Organzing your camping gear

Submitted: Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:33
ThreadID: 49293 Views:5487 Replies:11 FollowUps:18

Related Pages

I'm on a mission to make our next camping trip as organized and as quick to set up and pack away as I can. I have 3 young children and need to move fast with these types of things!

I'm looking for tips on what people to do to organize all your gear? I seem to end up with multiple bags and boxes full of stuff I never even use! Does anyone have any great storage tips that make things neat and tidy? We never seem to pack things up the way we originally took them!

I need some kind of storage system for everything but just not ure what!

Please share yourt tips and ideas with me!!!

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:40
Presume you have a wagon? If so, either stow all the gear in large plastic fish boxes and pack on top of each other or buy/make a frame for the rear and slide the boxes in there. Other than that, no idea, LOL

AnswerID: 260175

Follow Up By: karicher - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:44
Yes, we had a wagon and a trailer! So we have heaps of room just need it organised and packed well instead of everthing thrown in everywhere!
Thanks heaps for helping!
FollowupID: 521576

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:24

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:24
Hi Karicher,

Just don't throw everything in everywhere! LOL. We don't have a trailer (but we need one) and by being organised fit everything in a wagon with two kids.

Our last trip we took loads of stuff including a canoe, surfboards, fishing gear etc; not just camping gear. Mind you, that takes some real organising and time which is what you are asking about. Maybe you need to try without the trailer and see how easy you have it!

I was going to answer your other post but life with kids had other plans. Your question about sleeping options; go with self-inflatables. BUT get thick ones and don't buy a double: use two singles. The reason is that doubles take two people to roll up 'and it is really HARD to do and then you have this huge thing to pack which wont fit inside the car. That's not just hearsay ;-)

Another thing most people will recommend is a draw system and since you have a trailer that will probably work. My theory is: if you only have a wagon with limited space then _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx take up some of that valuable space. The thickness of the material they are made of is taking up cubic inches. When you pack them, if the gear doesn't fit perfectly within the dimensions of the _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx there is more wasted space.

Clothes; everyone agrees that they take too many clothes away. If travelling for longer than a week you must consider changes in weather, but lets face it, if only for a few days we wear the same shorts and a singlet and a t-shirt.

If only for a few days, forget all the extra gear you think you MIGHT use. Especially if kids are involved; you aren't going to go bushwalking, fishing, surfing, canoing, snorkelling, volleyball on the beach, etc You may do two of them if you're lucky. Perhaps plan your trip around a specific activity.

The funny thing about camping is that the actual camping takes up most of your time, and that is good. This is the reason we do it; to get away. We wake up, cook up some brekky; oh that's right , we need to get a fire going. We wash up, watch the bird-life, decide what to do over a cuppa. It's all about relaxing. There's only so much you can squeeze into a day.

Your question is about minimising packing time; some of it comes with experience. Some is common sense. Without knowing exactly how you do it now I can only give my general idea:
RULES- everyone must put things back where they found them.

Have specific bags/boxes for things. Yours may be different to ours but as a guideline-
crate of dryfoods
crate/bag of pots pans plates utensils etc
sports stuff in one bag
'odds and ends' bag - occy straps, spare batteries, mantels for lantern, gas hoses, taps for water containers, rope for clothes line or other needs, repair kits for tent, washing up stuff etc.

Just have a designated bag for everything. If the rest of the family is 'challenged' in the area of being practical (like my family), then you need to take the role of 'chief organiser'

Although it may take some time, stand at the rear of your vehicle with all the gear there and have a real think about how it will best fit; taking into account what needs to come out first ie tent, cooker, gas cylinder, connecting hoses, sleeping gear, food, cooking and eating utensils, torches, cold beer....

I don't know how old your kids are but when packing up the priority is to make the arrival at home easy; keep nappies and bottles etc in easy reach. This applies for the whole trip.

On a final note, maybe you need to accept that camping with kids is time-consuming. Let's face it, the average day is full of 'dealing with kids' and a simple task tends to be not so simple. It's a state of mind: Our tent takes two people to set up. How well that works depends on how relaxed we are and how out of control our kids are at the time :-))))
FollowupID: 521597

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:07

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:07
Thanks for that awesome post!

You guys are great and giving me heaps of great advice!

