Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:40
Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.
Don't be rude !
I want to get some kind of extra loud horn in my car , so that next time I'm on a dirt road behind a slow vehicle without a radio , I can let them know I am there and want to pass .
So many times I have been stuck behind slow vehicles in their dust , for kilometre after kilometre .
I would need a special button , because I would not want to use it in the city . I don't have much room under the bonnet , but I do not want to mount them externally .
I still remember in my wild youth , poking a 12 gauge out the window , to let an old guy in an a dilapidated truck know we were following him up the single lane bitumen beef development road in Qld . I am older and wiser now - I hope .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:44
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:44
Hi Willie,
I have one of these in the Troopy
Stebel Nautilus It'd fairly rouse the dead.
Mine activates off the normal horn button but have a switch to isolate it around town.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:56
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:56
Got one of them- ready to put in....where did you locate yours??
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:40
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:40
Geoff ,
I had a look at the liink - thanks . Is it powerful ? Will it wake the dead ?
Willie .
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:53
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:53
I have been looking at these for a while, what sort of a sound do they make? not too high pitch?
Agreed, one wouldn't use it often but you want it to be good when you do
I have looked over the ones in the US called the Hammer, about 150+ Db, come with a handy compressor and
tank, the come in triple and quad horns, only problem is it might cause accidents once people soil themselves after hearing it..
Many cars these days come with quite a "girly" horn.......
I don't want my patrol to sound like a barina any more.......
Nick
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:58
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:58
Hi Willie and Signman,
Yes Willie, it will wake the dead, it'll even wake a white leghorn on the way to bowls! I'll set it off here in
Newcastle at 12 midday, you should have no trouble hearing it at Epping.
Or, next time I drive through Epping I'll give it a blast and rattle your fillings!
Signman, I made a bracket to go behind the LH headlight. I also attached a bit of tubing to the inlet piece they supply and ran it through an elcheapo inline fuel filter up near the firewall to keep the dust and crud out of the unit.
Hope that helps gents,
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:02
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 10:02
Hi Nick,
Everytime my 15yo daughter piles in the Troopy she blows the horn and laughs hysterically, she calls the standard one the "chicks car horn"
The noise the Stebel makes is more like a Mack truck than a squeal.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:55
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:55
Here we go. Second childhood approaching....lol
Just chill out and stop while the dustmaker moves ahead. Have a cuppa and let those stress levels settle down.
Though I don't know why you would have stress, being a gentlerman of leisure.
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:58
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 07:58
Willem,
When he's got gold fever nothings going to slow him down LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:46
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:46
You shouldn't talk Mr Willem . "Mr third gear though the stakes and spinifex". Who was it who complained I was to slow to lead the group through that stuff ?
After that , I thought you must have done some
tank training in your army days .
Gee !
Willie
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:45
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:45
Hahahahahaha..............touchj
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:00
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:00
Willie
Your mention of the single lane bitumen beef development road in Qld brings back a memory ,
As I arrived at the
Middleton Hotel in the Road Train Car Carrrier I was driving back 1981, a local in a Toyota 6000 was just leaving, about 10klm down the road and heading for
Boulia I caught up to him, so there I sat for anther 10klm flashing the headlights but realised he had no mirrors and the horn wasn't arousing his notice , I decided to wait another few Ks as he might turn into the the station a bit further down on the left , that didn't happen so I sneaked ever so close to the rear right corner of the tray and give it a bump with the bullbar....that got results because h shot of into the table drain and gave a wave as I slipped past
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:13
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:13
Another case of an inconsiderate Toyota driver holding up the progress of people with ajob to do!!! Let's see, that's 26 years ago, and nothing has changed except the names of the drivers of those mobile speed humps. Now we've got the likes of Pesty, Lucky, Muddy, Noody etc etc.......all causing trouble with their under-powered thingos........;-))
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:16
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:16
I reackon every Farmer/Station in Qld had a Toyota 6000 , they were very popular
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:39
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:39
Roachie ,
Your the gadget God - what have you used ?
