Bush travel - the unloved 4wd genre?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:15
ThreadID: 26839 Views:4017 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
I love Bush driving and always post about the spots I have been to (Hunts Pinnicles, Walleroo rocks, Yowie rocks track etc) to try and promote this type of 4wding but get little intrest. Round the campfire with Rod W found he gets much the same response and got me wondering what is it. People will drive thousands of ks to drive desert tracks which as far as I can see dont have the marvels of the Kimberlys (yes there are more than one - the East and West) and cape york. But yet there is precios little travel that seems to be done in areas which are only a long weekend or so from Perth. The Holland track gets some press but there are many many other areas with just as interesting rock/formations as well as old water holes and plenty of history and remote bush camping that no one seems interested in.
So what is it? is it the fear of scrtatching your vehicle (this WILL happen) or getting flats (also a good chance) or is it long weekends are for working in the garden while the 4by sits in the shed waiting for you to accrue enough holidays for the "Big One" or do you head off only to go to the same tourist spots so you can come back and Moan about crap campsites, dunny paper hanging round the trees and generators

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:57

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 17:57
Davoe,

In my case it's a bloody long way to where you guys have been. However, I have started taking lots of notes and adding comments to my maps for the future (hopefully not too long away). I think a lot of us in the East are jealous and yes we are saving up our leave for the Big One to hopefully include a lot of the places you guys get to see regularly. Keep up the reports, please.
AnswerID: 132188

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:00

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:00
Davoe,

The biggest problem with the places you mention is the distance between me and them! It'll take a complete long weekend just to get there from here.
But don't panic mate when I do get over thataway I'll be calling on you for a list of all those spots, I'll even trade if you like, the 'list' for a beer or two. lol

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 132190

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:50

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:50
The post wasnt so much directed at those many of thousds of ks away ( I have been to queensland once and that was S/W Queensland when I lived in SA) but rather those a bit closer that dont seem to take advantage of their backyard
FollowupID: 386455

Reply By: kesh - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:47

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:47
Very interesting comment Davoe, but dont feel its exlusive to WA!
We (missus and me) do a "season" of work each year in the fairly remote bottom end of W. Qld. where, because its all private leasehold land tourists dont have much access to. But there are plenty of places, historic sites, (Cobb & Co stages, long gone pubs etc.) stock routes, water holes (plenty yellowbelly, yabbies) that you tell people about, but whilst nodding in agreement you know only too well they will never go there.

Well, I think there are a number of reasons:
People are "herd animals". They might be travelling alone (say hub/wife +/- 2kids) but cant cop the loneliness of remote/being alone camping. The same combination is concerned about safety, whether by vehicle accident or people related. So they prefer to map out a tour where there will be plenty of "people contact" with the occassional foray to some particular remote day trip highlight.

Then you have the "dedicated" They are (for instance) "The group doing the Simson" We often hear them on the UHF: "geez Paul, what you got the cruise set on, were droppin off?" Paul, "mate, we gotta HIT Birdsville tonite" "Yeah, but we blody near HIT that big Brahman" They only left Brizzy yesterday, sort of thing. I am sure a similar group is "doing" the GRR,CSR,etc.etc.
Which brings me to the the real pits. The mob who have found the ultimate way to "get outback" loaded up with cartons of rocket fuel and a stereo system that would lure a "close encounter of the third kind". They seem to always find a spot where someone (like the family group perhaps) has decided it could be nice and quiet for a few days, but after that "encounter" swear never to go back again. (someone usually has to, pick up the garbage left behind)

Finally I think for many tourists it is much of a one off. I grew up and have lived in the bush all my life and we dont want to move from it. So often my wife meets people who are on some sort of "adventure trip) (my wife does part time at the local art gallery) So, referring to their travels she might ask did you see such and such - "No, where would you find out about that? "Well, the pub would give you a mud map to it" "PUBS!! We never stop at them!!" The whole costing of the trip is to be as cheap as possible, get the pictures, get home and forget about it. After all, it was only hubbies little indulgance after the reduncancy/super payout!!

