Tassie here we come

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:06
ThreadID: 29895 Views:1982 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
Leaving during next week, all being well. So much to do before we can get away. See you all when we get back. I'll let you know how the 3 ltr handles the trip and what the gauges tell us. Keep on having fun. We'll be on UHF 40 if you see us on the road. Motherhen

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:39

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:39
MotherH, I guess you have decided which way you are going across Victoria. If you are along the Great Ocean Road we aren't far from it , Warrnambool either and Bonz isn't far from us either if you feel like a cuppa and a chat. Email and the mobile number are with the Rig Pic. Willie knows where we are too.
AnswerID: 149728

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:50

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:50
Thought maybe the Great Ocean Road on the way home. Would April be a good time? Motherhen

FollowupID: 403038

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 08:08

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 08:08
MotherH it depends what happens between now and then a bit, but our movements can be adjusted a bit timewise. Sometimes we are a bit like 'do we turn left or right at the gate'. That can have quite a bearing on where we go and when. Make contact as you are passing please.
FollowupID: 403065

Reply By: Jeepster-WA - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:48

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:48
G'Day, how long are you in Tassie for, we leave Perth 7th Feb and land in Devonport 13th.

Jeepster
AnswerID: 149731

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:46

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:46
We want to take a leisurely trip accross - haven't been to Vic before, and didn't get that far into SA last year. Booked on the day ferry 12 Feb, and return booked overnight 1 April. Watch for us. Motherhen

FollowupID: 403035

Reply By: Chaz - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:55

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:55
Hi Motherhen,
Have a great trip and take care on the road, I hear there are some sharp bends down there. At least it should be a bit cooler in Tassie, so how long are you away for?
I'm off to the Gawler Ranges next week to reek havoc on the local feral goat population for the National Park, so it’ll be my first opportunity to see what exhaust gas temps I’m getting under tow.
Looking forward to seeing your results also.

Chaz
AnswerID: 149732

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:49

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:49
Looking forward to the cool - although this summer we've had very few hot days - even lit the fire a few times including between Christmas and New Year (needed for heating the water, but never heard of at this time of the year before). Plan on about 6 weeks in Tassie. Didn't see and goats in the Gawlers last year (and i thought they'd have found me if they were there), so good hunting. Love goats, but they need to be in the right environment. Motherhen

FollowupID: 403037

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:31

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:31
MH,

Safe travels, I hope the car goes good and you don't take that Murphy fella along for the ride.

Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 149741

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:44

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:44
Thanks Trevor - sure hope we can shake him off somewhere in the desert near the Nullabor where he won't bother anyone.

FollowupID: 403034

Reply By: Jeepster-WA - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 00:31

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 00:31
Motherhen, red grand cherokee towing red camper trailer with QLD plates car rego 1ATU226, unfortunately only two weeks in Tassie but should cross paths somewhere, cheers

Jeepster
AnswerID: 149755

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 01:40

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 01:40
UHF 40?

You will be "sharing" the airwaves with a lot of truckers Motherhen.
OK if you want to hear their slant on life, which is usually full of expletives.

Suggest you would be better off on channel 10, or 18, if you want to communicate with other trekkers.

AnswerID: 149762

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:35

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:35
Hi Sand Man - familiar with 40 - if i don't like the language, there's always the volume switch. That's usually only a problem in cities anyway, and we avoid them as often as we can. I met a couple from Cairns in the street yesterday (rather i stood between them and their Baroma and chatted until they escaped me); like us they had a big 40 on the back of their van. He said he'd tried the 18/40 scanning bit, but it was better to keep in touch with what's happening on 40, and if wanting to chat with another caravaner, just to say "go down one". When i said some people don't like it because of the language, the quiet little lady said "i come on and tell them to moderate their language, that there are others out there".

