Where to go...........................
Submitted: Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 22:38
Member - greg S (QLD)
OK so I'm getting a bit ahead of myelf here, but one has to start sometime. I have finally convinced my better half and daughter(10yo) to start touring. This year is shot to pieces so we are looking at the first lot of school holidays next year (march/april), (with a possibility of a 4-6 wk trip at Christmas time 07)What is a good trek to take at this time of year.
We feel that we are probably not confident or capable enough to do
Cape York, but we try to get to Fraser Is every year or so.
We live in
Maryborough Q, so this will be our start point, we don't want to rush, just poke along and take in the sights and sounds of the Aussie bush.(probably try to stay in one spot for 2 days and do some side trips, then move to next spot, don't want to over stress the girls with too much driving)
We have a Hyundai Terracan CRDI and will be towing a camper trailer.
Any idea's, thought's, books to read etc greatly appreciated.
Cheers Greg S
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:48
Monday, Aug 07, 2006 at 23:48
Hi Greg,
Not capable of going up the cape! Mate, are you kidding? I've seen your capabilities 1st hand and you're more than capable.
The only trick in going to the cape is making sure you have good
suspension and knowing what tyre pressures to run to cope with the corrugations.
As for 4wd ability, you have more than enough to take your family up there in safety.
Driving up to the cape requires common sense more so than 4wd ability, and you're definately not lacking in that department.
I think you know me
well enough to know that I 'say it as I see it' and I'm not just saying all this 'just to be nice'.
Mind you, mar-apr may still be a bit warm up there for the girls, and I'm not sure, but aren't those holidays only a couple of weeks at that time of year ?
If so, why not do a trip to Cania gorge on to Blackdown Tablelands ( near
bluff, just before
Blackwater) drop into the
Gemfields, as we will be there by then, I'll even give you a cup of coffee and a muffin and then show you how to find a few saphires the easy way :-) ( I grew up there ), and return home via
Carnarvon Gorge.
That should take a nice relaxing couple of weeks with lots of bush/forest
camping, interesting
places and not too hot.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:24
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:24
Pezza,
Thanks for the vote of confidence. I never gave a thought to the area's you mention, I was debating on heading south, but I think your idea is a pretty good one as I used to live in
Blackwater and
Clermont years ago and there is some really nice country out that way to explore. My Grandparents love to fossick around Tomahawk Ck. Only been there once but never out to the
gemfields as such.(went out there in kingswood with a lifted rear end and a slippery diff and got through with a box trailer pretty easily ;o)
Greg S
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:35
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:35
Greg,
Sounds like us 20 years ago when we bought our first pajero.
We did shoerter trips like Canarvon gorge, gem fields (I have 2 keen fossickers in the family) etc in the first couple of years until the kids got the routine of packing and unpacking etc., and that the car wasn't going to fall apart on a rough road. Gave me a chance to slowly build up my driving skills too.
Found a good way was to join a 4wd club for weekend trips for experience.
And then from there you can sort out who you are compatable with, or at least look at roads the same way, and ask around for advice on trips.
For Xmas, I would be heading south. Less heat and less rain.
Look at some of the trips here. Also check out some of the local national parks.
Let the fun and adventures begin :o)
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:54
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 07:54
Morning Oldplodder,
Good advice, thanks for that. It has taken a while to convince the 2 girls, so it looks like the smaller trips are the way to go. Confidence in the vehicle is a big thing, and as I know now that the Terracan is not too bad in the capability department.
Greg S
Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 08:34
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 08:34
We hope to be heading out every school hols next year Greg, probably Centrel Qld
Easter Hols and maybe a outback NSW trip with some people from this site June/July hols, so keep that one in mind.
Cheers Bruce.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:10
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:10
G'day Bruce,
I'll have a chat with Ness and see what her thought's are, but sounds like it might be good to go on.Where you guy's are going(NSW) can you have fires....
We'll have to see how the budget pans out for next year.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:39
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 09:39
Hi Greg,
For the early Hol's in March/April (which I think will be too early for
Cape York) maybe a road trip down the coast visiting
places like Byron Bay, Yamba,
South West Rocks and Port Macquarie. The trailer can be offloaded at
camp ground and forays can be made into the forests behind
Coffs Harbour, Port Macquarie and into the hills behind Byron if your heart so desires. This way Ness and
Kiandra will have womanly things to do (shopping hehehe) in between the "Greg" things (forestry 4wding hahaha).
Wherever you end up just enjoy.
Regards, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 14:02
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 14:02
Hi Trevor,
Looks like I have alot more research to do. Waaayyyy back in the old days( when I was just a boy haha) we used to drive to
Sydney from Mt Isa either the inland or coast road and you would only see the sides of the highway, not much fun for a kid. It will be nice to be able to just stop and explore some of these area's. HMMMMM..........Thinking....Thinking....Thinking....So many
places, so little time!!
It seems we have some nice destinations to go to, now time to plan and budget
Might try to meet up with some of the NSW crew??
Thanks for the idea's Trevor
Cheers Greg
Reply By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 16:46
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 16:46
Greg,
This may help your planning. Next year's Qld State Schools
Easter vacation is 6 April to 15 April.
Jon W
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 16:54
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 16:54
Thanks Jon.
Cheers Greg
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:21
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 17:21
G/day Greg S,we are going to Tassie Xmas for 4/5 week's if's ya want to come along. I am not good company though i am told,& Santa will find us there as
well & maybe a little snow to cool us down.Any way what you dacide on enjoy it.
Regards Bob.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:51
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 20:51
Hi Bob,
Are you going this year or next year?? This year is out for us as we are having Xmas with my mummy. Next year, who know's.
Cheers Greg
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:23
Tuesday, Aug 08, 2006 at 21:23
Greg,we are going a few day's prior to xmas this year 06,Have a nice xmas with you're Mum,& lots of cheer's.
Cheer's Bob.
Ps there are some nice
places to visit over the border NSW down through Lismore,Kyogle,
Grafton inland Rd through the hills to Armidale & a few
places off the main Rd to visit with gorges,waterfall's River's & canyon's if you can get hold of a map for that area maybe northern river's will show,It realy is beautifull country down that way.
Dorrigo is another nice area & i beleive across to
Coffs Harbour.We did these
places earlier this year.Is worth the trip.Iwould like to do the
Richmond Ranges in the near future.
Follow Up By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:36
Wednesday, Aug 09, 2006 at 07:36
Hi Bob,
Hope you have fun in Tassie, watch out for the dust and corragations( do they have any hehe).
Thanks for the info about northern NSW, it looks like we might have to do a trip down there at some time.
Cheers Greg