How would you feel????

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:41
ThreadID: 41065 Views:4106 Replies:18 FollowUps:48
Alice Springs Tuesday paper reads...
A Search plane and Emergency Services were alerted after a group of German tourists bogged their hire car in the bush on Sunday night."
The group set off an EPIRB near Boggy Hole and then a flare.
When the emergency services volunteer located them he locked their hubs in and drove the car.
YOU PEANUTS!!!!!

Reply By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:49
PEANUTS DIE IN OUTBACK.... Back in Germany...... Ve don't go der anymore!

Alice Springs..... German tourists not arriving any more. Let income....

Probably worth the expense. Also nice for them not to die.

Lot's of townies would have done the same.

Mind you, you can get bogged even worse with wheels in lock. They did the right thing. Sorta.
AnswerID: 214413

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:53

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:53
I don't have a specific problem with that Hairy.
At least they had the "commonsense" to have an epirb and flair with them.

BUT, I would also have presented them with a hefty invoice for their rescue because of their stupidity.

At least they are not as bad as that Englishman (Bullimore?) who keeps wiping out his yacht half way to the south pole and costing us thousands for his rescue.

Bloody Wanker he is.

AnswerID: 214414

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:58

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:58
Ahh..just how many times has Tony Bullimore experienced an incident in the Southern Ocean, and required rescue by the RAN.???? Only once that I know of..
FollowupID: 474647

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:21

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:21
Na neither do I, Its a shiit load easier going out and picking up live tourists than dead ones!
Just found it funny.
FollowupID: 474655

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:28

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:28
Signman,

Yea OK, you are right of course.
BUT, he is planning, maybe already started, another solo circumnavigation of the Oceans and he coming our way again.

FollowupID: 474658

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:54

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:54
Sand Man,
I gather you've never been snatched off a dune- or winched out of a boghole!!

Just a comment on the Bullimore rescue..the Navy reckons it was the most cost-effective, real time, real purpose exersise that they've been involved in.

Signman
FollowupID: 474661

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:03
Signman,

I'm not sure where you got this from:

"Just a comment on the Bullimore rescue..the Navy reckons it was the most cost-effective, real time, real purpose exersise that they've been involved in. "

That was not the opinion of Raydon Gates, the Adelaide's captian, who was asked by the media on their return to Perth about the training value and stated that it was training they did not need!

We used to train a lot for SAR and the Bullimore rescue was business as usual.

Pete

FollowupID: 474673

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:04

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:04
Not sure I get your drift Signman???

I have been fortunate not to have required outside assistance so far, but have assisted others out of difficulty, usually by snatching. No big deal.

FollowupID: 474674

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:30

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:30
I sometimes wonder about these rescue "costs": what would the ship/aircraft and crews have been doing otherwise and whatever it was would it have cost less money. Or did we just go out and buy that ship especially for his rescue.

In reality all these "costs" are just accounting bull$hit (good use of the $ sign there :) contrived to fit someone's political agenda.

Now! _Real_ costs are more like those of the people fighting the bush fires who have taken time off work etc - do you think we'll see government figures costing that and reminding us how lucky we are to have such people or, perhaps, the government using those numbers to compensate people?

FollowupID: 474684

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:37

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:37
Mike wrote:

"I sometimes wonder about these rescue "costs": what would the ship/aircraft and crews have been doing otherwise "

The crews were home on Christmas leave with their families and the ship and aircraft were at their bases. But the military _will_ drop what ever else they are doing including the limited time they get with their families to go and rescue some clown like Bullimore (and they don't get paid extra for risking their own lives in doing it). It is what they do and one of the reasons why they wear the uniform. Sure it does not cost them money but there is a cost to their family life that comes out in the very high divorce rates among navy personnel.

I took my patrol boat to sea at 4 hours notice on Christmas eve in '95 to rescue a bunch of boat people. My 5 year old daughter build a Lego "dad" so that 'I' could be with her on Christmas day. That still hurts a little when I think about that.

Pete
FollowupID: 474714

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:10

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:10
So it would have been OK had it been in March?
FollowupID: 474727

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:06

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:06
Pajman Pete,
"I took my patrol boat to sea at 4 hours notice on Christmas eve in '95 to rescue a bunch of boat people. My 5 year old daughter build a Lego "dad" so that 'I' could be with her on Christmas day. That still hurts a little when I think about that."

It wont help you mate but I bet your daughter will be as proud as hell when she gets older.
Wether you should have gone or not.
Good on ya

FollowupID: 474738

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:00

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:00
Mike,

"So it would have been OK had it been in March?"