I may have said before, last year there was a traffic stoppage for an unknown reason on the bridge at Pt Augusta - really hot day, traffic stopped for hours and banked up to right out town. Road rage was understandable. If it wasn't for 40, we wouldn't have known what was going on, and the chatter kept us sane - some of it very funny even if a bit crude - forgivable in the circumstances. I even joined in (politely of course).

Regards, Motherhen
still on channel 40

FollowupID: 403180

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 08:11
Hi Motherhen,
You'll have a good time down there, it's an awsome place. I hope you have booked all your accomadation when you need it, I realize you're gonna do a lot of bush camping, but be sure to ring the parks well in advance to your arrival, peak season in feb. We had to book 3 days to a week in advance to even get a look in, especially around the larger cities.
Have fun and don't forget to pack your woolies!

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 149778

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:42

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:42
Hi Pezza - as our travel style is somewhat unplanned and nomadic, i hope we won't have any problems. The tourist info centre in Ceduna told us much the same thing about the Eyre Peninsular last year, and the only caravan park we stayed at had heaps of room, and it was a really good one - the rest of the time we found good secluded spots. I'll see how we go. We will also be looking up contacts with the possibility of leaving the van on private property occasionally and doing some day trips. Have been warned about the climate - again this morning by my daughter who said when she woke up with frost on her doona (August at Corinna) she decided it was time to go the Qld. regards, motherhen

FollowupID: 403181

Reply By: flora - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:13

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:13
make sure you get to salamaca markets hobart on a sunday morning..not sure if its each sunday but give it a go...also an apple place south of hobart....havent been for 13yrs but i remember my sister buying a dried apple all dressed up as a wrinkled granny!ma and pa went not so long bcak and the guy whogave us the tour 13 ysr ago was back to help for a while...had retired!!
if you can stomach the hills mum recommends the elphant pancakes heading towards st helens,east coast......
have a fun holiday!!!!!!!!!!
laura
AnswerID: 149806

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:16

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:16
Thanks laura, some told me about the elephant pass pancakes the day before yesterday, and about huge cheap meals from country pubs. Several people have said not to miss the markets.

FollowupID: 403172

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:49

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:49
What about the Cadbury's chocolate factory? I can tell you that this is not to be missed if you are a chocoholic. And with your own vehicle can really load it up.
FollowupID: 403182

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:55

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:55
Now that sounds like a good idea - a caravan full of chocolate - YUM

FollowupID: 403185

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:58

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:58
Ate a 5Kg box in about a fortnight. Hope the van has facilities.
FollowupID: 403187

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:04

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:04
Let me see - there's the caravan fridge, then the Engel in the car - with that full of chocolate, who needs lunch? mmmmm

FollowupID: 403190

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:09

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:09
Sorry Motherhen I was think facilities as in once the the chocolate has been processed - if you know what I mean. Lots of this stuff tends to expedite the process.
FollowupID: 403193

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:14

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 17:14
Then i'll have to hide them from my husband!

FollowupID: 403196

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (Bris) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 18:06

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 18:06
Also good pancakes at the Salmon Ponds near Plenty.
Best scallop pies at the old Bakery in Ross.
Hotel in Ross is also highly recommended.
Cheesecakes at Christmas Hills are always a winner.
Best cheese Ashgrove Farms near Elizabeth Town.
Great wood-fired pizza's at the restaurant right next to the 'Spirit' terminal in Devenport.
Best burgers are at Stewies Takeaway at the top of town in Stanley.
Great seafood everywhere - can't go wrong at Flippers in Constitution Dock in Hobart - if they are still there - heard they had a fire a couple of weeks ago.
Good steaks at Jailhouse Grill in Launceston.
Love Tassie just for the food.
Have fun.
FollowupID: 403202

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:56

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:56
Mmmmm thanks Andrew - looks like i won't need to cook very often. The lady who told me about the pancakes said she ordered a steak sandwich for lunch at St Mary's, and it was a huge mixed grill THIS HIGH between two bits of bread, with chips.

FollowupID: 403261