Willie .
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:41
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:41
Hey Roachie,
Talking about calling the kettle black.
Didn't you transfer your Air Horn from the old rig???
Actually, in the situation Willie is talking about, the only thing a blast from a loud horn is likely to do is convince the person driving the front vehicle to do everything in their power to STOP the agro driver behind them from getting passed.
A toot from a normal vehicle horn should be more than adequate.
The loud horn is for scaring ten years growth, or incurring a heart attack, in the inconsiderate pedestrian dawdling across the road in front of you, when you are in a hurry to get home for that
well earned beer after work.......Isn't it???
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:48
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:48
Sandman ,
Your right and I think it would always be a good idea to try with the standard horn first .
Many times though , it has not been loud enough .
One time on the Plenty Hwy , we were stuck behind two caravans for 30 minutes while they crawled along the middle of the road .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:11
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:11
Willie,
OK mate, you have convinced me. I'll go out and buy one tomorrow, like the one Doug has referenced.
Never know when you need to move a possum or something off the track.
Just one thing though.
If I put it behind my left headlight, will it blow the headlight onto the track in front of me when I let it off:-)
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 03:00
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 03:00
What a pack of 'Pajeros' - Sandman excluded of course.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 05:42
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 05:42
Lucy
I was born Oz, the SA for me is South Australia not South America
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:24
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:24
Lucy ,
All I want is a horn . Why am I a Pajero ? How come Sandman has escaped your wrath ?
Willie
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:45
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 10:45
Ooops! my most sincere apologies Member Willie.
Somehow I exchanged your rig for sandman's rig in my useless memory bank (was early in the morning)
Anybody that either owns and/or drives a Toyota has automatic exclusion from the 'pajero club' (LOL)
In retrospect - you asked a sane lucid question and ended up with a pile of 'pajeroistic' comments and answers, which I suppose just goes to show that 'pajeroism' is alive and
well out there in non Toyota 4WD land.
Doug T
You just acknowledged your own comment. South Australians and South Americans are 'Brothers in arms' when it comes to 4WD 'pajeroism'
Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:24
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:24
you need one of these
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:37
Hi Doug ,
What is it , and where do I get details ? It looks sexy !
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:41
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:41
Willie
It's a Klaxon type , sounds like the old Ford T horns....Oooaaghh
You wouldn't put one of them on your 4x4.........would ya
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:44
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:44
those plastic ones are crap, lasted 6 mths on my GQ and fell apart, you need a good steel one.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:46
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:46
The "Klaxon" horn is still available at Super cheap and the like but most are made in China/Taiwan these days. They will all be 12Volt but if you scrounge around at garage sales and farm clearance auctions you may find an original 6Volt unit. Whack 12V through them and you will certainly wake the dead. All the "technicolor taxi's" on patrol will converge on the area trying to find the culprit.
My late M-I-L had one hidden under the bonnet of her little green Mini (My B-I-L's idea, she nearly died the first time she hit the horn but then loved using it at the most inappropriate times.
I've got it now and am trying to find room to fit it under the Disco's bonnet........... One Day!
Disco.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:53
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:53
the supercheap are the ones that fall apart :(
now that one you have, wont fit under a disco bonnet... better send it to me.
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:52
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:52
Why would you need a loader horn than the Disco one, there not like the girly beep beep horns they put in Jap 4Bs, the're real man horns ;-))
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:30
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 08:30
Try Whitworths, Willie. They've got some cool 12v marine horns.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:39
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 09:39
Thanks Bob , I am off to their site now ,
Willie .
Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:26
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 11:26
The Dual air horns from Super Crap are good value for the price. I put a pair on my boat a couple of years back & they were more than adequate & surpriseingly lasted the distance.
Reply By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:22
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:22
Willie I have had heaps of the Super cheap ones on a variety of vehicles over the years! Never worn any out and they mount
well and last ages.
Will never have just a a standard horn again and they have saved my life on one occasion. Poor truckie on the Hume just didint see my little truck beside him as I was passing on double lane(rain and heaps of mist from his tyres). Him hearing my desparate toot of the air horn saved him running me off into the huge culvert between the lanes.
