Another great adventure

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:04
ThreadID: 36733 Views:4088 Replies:17 FollowUps:26
We arrived home last night after 53 days on the wallaby. I had envisaged a 70 day trek but fuel supplies dictated the terms of travel and I put some remote treks off for another time.

We drove the Anne Beadell Hwy, a small bit of the GCR, the David Carnegie Road, The Eagly Hwy, visited the Calvert Ranges, drove CSR for a short stretch and made for Newman via the Talawana and the Billinooka Tracks. From there we did Nullagine and Marble Bar and then the Rippon Hills Road, the Punmu Road and finally the Kidson Track. Once on the black stuff we stayed at Cape Keraudren, Cleaverville Beach, Yule River, Karratha CP, 40 Mile Beach and the Ashburton River at 3 Mile Hole near Old Onslow. Next part of the trek took us to Mt Augustus, Meekatharra, Sandstone, Menzies, Kalgoorlie, Norseman and then across the Null to home.

Stats:
11,000km
7 staked tyres(4 Cooper STT's and 3 Eldorado on trailer) and 16 plugs used
Most expensive fuel Mt Augustus $1.90l
Cheapest fuel Woolworths Port Augusta $1.36l
2 broken side mirrors(corrugations)
Buggered fuel tank guard(corrugations)
Buggered flares...again!
Radius Arm nuts kept on coming loose until a fitted a locking nut to each
Burnt out inverter(corrugations)
Burnt out cameras battery charger
bleep tered winscreen courtesy Landcruiser ute doing 120kmh
Snapped bolts on ARB bullbar
Stuffed OME front shocks(and just out of warranty)
Broken RH passenger door latch
52 nights camping, 1 night cabin
Put the tent up 42 times
40 campfires

We all had a great time. Highlights of the trip for me were Calvert Ranges Rock Art, Burrup Peninsula Rock Art, Whale watching at Head of the Bight and ofcourse just being out there in the Big Sky Country.

This time around I will post my thoughts on the various sections of our holiday on anm individual basis. Later a full account will be published on my website.

Now to start the unpacking!!!

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:10

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:10
Welcome back Willem :)

Sounds like a great trip - very keen to read the write-up.

Don't you just luuurve corrugations? ;)
AnswerID: 188753

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:18

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:18
Yeah mate,

Corrugations is one thing we could do without...lol

Always have a great trip and the positives outweight the negatives as usual :-)

FollowupID: 446040

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:18

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:18
A few days from home, you think 'It'll be good to get home for a while'. Within 2 days of getting home, you think 'why did I come home. I'd rather be on the road'. So, like me you are probably already planning the next trip.

Look forward to some of you further reports as I haven't been to the areas you covered on this trip.
AnswerID: 188755

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:23

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:23
Hi Norm

Funny you should say that. I have no yearning to go back on the road again. I see all the lonely Grey Nomads in their buses and 5th Wheelers etc drifting and searching and looking for something and findinf little or no fish...lol. I will now start planning the next few adventures for 12 months. In the mean time I can enjoy my garden and all the stuff I have planned in the shed for the truck and trailer. :-)))

FollowupID: 446041

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:56

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:56
Funny you should mention those grey nomads. Met quite a few, and there are a LOT of single people over 60 on the road. Some of them are sad cases when you think about it. Others are having a ball.
FollowupID: 446055

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:46

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 17:46
I suspect you have been at the 'see Australia game' a bit longer than me Willem, so not as much new to see and do. I've got a lot more to see yet. Apart from seeing the country, I just love being out under the stars with a camp fire, cooking dinner in the camp oven. Swimming in a different creek or waterhole every few days etc.

We'll always have a home to come back to (unlike many 'Grey Nomads), family friends etc at home, but looking to do at least 2 big trips a year (8 to 16 weeks) and a number of shorter ones of a week or two. For the next few years, that will put us 'on the road' for around 5 or 6 months a year, give or take.

I agree with you on many of the Grey Nomads though. Some seem to enjoy the drifting without a plan, but others just claim to. I think the people enjoying their travel most are like us, travelling to a plan (albeit, a flexible one) with goals to achieve and a home to go to.
FollowupID: 446062

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:32

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 12:32
glad to see all are safe
welcome back

AnswerID: 188757

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:24

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:24
G'day Richard

Thanks for shooting the cat and taking the heat offa me....lol

FollowupID: 446042

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:39

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 07:39
no problems willem
FollowupID: 446142

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:09

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:09
Welcome back. Can't wait to read the full report.
AnswerID: 188765

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:26

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:26
Hi Footy

Sorry I missed you out there. I guess we were about a week behind you instead of ahead. Never mind, we will catch up somewhere.

FollowupID: 446043

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:54

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:54
Willem, sorry we missed you guys also. How did your trailer go ?
I passed through Peterborough on the way home and I was frozen to the wheel. Didn't notice you on the "Town attractions" board, you'll have to fix that. Hope you all arrived home healthy and looking forward to next years trip.
FollowupID: 446054

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:13

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:13
Hi Willem
Great to see you home, all safe and in one piece. Sounds like you had a ball.
It was a pity you missed all of those frost while you were away.

Stephen/Clare
Who has been here

AnswerID: 188766

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:28

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:28
Thanks Stephen

The frost took its toll on my garden though. Coming home last night we decided that we had better change from shorts to longs at Port Augusta. It was freezing here at 538metres ASL...lol

FollowupID: 446044

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:51

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:51
Thought you'd been a bit quiet, Willem, so asummed you were busy. Not wrong! Sounds like a good trip, and await the fuller version, in due course.