You asked "what would the ship/aircraft and crews have been doing otherwise", I told you.

Sure in March, they would have just diverted from some other task, would have probably been steaming anyway and the additional costs above normal operating would have been minimal. When they said the Bullimore rescue cost $6 Million some bean counter just sat down and worked out what the direct costs were. They probably they did not deduct the normal operating costs, but at that time of the year they were minimal anyway.

As with anyone who responds at short notice to rescue or save someone, it disrupts other activities. But as I said above, if you wear a uniform (military, police, fire, CFS, ambo etc) that is one of the things you accept as part of serving others. Including putting your life at risk because some clown gambling with fate threw 2 ones on the dice.

Hairy,

There was no question in anyones mind at the time - we were the duty boat, we should have gone and no one bitched about it. The only ones who were a little miffed were the customs guys who had to take their boat out at the same time. Our chef had pre-planned "just in case" so our Christmas lunch was the traditional roast turkey, plum pud and all the trimmings (no alcohol though). When we asked the customs guys what they were having for lunch they told us they had been given cling wrapped sandwiches (then 18 hours old!). Went alongside and slipped them something a little better. We found the boat and escorted them back to Darwin which wss a nice result.

Pete
FollowupID: 474898

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 13:55
Oh no..more "Fritz in a Britz" ....
AnswerID: 214415

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:03

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:03
call me simple, but that cracked me up!
FollowupID: 474672

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:34

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:34
John R, may i join your simple club? Cracked me up too LOL
FollowupID: 474733

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:22

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:22
Doesn't take much to keep me amused either... I loved it!
FollowupID: 474852

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:06

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:06
LOL - wish I'd thought of it.
FollowupID: 474941

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 18:12

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 18:12
just read it again- just as funny!!!
FollowupID: 475009

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:00
More like the hire companies oversight oin not correctly gong thru the safe and correct operation of the hire vehicle

AnswerID: 214418

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:07

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:07
Hire companies never explain how to use 4WD to tourists. Backpackers on Fraser are commonly told NOT to use 4WD AT ALL. Have even come across a hire landrover with no front drive shaft, bogged of course ;-(
FollowupID: 474651

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:10

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:10
hire companies also tell them not to deflate thier tyres also as we were told by a hire troopy driver that we pulled out.

Leroy
FollowupID: 474653

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 03:04

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 03:04
Leroy,
Can you imagine if they told them TO!
FollowupID: 474840

Reply By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:18

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 14:18
True...But you would think if you were hireing a vehicle that is different than yours because it is meant for a specific purpose you'd find out how to operate it.
I dont think its fair to blame the hire companies....otherwise they will bring in 2 day compulsory 4wd courses that no one can afford before you go.
AnswerID: 214424

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 15:38

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 15:38
I second that
FollowupID: 474669

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:16
I don't. They have a duty of care, if u hire a Troopy then tell the Hirer what the go is, otherwise stick with Hyundai Excel auto's.

FollowupID: 474678

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:21

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:21
You could twist that around Bonz and say that if you do not know how to operate a 4WD then don't hire one.

That goes for all things you can hire - Chainsaw, Epirb, Sat phone, woman on hay st....

FollowupID: 474681

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:31

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:31
goat...?
FollowupID: 474686

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:33

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:33
That's a tad rough Equinox...
The woman for hire on Hay st will give you verbal instructions, ex officio of course...
FollowupID: 474687

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:59

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:59
Bonz,
You can lead a horse to water but you cant make them drink.
Im sure if they looked in the glove box or under the sunvisor they would find some instructions.
People need to take a bit of responsibility for their own actions, Im sure weve all been bogged before but if your front wheels arent turning on a 4wd youd have to be a bit curious why and get out and have a look before you turned on your EPIRB.
If they went through a stop sign whos fault would that be?
Hairy
FollowupID: 474701

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:31

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:31
You may not be able to make them drink, and with a mouthful no-one can offer verbal instructions, however the hirer has the onus to ensure that the hiree has a knowledge of operation of the apparatus hired. Thats the law

Goats are never hired for they give of themselves freely and without malice, hence no legal contract as no money has changed hands for services, unlike Hay St, which must be some farm outlet for goat feed AFAIK.

