our trip report

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:59
ThreadID: 35449 Views:3765 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
for those who may be interested.
day 1.left Bris arrived Dalby,refuelled 52.25ltrs @ $1.35.9,314ks trvelled.Free camped 10km short of Roma.
day 2.Left camp,Roma,refuelled @ Mitchell 52.65ltrs @$1.44.9ltr,353ks travelled. flat tyre just out of Morven,onto Augathella replaced valve at tyre repairer's $17.stopped o'night outside Tambo,loo's, bbq table's fire area & r'bins.
day 3.Arrived at Blackall,refuelled 66ltrs @$1.44.9ltr.395ks travelled.Arrive at Barcaldine,look around town,Historical village(good),Arrived Longreach 2pm,look around the hall of fame,refuelled 35.96ltrs @ $1.49.9ltr 216ks travelled.overnight camp truck stop out of Longreach.
day 4.Left camp,arrived Winton refuelled 26.29ltrs @ $1.45.9ltr 181ks travelled.Also filled up jerry cans 72ltrs @1.45.9ltr.Haed for Lark Quarry Dinosaur park.Good look around very interesting as to what may have happened in there all those year's gone.Left there for the Diamantina,1st Cork then Old Cork.At about 2ks from Old Cord pulled over to look at sign post to estblish if going the right way & as we pulled up the van filled with dust,bloody brocken rear window.So it was back to Winton after doing a rough patch job.It is all interesting driving in this area all around from Winton down to & beyond the Diamantina & Boulia to see the Rise up's & the smallish tree's & all the Bloody Rocks that were once the Ocean floor,some of it quite striking to look at.We had to camp on the side of the this night , still a fair drive back to Winton.
day 5.Left camp for Winton arrive in town 10.30.try to find a glazier ,no luck.Local jack of all trades workshop,glass 2day's to get it here,no good go to hardware lucky they some perspex cut to size it takes them till 4pm to fix it back in the motor home they had other job's to do as well so that was fair enough.Was able to do the washing & drying & a good look around town as well.Back to the servo refuel.58.5ltrs @$1.45.9ltr.345 ks travelled.made camp in truck stop in back street of Winton.
day 6.Left camp for Boulia,again more interesting scenery including seeing 6 Camel's.stopped at Hamilton ruins (Cobb & Co no7) refilled water tank 80ltrs (very pure water form the tank)arrive Boulia refuel 60ltrs & $1.48.9ltr.360ks travelled.Left Boulia for the Diamantina Nat. Park.The road in rocky,bulldust & corrogated.Made camp at Hunter's Gorge on the river.Very basic heaps of flies to say the least & 1 long drop (stunk).
day 7.We explored all around the park,all 3 lakes,Janet's Leap.A couple of men camped caught some y/belly cleaned & filleted them & gave some to me.Cooked the fish (melt in the mouth)fresh fish yummy.
day 8.Left camp,heading back to Boulia. Refuelled at Boulia,59ltrs @ $1.48.9ltr.296ks travelled.Heading for Bedourie.Arrive Bedourie late a/noon servo closed.Camped in council park o/night nice hot shower's & cheap.
day 8.Break camp for servo refuel & tyre repair(valve stem)$25. fuel 35.185ltrs @ $1.67.9ltr 151ks travelled.Headed for Birdsville,arrive Birdsville after more rocky,corro, bulldust roads.Booked in to C/park & down onto the river for camp.What a great spot has Ruth & Ian have there.
day 9.Working Museum is a must,the host & partner very nice people as was the display.Pie shop ok.went out to Big red.Went up little red no problem (east) could not get up the west side after about 10 attempts,about 10mtrs short all the times, pulled up by a young guy in F250 no probs.Went around to Big Red upwas no problem did not go down west side in case we could not get back up as we did not know if we would get the help as we had thought every one had left,they were leaving as we went up so we turned around & came back the same way.
day 10.fuelled up 38ltrs @ $1.54.8ltr 187ks travelled. Left Birdsville for Innaminka.What a road,rocks,corro's.very slow 20/30 ks/phr most of the way.Stopped somewhere between Cordillo downs & Innaminka for the night
day 11.This morning ready to leave another flat tyre (valve stem ) bloody cold sth wind did not help changing the tyre we refulled here also as we were nearly empty324ks travelled,filled from j/cans70ltrs @$1.54.9ltr.Finally we arrive in Innaminka.$13.50 valve stem,19.51ltrs@ $1.62.9ltr 92ks travelled.Left for Thargomindah,turned off for Burkes grave bogged the motor home,got it after taking the zuk off the trailer.Back on the main rd again slow travelling e.g.road cond. Turn off again go to Dig Tree on the Cooper Creek camp o/night $11 night p/car.
day 12. Break camp for Thargomindah,get back on main road more rough conditions,got some tar aftre a while for about 1k. Stop check tyres another flat (valve stem) more rough rd till we get near the gas/oil feilds. Now we are pushing headwinds home.We stopped about 100ks short of Thargomindah o/night, refuelled here as we were near empty 70ltrs @ $1.62.9ltr.348ks travelled.
day 13.Break camp for Thargomindah/Cunnamulla refuelled at Cunnamulla 50.8ltrs @ $1.45.9ltr 256ks travelled.Then onto Bollon were we camped next to the river for the night after having a free hot shower opp.the hotel.
day 14.Break camp heading for St George where we refuel again 55.8ltrs @ $1.37.9ltr 295ks travelled.Now were heading for Goondiwindi here we refuel again 40.96ltrs @135.9ltr 200ks travelled & heading for Warwick which we go through make camp at the Drive reviver near Cunninghams Gap.
day 15. Break camp head for home.We arrive home unscathed,poorer & a lot more wiser of the roads out there.Would we do it again, yes but with a vehichle to handle the conditions better for the time frame we allowed ourselves.

arrive Innaminka $13.50tyre fix.Refuelled

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:27

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:27
I thought you have been a bit quiet lately....