I dont want to talk about the "Grey Nomads" They are bordering on a different race At least they stay on the "bitumine" but cant some of them wear their welcome out using up all the freebies and depositing the waste contents of those mobile "gin palaces" for someone else to step in.

I probably havn't really made the contribution you were looking for, could be I'm just an "Old Thorny Devil" !!
cheers the kesh

AnswerID: 132198

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:57

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 18:57
probably a simular situation from the other side of the country. BTW are you referring to somewhere around the Jundah area. I stayed on a station just Nth of their when I went Pig shooting on the thompson river a while back. Plenty of catties and turtles but no Yellow belly and stuff all pigs (straighter shooting could have helped)
FollowupID: 386461

Follow Up By: Rod from Bush Camping - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:53

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:53
Kesk, I was the bloke out with Davoe. You got some good comments too like "herd animals". A fair while back now I was chatting on the phone to a bloke out in country WA. He said its not hard to tell the city people from the country people. Him and the Missus was camped at Isralite Bay and this vehicle came in, he said to his missus are they country or city. They were city, they camped right next to them (Isralite Bay have 100's of acres of open space to camp). I thought I must remember that.

Getting out on ones own is an absolute pleasure (with others is okay too). I am usually a bit aprehensive before I start the trip but once I hit the road that goes. I think people have this fear there are animals out there which will attack them or they are going to be taken by aliens when nothing is further from the truth.

Hey I'm bordering on that grey nomad bit too, Dave can vouch for that.
FollowupID: 386474

Follow Up By: kesh - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:54

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 07:54
Davoe: Little bit further S/SW (about a 6 pack & 2 black cans!!)
Our leases are N/W Eromanga, but its all similar country, definately made by God for his use in retirement.
Nice little town, Jundah, but for some reason the fishing can be a trifle slow there.Usually much better lower down at Retreat. Did you meet Stan at the shop (just down from the pub) Quite a character, but been fairly crook of late. Pigs much more prolific closer to the channels on the Cooper system, also the fish in that area.
We are knocked off now till next April, too much dust'n'flies!
cheers the kesh
FollowupID: 386539

Reply By: Rod from Bush Camping - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:22

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:22
Good call Dave. Lets stir these posers/city slickers.

By the way ain't you suppose to be working?
AnswerID: 132205

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:23

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:23
tomorrow - still trying to get all that mud off. Its all a bit less accessable underneath than with the old ute/troopy
FollowupID: 386479

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:05

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:05
No, you guys have a very good point. I agree with you 100%. However I will explain my actions for you to try and put it into perspective. (I know Rod reasonably well and have been on a couple of trips with him, and reckon he's a top bloke) I'll get out your pocket now Rod! ;-)

Personally it's hard for us to get away much further than a couple of hundred k's away from Perth most of the time, we actually had a nice trip planned to Kalbarri to visit the old lead mine townsite and do some exploring inland around there, however the price of fuel and being on a sinlge income with two kids brought that to a last minute change to head to Brookton purley based on the price of fuel... We've headed out to Yellowdine, Hyden an Kulin, Kalgoorlie a few times now and absolutally love it out that way, unfortunatally you really do need at least a long weekend to make those trips practicle and they are a little sparse at this time of year. (long weekends that is).

Basically the things that hold us back as a family are:
1. Fuel, the cost.
2. Findingsome other bugger that wants to go with us (they are not the type of area I personally feel totally comfertable exploring by myself with young children.
3. Time, gotta have the long weekend when there are no kids birthday parties, and other family comiments and reasonabally good weather. The baby is not too appreciative of 500,000 fly's and 40+c heat.

But I would much prefer to be out there than going accorss the simpson personally, I agree with you guys on that one. The frustration I have in not being able to do some of these trips is great, let me assure you.

The history out in those areas is so intense there is SO much out there, it's well worth doing some research on where you are heading before leaving the driveway if you do plan on those kinds of trips as it's just fantastic. I have the "Trips in the Eastern Goldfields" book and there are heaps of places I'd love to go in there.... Maybe soon, I have a new budget in the works at the mo that is based around me being able to save enough fuel money to do more trips, so we'll see what happens...