Thats interesting about the single mattresses v's the queen size mattress. The man told me in the shop they take 2 people to roll up and about 15mins and I was a bit hesitant in them due to that. Thats why I havn't purchased it yet. I will certainly look at the single ones now. Be much better if you only need one person packing them away while the other person is packing something else up.

My kids are 2, 4, 6. So all young and keep me with my hands full!

Do you set up a screen dome for all your kitchen stuff and esky's or just put it outside your tent? We normally set up a screen dome too, but just wondering if we actually need it?

Thanks heaps for all your tips, I am so excited about our next trip in October! I'm going to be sooooo orgaised this time!
FollowupID: 521676

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 13:47

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 13:47
This is the camp set-up we find works for us: We use a double dome tent; one dome we sleep in, the other is storage for clothes etc. If camping longer than a weekend we set up a large tarp as well to have shade or so you can be outside if it's raining. We usually have our cooker, table and crate of cooking and eating utensils under the tarp, and the esky in shade (may require moving as the sun moves). A screen dome would serve the same purpose as a tarp and keep the bugs out. Some camping areas are bug-fests, especially some nice coastal areas; mozzies, sandflies, marchflies etc.

We have our food under the tarp as well but lock it in the car at night along with the rubbish and any washing up that doesn't get done; rats, possums etc will chew through tents or screens to get to food.

I pretty much unpack the whole car so everything is at hand and the car is relatively empty for day trips, surfing, fishing etc. The things I leave in the car are tools, fishing gear etc; the stuff not actually being used at camp. This would probably be different if you had a drawer system.

As others have mentioned lists are a great idea. In 'documents' I have my camping list of all possible things to take. Before a trip I print a copy and start crossing off the things I don't need; ie no grill plate if their are bbq pits at the camping ground. If only going for two days you can cut down on loads of stuff. A list keeps you organised; being unorganised results in taking loads of gear you don't use but not taking stuff you need like spare batteries, the tin opener, lighters/matches...

Planning the trip can be half the fun!
FollowupID: 521695

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:58

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 21:58
Mate,

I have been doing this camping thing for over 40 years now and I keep on changing the storage compartment. No kids to contend with but still carry a lot of gear. The wagon has a double bed in it wioth storage compartments below. All the rest of the gear is carried in the bush trailer.

1. Make a list of stuff to take for each person. Clothes,toys, stuff all in one soft bag. ONE BAG per person. No ifs or buts...lol

2. Make a list of tucker and cooking utensils and store it all in good plastic boxes bought from Cheap Shop.

3. Then theres tools, recovery gear, spare parts, tents, sleeping bags, pillows, beds etc.

4. Now you have to work out where to pack everything....:-D

AnswerID: 260180

Follow Up By: RFLundgren (WA) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:29
I have to agree with Willem. Making lists is a very good start.

We used to go camping with 4 kids and now only 2 come, so we do now have a bit more room, but it is pointless taking things that you wont need.

I have started to get pretty ruthless when it comes to packing.

Food is pretty much planned and stored as suggested by Willem. Tools, recovery gear and spares go without saying and are usually either in the car or very close by on a premanant basis.

Sleeping bags, mattresses, take what you are comfortable with. Pillows on the other hand is another story. Most of us here have 2 or 3 pillows each at home. When we are camping everyone is restricted to just one as they do manage to take up quite a bit of space.

Clothing is the worst though. We are limited to one bag each, but its fully how the girls bags every trip seem to get bigger and bigger...LOL. They are now limited to an overnight bag whether it be a 1 night trip or a trip for a number of weeks. They seem to manage quite well and they still have stuff that is not used.

Pack up the clothing bags and then go through it and take about half of it out and you will still have enough to see you through. Sure you may do your washing a little more often, but that is so much better then having loose (and it always happens somehow) articles of clothing in the car and the trailer.

Good luck with it, but after 6 or 8 trips you will start to see it all come together.

FollowupID: 521586

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:47

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:47
Have to agree with RF and Willem.

We have plastic fishing tubs for everything except clothes and the food that goes in the fridge. The tubs stack and fit neatly into the trailer or back of the car. They are labelled on the outside, just with adhesive envelope labels, so we don't have to open them to know what is in them. We don't have to think which one something is in either we just say to the kids get it out of the tub, they too can read the label.

