Bearings and Big Prawn

Submitted: Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 18:10
ThreadID: 42490 Views:3220 Replies:2 FollowUps:18
My last post worried about trouble coming in lots of 3. Some of you convinced me that it wasn't the case. So the road trip was relatively uneventful. Apart from the battery or something refusing to start untul I pressed the button to parallel the batteries. Oh yes and finding that the garage at the Big Prawn is no match for the Big Aerial. I was tired :)) (My lil brother asked Dick Smith for a ride in his chopper but that's another story. Thank goodness Dick ignored him...I would have done the same)
Got close to home and saw two blonde ladies in a Nissan 4wd pulling a full sized van. How times have changed.
I was also surprised to see so many speed cameras with signs telling you that they are coming up. In fact everywhere I looked were signs saying slow down. *applause*
Up here we the cops and cameras play peek a boo. What a waste of resources. Sadly there will always be a need for the Highway Patrol, but it was nice to see the traffic slowing down every few km because of the cameras.
I was also impressed to see a school crossing with BIG flashing signs indicating that it was time to slow down and keep an eye out for the kids. I didn't have to check my watch and adjust for the dreaded you know what , and wonder if it was a school day. Three cheers for that one also.

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:23

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:23
We have lotsa BIG THINGS in this country don't we... Big prawn is at Ballina, Big Oyster at Taree, Big Trout at Adaminaby, Big Pipe advertising a plumber I think on the sunshine coast, Big Crock at Normanton, Big Cheese at Bodalla, Used to have the Big Pavlova at Marulan, Big Budgie on a stick in Canberra, Rockhampton has numerous Big Bulls (though some have been nutered), Big mango ( upside down) at Bowen...I suspect the list to be endless...
AnswerID: 222745

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:37

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:37
you Big Galah - you missed the most important one, of course ... at Kimba.
FollowupID: 483568

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:53

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:53
Big sheep at Goulburn . Big banana at Coffs . Big idiot at Epping .
FollowupID: 483572

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:03

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:03
Big Lobster at KingstonSA
Big Miner at KapundaSA
Big Tummy at Peterborough...lol
FollowupID: 483573

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:40

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:40
Big Miner got conflagrated (vandals I believe) ... I've not been past since last Easter, but it was in a bad state.
Next time I'm in Peterborough I'll look out for the Big Tummy.
There is a big olive attempt East of Tailem Bend, and Big Orange up in the Riverland - Waikerie as I recall, although rather run-down.
FollowupID: 483578

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:56

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 20:56
The Big Ram at Goulburn was originally built with goolies but hey, you've got to be politically correct haven't you?

FollowupID: 483590

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:08
And you forgot the BIG DEAL...
FollowupID: 483593

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:23

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 21:23
The Big Marlin at Earlville, Cairns
FollowupID: 483603

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:56

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 22:56
Made myself sick at The Big Pineapple near Nambour a few weeks back.....
FollowupID: 483633

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:54

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 00:54
Andrew,

"Map the Miner" is back, standing tall and better than ever at Kapunda.

FollowupID: 483654

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 07:31

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 07:31
Big Buffalo in Darwin
FollowupID: 483667

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:52

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:52
Hi Andrew,

" but it was in a bad state" - that is SA! Some of our EO crew would appreciate this but others have just agreed.

FollowupID: 483683

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:05

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 09:05
Big Woolbales in Hamilton Victoria

FollowupID: 483686

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:12

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:12
Big Guitar at Tamworth and the giant Ram at Wagin with the occasional onset of football team coloured knackers.
FollowupID: 483703

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:32

Monday, Feb 19, 2007 at 19:32
Don't want the shrink diagnosing you with a 'tourist complex' now do we Footie;-)

AnswerID: 222747

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:04

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:04
No worries there as I do my own diagnosis. I rekkon if its out there, I'm sure to have it :)
Not sure what a tourist complex is as I try and stay away from tourists...I'm a traveller not a tourist.
But I can tell you I'm working on some new films. I've already got the titles and screenplay worked out.
"Honey I shrank the ..
Big Pineapple
Big Prawn
Big Miner
Big Sheep
Big Deal
etc etc etc "
FollowupID: 483673

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:14

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 08:14
BTW that Caltex in the background now has a new groove on the celing of one of its bays....the aerial was just a tad higher LOL
FollowupID: 483674

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:09

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:09
The HF cornice line. I've claimed the scalp of fluro at a drive through bottle shop too;-)

WA is a bit of a let down for the 'big' things. We have a ram at Wagin that regularly gets it knackers painted in team colours, an orange that fell to bits from neglect and that's about it. I did the drive up the east coast from Sydney afew years ago to visit as many as possible. Don't forget the guitar.
FollowupID: 483702

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:20

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:20
The Guitar, ug. I'd managed to forget about half the tacky big things.
Well, as the biggest state (I think ) , WA should hold lots of BIG records. Judging by the stuff being hauled north to the mines some of em could set records all on the own. And I know of one roadhouse that could claim to be the "Big Rippoff". :))
Perth...the Big houseprice
Kalgoorlie...the Big everything
Broome...the Big overkill
CSR...the BIG trip
Kidson Track...The Big nothing
Hmm.....LOL
FollowupID: 483705

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:52

Tuesday, Feb 20, 2007 at 10:52
Amen to all of that Footie.

WA also holds the crown for being the biggest nanny state (don't get me started on that one)

Here's some more.....out of Port Hedland Mitchell Logistics run the longest legal road trains in the world I was told and BHP Billiton has the Guiness Book record for the longest train in the world too.

Woohoo! ;-)))
FollowupID: 483709