FollowupID: 474711

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:43

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:43
Or, as the wonderful American author, critic and satirist Dorothy Parker noted; "You can take whore to culture but you can't make her think"

Mike Harding :)
FollowupID: 474715

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:44

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:44
Oh! I hate it when that happens:
"You can lead a whore to culture but you can't make her think"
FollowupID: 474717

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:04
Sorry I HATE duty of care! One of those terms we've stolen from the yanks to all the frigin enjoyment out of life. The only duty of care is FOR YOUSELF! If you can't look after yourself then your a bloody idiot IMHO.

This country is only going to get more fkt up the more people blame someone else for their idoitic mistakes...

Besides, do you really want a 45 minutes instruction on how to lock the hubs everytime you hire a 4wd??? I certainly don't. If they have this "duty of care" then you saying "sorry mate, I already know how to lock the hubs" will not cut it, they'll bloody show you how to use the gear stick, how to turn the key, yada yada yada. What a bloody crock.
FollowupID: 474723

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:22

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:22
Sorry fellas...the saying goes as such...........

You can take a horse to the water, but a pencil must be lead.

Poor Germans..for a clever nation their inhabitants do some silly things
FollowupID: 474795

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:34

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 08:34
Willem,

I think it's the "cleverness" that lets people down. How many people are so "clever" that they automatically think they know it all????? And so don't bother to ask for instructions/directions/help? And then they are knee deep in the sh@t and look silly because of that?

I know I've been guilty of that, and at the ripe age of 48 am now starting to learn to ASK!

Bonz/Jeff.....
As far as Duty of Care goes for hiring 4by's, our introduction to 4wd'ing was via a hired Rangie.... the operator gave us limited beach tuition but also told us NOT to tow, NOT to be towed except by him (unless the car was about to be swamped by the sea). He also made us aware of what could potentially go wrong out there, and based on his 40 minute talk, we made our own minds up on whether we would go ahead and hire the Rangie. IMO this is exactly what duty of care should be..... the end user should be made responsible for their own actions!!! If the hire companies made evryone who hired a Troopy for Fraser Island do a full day course on 4wd'ing, few would bother. But..... they should make them AWARE of what they are getting themselves into...... and let the hirer make his/her own mind up!

Just my opinion

FollowupID: 474855

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 10:39

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 10:39
Thats exactly what I ewas talking about re the Hirer exercising their duty of care. Tell people what they r getting themselves into and let them make their own choice, just like u did Brian.

Duty of Care isnt an American thing Jeff, its a legal thing steeped in common law which is fundamentally British and consequently ours. No sense hating it, it is here to stay and all it really does is set in law a common care for each other, thats all really. You do the right thing and its all good. What the yanks have done is take it to the n-th degree as they tend to do in a cokc-headed way and use it as a basis for huge lawsuits - dumbassess I reckon.

The end user should IMHO always be responsible for their own actions. ALWAYS.

Last thing we need here is the stupid American "I will sue you attitude" and id10t juries awarding huge payouts.

FollowupID: 474888

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:03

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:03
Bonz this is exactly what I'm talking about though. The first thing you guys did on here was go "Bloody hire company, shouldn't have let them go out like that." The next thing people will be saying is "Take the hire company for everything, it's there fault!".

It's already happening a lot in Australia. Look at the tragic Gracetown incident years ago in WA. If you are not aware of it, some school kids were on an excursion when tragically a cliff on the coast gave way and crushed them. So what happens, they take the shire to court!

So what happens then?

The shire, DEC/CALM close off great areas, litter signs up all over the coast and stop us from being able to access some of the most scenic and great fishing spots around the WA coast.

How is the shire supposed to be responsible for nature for Christ sake. What are they supposed to ensure that you are safe no matter where you are? According to the law it appears to be that way. So no one can do anything remotely enjoyable because "somebody" might hurt themselves.

I'm not taking anything away from the tragic circumstances of that incident, but for heavens sake, next thing we'll be trying to blame the government because we went to sleep behind the wheel.... Maybe they should have made the road a little more interesting so I didn't get so board, maybe they should line all the edges of the road with a big inflatable bumber like what the kiddies have when they go bowling. I mean where does it end?

Why can't people go, Gee whizz I just bleep t up good hey! Oh well, I'll deal with it. Why is it always someone else's fault?? It's a load of bollocks.

It's like burglars winning law suits because they cut themselves on glass after they smashed your loungroom window and broke into your home to steal you laptop! They are bloody winning these things, it's bull bleep , and it's attitudes like what some people have expressed on here that are fuelling the fire IMO.
FollowupID: 474903

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:32

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:32
I tend to agree with ya Jeff, maybe it's about time we started to take responsibility for our own actions. ( I feel a soap box coming on) What about the idiot who was drunk as who dived into the surf at Bronte and broke his neck or whatever, sued Waverly council for millions but much later on appeal his loot was retracted...Then you see the court reports that so & so got off because he/she was under the influence of a "narcotic" substance at the time of committing the offence....

