so called iconic tracks

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 15:35
ThreadID: 47704 Views:3310 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
we just completed a great trip doing tracks like strezleckie,oodnadatta, birdsville, and at the end of the day the country side is great to travel through,but the tracks are really just rough dirt roads no particular challenge,could be done in the family car.I think they are marketed as something a great deal more than they are. i imagine years ago they would have been tough to work up and down. most people we spoke to somehow felt there was going to be more to the experence.A well marketed high priced part of aussie that are really just three dirt roads between different points. love the country but lets not build them up into something there not.

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 15:46

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 15:46
Ha ha ....... Just wait until it rains, then try again & we'll see what you have to say about them then!
AnswerID: 252348

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:19

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:19
gday shaker i travel a rough dirt road every time i leave the house, boggy roads when it rains are just a way of life here.
FollowupID: 513515

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 15:52

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 15:52
Different every time you travel it. As mentioned above.............just wait until it rains lol. Some of my favorite country. I'm not really sure what you are trying to say. None of the roads above are 4WD tracks unless it's been raining.
AnswerID: 252349

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:42

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:42
Warren

You have to take on board some of the history and unique scenery of the tracks to really enjoy them. You can do the Birdsville in an afternoon, or you can take two or three days or more with a bit of ingenuity. You need to have a Westprint map with the history on the back, read it, stop along the way, perhaps seek permission from the station to camp a few nights at Lake Killapanninna, see if you can go the inner track or even strike it lucky and do Walker's Crossing. But don't go until you have shown the family the Tom Kruse DVD (Along the Track I think).

The Gibb River Road in the Kimberley is another classic. In the season its like the Bruce Highway (in terms of traffic) and you can get along it in a day or two. But if you read Ron & Viv Moon's Adventurers' Guide before you go (and maybe Kings in Grass Castles too), you see it with different eyes, and you simply run out of time to go to all the places the road opens up for you.

My suggestion is that a browse through the ExploreOz shop a few months before a trip is a great way to put the magic into a planned trip.

That has always worked for me.
Max

AnswerID: 252357

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:16

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:16
GDAY max we took a month on and around these tracks and loved every day of it.the point i was trying to make was 4x4 mags tourisum centers ect concentrate on making a big deal out of the tracks and not the country around them.
FollowupID: 513514

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:20

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:20
And you are right of course - the magazines need to promote the stuff their advertisers sell, and do beat up the simple and obvious. They also do hair raisingly stupid things too in the name of "adventure".

Sounds like you did it safe and sound and had a great time. Certainly i have rarely found anything difficult in the places we have been - though it may take a little longer sometimes.

Just last month we too all day to get from Tibooburra to the Dig Tree. Nothing difficult and nothing dangerous, but a lot of fun dodging the washouts and selecting the right diversion track. Half way through the afternoon, we met the shire roads foreman. He had taken 5 hours to come from the Dig Tree - but was building a work plan for his graders. He had 150 photos up to that point of jobs to do! It still took us 2 hours to get up to the main road, having experienced all his jobs. A week or two later the road would have been the usual simple drive.

Wet or dry, though, its fun! And I agree its the country you remember - and you need to take an open mind rather than "4x4Hoons" magazine!

Max
FollowupID: 513577

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:56

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:56
Obviously you drove too fast. You need to stop and smell the roses.
There are so many interesting places and diversions along those tracks and yes when they are dry and maintained they are like highways and a lot of family cars drive them but just a smidgeon of rain and there is another story.

I think you maybe victim of the 4wd myth. many people think 4wd'ing is full of ruts and challenging stuff like in the Outback challenge.

Reality is there is very little really challenging driving done if you own a 4wd. It is mainly easy going or we may need a bit of extra traction or clearance than the commodore will give.
AnswerID: 252361

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:51

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:51
>Reality is there is very little really challenging driving done if
>you own a 4wd. It is mainly easy going or we may need a bit
>of extra traction or clearance than the commodore will give.

Splutter...!

You should spend a few days in the Victorian High Country David.

FollowupID: 513433

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:15

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:15
Mike I not a flipping idiot mate.
Yes I have been to the high country and I have driven some challenging tracks but on a dry day the majority of the main tracks are not hard.Just need some ground clearance and an extra gear or two.

I am not so stupid to suggest the commodore could drive the Robe, Portland or Stockton beach although it is amasing how far and old valiant can go if driven correctly. I bet a few indigenous people have driven old holdens where most people coul'nt get there 4by.

But Mike if you reckon that most of the Kilometres you drive each day are challenging then you are either a very novice 4wder, a bush basher or you have your hand on it.