Each person has a bag for their clothes. The secret here is that I choose the bag. Keep them small. You don't need to take a months worth of clothes even if you are going for a month. As they have gotten older my daughters have wanted to bring more and more clothes my son less and less. Despite this we seem to have more and more clothes on each trip.

We keep a list of things that might be handy to have on the next trip and review why we carry certain things regularly. If we can't justify it leave it at home. We also wander around camp grounds looking at how others do things, if we see a good idea we use it.

Camping is an evolutionary process for me and it will continue as long as I keep camping.

FollowupID: 521591

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:52

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:52
You guys wrote your replies within the time it took me to reply above. All very good advice, but I especially like your last sentence Duncs; it should be entered into the 'Exploroz Hall of Fame' as the official motto. :-)))
FollowupID: 521604

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:50

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 09:50
Thanks Bware,

I'll take that as a compliment even though it was meant more as a statement of fact than as a philosophical ideal.

FollowupID: 521653

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:14

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:14
H,

Thanks heaps to everyone!

I also find the clothes a nigtmare. We take way too much and then I come home and wash for a week!

Last time we camped I brought the kids all a pair of Hard Yakka Kids Overalls and put them over there clothes. That way, I needed less clothes as the overalls protected them and served as another layer. They were great! So this time, now that I know the overalls worked, I will pack even less clothes for the kids.

Thanks for all the other ideas, this has been fantastic!
FollowupID: 521679

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:20

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:20
Most important piece of equipment is a pen and paper. While camping you write down what you need to bring next time and what you don't need.
After 10 or so trips it all goes real quick and easy.
We use plastic containers with lids in different sizes. I wouldn't call us very organised but somehow it works all pretty stressfree.
Have a good trip.
Reiner
AnswerID: 260189

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:57

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:57
Thanks for the advice! I'm taking everything on board!
FollowupID: 521675

Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:58

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 22:58
Another tip,

Don't use really deep boxes to pack stuff in. Nothing worse than knowing it's in there somewhere but buried under other "stuff". Even if it means using a couple more shallower containers at least stuff is accessible.
AnswerID: 260203

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:56

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:56

Your right, and the deep boxes fill up with all the crap we dont need that then gets spread around my camp site!!! Arghhhh

Shallow boxes for me next time!

FollowupID: 521674

Reply By: Olcoolone- Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:03

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:03
Hello Karicher, I don't know how many time a year you are planing to go away, we go away about 15 times a year so our way might not wrk for you.

We have a camper trailer with storage racks for plastic crates.

We have seperate crates for
1) Crockery, knifes, choping boards etc.
2) Cooking gear, saucepans, frypans etc.
3) Common used perisable foods. Coffee, tea, sauces, oil, spices
4) Long life food. caned food, pasta, rice, long life milk etc.
5) Toiletries, cleaning proucts, rubbish bags, disenfectants etc.
6) Misc items like spare batterys, lanton, paper, dog bowls etc.

We have tried to set it up so we don't have to take anything from home except our clothes and fresh food, milk, drinks etc.

This way you don't forget anything like tooth brushes or tooth paste, shampoo, rubbish bags and what ever else you use at home.

When we first did it it felt like the time we first moved into our house....... buying double and triple of everything.

A note pad is a fantastic idea, we still use one .

Every time we get back we restock and make sure every thing is there.

It's just a matter of the fresh food we need, drinks ,our clothes and hocking up the camper trailer and we are away.

We also carry all the other camping stuff like tools, recovery gear, water, water, water, and more water, camp ovens, chairs, first air kits, fire extighuser and so on.

