necessity of satellite phone and gps?

I am planning to do 'the big lap' with two boys aged 8&6. Just wondering if some of you experienced travellers can tell me how important it is to have a sat. phone and gps. Are both of these 'must haves'? Obvoiusly safety is all important and if funds were unlimited we would get them without thinking twice but if we can feel safe enough without them the saving would be great. Just interested in other opinions.
Thank you

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:39

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:39
Hi BundyLuva

Its really only important if your going where no one else is
otherwise they are just convience factors which you get as can afford.

AnswerID: 257642

Follow Up By: bundyluva - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:53

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:53
Thank you for that. My partner seems to think we should be fine with just mobile phone and UHF. We are planning on travelling alot of the well publicised tracks by ourselves, but not having been there before I don't know how often you come across other travellers. Me, being female, want to be well prepared in case of emergency but not have to buy thing that are not necessity.
FollowupID: 518910

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:23

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:23
A mobile phone at its best will cover 98% of populated Australia....that in real terms relate to about 4% of Australia as a whole.

So if you are going to travel only 4% of Australia it should be OK!

We have HF radio, satellite phone (with a reliable carrier), CDMA, GSM and UHF...

There is not one form of communications that is better then the rest.

As for a GPS, we use City Nav 7 and Ozi Explorer with a heap of maps on a laptop.

Now what was that old boy scouts saying again.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 518991

Follow Up By: AndrewX - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:22

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:22
I use a GPS but paper maps are fine. As for using a Laptop for maps - only a gimmick. Just get a state map for all states from your local motoring organisation. If you're travelling in populated areas on main highways a mobile gives reasonable coverage. UHF or 27meg is OK if you want to pretend to be a truckie. I have UHF but rarely find anyone on channel. Even those oldies who insist on naming their caravan something like Rosies Love Machine and advertise that they are on Channel 18 UHF are rarely actually on. The only way of being reliably able to get help from anywhere in an emergency is a sat phone.
FollowupID: 519027

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:42

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:42
If you're not venturing very far off the main higways and tourist attractions, then both are probably an 'over-kill'. Having said that. a regular mobile will provide you with contact most of the time (as in above), a UHF Radio will enable you to communicate with fellow travellers (on the road - if that's you're thing) and a GPS capable of voice (prompt) navigation - Garmin Quest is the one I use, would be handy for general directions through towns and cities. The Quest will even enable you to navigate many lesser roads (tracks) if you install Tracks4 OZ.
There will probably be many on this forum with varied opinions. Some will be of use, others may not.
AnswerID: 257643

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:47

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:47
I don't believe any of these is a "must have" unless you wish to keep in touch with the world you are probably trying to get away from and for the GPS, the knowledge of where you are at that moment.

As far as safety is concerned, a UHF CB transceiver will get you in contact with other travellers nearby and an EPIRB is a practical form for that "last line of defence" if you need to attract attention to yourself in case of emergency.

Both a sat phone and GPS are "nice to haves" but not necessary for a successful and enjoyable trip.

Good luck you Bundy lover you:-))

AnswerID: 257646

Follow Up By: bundyluva - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:59

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:59
Thanks heaps. You have eased my mind. As far as GPS is concerned I don't really care where we are for 12-18 months as long as we are healthy and I have a cold Bundy in the car fridge!! LOL. I was only really worried about the 'last line of defence', not knowing how long it would take to come across another traveller in an emergency.
FollowupID: 518912

Reply By: Member - Timothy N (NSW) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:02

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:02
In late May this year my 5yo boy was stung by a (suspected) irukanji jellyfish at Cape Melville. We were the first there for the season and the beach was empty. Without the sat phone to call for a helicopter, and the gps to put them right on the spot in the dark with low clouds, I doubt wether my son would have survived.
Whilst you may not think that you will be far off the beaten track, it is quite easy to be "remote" from help. If your vehicle won't move and you;re out of mobile range on an infrequently used track, all of a sudden you can be "remote" in the most unlikely areas.
Some form of emergency communication, be it satphone, hf radio or epirb backed up by a gps are very, very good insurance.
I bless the day I bought mine.
Have a great trip. Tim.
AnswerID: 257651

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:33

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:33
Could of not said it better myself.......now was your sons life worth the $1500 or there abouts it cost you for the sat phone and GPS.