What is driving this wave of "litigancy"? Well of course the legal proffession, they are the ultimate winners here, anyone who has recieved any compensation thru the courts will tell you that their "legal team" will take most, if not all of it...
Don't start me on the Family Court either, when my son seperated he got a $4000 bill from a lawyer for attending one meeting of 15 minutes duration.

No I think that at some stage we have to bring common sense into play here. "Haf you effer been to Australia before?" Nien, ziss iss our first time in ziss country " "Ok well as first timers I'll show you over the vehicle and make sure you know what to do in an emergency"

No I feel this current arrangement where everyone can sue anyone else for the most trivial of reasons is rediculous. Just look at the Adds on TV " Were you too stpid to tie your shoelaces & tripped over them causing you personal injury?" " Well come see us, your first visit is free and we can get you the compensation you so justly deserve"
What absolute excrement, unfortunatley society is obsessed by getting money out of someone else for our own stupidity or act of God...
FollowupID: 474914

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:16

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:16
I don't know why they leave free wheeling hubs on rental vehicles - only creates confusion, and the 4wd transmission goes crunch when the tourists try out 4wd on the move with the hubs out. They serve no useful purpose.
AnswerID: 214444

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 03:02

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 03:02
Good call!!
You should ring a couple of the big mobs and suggset it.
Smartest thing Ive heard.
FollowupID: 474839

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:40

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:40
Hmmmmmmmmmm.... I do think some reevaluation is necessary here.
In FNQ the Croc warning signs give German language precedence "Achtung Crocodillen schwimmen heerein". Now of course I never mentioned the war, I could have and got away with it but whlie waiting at the Daintree ferry I saw some persons reading very carefully the sign, suspecting Germans I approached in full agent provocateur mode and explained that the Crocs actually prefered eating the Germans as us Aussies were generally fatter (speaking for myself) and tests had shown that Crocodiles preffered leaner prey....They seemed convinced and went away happy.
AnswerID: 214452

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 16:50
I recently took a photo in Katherine George . All you can see is a sign with a canoe tied to it, a lady in the water with just her head sticking out about 3 feet from the canoe.
Guess what the sign said?????......Do not enter. Salt water crocodile traping in this area.
I guess she figured she wasnt a croc so the sign didnt apply to her!
FollowupID: 474694

Reply By: Philip A - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:00

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:00
There was a funny one in one of the 4WD mags, when they tested a Britz troopie.
The guy was driving up the Stuart and guys coming the other direction were all hanging out the window yelling something.
He couldn't figure it out so asked at the next servo.
"STAY WITH THE|CAR"
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 214464

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:02

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 17:02
its time the hire companies accepted all responsibility and if they dont feel a person is confident to take a 4b then dont hire it

oh sorry thers a bleep e load of tourist dollars to be ripped off here

AnswerID: 214465

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:09

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 18:09
Why can't people take responsibility for themsevles?? If hire companies have to take all the responsibility then we just won't have anything remotely fun left to do in this country.

If you don't know how to drive a 4wd LEARN BEFORE you hire it. For christ sake.

Yep, we won't be able to go on bumber cars anymore, we won't be able to hire dingo's for the backyard, we won't be able to hire a dingy while we are on holiday. It's high time people started blaming themselves when they fk up, not everybody and anybody else.
FollowupID: 474726

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:42

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:42
Jeff M (WA) Hi

They don't have to take all the responsibility.. they just have to make sure they (or you) understand to the best of there ability.. people can't take responsibility for themselves.. because this ONLY works while it suits them.. the first time something goes wrong which does not suit them they will be up in arm's.. (you only have to read some of the responses on this forum)..

thats the way I see it

FollowupID: 474804

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:31

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 19:31
A favourite story of mine is about the two sweet young things who did a tyre in the backblocks. They were on a shortcut track put in by a local community, and not usually frequented by tourists.
As they scratched their heads about what to do (yep, a rental Troopy), and an aboriginal family stopped to ask if they were OK. Our intrepid travellers were petrified,and locked all the doors and windows. Try as they might, the would be rescuers couldn't get a response from inside the vehicle.
The family told a couple of white female electoral officers who happened to be at the community, and they wandered out and set them straight. (and before they had bigger problems)
I ran into the electoral officers at Warberton and they were still chuckling.
AnswerID: 214502

