Survey for Qlders on daylight saving or evening saving
Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:10
Member - Oldplodder (QLD)
OK, the daylight saving issue has hit the deck again as it does every year.
I have however heard this year from a few friends that they would prefer to have the 'extra hour' (yes, I know no magic hour magically appears with DST) in the morning when it is cooler.
Others have suggested they would prefer to have a longer evening after the sun has gone down. That cool part of the evening after dusk, and that time when if we are lucky a storm, comes through and drops the temperature and humidity before going to bed.
So the question is, instead of putting the clock forward an hour like some do for DST (darn silly time), why not put it back an hour? Have more time in the morning before going to work, or enjoy a longer evening?
I know, there is the argument of business communication. I run a business, and have clients in
Sydney. Most of or communications is by email anyway. And if it is such an issue, how do
Sydney and
Melbourne businesses cope with dealing with
Perth, or overseas?
If that argument holds credence, the world should be on UMT, or GMT?
Reply By: RosscoH - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:22
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:22
If daylight saving comes in in Southeast Queensland I for one won't be taking part in it, as it is I start work at 4.30 every morning and I am Dammed if I am getting up any earlier, If enough of us that don't want it do this it won't work and the authorities can shove it wear it doesn't best fit, For those that want it, learn to adjust the alarm an hour earlier and go to work when you want, don't push this crap on others. COME ON EVERY ONE THAT DOESN'T WANT IT LETS STAND TOGETHER AGAINST IT.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:29
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:29
Agree with you, don't like and hour earlier either.
But how about an hour later?
Reply By: Alan H - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:24
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:24
Doing it here in WA again Old Plodder. It's been voted against 2 or 3 times over the last 20 years but the government needs a diversion to take the heat off some of it's ministers.
Don't much care one way or the other personally but it appears we're going to get a 3 year trial just to get us used to it before a referendum.
They're a slippery devious lot, but then pollies always are.
Alan H.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:31
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:31
Good point, I feel Beatty is enjoying not being shot as much for health, education or
water.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:44
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:44
Hells bells, the cane toads are revolting again LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:54
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:54
If I can work it out from what I have read, NSW revolted in the 1960s with DST.
EST was agreed upon by all of the eastern states in 1867 or there abouts.
Previously local sun time was used. Midday was when the sun was at it's zenith, which for
Brisbane is about 12 minutes different to EST. Mebourne I think was about 20 minutes the other way. So EST was established so all the eastern states were on the same time. Better for communications by telegraph, train timetables etc. So why did NSW and Vic break the agreement?
So if it is OK for NSW to go one way and break the agreement, why can't Qld go another? :-))))))).
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:10
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:10
Hahahaha Oldplodder. To each his own. I like DST and don't have a problem if Qld wants to stay in the dark. If it suits the people of Qld to remain DST-free, fine. Business etc has dealt with it in the past and will deal with it into the future.
I just can't help laughing about the emotion this discussion stirs up. Almost as many laughs as the threads about global warming. My ribs are still hurting LOLOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:22
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:22
Stop it Gramps!!!!!!!!........................LOL
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:54
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:54
I agree it's funnier than a jumping bean in a nuns nasty ..lol
Geez, I hope it doesn't come in before the first test starts, with the extra sunlight Warney might have more hair loss
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 00:32
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 00:32
Willem,
You've done it again hahahahahahahahahahahahaha It's a wonder you're not asked along on all the fishing trips :))))
Ray,
"funnier than a jumping bean in a nuns nasty" - I nearly fell off my chair laughing at that one.
Follow Up By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:26
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 11:26
Qld don't like it as extra hr sunlight causes paint to peel off weatherboards
PK
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:34
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:34
And what about the curtains fading! ROFLMAO.
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:42
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 20:42
Gramps,
Put your wooden spoon away and go to bed ya stirring ol' bugger :-)))
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:58
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:58
I dont understand how people who live in non DST areas can knock DST it if they havent tried it.
I have lived in NSW AND QLD so I have experienced it from both sides, and I dont have a problem with DST in NSW.
I am sure that someone will jump on here and say " I have tried it when I lived in xxxxx" but the truth is that the majority of non DST residents have not.
Maybe there is some merit in the idea of having the extra hour in the morning instead of the evening, dont know, but I for one would be willing to try it. At least then I could make have an opinion based on experience.
One thing I do know is that no matter what is tried, not everyone will be satisfied with it.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:16
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:16
Qld did try it, for a year.
The majority vote was NO at the referendum.
Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:27
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:27
Oldplodder,
You are correct, but that was a long time ago and my guess is that with a whole new generation or two being born since then, it might just be time to put it to the people again.