Just think how much beer you could of got for $1500.....TO DROWN YOU SORROWS if you didn't make the right choose.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 518993

Reply By: mr wonkey - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:05

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:05
Yeh mate the GPS is important paticually if your navigator is as good as mine. For $300 its unlikley to be a life saver but it will get you out of those moments and is agreat toy to teach your kids.Our one is an in dash duel UHF ,GPS If you think you need a sat phone you should consider travelling with others the best info you,ll get is on the road about whats ahead. The most important thing travelling is if your there go and have a look,just because some city slicker does not like some thing, it doesn't mean you won't.This will be the best time of your life
AnswerID: 257652

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:22

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:22
Let's be a little careful here.

A GPS on it's own will not necessarily tell you if you have "missed that turn"

There are many forms of GPS devices and only those with built-in map displays, or coupled to a computing device of some sort that is running mapping software will give you that indication.

When it get's down to basics, a missed turn doesn't necessarily put you in dire straights. Careful preparation for the route you are about to travel is often all you need.

Yes, I use a GPS linked to mapping software, because I like to tinker, I can aford the technology and I like to confirm visually how clever (or not so clever) my navigator is in reading the printed map we also carry.

Now, off the main topic for a moment, why is it that the female members of our species (bless them all) seem to turn the map to all points of the compass when reading them?
(Or do some blokes do it as well?)

AnswerID: 257658

Follow Up By: Swanny78 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:06

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:06
Jen here, have to say that my husband can not only NOT read or work the GPS at all, but he can not navigate with a map either. He is the one that turns it around to face the way that we are going, I find turning it around confusing. He keeps telling me that he will drive where ever I direct him to. Go figure
FollowupID: 518924

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:37

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:37
Hey thanks Jen,

It's good to know both sexes have the Can and Cannot's amongst them.

I really knew that, I was just being naughty:-))

FollowupID: 518932

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:46

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:46
Females turn maps because they don't have the mental spacial dexterity which males do.

Females multi task far better than males.

There are good reasons for these different skill developments which go back to the hunter/gather days thousands of years ago.

FollowupID: 518967

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:34

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:34
On Teltra Mobile phone seams to work in West Australia / Outback towns in QLD,Sth Austr,NSW.if you are looking for reasonable coverage then make sure you have a telstra mobile.We carried mine and a spare with Vodaphone-the telstra unit had much better coverage
AnswerID: 257661

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:35

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:35
Forget all about the Sat phone, Next G with Telstra will do all you want, and as for a GPS have a look at the Garmin range , depends also on what you want to do with it, if you want to save your tracks and Routes and have map software on the laptop then get a Quest, If you want a GPS just for guidance and trip meter etc with bluetooth that will match up with the Next G phone as hands free , play MP3s then get Nuvi 310 or 660
GPS Info

AnswerID: 257662

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:43

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:43
Next G , pray tell us Doug how your next g phone will help when your stuck in the simpson , methinks you believe the telstra blurbs too much , yes they may cover 97% of the population but they fall far short of rural and outback areas.
FollowupID: 518941

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:57
Doug recently in Dwellingup my work Next G phone had zero coverage. Another person in our group with a vehicle mounted Sat phone had zero coverage but my old GSM phone had full coverage. Go figure.

And yes they were all turned on.

FollowupID: 518988

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:51

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:51
Duncan
You sure you had it turned on , I just checked Dwellingup and it has service for Next G, and Bigpond wireless , is it one of them new el-cheapo Chinese nokia's with MATTEL brand on it .

FollowupID: 519046

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:06

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:06
Doug ,you can look at the coverage maps till the cows come home ,they dont tell the real story , just look at Moreton island as an example , lovely red dots showing coverage all over ??? then go there and try to call from blue lagoon ,what ?? no signal ?? but the map said I could !!!
FollowupID: 519065

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:07

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:07
Spoke to a guy at Telstra about it and he said that Dwellingup should of been covered. Don't have a problem with that phone anymore as my work car got broken into and they snatched the phone and car kit. Good luck to them as it was a piece of bleep e.
New Nokia ordered will be fun as I've never used Blue Tooth before.