Regards Richard
AnswerID: 260205

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:47

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:47
Thanks heaps,

I really like the idea of having to take nothing from home. I would love to have everyting packed ready to go except for clothes and food. The toiletries idea is great, I'll start making everyone up a toilet bag now so we never have to get all the tooth brushes, soap, shampoo etc etc everytime. Then I'll start on the rest :)

Thanks for the tips.
FollowupID: 521670

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:11

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:11
Gaday Karicher. We have 3 kids too & have worked out a packing system that allows us to fit everything in the car yet stll do all the remote trips like the Canning etc.
- Each person should have one bag only for clothes etc. The marine bags are excellent allowing you to throw them on the ground or pack them in a rack bag without things getting dusty or wet. Label each one with a color for identification.
- Fit organizers to the rear of the seats for the kids to keep books, drinks & games. Games should be small & really only need a couple each. Things like boomerangs & frisbees take up little space. Put your foot down & don't take a heap of junk.
-Pack spare parts (belts/hoses etc) inside the rear panels out of the way as it's unlikely you'll need them.
-Set up a rear box system with _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx which will allow easy access to everything but more importanly gives everything a place.
-Use plastic storage crates to separate items. Label or use different colors to identify whats in each. A day box with all the items required for lunch should be on top at the back so there's no need to dig into the back of the car every time you want something on the road.
-Set up a jerry can with gravity feed water or a small pump for cleaning hands or drinks to save having to lift it out.
-If you are serious about cutting down on all the excess stuff you are taking then each item should ideally have 2+ uses. ie: a BBQ plate can also double as a jack base plate, in other words you don't need to take a special one for the jack. If it doesn't have 2 uses question whether you really need to take it.
Cheers Craig......................
AnswerID: 260260

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:54

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:54
Thanks heaps,

Your right, I need to stop taking junk! We seem to take every bloody light we own - just in case!!! Yet we only ever use the really good one.

I like the organisers on the back of the seats for the kids. They would like that.

Thanks!

FollowupID: 521673

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:21

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 10:21
After my last trip I took note of what I used and what I never or hardly used. So will cull some more stuff. I noted you said you took stuff you never used that's the first gear out as I see it. I see this as your first major step to free up space. It is a refinement over time. I assume you have a wagon as your transport.

You really need to look at your gear, do a list of what you MUST take, ask your wife to do a list for kitchen stuff and the kids. Then look at the lists and see if there are items that can be culled, be honest and harsh. Once you have done this look at your vehicle and your roof area (only light stuff up top) will the sleeping bags all fit in a space box on the roof? air beds under the feet of the kids?

Remember frozen prepared meals can save space.

I also use boxes in an attempt to keep things organised, and this works very well.

1. Pots, pans, plates, bowls and all my cooking utensils.
2. food, ie sauces, cereal, spices, salt, pepper ETC ETC
3. Recovery gear
4. Spare gear, tools etc

You get the idea.

The boxes are the cheap ones from $$$ shops with wheels. Cloths I use ONE bag that's it per person, includes your towel. I now stick to a rule if it does not fit in the box somethings gotta stay behind.

Not sure what set up you have for camping but I have cut this down to only a couple of spare pegs and guy ropes and these are all in a PVC tube about 150 mm x 450mm long, poles in PVC tube under vehicle. My tent is a OZ trail Tourer 9 and really only take 5 mins to put up and has heaps of room. I only put 4 pegs in unless I'm staying a few days or weather conditions indicate otherwise. I used to take a large tarp but now have a pull out shade from side of vehicle which comes out 2.5 metres, big saving in space and weight.

My lights are two versilites and thats all thats required have stopped taking a gas lamp, these reside behind drivers seat with the air pump for my bed, next to my extinguisher, and plug into external sockets, if needed.

Don't forget your first aid kit, mine is made up from a kinda tackle box and is packed with everything I hope I never need to use on ME LOL :).

How young are the kids?
My kids I always got them involved in setting up the camp even if it was simply to take pegs and ropes to the corners of the tent. Mind you I would sit down and have a couple of beers first and let them run off a bit of energy, that seemed to work for me. Each in turn I would watch them pump their own airbed. Over the years it got so much easier as they knew what was required and they got more involved in setting up the camp and it just seemed to go up in minutes and no stress.

Just don't make it major chore for them and you will reap the benefit's very soon.

Interested to see how you fair.

AnswerID: 260264

Follow Up By: karicher - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:51

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 11:51
Thanks Brian,

My kids are 2, 4, 6. Not much help at the moment in setting things up!

Thanks for all your advice, I'll let you know how we go in October when we go to Lake Eukumbene for the longw weekend!

I'm planning now, so it should all go much more smoothly this time.

Thanks for the tips!
FollowupID: 521672

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:32

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 12:32
You will be suprised what a 4 and 6 year old can do, even if its only pegs and ropes. I know it can be frustrating when you want to set up your camp quick, however to get them involved now you will reap the rewards later.