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:57

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:57
Yeh Mate.
Had a simmilar thing happen one day at the Palmer River.. Swiss tourists had taken a flat out run at the river in full flow because thay shat themselves earlier in the day when we stopped to see if they were alright and we were still behind them.
They didnt get far.... But the hardest bit was trying to get them to put the window down! All I was trying to do was to tell them to select high 4!!!!
Lucky a mate with us could speek his languge.......So we all walked away from the car while he spoke to him and conviced him to get out and let us drive his car out.
Good fun hey
FollowupID: 474838

Reply By: kimprado - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:03

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:03
Gidday Hairy

I see your having a balmy summer up there.

Your being a bit rough on our tourists from overseas. In all fairness, if I deposited an Australian in the middle of Siberia during winter, I'm sure mistakes would be made.

Misfortune is not limited to incoming tourists. Both locals and interstate travellers get up to some dumb things at times (me included).

I'll give you an example. A few years ago I contacted Ross River fever in the bush and headed for Tennant Creek looking like something the cat had chewed on.

While waiting for the Billy to boil in the caravan park this gorgeous young thing approached me and asked for a lift to Alice Springs. Given my appearance, I was dumb struck! There was no sense of caution at all on her part. This was an Australian girl from Sydney who should have known better.

Kim

AnswerID: 214528

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:27

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:27
Mate . Im not bleep about the boofheads at all I just thought it was funny and you all might get a laugh out of it.
FollowupID: 474837

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 21:50
Yep - but you don't have to be German nor in a rental vehicle to make mistakes. I know quite a few of us that have helped out twits of all races, and a few of us have made mistakes in the past ;-)

I do know that the reputable 4WD rental companies in Central Australia care about their insurance premiums and they do (now):

1. provide EPIRBS for tourist rentals (mining rentals are another matter)
2. provide familiarisation including vehicle operations
3. provide advice about track conditions if they know their client's plans
4. specifically discuss Boggy Hole and provide details of how to contact the Park Rangers for up to date info.
5. provide safety info with their vehicles
6. specifically direct that RAV4s, Sorrentos and other rental soft-roaders don't be taken to places like Boggy Hole (to be specific).

I guess these guys weren't paying attention, or just politely nodded - or simply didn't know where they were going to go.

I would have thought they would have seen enough vehicles going past them, even at this time of year getting into Boggy Hole to realise that an EPIRB might have been over the top ... was there some rain up there lately?

Anyways, it can get bloody hot out there, that is for sure so if the bogging tested their patience, it is not entirely surprising.

Andrew who suspects they are looking pretty sheepish now.
AnswerID: 214542

Follow Up By: handy - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:36

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:36
so now that every time that tom ,dick and harry get bogged they set of there EPIRB.
what a waste of time and money if its not a serious situation.
the topic was how would you feel, well i would feel like a total dick head.
FollowupID: 474819

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:55

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:55
Unfortunately their ignorance may have made it serious - hopefully they do feel pretty sheepish too. I know Hairy will have seen as many German's in Boggy Hole as anyone - he's probably taken more than a handful there too.

From what I know, NT Police don't charge, and volunteers much less, to get people out of these sorts of sticky situation ... if you've ever stopped to ask advice of anyone up there you'll know that whoever they are - park ranger, local health nurse, indigenous owner, tour operator, station hand ... they are very generous with their time, and the first to help even when the issues aren't pressing.

I have heard it said that most hire car boggings in Central Australia occur because the hubs were not locked, but that hire car companies don't permanently lock them because of the extra wear and tear. Hopefully this won't translate into "most EPIRBS are set off because people don't engage the front hubs" ;-)

Andrew.
FollowupID: 474823

Reply By: Diver1 - Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:19

Wednesday, Jan 10, 2007 at 22:19
At least they had that stuff with them (the epirb), we had one but that was only becauce bucky took it with with!!

We met same people i reckon, Germans not being able to get patrol through some sand onyl 1.5km from Palm Valley end....we tried to teach them about the hubs but lack of english and 10 minutes later they walked the rest...

what are those hire companies doing out there!!! nothing obviously!!

Laura

ahhhh but its a funny story though!! a bit like the jockey that was thrwon from his horse during training, was taken to Rosehill Hospital and is now in a stable condition!!

bye!!
AnswerID: 214553

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:49

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:49
"....we tried to teach them about the hubs but lack of english and 10 minutes later they walked the rest...
what are those hire companies doing out there!!! nothing obviously!! "

Jumping to conclusions arent we???
Maybe they tried to teach them like you did?
Just got "Ya Ya Ya" and 10mins later DROVE off.
And were did they get the EPIRB? Probably suplied by the hire company....pretty dam responsible of them I rekon!

