Submitted: Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 20:27
Chenj3 @ Brissy
It is approaching to our family annual long trip, this year we ( my mrs., son and daughter and myself) will be flying to Tasmania in early Dec. 2005. We have booked a Patrol from Avis for 12 days also and will explore theis beautiful island in a round trip fashion. Our main activities will be
camping National Parks, snorkelling, fishing and bush walk.
We are wondering if someone can shed some light to us on the following questions:
1. where are the must-visit spots in terms of natural scenes
the spot for snorkeling, fishing
3. the good
camping spots
4. the things to bring with us, the thing to avoid.
Thank you in advance for your help
Reply By: fwdoz - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:01
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:01
Must see is
Cradle Mountain...
Richmond Safari
Park...Jet boating...
Port Arthur...Cascade & Boags Breweries...Cadbury chocolate factory...
Fishing depends on what sort...I am a serious flyfisher, so for me there are endless possibilities...
You will want to go back several times...I suggest going to a few sites for info prior to departing...if you want some links, send me an e-mail at:
fwdoz@yahoo.com
I saved a heap in my favourites..*G*...
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:28
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:28
Can't think of any
water in or around Tassie that I would like to
snorkel in.
(Unless of course you are referring to those attached to 4WD's)
Too cold for me, even in summer. The Great Barrier Reef is the place for that.
Plenty of good fishing all the way down the East coast and of course those beaut lakes and lagoons and rivers I just love to flyfish in.
One of my favorite tourist areas was
Strahan on the West Coast.
The cruise around
MacQuarie Harbour -
Sarah Island -
Gordon River was excellent,
as was the seaplane trip over the Gordon/
Franklin river
junction. To view from the air, the area of wilderness that could have been flooded if the Dam when ahead is mindblowing. Fortunately, that did not happen.
Mount Field National Park closer to
Hobart was also good, but probably better in the winter months.
Hell, just about anywhere in Tassie is good. (for a holiday of course)
Aw, now I wanna go again. Bugger!
Reply By: fwdoz - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:55
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 21:55
You into flyfishing too Sand Man???...
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:17
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:17
Yes Mate. Don't get much practise though in South Aus. I give the fish a good sporting chance:-)
Love the hunt and the challenge though.
Spent 3 days with a good fishing guide at his family's cabin on Little Pine
Lagoon and he patiently took us through the process.
Have also fished the "mecca" of locations, the Tongarero River in New Zealand.
It gets you in doesn't it!
Reply By: Pterosaur - Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:41
Thursday, Nov 24, 2005 at 22:41
G'day,
Iknow a bit about Tas., as I live here & used to work for parks, so here's some answers.
1. In addition to the
places already mentioned - The
Friendly Beaches, Freycinet NP,
2. Fishing - see some
water, it's got fish ! Really depends on what you're after - estuaries etc., will have bream, sea run trout etc., Flatties, salmon off the beaches. All freshwater (except for a very few streams and lakes on the Central Plateau, which you are unlikely to see while driving) have trout, many also have blackfish. Snorkeling is good along the East Coast ( especially excellent around
Bicheno,
Swansea, and
Coles Bay) as generally swell is not too much of a problem - wetsuit highly advisable, otherwise hypothermia is a distinct possibility. The North East coast also has good snorkelling and fishing.
3. Coastal areas have lots of "Crown Land Reserves", many of which permit
free camping - some have a small charge now, and the normal run of caravan parks etc., I would recommend -
Petal point area on the NE coast, St, Helen's Point (E. Coast),
Friendly Beaches (E. coast),
Coles Bay NP.
Arthur River camping area on the West Coast is good, several
reserves and NP's along the NW coast between Smithton and
Devonport, and the NP east of
Devonport is excellent too - has a new name now, which I can't remember, but used to be called Asbestos Range NP.
4. Make sure you have some warm clothing, as the weather can get pretty rugged at any time, especially in the West and South, but most important, plenty of sun protection - the sun down here is far more "vicious" than most mainlanders can appreciate who haven't directly experienced what it's like without an ozone layer overhead ! The sun actually stings you on a clear day !
have a great trip !
Terry