FollowupID: 519066

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:15

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:15
"is it one of them new el-cheapo Chinese nokia's with MATTEL brand on it "

LOL naughty, naughty Doug
FollowupID: 519067

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:57

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:57
Axel
Noo problems mate , If you really serious about thing I would believe that phone service is available in the SD then you better go stick you head .....in the sand, I'm just so sick and tired of the crap on here about how when and why on bloody phones , next thing you lot will want is a Big Mac at the base of Big Red, NO more comments from me about phones, if you cant sort it out then too bad

FollowupID: 519117

Reply By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 12:17

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 12:17
FWIW, It is better to have these items and not need them than need them and not have them. For me with have little ones I would go the sat phone or EPIRB for piece of mind that you can call help straight away. A simply cheap GPS that just give Long and Lat would help to get rescuers ontop straight away or with far more easy.
Several years ago a mate and his family went bush (Canning Stock Route) when his youngest 4 years old fell into the fire and got some pretty bad burns, to keep the story short they call in assistance (Sat Phone) and had help there within several hours. I think if you can afford them, they are worth it, kids will get into more striff than yourself..........If not a Sat phone then an EPIRB.....IMHO.......
AnswerID: 257667

Reply By: Swanny78 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:00

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:00
Hi There it's Jen,
My husband and I and our two girls 3 & 6 are onothe big lap trip ourselves at the moment. We went through the exact same questions when we were getting ready to leave last year and even got approved the the government subsidy for the sat phone, but when having a look at the sat phone and the pricing we thought that we would try to get by with just the UHF in the car. We have a CDMA phone which is beingphased out in the beginning of 2008 making way for the next G and this has had reception in most places that we have been. We have been through several state forests and national parks that we get maybe onebar on the phone if we are lucky but we found that we haven't even really needed it.
A good in car GPS would be good bt we are managing with maps at the moment as we haven't got money to spend on another GPS for the car.
I will give you a tip though, a good fridge that runs on twelve volt is a neccessity as we were trying to do it with a big esky but that was no good.
Where are you off to first, I hope that the trip goes well. Distance educating the kids?
Jen
AnswerID: 257669

Follow Up By: bundyluva - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:36

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:36
Hi Jen,
I have a 1001 questions I could ask you!!!!
We are definately taking a car fridge - a must for those cold cans!!!LOL
We are only in early stages of planning so won't be leaving for about 12 months. Not exactly sure where we will head first - so much to see. Will be doing distance education as best we can.
How long have you gone for? Any major hiccups?
I think we will settle on UHF and mobile for communication and EPIRB for emergency.
FollowupID: 518931

Follow Up By: Swanny78 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:54

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:54
G'day there,
we are currently in Emerald QLD working to get a bit of money in the bank before heading out again during September.
We have been on the road now since November and have mainly done NSW and QLD but this is as far up we have gone so far - so much to see and do.
We will head back through Sydney to visit family and then possibly keep going through to Victoria and Tasmania.
My eldest daughter is booked into distance education with NSW however as we have been here in Emerald since the end of June I decided to book her into the local school to have some peers. We still do the distance ed after school and when we leave here we will continue the distance education every day.
We were also looking at the EPIRB but in the end we decided not to get one until we hit the top end.
My email address is swanstravelling@bigpond.com if you have any other questions. Once you bite the bullet and decide to get out of the every day rut it is great - the people that you meet and the places that youget to see is great. Can't wait to get moving again next month.
We just recently bought an evakool 12v esky fridge and it is brilliant. Obviously I have the laptop and a great camera and CDMA phone. I have most things able to be charged from 12V and we have a dual battery in the car for the extra lights and fridge in the car. We have a long range fuel tank and carry an extra 40 litres in jerry cans on the camper trailer.
Talk soon
Jen
FollowupID: 518936

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:20

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:20
A few points to add to what others have said.

A lot depends on where you are going and how far off the beaten track you might go. Always being somewhere where other vehicles will be along within an hour or so is very different to being on a track where you might wait a week before seeing another vehicle. Do you know what the traffic is like on the roads and tracks that you plan to take?