FollowupID: 474935

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:47

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 02:47
SHIIIT!!!
What happened to COMMON SENSE!!!!

ON a lighter note but relevant...wejust got back from a 1hr cruise to sit by the water and have a drink( 4Hrs later) because a couple of blokes just tried to drive across the Junction Waterhole!
Suprise Suprise,They didnt make it!
Aparently years of mud racing or something like that said they would make it.
Nup..slippery stagnent cow turd laced mud said not enough grip to get up the 80 odd kms needed to make it across to the quick sand on the other side.
Laugh ....we nearly shat!!!
People on our side diving for cover as if they thought they might get that far.

Anyway they were just having fun.... and after sinking my car on one side, letting the tires down and covering it in stinking mud inside and out on the other side of the waterhole the only damage was my snatchum lookes a little worse for wear.
They want to come around tommorrow, wash my car,replace the snatchum and have a few beers.
All good fun isnt it!
JUST USE COMMON SENSE and stop looking for a set of instructions on how to do it.
AnswerID: 214576

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 09:05

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 09:05
Hairy

There aint no such thing as common sense no more. Most people drink too much red cooldrink and hyperventilate when things go pear shaped....lol

Question 1. Where is your Junction Waterhole?

Question 2. Your mate who speaks Swiss...Is that the fella with the camouflaged FJ55?

Going to be in Alice by end of July. Will make arrangements for a G'day drink.

FollowupID: 474860

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:02

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:02
Gday Willem,
Do you think some should write a paper or set of instructions on " The cultivation of common sense" or something? ( if they could smoke it they might be a bit keener to use it!)

1. Junction- North of town, turn off the old Darwin road, 2 waterholes up from Wiggleys.
2. Martin Scheidegger used to work for Saharas for years.
3. Would be great to catch up for a beer!
Hairy
FollowupID: 474939

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:41

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 11:41
I think also a lot of people have no comprhension of the vastness of this land, I didn't really untill I did the "big trip" 2005... Pulled in for fuel at Pimba which is almost on the edge of civilisation and approached by some young attractive Asians wanting to know where DARRRRRRRRRRRIN is... Ok they were looking for Darwin... had a hire car for four days that had to be returned to Adelaide and were going to drive to Darwin for 2 days, then return....
AnswerID: 214654

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:17

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 12:17
i used to have a good laugh sitting at the bar at curtain springs when the terrorists
came in and asked if mount connor was ayers rock. good entertainment.
FollowupID: 474929

Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:02

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:02
I've heard this story so often now - sometimes the Germans are the butt occasionally Poms - I'm now fairly certain it's in the same category as the one about the Winnebago driver that left the drivers seat and went to the kitchen to make a coffee whilst the thing was on the move expecting it to drive itself. That one was outed by a myth-buster type website that couldn't find any report of the alleged Court proceedings that the driver allegedly instigated against the insurance company he was supposed to have sued - it just didn't happen.
Geo
AnswerID: 214680

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:05

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 13:05
Gday Handy,
Yeh but the reason they thought it was the rock might have something to do with you telling them it was and selling tickets! LOL
Get much rain?
AnswerID: 214681

Follow Up By: handy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:41

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:41
how the hell did you know, i forgot i used to sell a few to towjo owners, lol.
we got a heavy and quick 23mm on tuesday.arvo. cheers
FollowupID: 474954

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:47

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 14:47
If there was water in the Boggy Hole they should have waited until that had almost run out before they activated the Epirb, otherwise it would have been just a "bad situation" and not an emergency. People can last several weeks without food.

I reckon bill 'em.

AnswerID: 214707

Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 15:04

Thursday, Jan 11, 2007 at 15:04
Theres not to many days you wont get a car come past either. They werent to know that but I sure as shiit wouldnt set off en EPIRB until I waited a couple days and tried a few things first. If they waited till night and let their tyres down they probably could have driven out without 4wd.
Although the post was hanging a bit of harmless shiit on some unprepared tourists who would and should feel like complete gooses. Just hope they learnt from it and tell their friends...It could have been a lot worse!
Apparently the cops are going to have a word to the hire compamies to make sure (if they arent already) they are giving them a bit of advice before they leave.
FollowupID: 474959