Somehow I think you are none of the above but if you re-read and then think about it you will agree.
Look forward to the apology.........LOL

FollowupID: 513438

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:40

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:40
An apology for what David?

>But Mike if you reckon that most of the Kilometres you
>drive each day are challenging

Most of the kilometers I drive each day are not done in a 4WD.

David: the final two paragraphs of your post were poorly thought out and poorly worded - now don't go getting your knickers in a twist at me (and being insulting into the process) because I, quite nicely, picked up on it.

FollowupID: 513442

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:59

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:59
No worries Mike wahtever ya reckon. Sorry I wasn't n A grade student in paragraph layout and grammar and I do remember my English tacher saying I needed to put more thought into my work. Obviously he was right and I should apologise to you.

So Mike I am sorry for being insulting.
.....but I will still say most of the miles driven in a 4WD are not done on challenging tracks unless of course you live in the high country or the middle of the Simpson desert.
FollowupID: 513444

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:39

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:39
We did the Simpson Desert a couple of years ago & found it to be extraordinarily easy & benign, however, it in no way detracted from the awe inspiring experience that we are itching to repeat.
The fact that we went through about 3 weeks after rain probably helped, but are under no illusion that it couldn't be extremely difficult & challenging, maybe next time!
FollowupID: 513478

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:28

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:28
gday david i smelled the roses for a month and loved it,we live in an area where bad roads are daily drives, it was the people we spoke to out of sydney, melb ect that felt they had been part of a well marketed 4x4 myth
FollowupID: 513518

Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37
We just got back from the Simpson today, having done the Ood and Birdsville tracks. I agree to some extent but the remoteness and history makes the journey worthwhile. Did you actually stop at all the springs, wetlands etc? We also loved where the tracks got us to and absolutely hate corrugations. They aren't a challenge either so three cheers for the graders. Cheers, Chris.
AnswerID: 252371

Reply By: deserter - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37
Get yourself over to WA and do the CSR if you need something a bit more challenging.
AnswerID: 252373

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:45

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:45
"the tracks are really just rough dirt roads"
Yep, no argument there!! But who goes to see the tracks???
But I know what you're getting at - There are many tourist runs that are a beatup - some of the SA Govt advertising of the outback is a bit over the top, and misses the best bits.

I never tire of the oodnadatta and Birdsville tracks. I first travelled them 30 years ago in a Corolla, and everytime since theres been something new to see. Amazing history that comes to life with a bit of research.
AnswerID: 252387

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:03

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:03
gday phil ,4x4 mags and marketing people make a big deal out of you need lift kits mud terrain tyres after market susp ect to do these tracks and people spend big dollars and find its all hype, you never see a picture of a corolla in a mag doing the birdsville ect i love the area lets just tell it like it is.
FollowupID: 513523

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:19

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:19
Very few roads are in themselves a tourist attraction.

It's the sights that you see from the road and at the end of the road that you are looking for.

As has already been said - slow down- then you will see (and feel) the spirt of the open country.

The sound of silence can be overwhelming to the point of almost being spirtual, the sound of the engine and endless corrugations will just send you to sleep.
AnswerID: 252392

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:34

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:34
gday kiwi, i agree but its the roads being pushed as the tourist attraction not the great country around them.
FollowupID: 513519

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:06

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:06
Hey Warren, you don't believe anything written by a journo do you :)) Yes, they do tend to over do it though.

I am always suprised at people claiming that you HAVE to carry heaps of spares to go on an 'expedition' along the GR road. Also, you often see minor streams over hyped as 'river crossings' but in a dry country I guess I can understand that.
FollowupID: 513548

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:38

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:38
I've just returned from my 6th trip to Birdsville. No, the tracks were as smooth as a baby's bottom, comapred to previous years. No rain, no worries. I could probably have done the trip in a falcon....so what ?
I've done thousands and thousands of km where I couldnt have taken a falcon with any degree of being sure that I'd get back. Rain, corregation, temp and just plain metal fatigue would have got me sooner or later.
Now you may say that because you didn't use 4wd that it's all overstated.
Try Cape York or the CSR or the Kidson Track to name just a few.