Safety depends on many things and prevention is better than having to call in help. How well prepared are you in terms of primary safety - driving skills, teaching your children about potential hazards and accident risks, capability to do first aid, general self sufficiency?

Electronic wizardry is great BUT it is prone to failure for a whole range of reasons, so it should not be totally relied on. On a recent trip where communication over long distances was critical both HF radio and satphone were both unreliable at times.

Any GPS can fail, so as well as being sure that you know how to use whatever system you have, you should always make sure that you can locate your position on a paper map. For safety the two systems - GPS and paper map - should be used together.

That said, I hope you have a wonderful trip.

Val.

AnswerID: 257671

Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:40

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:40
Not Generally a must have but in certain circumstances they can be used to either save a life or reduce the severity of an injury. They can be handy in the case of mechanical issues ie arranging for parts to be sent somewhere. Be aware that they can help but they are only a tool. They don't replace first aid knowledge or having the brain engauged. Having a sat phone does not mean that you do not need to plan. In reality the safety of you and your family is in your hands. Sat phones etc just add layers of options that you may have in some circumstances. If you travel alone, you have already lost some levels of support so a sat phone can add an option. That is the begining and end of it.

AnswerID: 257682

Follow Up By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:55

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:55
Go along with that. We had sat phone as safety and EPrb around paddock last year didnt need them out back but it didnt stop me braking my ankle in suburban Darwin Navman around cities was great, useless in bush. Mobile phones were useless on most of Savanagh way. My new Telstra 3 G is also not much chop.
FollowupID: 518944

Reply By: Smudger - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:58

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:58
Wouldn't leave home without them. My wife and I got caught in by a flash flood just 9 km from the nearest town in the Blue Mountains a few years ago. Between us and the other campers we had all the mobile providers covered - no service. We had a UHF radio - useless. Nobody was hurt, but we were stuck for 2 nights, no way of contacting the world - families, employers, etc. In the event of a snake bite, or medical emergency we'd have had a serious problem. Now, we've been camping for 30 years and this was our first case of total, helpless isolation. Sat phone to communicate, and GPS so you can tell 'em where you are.
Do a thread search on EO for Motorola 9500, 9505 or 9505A. It's the cheapest way to go. We've used ours pretty well across the country. The peace of mind is worth it.
AnswerID: 257686

Reply By: marq - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:07

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:07
9505A - Would not travel without it, there is no mobile reception in most places outside major towns/cities.

I use TR Telecom $30/m for 4 months or $15/m suspended.

A GPS like the Nuvi 310 or 660 with shonkymaps is a good way to go...
AnswerID: 257688

Follow Up By: Smudger - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:06

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:06
We don't have a Sat Phone plan. The old 9500 sits on the top shelf of the bookcase until we hit the track. When we need to use it, just take the Telstra SIM card from our mobile and we're on the air. The call costs are high, but who cares in an emergency? We only pay if we use the phone.
2 requirements:
1 - You need to have International Roam enabled
2 - The 9500 - and perhaps the 9505 - need the full size SIM card. Your regular mobile uses the small card that you press out leaving a large blank with the hole in it. You should be able to get one of those from a mobile phone shop.

We've used ours all over and it's never failed us.
FollowupID: 519003

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:16

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 22:16
The Motorola 9505 uses the small SIM card.
FollowupID: 519151

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:30
We are off on a 1/2 lap next April and planning on taking 6 months , because nextG does NOT cover a fair % of our indended route we decided on getting a sat phone simply for the peace of mind should any major trauma eventuate , bought the phone off ebay and looking into call costs ect , seems a small price to pay , bit like having a first aid kit ,hope that never have to use it but bloody glad its there. , many will say that no you dont "need" a sat phone , that some one will come along who has one , thing is what if they dont ??
AnswerID: 257701

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:59

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:59
I'm guessing (apologies if I'm wrong) that you don't have much idea about maps and navigation? It also sounds as if you will not be (_intentionally_!) straying off well used roads/tracks.