While they are not much help they are excited if it not seen as a chore and a bit of fun, givem a treat when they help and the camp is set up :).

I had mine fishing at around 4 years old (lloose term) I cast, they manage a birds nest an eagle would be proud of, I learnt the art of undoing birds nests quite well LOL. Of course when they catch there first fish its worth it and remember the camera for that moment.

Have fun
FollowupID: 521681

Reply By: The Landy - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 15:48

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 15:48
Maybe this will make you feel better about all the things you take....

15:37 04Sep2007 AAP-Travelling heavy - George W Bush style

By Doug Conway, Senior Correspondent

SYDNEY, Sept 4 AAP - Ever feel guilty about over-packing on your travels? George
Bush will make you feel better.

The US President is bringing to Sydney with him not one Jumbo jet, but three, as
well as another two aircraft that carry aircraft.

The president's Jumbo has a back-up, and the back-up has a back-up.

Air Force One is a specially converted 747-200B costing $400 million.

Its electronic gadgetry can jam enemy radar, and radar-guided missiles, and is
equipped with flares to avoid heat-seeking missiles.

It can withstand electromagnetic shock waves from a nuclear blast.

The Jumbos are carrying 700 of the president's closest friends.

They include a doctor, nurse, personal chef and four cooks.

They are also carrying advisers, and it is clear the president will not be short
of advice.

His entourage includes 50 White House political aides, 150 national security
advisers and 200 specialists from other government departments.

POTUS, as he is known in Secret Service jargon (President Of The United States),
is getting by with a mere 250 protective agents.

That doubtless would have been more if FLOTUS (First Lady Of The United States)
was here, too, but Laura Bush is back at home nursing a pinched nerve in her
neck, a casualty of a hiking trip four months ago.

The president's Jumbos look small alongside his gargantuan C17 Globemaster III
air transports.

They carry the presidential chopper Marine One and a Black Hawk surveillance
helicopter.

They are also bearing a fleet of cars that would do credit to a decent-sized
business.

It is an understatement to say the president's limo, Cadillac One, is
bullet-proof.

Its 12cm ballistic armour makes it anti-tank-grenade-proof.

It is sealed against chemical and biological attacks, too, which means it should
just about block out the stench from Sydney's Pyrmont fish markets.

The president's men are believed to be bringing their own sniffer dogs.

They are bringing their own guns and bullets, too, believed to be the only
delegation to get special dispensation.

That should shave a few dollars off APEC's $170 million security budget.

When the president's head hits the pillow in Sydney, it will be in a seven-room
suite in the InterContinental Hotel, at $4,300 a night.

When his motorcade hits the streets of Sydney, magically changing traffic lights
to green the whole way, it will be a sight to behold.

His own fleet is likely to number around 20 vehicles, including an ambulance, so
you can imagine how many Australian police cars and motorcycles are going to
sweep in front and behind.

Imagine is all you can do, for the time being, because the Attorney-General's
Department refused to release advance details on security grounds.

Suffice to say it will be "a lot", a spokeswoman said.

Count them yourself tomorrow.

AAP dc/sp/jnb/sp

For Related News, Double Click on one of these codes:
[AAP] [AAPG] [AUP] [ASIA] [AU] [POL] [LEN]

Tuesday, 04 September 2007 15:37:07AAP [nAAp51214a] {EN}ENDS
AnswerID: 260319

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:38

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:38
For what its worth, here's my camping checklist. I cross out items not required on any given trip. I tick off the required items as they get packed.

Nearly all of this gear resides in the 4 x 4; however each trip has a different duration, destination and number of passengers, so I add or subtract items accordingly.

For instance, if two of us are going on a 7 day trip with a different campsite each night, I do not need to take the 5 tables on the checklist. I may just take the metal table & the roll up table, whereas for a week in one place I will take the trestle table (general use) + metal table (excellent for cooking preparation & hot items) table + big brown table (dining table) + roll up table (for lunches etc while on the day trips out from base camp)

You can see it's a moving feast, this packing thing.