Rod, what happened to the bushcamping site? I havn't been able to get on there for ages??
FollowupID: 386578

Follow Up By: Rod from Bush Camping - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:39

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 17:39
Jeff, I regret to advise that its gone to god which is due to the lack of participation by the members in putting up and or participating in trip.

A couple of us who were putting up trips are still active in getting out and
doing our own thing.

See ya on a track sometime somewhere maybe.

FollowupID: 386633

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:22

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 18:22
Easy tiger no need to explain I know you have been known to experience what the bush has to offer when the opportunitys have arisen and have posted as much previosly. My remarks were more that bush travel is a virtually untouched side of 4bying. sure the glamour destinations like Kimberly,kakadu, red centre deserve the attention they get but i consider bush travel to be at least equal to the better known genre's such as outback travel (cameron corner, birdsville etc) and desert travel. With the convenience of being a whole lot closer if you are in Southern WA and other states (if there are other states with that much bush). It seems that for most if it doesnt get written about in a magazine then its not worth doing. There is nothing wrong with hitting the big tourist destinations when we get the month off - We all do it. But when long weekend or better yet if you can wangle an extra day or 2 there is no need to moan the weather is to bad for fishing and it is too far to Exmouth coz there is fun to be had closer to home
FollowupID: 386643

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:04

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 19:04
Yeah Rod, I figured as much. It's a shame, since Steph is now at an age where we can take her camping more frequently and we've done some exploring ourselves I had a few good close to Perth weekenders I could have posted... Oh well, thems the breaks. I'm just waiting for Ben's new motor (he fried the little Frozie, towed again LOL, remeber we had it towed when you were with us going to Alexandra's Bridge). He should have it up and running again soon and we'll be off again, might post the trips on here instead, dunno what kind of response we'll get but it's worth a shot.

The people we met on those trips were really great.
FollowupID: 386653

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:23

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 19:23
Widgie Davoe,

Think I know the feeling.......there's so much to see & do in one's own backyard (Adelaide in my case), just gotta get momentum/energy/committment to do it. When I say that you can see spinifex only 1.5 hours from the CBD, many don't believe me. Sure, the big trips for 2 + weeks are good, but it's certainly worth finding or making your own little trips also.

Think I know the feeling.......However, as I have observed, & been part of the giving side of the equation for some time, my enthusiasm for sharing and participating has declined. Not to say I won't, but many have a different itinery/interest from me, that appears to be "rush rush" driven. I can understand why. I am not critical of this, merely observant.

Think I know the feeling.......So IMHO, most don't want to know any real detail; any alternate routes; any geography and or history beyond the superficial; not particularly inetereted in 'new' things. The cynical side of me says for them it's a requirement for instant gratification/ beentheredonethat.

Think I know the feeling.......yes, it's fear of scratches/flatties/unkown dangers. People usually are gregarious, even in the bush, but it takes an amount of intestinal fortitude to mount your own trip, especially by yourself - and that is a level beyond most people's comfort zone. For proof, witness the popularity of the Tag -along 's.

And yes, for many, it's about accumulating holidays and then doing a representative sample tour that they can satisfy their egos with when they return................e.g. at the footy/BBQ/family event it goes: "yeah mate, went to Birdsville last time, yeah, got over Big red second go, geez the flies were bad..........blah blah blah.................. "The rider still exists that this is not a criticism, but an observation of mine.

Anyway, got to go & research the next trip.

best regards

Rick (S.A.)
AnswerID: 132208

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:29
In the old 2wd days we used to go out to Mt Mary area as well as a station called CaneGrass Nth of Morgan although most ofthe travel we did was fishing related over to the Eyre Penninsula
FollowupID: 386481

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:33

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:33
Davoe, reminds me of a few years ago at Ulara camping ground. Backpacker asked me where I was going. When told she was amazed, "but there's nothing out there!" When told pigs rear end there wasn't she asked if it was dangerous. "Safer than camped here" I replied. She thought for a moment and then she had me. "So why don't many people go there?" she asked with a smug smile.
Fast forward....
Watching a tag along trying to make up lost time...zoom.....road rage at a servo at Windorah...... pulling into 5 roadside stops and having to pull out again, all full up.....trying to dodge the grey nomads and nests as they zoom along overtaking me, only to stop at the next town and jump out with their cameras. Bloody traffic jams on Big Red....stickers on the pumps, have you conquered Big Red yet ? Thats a big 10-4 good budgie I think we got uz a con voy. Woo Hoo.

