THE 'BIG' ONE

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:37
ThreadID: 28707 Views:3897 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Hi all, first time on , and do i have a million questions for all u camping enthusiasts, i know i am a little early in starting, but i am going from melbourne to the Flinders Ranges, back road to arkaroola, back road to the strzlecki track to camerons corner to innamincka, from the up arraburry road, via haddons corner to birdsvile, the down the birdsville track to marree , up the oodnadatta track to mt. dare, back down the highway to glendambo, kingoonya, to lake everade and undecided to go to wirrulla or to iron knob. Driving a '04 narvara and towing a jayco offroad camper trailer with the wife and 3 kids,(8,10,& 12 ). Have 5 weeks to do it in and was after any info. on the special camp spots and where to go and where not to go. Heading off July 1 2006.
cheers,
Lance
Home Away from Home

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:40

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:40
Welcome Lance, make sure you visit Cullyamurra waterhole at Innamincka, it is an oasis.

AnswerID: 142992

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:34

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:34
Right on Bonz, you can spend a lot of time there. It is a spiritual place for many. Not just the Burke and Wills history either. I love it.
FollowupID: 396495

Follow Up By: Glenn (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:24

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 22:24
Here, Here

Innamincka is a wonderful place, and very spiritual. That is where James is going to spread my ashes one day.

Glenn
FollowupID: 396543

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 23:50

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 23:50
Hey Guys!!!

Sshhhh! about Cullyamurra, OK.

Don't want MY spot taken next time I go.

Lance, to get to Cullyamurra you have to travel about 14 K's east from Innamincka (towards the Dig Tree) along some really really bumpy corrugated road. Velly bouncy bouncy.

But, OK. It's worth it when you get there.

Unless Sand Man is there.
He zooms up & down the Waterhole right on the speed limit of 10 KPH in his tinnie, seeing Callop, or dodging the turtles.
And he still wont tell where to put the Yabbie Pots. That is his secret.

You will have a great trip I'm sure.

FollowupID: 396557

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 16:59
Go to Wirrulla its a town with a secret you know. Also has a great pub. Iron knob pub burnt down years ago and to my knowledge is still not open????? Sounds like a great trip.
AnswerID: 142995

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:50

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 17:50
Great to have you aboard Lance. I am sure you have a lot picked out from your suggested route. I love the Flinders and Arkaroola too. The North Flinders is pretty lovely too, especially Warraweena, but that can be a destination in itself. Make sure you go to the Copley bakery for the quandong pies...
AnswerID: 143000

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:36

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 18:36
Copley Pasties......mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

FollowupID: 396508

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 20:30

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 20:30
......... and Quandong pies!
FollowupID: 396520

Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 19:02

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 19:02
Lance, lots to see in 5 weeks but you will enjoy it. If you have a GPS & Osi ex you can check out my plot file for arkaroola called ECO back track.

Strezlecki track you can camp where the Strez crosses the road.

Birdsville Tk, camping is avaliable were the cooper Ck crosses & there is also a Flushing Dunny & a tap.

Best to take a spare leef spring just in case.

Innimcka, when going to the Dig tree you carn't cross the river any more by veciale. You need to cross into QLD & Burkes bridge which adds 40+ km to the trip, but if your game you can walk across from the sothern side to save time & fuel. I don't think there are any fences.

Lots of fresh water mussels in the cooper but to me they tast yuck!!!!! Grunters are the go.

Hope this helps Rox
AnswerID: 143009

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 19:32

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 19:32
Bore Track from Cameron Corner to Innamincka is worth doing, then Cordillo Downs is very good. On the Birdsville Track don't miss the hot artesian spa at Clayton Wetlands, flushing dunny & shower as well. Oodnadatta Track, Coward Springs is also worth a stop. From my experience Oodnadatta is a $hithole, so fuel up if you must & keep going! If you are going through to Mt Dare, might be worth a side trip to Dalhousie ruins & Dalhousie Springs (kids will love it!). July is a good time, as there won't be many flies!
Don't forget your Desert Pass if you are going to Cullymurra Waterhole etc.
AnswerID: 143012

Reply By: Member - Frank - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 20:30

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 20:30
while at arkaroola bite the bullit and do the telescope trip of the night sky was very good when there see at reception and second waterhole on western ring road was full when I was there expected to see ester williams backstroking around corner if dry well nice cliffs

frank

ps if have not finnished breeding sugest you dont stay too long at hot spring (east)
AnswerID: 143016

Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:39

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:39
thanks Frank, but yes i have stopped breeding, with the 'BIG CHOP' oooohh!!!
Home Away from Home

FollowupID: 396605

Reply By: GREENDOG - Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 21:52

Thursday, Dec 08, 2005 at 21:52
Hi Lance Weclome to the best 4wd site on the net mate,you'll love the Flinder's weather it's the Pound or Arkaroola plenty to see,we did the arraburry track 2 years ago full of gibber stones,i would concider doing Walkers Crossing track to Birdsville,make sure you have a beer at Johno's bottlo at Mungarannie he is a top bloke and have a swim in the hot pool well worth staying the night it's a good spot,I'm sure well hear from you again before you go so ask as many questions you want mate it helps with the trip planning cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 143032

Follow Up By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:46

Friday, Dec 09, 2005 at 14:46
GREENDOG, would love to do walkers crossing, but next time, on a BOYS trip only, thanks for the advice, and a great welcome guys and girls
Home Away from Home

FollowupID: 396606

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:41

Sunday, Dec 11, 2005 at 19:41
thanks guys for all the info. cullyamurra is a must stop visit, arkaroola and dalhousie springs
cheers,
Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 143363