We returned from a trip to Darwin, and Kakadu, on 26/7. Had 2 weeks away, first ever holiday in winter, and did just over 6000 clicks. Met up with all 3 daughters up there, so was a great week or so.

Good to get home too, and slightly biased, think our scenery is just as good as K. albeit a little less spectacular.

Enjoy the unpacking...

AnswerID: 188771

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:39

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:39
Thanks Bob

Good to hear you had a nice trip up north. We spent 20 years of our life in Darwin and environs and enjoyed it muchly. Hope to catch up with you before too long down along the Diamantina. This deep south is a tad too cold for me...lol

FollowupID: 446046

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:54

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 13:54
Good one cobber........sounds like you had a pretty uneventful trip ;-)))

Glad you're back in one piece....gear can always be fixed/replaced.

AnswerID: 188773

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:42

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:42
Hiya Bill and Annette

Yep, already planning extensions to the trailer and new shocks for the GQ. Going to go Koni this time, methinks. So far it has been a great year for trips but we will have to steady up for a while and nurse the pension back to life....lol

FollowupID: 446047

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:19

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:19
Sounds better than work! looking forward to the trip reports
AnswerID: 188776

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:45

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 14:45
Hey Davoe,

I made a special trip to visit you and no one knows you up there....LOL

Had a very interesting conversation with the aunty at the Nulllagine Roadhouse.

Going to come up that way agian in 08 and spend a few months scouting for the lovely stuff.

FollowupID: 446048

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:43

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:43
yes she would have kept you there for a while. our camp is 30km to the east of Nullagine along the skull springs road at the old Blue spec Minesite. if you keep going there are some great spots (havnt got to all of them yet) such as skull springs, Running waters, and carawine gorge
FollowupID: 446051

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:39
I was informed that the Blue Spec mob don't take too kindly to unannounced visitors. It was a weekend and so gave it a miss.

We spent 4 days at Carawine Gorge. Nice place to relax. Have left some of the other places for my next trip there in 08
FollowupID: 446095

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:35

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 15:35
Gday Willem glad to see you are safe home in one piece. Sounds like you had a great trip. waiting with interest to read the full report on your trip.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 188781

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:41

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:41
Hi Rick

Yep will do the full account as soon as I get myself into gear. Still suffering from Nissan-lag(the slowness of it...lol)

FollowupID: 446096

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:04

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 18:04
Hi Bro, good to know you two got home safe and well. Thanks for trying the phone today, but I was away to a conference with a lot of speakers including that one you and Judith know, having met he and his delightful wife a couple of years back. I seem to be caught up a bit still for a while on an off.

I will look forward to hearing some of your stories in a few weeks, I guess may be at Romsey.

Will ring later,
AnswerID: 188799

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:45

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:45
Bro

I will be down your way before Romsey. Will let you have the date to see if you are home when we have worked our plans out...lol
FollowupID: 446099

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:59

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 19:59
Evening Willem,

As per usual you have enjoyed your time away, did you share your music ??

One thing tho' you did not miss any good weather in this neck of the woods,,,day after day of morning frost, kills everything in the garden.....as you would have noticed by now..lol

But you say you are going to work in the garden, go for it....

Catch up with you later.

--and I finally joined this very worthwhile -I think- forum.

Welcome home

Michael
AnswerID: 188812

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:31

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:31
Hi Michael

I shared my music with all and sundry...lol

Great to see that you have joined up.

Any bites in the Real Estate dept?

Will drop in sometime

FollowupID: 446093

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:01

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:01
Hi Willem,
Great to hear you enjoyed yourselves and made it home safely!

I too am looking forward to reading the trip report.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 188814

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:43
Hi Geoff

Yep we had a great time and this time saw some country we had not been in to before. There were very few travellers where we went and had the tranquility of the bush to ourselves.

FollowupID: 446097

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:13

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:13
Willie,

Another amazing adventure. Half your bloody luck.

I look forward to the day we can do similar. I guess that is what hard work and retirement is all about; getting to enjoy the time you have earnt.

Surely it is about time you wrote a book?

AnswerID: 188818

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:33

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:33
Hi Jim

Have a good one overseas?

Yes have thought about a book but do not know if I can concentrate for that long...LOL

FollowupID: 446094

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 20:47
Willie,

We had a splendid time in Thailand. Great family holiday. The kids got to see some stuff they will never forget, and spent it with their grandparents as well.

Take some time out for that book.

FollowupID: 446101

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:49

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:49
you went to Thailand! I thought you had a good looking tan Jim
FollowupID: 446112

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:34

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:34
Bout time you got back and stopped enjoying yourself Mr.

And only asked about cha the other day
AnswerID: 188833

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 09:07

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 09:07
Hows the new truck going? Better take it out and get a scratch or two, eh?...:-p
FollowupID: 446155

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:04

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:04
Did yesterday :( :P
FollowupID: 446170

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:46

Sunday, Aug 13, 2006 at 21:46
Welcome back, did ya pick up any chicks on the way.
AnswerID: 188836

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 09:03

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 09:03
Saw some Emu chicks and Budgie chicks, mate....but that was about it...lol
FollowupID: 446154

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:43

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 11:43
Welcome back. Looking forward to the reports and thinking I need another job where I can take more extended time off.

Pete
AnswerID: 188904

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:20

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:20
You might have to wait till retirement....lol
FollowupID: 446280

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:50

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 19:50
53 days???? Wow time flies. Welcome back mate. Hope you brought some rain with you.
AnswerID: 189001

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:50

Monday, Aug 14, 2006 at 20:50
Gday Brew

No didn't see any rain except for the night at Georgia Bore when were got soaked!!!

Yep Time flies, Money Flies, Blow flies....lol

FollowupID: 446316