I don't have a problem either way with what is decided. I live in NSW, we have DST and I just go along with it because that is what the majority of NSWers want.
Long live democracy I say.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:43
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:43
Cruiser,
It's OK. The Qlders have'nt cottoned on to why so many 'mexicans' have moved to Qld. We'll soon outnumber them in their own state and DST will be a fait accomplii hahahahaha
Reply By: Alan H (Narangba QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:00
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:00
Daylight saving is obviously more of an advantage in southern latitudes as they naturally have more twilight than at the Equator. But does society actually adapt lifestyle to take advantage of it. Because the daylight starts so early in
Hobart does everyone in
Hobart actually go to bed an hour earlier or do they go to bed by a set light of day and therfore just end up with an hours less sleep.
Personally I don't believe there is much advantage for us in QLD but I fail to see any disadvantage. It seems to me that Qld could do daylight saving to be in synch with other states and adjust our day accordingly. eg start school at 10 instead of 9 so that the same solar period is used.
The other Premier Beattie must have had abrain lapse and declared that daylight saving would cause more skin cancer. Maybe he believes daylight saving actual does cause an extra hour of sunshine.
Farmers etc work more by solar time of day than the time of day on a clock. Surely we are intelligent enough to handle the change and still adapt activity to account for peak radiation times 10 - 2 just becomes 11 - 3
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:19
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:19
Like your comment.
If it is such an issue for particular people/businesses, starting and finishing times vary enough now people could move an hour and not many would be put out.
But why make it official and push it on those who do not find it suitable.
Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:58
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:58
Leave the clocks alone IMO, in
Perth what it gets dark at 6:45-7:30Pm and is light by 5am during the summer, how much bloody daylight do you want, Like somebody else, I leave for work at 5:00am buggered if I want to leave at 4:00am.
“But you wont no the difference” people say, Crap I will no the difference cause at 4am it’s still fU**king dark outside and at 5am it’s not
If people want more light in the afternoon tell the Boss your coming in at 8:00am instead of 9:00am, chit buy the time half my mates start work I have already been at work for 2-3hrs.
“It’s time WA caught up with the rest of
Australia” BULLS**T it’s time the rest of
Australia realised they aren’t living in Europe. The Sunday times hear in
Perth showed a photo of one of the beachers at 5:30 than at 6:30 with the caption “
Spot the difference” or something to that affect.
You know what the difference was the people who were siting on the beach at 5:30 were at 6:30 swimming in the water.
I am not rely that against it, it’s just doesn’t serve a useful purpose in
Australia IMO
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:02
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:02
Good on ya Exploder. I couldn't agree more. What's more, WA is in the same time zone as it's major trading partners in Asia - so why would business want to change to be more in line with the ES? Some vested interests somewhere pushing this old furphy.
Today i typed up a resume and job application for a Queenslander. We were discussing how Queenslanders and Western Australian's are alike. Independent, friendly, thought of as not part of
Australia by those in
Victoria & NSW, and don't want daylight saving.
Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:29
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:29
SHOVE IT ,, sorry to those that think they want it ,, there has been a few trials here in Qld ,, hated them ,, the thing is , up here in the north we don't get much difference in temps from day to night ,, just when it is starting to
cool just a bit and you start to get a little sleep ,, off goes the alarm ,, then you have the kiddies ,, they are now getting out of school at 2 pm (true time) , this sees them walking home in the hotter part of the day , and gives them an extra hour to play in the sun (in time more melanoma) ..
Untill the day someone works out a wad to get it into a tin and saving it for a rainy day ,, i for one don't want to see it here ,, GO QLD ,, defy the sheep !!
Neil & Margie ,, and even the kids are with me on this one !!
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:34
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:34
Thats why I was asking about evening saving.
Instead of putting the clocks forward 1 hour, how about back one hour?
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:59
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 20:59
I have little doubt that if there was a referundum, SE Qld would vote for DST and country / Nth Qld would vote against. I understand the reasons, having been raised in Nth Qld, but now living in SE Qld (via NSW, Vic and two overseas countries). In fact, of the 3 Aussie states and 2 overseas countries I've lived in, Qld is the only one without DST.
I see no problem with having 2 time zones in Qld, so the majority in each area get their way. WA has 2 time zones. NSW has 2 time zones. I reckon Qld could handle it. Just a matter of settling where the division would be.
I'm for DST. To get on the water
fishing for daylight on EST in the summer, I have to be out of bed befor 4.00 AM. Now that's not fair is it?
Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:47
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 21:47
I reckon that the furore is a media beat up. Just think how much easier (and cheaper) their programming would be if all the eastern states were on the same time. They just throw the grenade each year and watch. Qld spruikers say the lack of DST is damaging to tourism and confuses the tourists - how many time zones did the tourists cross to get here and do they really care what time is when they are on holidays. IMHO DST is a bugger if you have
young kids, not so bad when they grow up, but I don't like lying in bed waiting for things to
cool down at night, In SA with DST it got dark at 10PM - stoopid!!!