A basic GPS (eTrex) is about $160 from ebay and will offer many facilities to you providing you have a basic knowledge of navigation. I suggest you buy one and take a little time to learn how to use it properly. Also buy a large scale road atlas of Oz which has latitude/longitude markings.

As for the sat phone/HF...? You probably won't need them but take careful note of the post by Timothy N (NSW) - who knows what may happen?

AnswerID: 257706

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:02

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 23:02
I have just completed a 6 week 15,000K trip round WA in company with others. Mostly blacktop except the Tanami and Plenty.

The coverage of both CDMA and NextG was disappointing. I was carrying both but with no external aerial. I found the CDMA marginally better for range.

I run 2 GPS receivers one which can run stand alone or be linked to the Laptop. The other can be linked to a PDA or the Laptop.

My fallback in a life or death situation is an EPIRB. I've got a model using the old frequency. The models running the new frequency are much better.

Paper maps are always on board.

If I ever travel on my own in remote areas the jury is still out on HF v Satelite Phone.
AnswerID: 257774

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:53

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:53
EPIRBs are great as a last resort, the biggest issue is you can't get advice from anyone in an emergency and help may still be 2 to 5 hours away.

You also don't know when help is comming or what help.

They are great for hiking or roll overs if you brake all you antennas off.

The biggest thing is you don't have to be fare away from the city to be in trouble.

Just imagin how you would feel if you could of saved a life or injury of a close one all because you didn't want to spend $1500 on something you thought you may not need.

I have the gear not for other people I travel with to use, but for number ONE...Me.

We have a simple law.......if we find you bogged or broken down and you don't have any recovery gear or tools with you..we will help you, but it will cost you money and not just $20.00, I don't see the point of why I have to suport people who don't do it correctly.

Now if you had recovery gear and tools onboard and you got bogged or broke down, thats a differant story Ill stay there aslong as it takes to get you mobile and would even offer you a beer or two.

The same goes for communications.

I call it a IDIOT TAX.

I am really hard on people who think "Oh I don't need that because it wont happen to me..or the better one "someone else will help us"....guess what, out in the middle of nowhere your on your own.

Just think how much money it costs the tax payer to go and rescue someone or find someone who is lost, broken down or MAYBE INJURIED, not to mention the resources and the stress on other close friends or family.

Your life is in your own hands.

Live in reality not a dream.

Geeeeee's I could go one for days.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 519062

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:59

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:59
Opps!

Sorry Richard W (what a great fantastice meanigful first name) I read my follow up on the end of your post and it sounded like I was having a dig at you.....I wasn't so sorry if it seemed that way.....I just get excited (have to wipe the spit off of my monitor now!)

Regards Richard....there's that name again

FollowupID: 519063

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:03

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:03
>I call it a IDIOT TAX.

Everyone has to learn - inexperience or naivety doesn't make people idiots. Just like the driver with "L plates" on the car we were all like that once.

FollowupID: 519064

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:56

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:56
Some people use there own brains and think, some people get told something and act on it and then you get the people who are told and told again and they do nothing....They are IDIOTS and there is a lot out there in this big world.

People know right and wrong and how to be sensible, the ones who don't know right from wrong or aren't sensiable are IDIOTS.

Poeple get done for drunk driving, excesive speeding, using drugs and overdosing, rob banks, break into houses, driving cars with bald tyre, forget to put water and oil in the engine even with the rattles,smell, smoke, hissing and the red light on the dash has been on for the best part of a week.....they are IDIOTS......not inexperienced or naive.

But then again the number of people who say "I didn't know that" with a blank look on their faces is increasing at an alarming rate.

It's the same as signs that says "Slippery when wet apply caution"
WHY...are we turning into a culture where people can't make there own desicion and judgement and use common sense or do we need a higher race to tell us what to do, why and when.

I don't think the drink driving ad "Drink and Drive, Your A Bloody Idiot" would have the same impact if it was "Drink and Drive, Your Inexperenced" or "Drink and Drive, Your naive".

When you are playing with lives your ether sensable or and idiot.

You sound so forgiving, much like Ned Flanders on the Simpsons.

Regards Richard

Not again more spit on my monitor.....and the wall..dam.
FollowupID: 519072