CAMPING CHECKLIST

ROOF INSIDE

Foam underlayFirst Aid Kit
Rack bag Wash up tub
Other tarps Anti-bacterial wash
Tent
12 V Fridge
Roll up table Big white Esky
Metal table
Big brown card table 10 L water jerry cans
New brown table 5 L water bottles
Trestle table Torch
Gas stove
Stretcher (s)
3rd tyre 12 V Power pack
Shovel
Green shadecloth Toilet seat
Fuel Jerry can (s) Disinfectant
Hi Lift Jack

Wash bowl stand B B Q plate
Chairs
Gas bottle Shower mat
Swags Peg bag
Poles
Light pole Camp Ovens
Camfire utensil post 12V lights
Rucksacker Bag Rubbish bags

INSIDE Clothes
Pillows
Maps & map cylinder Jackets
Reference books
Binoculars Plates, mugs, etc
Cutlery & utensils
Camera with viewfinder Paper towel
AA batteries Lock'n'seal bags
Tripod Toilet paper

Fly nets Booze
Tissues
Food
Navigation gear
GPS
iPod + iTrip

Umbrella

Spare key
Spectacles
Mobile phone
Wallet

!2 V AA battery charger
Inverter Spare radiator hoses
Spare tyre tubes
Spare belts

AnswerID: 260367

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:41

Tuesday, Sep 04, 2007 at 20:41
Ooops.

The cut & paste from my XL spreadsheet did'nt quite transfer across accurately to delineate roof items, inside items, etc.
Ah well, ya get that.

FollowupID: 521765

Reply By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:56

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:56
Hi Karicher ...............

To add to all the other replies [even picked up a few more good ideas myself !!] :::

I created a Word document with three columns, then 'bullet-ed ' the page with the little squares shown below [bloody thing didn't copy properly but you will get the general idea !]

Then printed it as a blank list, hand-filled it in with EVERYTHING I could possibly need .... I mean EVERYTHING, too!

Typed it back into the computor list, in some sort of order as regards column headings ie : different types of camping/trips/etc.

Then I just print it out, sit down with a stubby and CHECK THE BOXES for ONLY THE STUFF I WANT TO TAKE ON THIS TRIP.

It's easy 'cos ALL the stuff is listed now, isn't it? [May take a few trips to get all your suff on the list, but it's worth it.]

Leave several boxes blank under each heading .... to add in the items you forgot to put on the list ......... it always happens!

Then when you've decided on the stuff you want to take, go and get it out and pack/prepare it and CROSS-CHECK the boxes, 'cos it's all now packed.

I have refined my own lists to suit my trips ..... gold prospecting/pure camping/fishing/TRAVELLING/ trips with vehicle only or with trailer/trips solo or with passengers etc etc.........

And they are all the same list !! From EVERYTHING you just choose the relevant items.

VEHICLE Personal Kitchen/Foods
? ? ?
? ? ?
? ? ?
? ? ?
? ? ?
? ? ?

Iffen you wish I can eMail you a proper list, as I can't work out how to show it in a thread ....... !!

Hope this may help.

AnswerID: 260443

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:59

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:59
Bugger ... all the little bullet squares came out as ???'s ...
FollowupID: 521854

Follow Up By: Member - Pedro the One (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:42

Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:42
They can't fool me ....

I tooken a photo of my CheckList, squirted it into "My Profile" and sucked it out into this thread ..... I think?

!MPG:13! Blank CheckList ......... at last!

And : I have several 'milkcrates' and similar sized plastic boxes which I use for camping ....... bought several of these:

!MPG:14! MilkCrate BAGS [from an advertiser on this forum, www.infront.com.au.] Excellent product and quality and service second to NONE !! [thanks DAD ??].... LOL

Well, I'll be damned ...... it works !!

Weatherproof/dustproof and generally very bloody handy !!
AND they can hold more than the crate can.

Have one each for clothes/packaged foods/fresh foods [veges,fruit,breads],/crockery/personal stuff[books,toiletries,]/ropes and tent stuff/cooking pots,pans,Bedourie oven/ etc: whatever will fit !!

Have the trailer 'floored' with old carpet so the don't slide around and you can fit in as many as you need, generally.

FollowupID: 521877

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:25

Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 08:25
karicher,
Medium and large Nally bins. Milk crates. Be lost without them.
They stack in the back of the ute and also under the bed in the trailer of the C/T.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 260639