Apart from the city driving when ignorant people decide to merge without looking...seriously the vehicle jumps back into their lane from fright!! Rather that than the drama of an accident and repairs even if you are in the right.
You will never go back!!
Godd to have the origonal horn still wired on a two position switch on dash for roadworthy reasons....air horn only used for off road work!...promise!
Follow Up By: Member - Matt Mu (Perth-WA) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:25
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:25
Oh and I grew up on that Beef Developement Rd....wow that brings back some memories...We lost a windscreen or hit a kangaroo everytime we left Middlemount and travelled to
Rockhampton!
If you saw the cattle trucks approaching you got off the road entirely so they could stay on the bitumen and you saved a windscreen(hopefully)!
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:36
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:36
got any friends that work for State Rail? Get an air horn off a train, add ti to your endless air and go...
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:44
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 13:44
since you only want it offroad, what about one of those aerosol can starter horns.. just hang it out the window, no issues with extra buttons and problems.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:43
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:43
Truckster ,
The two extremes ! I think I need to find the middle ground .
Something reasonably compact , that makes a big noise and will not self destruct with corrugated , dusty roads .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 14:48
Reply By: BennyGU - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:37
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 15:37
Just wondering,
was it a Range Rover tootling along at 85km/hr that you were trying to pass???
-the one with no
uhf radio
the one who thinks that it is his duty to slow down every other person on the road so they can admire/laugh at/abuse his RR
Nice big horn would hopefully make him change his ways :)!!!!!!!
Or did Wayne-O find him under the bullbar when he took the 4.2 for a run on the dyno?
Ben
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:36
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 17:36
Thanks everyone . I just ordered some " wake the dead " Stebel .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:15
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:15
Bro,
Stick with the 12 gauge. You know the old camping adage "Everything you take has to have at least two uses"
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:27
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 18:27
I nearly made a really bad sexist joke there bro , but I contained myself . Pity about Penrith .
When are you going to get the missus to pack your sandwiches for you and so we can go on another one day trip ?
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:50
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 19:50
LOL you're a bad man Bro. Hmmm I'll see when I can fit in a 'disappearance' or go AWOL. I'll let you know. Do you have anywhere in particular in mind?
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:54
Wednesday, Sep 05, 2007 at 21:54
what did u get? air horns? where from? how big - cause some of the trumpets on air horns are fuggin massively long
I want a train one !!! Them things wakes the dead wakers up.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 07:27
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:43
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 19:43
Gramps,
I may be able to help you out with going AWOL for next Friday, just fill out below and it will all be OK ;))
Just don't tell anyone you got it off me LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:06
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 20:06
hahahaha thanks Kev.
Follow Up By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:20
Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 10:20
So will we see you on Friday :))
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:45
Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:45
Kev,
Highly unlikely I'm afraid :((((
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 11:24
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 11:24
Could have possibly used a personal alarm. I remember giving the wife one when we lived in
Sydney many years ago. Was like an aerosol can (mini) that when you depresss the button, this allmighty screech (real high pitch) was let off. I reckon that could be heard from a vehicle a fair way in front of yours???? It fit in my wifes purse so would not be much to pack in a door map pocket.
Cheers, Trevor.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:27
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 12:27
Trev,
You can hide a government bus and the entire Bronco's footy team in a woman's purse.
There are only three things on this planet bigger on the inside than the outside,
- a womans hand baggage
- Dr Who's tardis
- a haversack
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:41
Friday, Sep 07, 2007 at 21:41
Trev
If you keep moving down 'this path' you are going to run into that coota looking for his MAC truck keys.
Reply By: Kev M (QLD Bound) - Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 13:58
Thursday, Sep 06, 2007 at 13:58
Willie,
I just googled the STEBEL NAUTILUS Compact and it puts out 139dB. So I think that it would be loud enough LOL
I may have to get one and compare it with you at the Penrith show;))
| Russell Coight: