Kangaroo Island Trip with YP 4WD Club. (Instal 1)

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 01:17
ThreadID: 38898 Views:4442 Replies:13 FollowUps:19
Morning all

This is the lead up and travel report from Melbourne to the KI campsite.

Your wouldn’t believe the issues/events that befell my good self to the aforementioned campsite and back to Melbourne again - trip from hell.

Background:

I had a CT built for me in Sydney at the beginning of 06 which was a disaster in more ways than one. (Will be the subject of another post)

Took me months to find someone in Melbourne competent and willing to have a go at fixing up which I did just prior to the KI trip and he only had enough time to to alter fix the very urgent things that needed doing so that I got it back with 4 days to get it in some sort of order (from brand new) before heading off.

Also No 1 daughter due to have first baby and SWMBO in a right royal hormonal tizz.

Events:

Work like a ‘bass-turd’ to wee hours of ea night/morning and manage to obtain, fit and cable/wire up two deep cycle batteries in front tool/battery box, so that they charge from thew vehicle and supply the new fridge.

Install the new fridge slide and find out (at 2.00am)that ‘Mr Constructor’ from Sydney has ‘missed by 5mm on the rear door and the mother f****** fridge lid can’t be opened properly. If I had hair it would be laying on the garage floor.

I had contracted cellulitis ( Streptococcus infection) in the right knee a few days previously and the Dr wants to put me in Hospital. – NO! way José’ as I have forked out $500 in ferry fees up front.

No. 1 daughter who is a specialist nurse at Monash med centre, who has been harassing me about the knee on the phone (how serious it can get) rings up on Wednesday afternoon and get in first with blast about her being Ms Medical ‘stalker’ and to leave me alone – when she informs me that for the past x number of hours she has been in labour and just had a son. (Doh!)

Sooooooo! Everything hits pandemonium gear between SWMBO, No2 daughter and other prick relos to see who can get to the hospital first to see and hold said grandson first.

Seconds, minutes, hours ticking by whilst this goes on.

Finish all I can do at 4.—am Friday morning and go to sleep.

Get up and start packing by 11.00am and finally get away at 4.00pm Melbourne time.

Exactly 10hours later than planned. Supposed to have met up with Roachie in some Nat Park opposite Kangaroo Island about this time.

Obviously not going to happen so I make the first of many phone calls.

Wave good bye to SWMBO ( nothing is going to get her move away from that new baby) and swing out onto the Monash freeway.

Hmmmmm! Feels as if those electric trailer brakes are on – nup! Weren’t before, couldn’t be now.

Get down to Warrigal road and the Freeway is a standstill ‘car park’. Dial up UHF 40 and it is fairly humming – big prang on Westgate Bridge has brought the whole system to a standstill at peak hour on a Friday afternoon/evening. (second phone call to Roachie)

Half hour later manage to get off it and by this time the electric brake situation was starting to heat up metaphorically at this point in time. Chit! Was that smoke coming out of that drivers side wheel. Nup! Couldn’t be as I am only creeping along and when I engage the clutch it is still rolling under its own momentum.

Finally two hours after leaving home I am in the centre of Melbourne where I can stop and check this b l o o d y trailer wheel.

Get out and the smell of burning brakes/metal was wafting everywhere.

End up using the Hi-lift jack in extreme anger and back the brakes off as the drivers side hub in red hot and the other one is warm. (Roachie Phone call)

Head off again and finally get onto the Tullamarine Freeway – No worries now 100Kph from here on. Yeah! Right, the new Essendon Airport interchange currently being constructed has the peak hour outbound traffic down to 20kph and backed up to Moonee Valley race track. (Roachie Phone call)

Will it never end.

I finally get out of the city and to Ballan (just prior to Ballarat) at 8.00pm – yes, 4 hours later. Should only take 1hr at worst. Pull into the big BP MacDonnells servo and check that drivers side CT wheel hub.