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:35
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:35
Blockout curtains do a great job Mike, they make my kids room like twilight at anytime of the day and the shutters make the rooms like midnight, it's really very easy to adapt but you guys need to decide what's best for you up without being concerned about the south.
Reply By: datto311 - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:08
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:08
I don't care one way or the other. Like you, on a daily basis I deal with NT & SA & the other eastern states. The time difference only seems to bother those people "down south"
It would be interesting to have another debate.
Times have changed over the late decade
We didn't have the internet, mobile phones etc at the last referendum
My question is. Q'ld logically should have 2 time zones, but where do we draw the line. And wherever it is people will feel alienated.
It's all too hard after a long day - I'll go an have another
beer
Noel
Reply By: pmacks - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:12
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:12
Dont know what you are worrying about
Queensland is more than an hour behind everyone else.
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:27
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:27
I'm for Daylight saving.
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:44
Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 23:44
I lived in Townsville from 87 to 95.
What a backwater. The most negative, regressive place on earth.
Change was a dirty word. The locals couldn't cope with a new TV station, let alone daylight saving.
The lunatics still revere Jo Bjelke Petersen, the most corrupt politician in the history of
Australia. What hope is there for them????
Anyone remember the rule? When you go to QLD you have to wind your watch back 1 hour........ and 30 years.
Apologies to the civilised South East Corner.
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:23
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:23
I'm going against the flow. We have worked in NSW and lived in Qld for a long time. I can see the border from here.
My household has two clock settings, QLD and NSW. Appointments and phonecalls cause havoc. And I'm not Robinson Crusoe.
You are either an hour early or late.
You get up at 5 NSW to be up at 6 QLD.
I don't care if QLD has daylight saving. Just make the time the same !
Otherwise I'm going to form my own bloody state, the state of the South East time zone !!
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:41
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:41
Does that mean you'll only advance the clock 30 mins LOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:28
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:28
and back 30 years?
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:53
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:53
As we're already about 100 years ahead, I think we could afford it :))))))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:02
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:02
We're even ahead with the cup of coffee scene. $50 a cup ! :)
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:33
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:33
Footie youre on te QLD time scale, yes you're 100yrs ahead, but in QLD years, so its really 1854 there
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:43
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:43
Bonz. Oh good. 1854. I'm just going out to peg some rather lucrative gold claims I know about, since the gold rushes are about to start ! Oh, you can have those bloody
Sydney convicts back also :))
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:18
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:18
Oh Footie you misconstrue my words, its currently 1816 here Yannow quarter past six in metric time
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:24
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 18:24
Oh thats right, you guys have mentric time down there. And a river full of Bracken water.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:33
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:33
Its Bracks-ish, only flows at or near election time
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:39
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:39
A lot of stuff flows at election time ... in all states. I know nothing about your locals but I rekkon as someone once said, two different cafe's, same menu. I met one of our local media oops I meant parliament stars once. Not impressed... either of us :)))
Reply By: Member - Tim - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:58
Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:58
When you hear that a lot of businesses don't like the time difference you may find it is a lot to do with those who travel for business. I used to a lot but don't much anymore. In daylight saving if I was to go to
Sydney for a day trip, which was quite common, I would have to get up at about 3.30am to be able to get on the first plane at around 5am our time. That was the only way to get down there in time. The alternative is to pay for a night's
accommodation on top of the cost of the travel. On the way back you would still be getting on a flight that might be around 6pm their time. makes for a very long day. Also when you need to ring and talk to someone down south you lose the hour at the end of the day since they have already gone, and they lose the hour at the beginning since you are not there yet. And yes I am used to dealing with different time zones since we did a lot of business in WA and I used to travel over there as well. When you travel that far you just have to accept the time differences, you don't expect to have to allow for it when the plane trip is only one hour. You could just about get home before you left.
I'm still not certain that we have the right climate for it as others have said but I do know that it is more than just a small inconvenience. I think it is particularly difficult for people nearer the border where they have to constantly deal with crossing the time zones and the people who would be business customers do too.
So do I support it or not? Frankly I am not sure, perhaps OldPlodders idea of going the other way would be good since it would create enough of a difference that people would just have to travel the night before.
At least something to shut up the Politicians would be good :).
Tim.
Reply By: Ozrover - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 00:34
Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 00:34
No Way, don't let them push Daylight Saving onto you QLDers or Westralians.
I missed my favourite TV programme the other day because I forgot to reset the clock on the VCR!! : )>