The one thing you can be sure of is that the moment you make the bush out to be benign, it will bite you on the bum big time !!
AnswerID: 252413

Follow Up By: Member - warren B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:51

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:51
gday footloose, i was just making the point that these tracks are being built up by tourisum mobs to be something there not, im not looking for a big 4x4 challenge i spend most of my working day in 4x4, and most of the people we spoke to overstated was a word that came up more than once, we all love that part of SA BUT the tracks are just roads to the best parts.
FollowupID: 513522

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:36

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:36
Warren, true that some of these tracks are no longer a challenge in the right conditions with the right vehicle.
I can well remember the shock of going back to Birdsville after some years and finding that it's just a 4wd playground, a giant 4wd park.
Can't say that I'll enjoy the day when I take the wife's Camry out there on tarred roads.
It shouldn't really surprise me. In the early 90's I took my family around Oz "before they put in a 6 lane highway across the Simpson". Can't see one so far, but they are supposed to be tarring the Great Central.
FollowupID: 513528

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:16

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:16
"Can't see one so far, but they are supposed to be tarring the Great Central."

That one always comes up before an election. They are really pushing it between Winton and Laverton. The road is one of the best gravel roads I have driven on, at least in the WA section. I can't see it happening for another couple of elections at the very least.

FollowupID: 513567

Reply By: cezzec - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 04:58

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 04:58
Hey guys i think some of us are losing focus on why we drive 4wds and go exploring,
I kind of have to agree with Warren B as i live in that back country for many years, i saw the roads slowly develop into very passable driving tracks which you drive today,
This is mainly due to the oil and gas company's money. 7to10 years ago they where shockers to drive on.
On the flip side Warren B If you ever get more than 5 minutes to spend out there you will realise why we talk the area UP.
AnswerID: 252457

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:36

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:36
Warren,

You are wearing Rose coloured glasses mate.

I have driven the Birdsville Track where, after some light rain overnight, the first 50 kilometres of driving from Mungerannie was done at 15 klms/hour and less. Where the Jack was travelling in one direction and the trailer in another. Where you had no choice but to drift sideways into the road edge, fortunately to be kicked out again.

Was a challenging section to say the least, but enjoyed the experience.

Further along the track towards Birdsville and you are driving on the Gibber Plains, where many people (yes, including me) have come to grief when a small stone shattered the rear window.

And the Strezleckie Track. Yes, usually fairly well maintained, but just watch out for those hidden bulldust holes. And when it is wet, forget it.

I have experienced road conditions even on bitumen, like the Stuart Highway north of the Alice where a 30 kilometre stretch was submerged 100mm or so, under water. The only way you could progress was to follow the white line on the crown of the road. (when you could see it)

On the same bitumen Highway, where we were "stranded" in the Alice for 3 extra days, until the flooding of the Finke and other rivers subsided enough to allow travel south again. When travelling past the affected area saw bulldozers still working to remove the metres of built-up silt and rocks, so traffic could pass.

Yep, it's plain to see, you haven't "lived" mate, or at least experienced tracks and roads in "adverse" conditions.
2WD in these conditions? I don't think so.

AnswerID: 252490

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:49

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:49
I guess it sometimes gets down to why you own a 4WD. For me I bought one when I WAS 19 yo because I loved the experience of driving, especially the 4WD tracks...the steeper, boggier, rougher the better. I felt the enjoyment of a trip to be directly related to the 4WDing.

Now that I've grown up a little (though some would argue that point 8-) ) and have had numerous jobs where traversing 4WD tracks is part of everyday WORK, I couldn't care less about how steep, rough, boggy the track is, in fact the smoother the better. If someone came up with a way to get rid of corrrrugatttions for ever I would be ecstatic (provided that the outback/bush areas didn't fill up with people).

My reason for having a 4WD, and I would imagine that most others on this forum, is as a means to an end, rather than as an end in itself. I'm no longer interested in 4WDing, rather simply using the capabilities of the vehicle to go to places that I want to see and spend some time relaxing/camping etc... I no longer get a 'buzz' out of driving challenging 4WD tracks. Saying this, I'm also not criticising those who do go sway with the intent of finding the most challenging bog holes and such like, but it no longer interests me.....costs too much to keep fixing the damn car!!!

In relation to these tracks that are mentioned, I have driven along most of them over the years and would say that the 4WD magazines do make more of them than is really the case, but again, I think that the magazines tend to cater for a slightly different market....dare I say to those who are still afflicted with the 4WDing 'bug' and who go out there to DRIVE, rather than look around and enjoy the scenery. Just think how many articles they have where the journos drive thousands of k's in literally a few days, then write an article on all the wonderful things to see out there....kidding aren't they??? I find it difficult with only 10 weeks holiday a year ;-)

My point....??? I've forgotten now, just go out there and enjoy the scenery, take due care, and throw those silly 4WD mags in the bin. I have.

AnswerID: 252493

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:58

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:58
Very well said.
FollowupID: 513546