Holeeeeeeeee! Chit batman it sizzle by fingertip the same way that a hot iron does.

Other side was warm but OK.

By this time I am thinking I am going to have to pull the hub off and have a look. No problems, Hi-Lift again, wheel off, now for that bearing cap.

Try as I did I couldn’t get that sucker off – all of a sudden long forgotten school science comes back to me – HOT THINGS EXPAND d**head. So 10 x 500ml bottles of water later after much boiling off and steam I can actually put my hand on the hub and the cap comes off.

All looked OK. Oodles of grease etc. Hmmmm I’ll just undo the nut and see what I can see. Where is that 12in shifter – yep! Still sitting on the bench where I put it to make sure I packed it.

However I had a piece of copper ‘bus-bar’ which I used as a drift and backed the nut off one crenulated sector. Also pulled the electric brake fuse.

All back together, clean up, have Macca’s for late tea and get going. (Roachie update phone call and last one)

From there to Tailem Bend no more problems (but many checks of hub which was now running freezing cold). Refuel, cross river on ferry and head off to Cape Jervis Ferry Station. Arr 5.00pm and crawl in the back and go to sleep.(15 & ½ hours of torture)

Meet the YP 4WD club crew , board ferry and travel to Kangaroo Island without incident.

By this time the crook leg has blown up further despite me gobbling the prescribed super antibiotics every 6 hours on the hour. (didn’t look pretty)

The Doctor actually came ‘unglued’ when he found out I was driving to SA and not flying like he thought I was. (Ah! Well chit happens I suppose)

We all meet up on KI and convoy to the camp site when the disasters start again.

I go to open the roof top tent on the CT and discover that the ‘plicks’ who removed it some time ago for something or other had put it on back to front. 2 and ½ hrs later with the help of Mr & Mrs Muddy Doe I turned it 180Deg’s, re-aligned it and re-fixed it to the trailer.

Getting dark must set up that power pack battery with the aux lights. Yep! You guessed it, still sitting home where I put it to make sure I didn’t forget it. Pesty came helped out there with another versa light with a long extended cable on it.

All I can say is, thank the lord I had the Troopy with me as it has had 6 years of ‘shake downs’ and ended up being thew ‘electronics’ centre/platform fore me.

Later on I went to take the TREG hitch off , and found out I needed a 12in shifter and we now know where that was. Hendy from Kadina came up trumps with the required item.

All helpers were Toyota owner drivers which saved me from being at the mercy of athe Nissan brigade.

Had a great week ( separate post)

On the way home stopped at Nhill to refuel and get a drink out of the Troopy’s fridge.

Nearly to Horsham and think I’ll have tea soon and as it was getting dark I flicked on the lights.

Hell! What’s that thing stuck out to the passenger side of the vehicle – took awhile but finally identified as the small swing out jerry can holder on the Kaymar rear bar.

Nearly to Pimpinio , so I continue and stop there and get out to see what awaits me.

The rear Anderson plug for the trailer power terminates on that swing out holder and yes it had disconnected from the trailer with the result being that the trailer Anderson plug terminal looked like it had been held on a grinder until only a fraction of the power cable pin was left and everything else had disappeared.

Taped it up and headed for home and arrived without any further ado.

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 06:48

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 06:48
Great read, Mr Lucy,
You must have really needed the break by the time you got there!

AnswerID: 201377

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:36

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:36
Oooooooooooooooh yeah!

Had a great week which will be in Instalment 2. (Roachie features heavily in this)
FollowupID: 460682

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:07

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:07
goodday lucy
even yota drivers dont need all that chit
as long as the trip turned out ok and congrats on the new grandy
ps it sounds like our 1st big trip away
AnswerID: 201378

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:39

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:39
Yes mate, I am with you on that remark - Tojo drivers definitely don't need that chit, might deserve it, but don't need it.

ROFLMAO - now in retrospect.