Glad to see you had no probs, especially tyre probs, cause they can be cows to change on a motorhome hahaha.

So does this mean I'll see ya saturday at the next gathering hahaha.

Cheers mate, Trevor.
AnswerID: 181402

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 07:19

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 07:19
All way's quiet you know me. I think the valve probs were due to the extenders on them so is easy to put air in,they obviously don't like worse than cattle grid roads.We may be at the next gathering but in the F truck to the zuk a rest.Bob.
FollowupID: 437756

Reply By: Andrew (Bris) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:30

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 22:30
Sounds like a great trip.
Might have been easier in the F-truck.
Heading out myself in a couple of weeks in the same direction.
AnswerID: 181403

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 09:03

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 09:03
Have a good run out there Andrew, I trust it will be less eventful than your Emu ck trip.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 437761

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 07:36

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 07:36
ZUKSCOOTERX90,
Good report bloke. You say that the valve extenders may have caused the flats. Is this because they get hit with rocks or wave around too much on the rough roads?
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 181417

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 08:28

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 08:28
Thank's Bros, I have dress rims over the original rims & dual wheels on the rear.The way they are fitted means to get the air in the extenders make it easier & fit through a hole the size of a 50cent piece & due to the corro's & the extra weight of the extenders they flop around a lot more than on the black top.I thought before we left about finding a rubber grommet to put in the hole but being a small time frame as to when we left i did not do it.I ended up leaving them off after they were fixed. The 1st one was on the black top however.Bob.
FollowupID: 437759

Reply By: Bros 1 - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 08:57

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 08:57
ZUKSCOOTERX90,
Thanks for the explanation bob. Yeah my thoughts were that an "extender" was something that could be removed after the tyre was inflated.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 181421

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 15:05

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 15:05
We were driving down to Tallebudgerra last night for some midnight fishing (one large flathead and 3 large king fish). I was only saying to Mark I wonder how Bob and Robyn are going?.... well here is my answer!

Good to have you home Bob!

Jo
AnswerID: 181434

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:25

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:25
Thank's Jo, I can only say i wish i was still out there looking around.Oh well i will have to keep dreaming,Bob.I hope you were'nt there when that cyclist was hit.Bob.
FollowupID: 437795

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:52

Sunday, Jul 02, 2006 at 18:52
We actually arrived literally a few minutes after it happened. He was still on the ground (covered) the police were just starting all their forensics. They were there for about 2 hours, then the fire truck came to hose down the road, he left, police finished up then all were gone and road reopened and people driving having had no idea a 41 year old was just killed there not even 3 hours ago. I felt so horrible for his family, going thorugh my head that they have just been told he his dead. And the guy on his pushy (yes he had no lights or anything) but on that bridge you'd be blind not to see him, he was just riding and had no idea that last night was his last.
A few hours later, after traffic and all was normal a green hyundi drove up, stopped, looked at where the accident happened, ws then moving very slowly while still looking then sped off. You tell me that they don't know something! Of course it wasn't until afte they left that I was kicking myself for not getting their number plate.

Cheers Jo
FollowupID: 437799

Reply By: Shawsie (Bris) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:51

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 13:51
Hi Bob, We were at Longreach, Winton, Jundah in December and although VERY isolated on those tracks, had a great time just being out there and all the roads were fantastic. Went to Lark Quarry, but missed the last tour at 2pm (did'nt get there until 3pm ish), but the guy at the house gave us a private tour :o) We'd be back there tomorrow however, next stop Birdsville Races ;o) I'm really surprised the Zuk didn't get up little red!!!! Cheers, Andrew.
AnswerID: 181601

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:24

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 14:24
G'day Andrew,they are pretty isolated tracks,they are a bit rough for the motor home though if you want to go any where quickish.We almost got to Old Cork, but due to back window breaking had to turn back to Winton to get some thing in the hole to stop more dust getting in.Then headed for Boulia & into the Diamantina N.P. from there the detour was worth the scenery & free drinking water. The N.P. was worth it as well.The zuk stopped on saturday just gone ,we don't know what is wrong yet it is at workshop now.She was not going to well out there either but i can't use that as an excuse.Just not enough power in the western side soft sand.Enjoy yourselves out there you won't be too disapointed,Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 437896

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 15:21

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 15:21
G'day ZUKSCOOTERX90,

Sounds like you had a great trip. It was a bit suprising to us as well that the diversion road to Big Red was probably near as difficult to go up. Last year it had a another little rise and a dog leg just before the top that got me on the first attempt. Made it no problems on the second but had to then snatch my buddy over in his Rodeo including trailer.

Glad to see you got back in one piece.

Theo
AnswerID: 181610

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 16:29

Monday, Jul 03, 2006 at 16:29
Thank's Theo, yes we had good a trip,&yes the sand was a bit soft as well,not that it is an xcuse but the zuk was also a tad off colour as well,now she at the doc's & we cant seem to get her to function yet. pulling one vehicle would be a strain not to mention with a trailer as well.Bob.
FollowupID: 437911