6473 4121
Sunday 28th December
Lake St Clair – Derwent River
Strahan (
Franklin Manor, Jet Cruise on the
Gordon River, Macquaie Harbour at
Gordon River, St.Johns Falls,
Heritage Landing, Hells
Gate, Atlantic Salmon Farm,
ruins of
Sarah Island)
Accomodation:
Sharon Lee, Andrew St,
Strahan – 03 6471 7224
Monday 29th December
Strahan,
Queenstown, Derwent Bridge, Bronte
Park – Stop for lunch
Miena, Turnbridge,
Campbell Town,
Cranbrook, Freycinet
Accommodation;
East Coaster Resort ,
Louisville Point Rd,
Orford – 03 6257 11 72
Tuesday 30th December
Dolphin & Whale watching, Freycinet Marine Farm,
Cape Tourville Lighthouse,
Douglas-Apsley National Park,
The Hazards
Accommodation;
East Coaster Resort,
Louisville Point Rd,
Orford – 03 6257 11 72
Wednesday 31st December
Freycinet National Park -
Port Arthur
Boat cruise, Cape Pillar, Horse Riding, Tasman Island, Seals & dolphin watching
Then head to
Hobart
Taste of Tasmania – New Years Eve Function
Accommodation;
Grand Chancellor, 1 Davey St,
Hobart 03 6235 4535
Thursday 1st January
Day trip to Mt
Wellington,
Richmond, Battery Point
Accommodation;
Hobart 03 6235 4535
Friday 2nd January
Day trip to Hewonville (Tahune Air Walk, Hewon Jet Ride,
Franklin River, Port Hewin, Castleforbes Bay,
Cockle Creek, Hastings
Cave & Thermal
Water)
Accommodation;
Hobart 03 6235 4535
Saturday 3rd January
Salamanca Market,
Cadbury Factory – Closed Weekends – 03 6249 0333
Cascade Brewery – Closed Weekends – 03 6221 8300
Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 10:53
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 10:53
Hi Drew:
You will love Tassie. I went down Dec 2004-Jan 2005 and loved it. Mind you it was cool for most of the time, but still enjoyable, so don't just pack shorts. You will probably need your winter woolies. I might also add that I have never eaten such consistently good food *everywhere* in Tassie. Their pies are to die for, and their seafood must have come out of the
water after I ordered it. Amazing stuff.
Best book on doing a bit of off-road is available in the Exploroz
shop here, under Shop/Books.
Well worth having. Details are:
21. 4WD tracks in Tasmania: Off road Tasmania $35.95
1st Edition Author Boden, Chris
Over 55 roads and tracks are described in this book together with maps showing all the detail required to navigate to and along the
routes.
This book not only gives you concise directions and information on access, campsites and facilities, but also provides fascinating snippets of information about the areas you visit.
Enjoy your trip. I can't wait to get back.
Jack
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:01
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:01
Drew,
We went there summer 04/05 - still have not completed the treknotes as yet but you can read the journal and get a good idea of what we did. We are woring on the treknotes at present however they get slotted into less busy times and this does not seem to happen very often. Anyway see the Tasmania Journal.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:11
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:11
Went there in Dec04 - Jan05. We are going back for another look in December this year. Our journal can be found here -
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:51
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 12:51
Where to go?, Answer is "Go everywhere", Tassie is fabulous two weeks won't be enough. 3 months would be closer.
Good advice above and the trek notes on here are real good.
Chris Bodens Book as mentioned is a must buy.
Reply By: Utemad - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 15:43
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 15:43
We went to Tassie Dec 04/Jan 05 as did everyone else here by the sounds of it LOL. The entire trip was fantastic but
Cradle Mountain is an absolute must.
As people have said, pack your woolies and wet weather gear. We saw snow at
Cradle Mountain and it was also snowing in the centre of Tas.
Also any accomodation is thin on the ground at that time of year. We camped mostly and to start with we never booked anywhere but found out quickly that if we wanted a caravan
park site (read: my wife wanted.........) that we had to book ahead as we had a fair idea where we would end up that afternoon (so we booked that nights spot each morning).
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:32
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:32
G'day Drew,
If you had of done a search first you would have found more here aswell.
Happy travelling
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: robbo72 - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:05
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:05
hi drew
there is a nice spot on the lyell hwy (between
queenstown and
hobart)called wayatinah,there is a nice trout fishing lake with a really
good camp ground,we go every xmas for about a week and love it,but all the lakes up the central highland are good lakes and you can always find a patch to
camp.
Some other nices spots are:- Tasman Peninsula, East Coast, (
Bicheno,
St Helens and
Swansea),
Strahan,
Cradle Mountain.
Hope you enjoy your trip.
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:53
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:53
Thanks everyone for your input! I dont know if it has helped, or just added to where I want to go - might have to try and stretch it out to 3 weeks and include more
camping and
camp meals (Smoked Trout) to keep the costs down a bit. I am only just starting to find out how hard it is to get accommodation over the New Years period.
Thanks again
Drew
Reply By: jetaway - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 12:30
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 12:30
If you are interested, you can look at my travel pictures of Tasmainia taken the year before last.
http://www.worldisround.com/home/jodyt/travel10.html
Have a great time. We are considering going back over with out Kedron van in January 2006 and staying till April. Last time we hired a camper.
Jody