advise for Birdsville - innaminka trip in may

Submitted: Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 15:59
ThreadID: 30964 Views:2048 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
hi guys.
i'm doing the birdsville track in may from the southern end can people familiar with the area let me know if my itinerary's achievable.

day 1 - meet at wilpena
day 2 - wilpena - marree (or 'muloorina')
day 3 - marree - mungerannie
day 4 - mungerannie - birdsville
day 5 - sightseeing in birdsville
day 6 - birdsville - innamincka (or dig tree) via cordillo downs
day 7 - innamicka and coongie lakes sightseeing
day 8 - spare day
day 9 - innamincka - cameron corner
day 10 - cameron corner - Broken Hill
day 11 - sightseeing broken hill and silverton
day 12 - spare day
day 13/14 - return to sydney

is this an alright itinerary????

i'm just not sure whetther the travel times are acceptable in this area as this is my first trip out there.
and i'm not sure of the best places to camp along the way.

anybody feel like helping me out.

cheers fella's (and filly's)

simple

Reply By: wato35 - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:06

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:06
I have done the same trip in just under that time with a few more stops.
Don't forget to have a few in the Innaminka pub on Roast Night.
Wato
AnswerID: 156015

Follow Up By: simple - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:15

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:15
what night's roast night???

the plan is to visit every pub on the way
FollowupID: 410006

Follow Up By: wato35 - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:21

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:21
Roast night is Sunday, soup, roast (lamb, beef, pork or chicken they have them all) plus sweets for about $25.
Stay awhile for the enterainment, its varies. The old pig, preforming dog, music, joke telling by anyone willing to get up.
Was one the best nights i have had.
FollowupID: 410033

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:11

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:11
Seems ok to me, don,t delete the spare days as sometimes one gets caught up in things. Contact the Birdsville van park for info on their area and DON'T miss the museum at Birdsville.
Have a good safe trip and ENJOY.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 156018

Reply By: AndrewW - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:48

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:48
My only though is Day 6, we did this last year, and its a fair way, like 450km from memory. Might be worth stopping overnight somewhere in between, the area between Cordillo downs and Innamincka was fantastic, its amazing how big the sky is out there.

I haven't done the Birdsville Track, we went from Wilpena to Oodnadatta and across the Simpson, but everything else looks very do-able.

Enjoy, the area around Innamincka is great. Birdsville and the musuem is also great, along with a short drive out to Big Red for a look see.

AnswerID: 156031

Follow Up By: simple - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:56

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 16:56
yeah that was one query i meant to put in, is that too far, is there places to camp along that road.

FollowupID: 410026

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:50

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:50
Andrew is right.

Our lovely Ruth from the Birdsville Caravan Park always advises travellers to split this leg with an overnight stop, especially if travelling with young children, or the weather looks dodgy.

If you chose to go via Walkers Crossing, this can be achieved in the one day, weather conditions permitting of course.

FollowupID: 410042

Reply By: Longreach - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:02

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:02
Sounds good. You could probably save a day and do Marree-Birdsville in one day and use the saved day somewhere else. Mungerannie is OK for lunch but the Track is easily achievable in a day.
Instead of camping at Marree you might stop at Farina, or I believe Clayton (though I haven't done it, others may care to comment) on the other side of Marree is not a bad spot to stop.
Have a great trip.
AnswerID: 156036

Reply By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:29

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:29
On day 8 it would be worthwhile taking a run out to the Dig Tree. Its approx 60 km to the east of Innamincka. Be a shame to be so close and not to see it.
Jon W
AnswerID: 156042

Follow Up By: Longreach - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:33

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:33
Some guys got very close to it once before and missed it. Great shame.
FollowupID: 410037

Follow Up By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:42

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 17:42
Missed it by THAT much Chief !!!!!
Jon W
FollowupID: 410041

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 21:09

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 21:09
G'day simple, Trip sounds good to me, so much so that you may see me as well, we leave (from Melbourne) 1-05-06. So we'll watch out for you. White Nissan GQ/Outback Jayco Dove
AnswerID: 156117

Follow Up By: simple - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 22:17

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 22:17
i'll keep an eye out for you.
we'll be a white GU Ute and 1 or 2 hilux x-cabs.
say hi if you see us.
FollowupID: 410170

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Feb 21, 2006 at 16:39

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2006 at 16:39
G'Day Andy and Simple,

We leave 8/5. Will be on the Birdsville track around 12/5, doing much the same route you mentioned.