Grandson is fine and guess what - yep! SWMBO has a vist organised for today.

So I will enjoy whether I want to or not. (LOL)
FollowupID: 460683

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:17

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:17
Hi Ken,
Cant wait to read the second instalment.Have you finished the honey icecream yet?
Regards Annette
AnswerID: 201379

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:25

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:25
Snap. Cya about 10.30am ish mate.
FollowupID: 460655

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:30

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:30
Hahahahahaha, what a great start to a good week away,
Like Roachie I cant wait for the next instalment, as you were camped next to him, some stories didnt filter down our end, and he doesnt tell to many, only the good ones.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 461046

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:23

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 07:23
Wow,looking forward to no 2 lol. My KI trip was boring compared to that.

I bet u miss that honey ice cream.
AnswerID: 201380

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:17

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:17
Hey there Robbo, I am glad I don't get involved with your trip planning. Mind you I have been with two kayaking trips where the tent poles have been left behind. Not mine either. Tent pegs though, where scrrew drivers are first recovery.
AnswerID: 201386

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:23

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:23
Geez Lucy

You seem to be a moving Disaster Area.

See, thats what happens when U R a T......(can't seem to say the word) driver....LOL

I am pleased that Roachie and Annette looked after you.

AnswerID: 201387

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:47

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:47
Hey Willem,

I'm really looking forward to the next instalment, so I can see if he will be honest about what actually happened ON Kangaroo Island.

He was unable to go along with the rest of us on most of the little drives/excursions we had, cos he was too busy fixing broken things on that bloody toyjoker that he owns. hahahahahahaha He had to stay back at camp to lick his wounds.....hahahaha
FollowupID: 460666

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:46

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:46
Its called experience Willie and I am getting heaps of it at the wrong end.

Always do when I get a new toy. B l o o d y things become a fast learning curve.

Annette was my saviour with her unflapable good humour (it only disappeared once) her cooking and social skills etc etc etc AND her Anzac Bickies.

I must also say at this point that Mrs Muddy Doe was on a par as a saviour also and that will be elucidated on further in Instal 2.

Roachie!

You Know! whats coming in installment 2, so don't leave town.

Ooooh! ROFLMAO thinking about. The truth, whole truth and nothing but the truth ( with a leetle stretching to fit the 'nissan mafia')
FollowupID: 460684

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:38

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:38
Lucky you had all those mates around to give you a hand. Hope all your trips aren't as stressful.
AnswerID: 201390

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:48

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 08:48
That's the problem Footy.......all his trips ARE that stressful!!!!!!!!!!!! hahahahaha
FollowupID: 460667

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:54

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:54
Roachie and his antics were a constant source of amusement and a very useful de-stressing 'tool'.

Your dead right about having people around to give me a hand, especially ones that had some idea on how to assist.

I am just so glad SWMBO wasn't there as she would most probably be Shark Chit by know after I dispossed of the body. (LOL)

Tries to 'assist' in times of disaster but ends up driving me mad with incessant natter and offers of verbal advice. Was not blessed at birth with one mechanical or navigational gene. Better stop now while I am ahead.

By the time I 'tune' the CT by completeing the A4 notepad of things that need 'tuning', her first time out in it will be all good I hope.

Ah! it's a great life if you don't weaken.
FollowupID: 460685

Reply By: navaraman - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:50
Try as we might we can't keep these Mexicans out of SA.

Patrolman Pat
AnswerID: 201394

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:56

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:56
I have a residential Visa now, so can come and go as I please.
FollowupID: 460686

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:02

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:02
No wonder u drive a Toyota, with everything else that heppens to you Loose you couldnt cope with the prestige of a Patrol. And it looks kind of normal to see a Toyota pulled up on the side of the road with someone under the bonnet, under the back, or fixing something and muttering....."Wish I had a Damn Nissan"!

hahahahaha

AnswerID: 201396

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:07

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:07
Well that confirms what I have suspected for a loooooooooooong time, and that is:-

you and that P***ant Roachie emerged from under the same 'Nissan Rock' together.

The home of the 'missan nissan' Bedrock Twins. (ROFLMAO)
FollowupID: 460692

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:09

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:09
Hahahaha Brother Roach is indeed a fine citizen, dedicated to ridding the road of all nonsensical overpriced underperforming thinga majigs

FollowupID: 460694

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:11

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:11
You just won the Forum understatement of the year award for that one.
FollowupID: 460696

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:12

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:12
Wow~! And I was just gunning for an Honourable Mention and a stick

FollowupID: 460697

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:48

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 11:48
Well Ken,

It's good to see you still have your humour. Bugger when chit happens hey.
I don't know how you guys can put up with the Melbourne Metro area. I have experienced "delays" on the Tullamarine Freeway on more than one occasion.

Freeway!!! hehehe.

Oh and by the way. Congratulations on the arrival of your new Grandson.
Gunna inundate him with Toyota yarns:-)

AnswerID: 201410

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:19

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:19
Sand man

Yota yarns will be his recommended bedtime reading material.

Especially how they come to the rescue of the Nissans time and time again.

ROFLMAO

We have only just come home from a grandson 'tour of duty' by SWMBO. Freezing cold, hailing, raining and blowing a gale in Melb today, but we 'had to' go watch No 1 grandson at a club dirt bike riding day didn't we. He was having a ball while we froze our 'bitz' off watching.

As his mother said - thats what grand parents are for.
FollowupID: 460737

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:44

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 12:44
ROFLMAO

Congatulations on the birth of your grandson.

Can't type anymore, have to dry the keyboard out hahahahahahahahaha
AnswerID: 201419

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:23

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:23
Yeah its funny now that I look back on it, however I would love to have seen the look on my face when I realised that roof top tent was on back to front.

Just one of those days - I seem to get a few of them as slide through life.

Just tell myself, that's what makes it interesting.

Only saving grace was that I didn't have resort to Nissan assistance as that would have just topped everything off. Most probably have caused a grown man to cry. (LOL)
FollowupID: 460740

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:38

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:38
Yep, it's never quite as funny at the time. Now that you've gotten those kinks out it should be plain sailing. Looking forward to hearing about the Neeesan Mafia's comeuppance :))))))))
FollowupID: 460864

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:31

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:31
I'm with Gramps on this one .............. ROFL and congrates on the new addition to your clan :).

I best part of all this is it did not happen to MEEEEEEEEEEEEE, for a change.

FollowupID: 460888

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:36

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:36
Brian,

The good bit about Lucy's little adventure is it teaches us all a few lessons on what and what not to do before a trip.

Thankyou Lucy (and get that bloody knee fixed).
FollowupID: 460898

Reply By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:58

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:58
G'day Ken,
Bluddy good read. Hope the Dicky Knee is on the mend.
Just one Question. how in efn hell did you get the job you have. Only solution I can come up with is by natural (or othwise) attrition. :))))))))))))))
ROFLMFAO
Can't wait for installment no2 and see where that Broach bloke gets his come-uppance.
AnswerID: 201454

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:47

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:47
I know how you feel with the overheated trailer wheel. Happened to me on the way from Perth to Denmark. Lukily, I stopped after 25 mins to check everything and I burnt my fingers on the hub while I was checking it. Bloody brakes had stuck.

Lukily, like you, SWMBO wasn't with me so I pulled it appart and sorted it out in my own time without all the agro. HAHAHA
AnswerID: 201517

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:42

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 22:42
Yep! the good old SWMBO's just luve to have 'thoughts' on the matter/disaster at hand.

Makes them feel like they are 'contributing'.

Anyway I have identified the problem/s, fixed it all up and everything is pretty good.

The problem was a trap for all 'young players' in the electric brake game and I will post a thread re same later.

Man! was that hub hot.
FollowupID: 461074