And you want more people in your neck of the woods ? Careful what you ask for, you may just get it.
AnswerID: 132227

Reply By: Sarg - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:59

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 20:59
Just done a trip over the extended long weekend(just the missus & me) & checked out some of the Rocks around the Wheatbelt area. Probably been to some of them yourself. Amazing what there is to see. One in particular near Bullfinch kept us there for two days. Won't mention its name as its too peaceful to advertise its location to the masses.The only feral things out there were what belong there anyway.
AnswerID: 132231

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:16

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 21:16
I love granite rocks always something to see wheather it be tadpoles and frogs in the rockholes or dragons scampering around or aboriginal gnamma holes or woodline dams or insectiverous plants or........... Spent many enjoyable weekends as a kid scampering over Mt Wudinna in S.A
FollowupID: 386489

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:23

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:23
this may come through twice, got logged off while typing it.

G'day Davoe,

although i grew up in Perth, i was brought up with bush as we had and still do have (my Father's), 60 acres of it at Dwellingup. This had a profound effect on me that has lasted and i am so happy to see that my own kids (four under 7) are responding well to my praise and enjoyment of the bush. it is good medicine to me, hence 'bushfix.' I instantly feel better when I see it, when I am in it. I guess it is another reason why I don't take a table or chairs with me, I prefer to be on the ground. When I was working over there it was similar to you with the swag, the camp fire (when poss) and the tojo. I miss that country.

As far as the 4wd component, it is just a means to get me further away from "society" or further into the bush. I don't go out of my way for a play but do enjoy developing driving skills. The kids, they love the 4wding, no hill too steep, bumpy or slippery, no creek too deep etc. This is just as well because I don't want them not wanting to come along. But they also love their camping and it is all I need to see them running around in the bush together, making there own fun, and getting grubby, or sitting down eating a meal I've just pulled off the fire.

But I guess, (and I do now live on the outskirsts of Sydney) I keep quiet about places I might tootle off to for a night or two because ideally I don't want anyone else to be there. Selfish yeah maybe but time spent in the bush is important to me and I don't want it wrecked by people who have no respect for it (the bush.) Small club trips though can be great too though I must say. Yarning is good for you and you can learn from others.

Especially coming from WA, it feels like an ant's nest here sometiimes, but there are some beautiful places so close by. I remember being sent to Tamworth soon after moving to Sydney, I had not been there before. Before leaving I asked my boss where the best place to roll out the swag was. The bloke I was going with was peplexed of course but that was an introduction for me to the difference in population and state size, compared to my beloved WA.

Our vehicle certainly gets about (and scratched) and I am wrapped to have it as a tool to get me and my family where I want to be.

Thanks for your post mate. i look forward to reading what others have to say.
AnswerID: 132294

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:07

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 12:07
You have 60 acres of bush in Dwellingup???? You bastard. (in a nice way) :-))

FollowupID: 386579

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:56

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 23:56
The problem is life. It gets in the way.

We moved to Broken Hill 3 years ago intending to 'explore' the area while we lived here. Having passed through the area a number times on various trips we knew it had a lot to offer and couldn't wait to "get out there."

But when we moved here we brought our lives with us. We have to go to work. The kids go to school, music lessons, sport, birthday parties you know how it is.

We have made friends with a family just moved to town earlier this year, 4wd , camper trailer... just like us. They were asking us about the Flinders Ranges, our backyard if you like. So we finally sat down to work out when we can get away and do some exploring. It was late July or early August when we got together to talk about when we could go.

The first suitable weekend is the last one in November. We had to plan 5 months ahead and even then the other guy has to be back early Sunday arvo to catch a flight.

Trust me Davoe I WANT to be out there.......

If only I could get rid my family and friends???????? Then I would have time. That's life.
AnswerID: 132438