GU Wagon and TD5 Defender with full length racks

Rolande
FollowupID: 410341

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 21:23

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 21:23
Nothing wrong with that as a regional tour Simp - all easily done as you have laid out BUT..........it would need to be seen as a fact finding tour in my view....when you get home, you will probably have a sense of having gained an idea of the places you want to back to !! Its a bit tight for soaking up the places of interest. Not a criticism ..... did the same myself..... have been back to Innamincka 4 times since though ...... BV once since..... intend to pass through both again. We love it up there. IMO, if you thought it unlikely you would be back there, stay as is..... if its highly likely that you will be back, maybe consider leaving BV out and spending a bit more quality time in the otherspots. We have come to the view, that on those gravel roads, heaps of driving and little rec time can really dampen the trip experience.
Re places......
day 1 - meet at wilpena
day 2 - wilpena - marree
Camp at Farina is my pick.
day 3 - marree - mungerannie
Cruise down Hammond Avenue and have a beer with John
Mungerannie is a nice stop.
day 4 - mungerannie - birdsville
Could easily spend 3 relaxing days at BV
day 5 - sightseeing in birdsville
day 6 - birdsville - innamincka (or dig tree) via cordillo downs
A full day if direct travel - best to break it if the dig tree is in.
Can camp at the dig tree or by B&Wills bridge.
day 7 - innamicka and coongie lakes sightseeing
Stay up at Coongie overnight is my pick (no fires anytime but)
World heritage area. Been there twice - will be back - get info - go for a walk.
day 8 - spare day
Rock carvings down East end of Cully waterhole.
Ski beach waterhole.
B&W sites - pub - store - race course - bird watching along the river.
day 9 - innamincka - cameron corner
Easy
day 10 - cameron corner - Broken Hill
Easy
day 11 - sightseeing broken hill and silverton
Heaps to see and do in BH.
day 12 - spare day
day 13/14 - return to sydney.
Just a thought or two.
Have a good 'un.
AnswerID: 156120

Follow Up By: simple - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 22:20

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 22:20
thanks for the advice.
i'll look into it all
FollowupID: 410171

Reply By: Mike - Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 23:23

Monday, Feb 20, 2006 at 23:23
Yes to all of the above. Let me add my 2 pennies worth though. DON"T stay at Maree. Definitely stop and have a look but there are far nicer camp spots than that town. Farina is magic, good sheltered campsites, firewood supplied, clean toilets and donkey shower. Clayton wetlands are also great, with toilets and showers but with a spa thrown in, with hot bore water, worth the stop. Mungerannie is also a 'must stop' and there are plenty of things to stop off and see on the Birdsville track, so your schedule is pretty well spot on. Birdsville to Innamincka, via Cordillo Downs is quite an easy day trip with time to see that part of the world, but the road through Cordillo is quite rocky, take it easy.
In Birdsville, don't miss the museum, the blue poles gallery and coffe shop, the pub, a quick trip out to Big red, and especially don't miss introducing yourselves to the wonderful Ruth and Ian at the caravan park.
At Innamincka you could spend 4-5 days easily.
BTW, after you leave Wilpena, try to fit in a stop at the Prarie hotel at Parachilna, especially if you're looking for a good feed.
Good luck with your trip, I'm very envious.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 156161

Follow Up By: Skipper - Tuesday, Feb 21, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, Feb 21, 2006 at 14:18
Hi simple,
Totally in agreement with Mike, having done it in June 2004 and found it exactly as he said. We used tents to do the trip over 12 days, but track to Birdsville was so good we may have even got away with our caravans which we left at Copley caravan park. Came back from Innaminka via Arkaroola through to Copley.Try to camp at least one night in the Cordillo Downs area, the sunsets are stunning! We are definitely doing the trip again in the near future, hope you have a ball.
Skipper
FollowupID: 410311