Moving to Queensland

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 13:35
ThreadID: 50845 Views:3777 Replies:14 FollowUps:28
Dear all,

There has been some commentary over time, particularly of recent weeks, in relation to members (and one must presume non-members perish the thought) moving to Queensland.

While at one level this is worrying to those of us who are here, we should be sensible and consider the side benefits. Part of the purpose of this is to ensure that those intending the move understand that we can laugh at ourselves.

Chief amongst the benefits is the plan that they all leave some money on the fridge at the border (on our side naturally as until we are better acquainted, we may well be unable to trust those south of the Tweed) for emergency supplies of 4Hex. There is after all a drought on.

The tangible benefits as I see them are as follows:

1. Those coming from NSW should each bring a trailer complete with at least a full 3,000 litre water tank. That can be emptied into the QLD Gamint’s much touted water grid; and they should arrange to dig up Sydney Harbour – as clearly it is of little use to those remaining citizens of that particular village. On arrival, they will be press ganged into widening the BrisVegas River to accommodate the then renamed Captain Bligh Harbour.
2. Those coming from Victoria can also bring water as mentioned above, but can leave Port Phillip Bay; the one we already have is better. However we’ll accept the previously named Victorian High Country in exchange, which will be renamed as QLD Bloody High Country that would look extremely nice wrapped in and around the now named Captain Bligh Harbour.
3. Those coming from South Australia can forget the water; we already have yours anyway. We like the previously known destination of the Flinders Ranges, which can be settled in nicely somewhere around Toowoomba with little disruption to the citizenry I suspect.
4. Those coming from Western Australia are of course obliged to haul water, as well as the previously known Kimberleys; and which will be renamed The Kylie’s and deposited somewhere a little north of Bundaberg. That would present as a most attractive position, as the aforementioned QLD Gamint could sensibly dig a trench to ensure that surplus water got into the water grid as well.
5. Those coming from Tasmania should obviously bring water, but kindly leave the wood chip place where it is. We will however accept the Franklin River, as we need somewhere to put the trout they will also bring!
6. Those coming from the Territory should simply bring water, and return to Darwin etc. We trust you all, but need you all there to keep the northern and western borders intact; thank you kindly.
7. Those planning on coming from the ACT should ensure that their details are clearly recoded on the appointments register; as we may well need to undertake some serious vetting and weeding out afore considering the grant of entry.

All said, the future is indeed bright for Queensland. I forgot to add though that in keeping with this period of strategic but sensible acquisition, politics will be frowned upon, we don’t need that here.

Yours in keen anticipation………..Len

Reply By: lewis k - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 13:46

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 13:46
Well Len I am now at a loss as to what to do. Here I am back in Queensland after an absence of 5 years but never was a real queenslander as I was WA borne and bred, resided in Melbourne for 4 years, Bundaberg for a few years, another 6 on the Gold Coast then back to WA and then Sydney for 4 years. Bloody hell mate, me truck is just not big enough to carry the whole country across the border.
AnswerID: 268130

Reply By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 13:51

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 13:51
The board has met; Lewis K is excused. Welcome home!
AnswerID: 268132

Reply By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:00

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:00
Len
I reackon the water requirements could be dropped if the Southerners leave all stupid daylight saving ideas South of the NSW/Vic border

AnswerID: 268134

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:13

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:13
Here bloo#y here I second that again and again and again
FollowupID: 530611

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:20

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:20
That stupid crap starts again this weekend, I cant wait to get out of here and back to Queensland where the curtains wont fade with the extra hour of sunlightLOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530612

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:52

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:52
Kev, I'm not to worried so much about the curtains, it's my cows that concern me. Had an expert over to try and teach them to get up earlier but he couldn't do it and wanded off muttering something about Qld cows being backward.
FollowupID: 530635

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:51

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:51
Bloody Neanderthals......lol
FollowupID: 530684

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:55

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:55
Who's a Neanderthal??? LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530687

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:42

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:42
The cows of cause, got them from the Territory
FollowupID: 530704

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:47

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:47
I thought it was those rascally South Australians

FollowupID: 530706

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 20:55
Na! couldn't have been them, it's not nice to remind them how far they are down the food chain.
FollowupID: 530731

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:52

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:52
Bugger trying to figure out wether im a welshman or queenslander aint my problem.....am i a lithgow-ite or a nowra-ite??? Born and bred in lithgow but onyl for 5 yrs..the rest o f the time in nowra (being just shy of 20 yrs)......

kiwi....
FollowupID: 530747

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:12

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:12
Kiwi,

It isn't that hard your a Bloody "Kiwi"
Self admitted on this very Forum so don't try and make excuses now LOL

Cheers Zev

FollowupID: 530768

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:30

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:30
Never fear Len,

Wouldn't move to Queensland.
No daylight savings time there and therefore a little backwards for us.

Not a bad state for a brief visit though:-)))

AnswerID: 268136

Follow Up By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:43

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:43
Nil desperandum Mr. S.

While it is to be expected that some inhabitants of QLD will bemoan the commencement of daylight saving, it will as sure as eggs occur given that we will all need the extra time to enjoy the fruits of our endeavors in securing the attractive assets.

A famous Queenslander once (or several thousand times if the absolute truth be known) said - "Don't you worry about that".

DS will eventually come in, hatened in all probability by the revolution whereupon all of us will be sitting in the front row.

Cheers........Len
FollowupID: 530618

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:54

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:54
me too although I dont overly classify birsville as qld and id live there any day of the week

kiiwi
FollowupID: 530748

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 22:00

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 22:00
oi, wasn't that famous queenslander actually a New Zealander...lol
FollowupID: 530751

Reply By: JimDi - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:43

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:43
Len,

As a fellow Qld'er I am going to nominate you for the position of President of Qld if this position ever eventuates. No wonder they say "and perfect the next".

I agree with your comments on the SA water as well. You know what they say about SA water. Too thick to drink,too thin to plow. Perhaps the present Qld govt. could just give the new arrivals a pamphlet on water management and storage principles. Followed by a short multiple choice answer exam.

Keep up the good work.

Jim
AnswerID: 268137

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:46

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:46
G'day Len

I was born in FNQ in Townsville quite a few years back. I left Qld 40 years ago to see how the other half of Oz lived. Since then I have lived in SA, Vic and NSW during these past 40 years but 1 of these days I'd like to come home. Do you think that if I begged and grovelled enough I might be allowed to do that? Mum and Dad are both at rest at Redcliffe so I have to come over the line every now and then to pay my respects to them. I could get family to vouch for me - they live in Cairns and Nanango. I promise that if I'm allowed to come back I will never willingly leave Gods Country again.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 268138

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:47

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 14:47
Lennie,
Do you mind if I call you Lennie?

Lennie, we would possibly have moved to Queensland already, and happily brought some precious water (lite white) from Sydney.
But, well ..we just don't think we coud adjust to becoming Rednecks.
If you like, when we come and visit God's country, we'll bring few bottles of water for you.
Mind you, I think you're right in insisitng that denizens of the ACT should signal well in advance of a planned move north.
AnswerID: 268139

Follow Up By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:05

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:05
John T is welcomed home; the Smudger (I will resist seeking your permission to ask if I may call you Smudge) is welcome to visit at any time. We are after all magnanimous.

I am concerned about your reference to 'rednecks' though. We will gladly own up to being paid up members of the white shoe brigade, but rednecks is these days an unwelcome vision of the past.

If you were to believe the demographer (I accept he was visiting from Canberra) that I heard last Friday, BrisVegas will be the largest city in Gondwanaland by 2049, so you should be nice to us or we may simply take without asking first!

Yours in serenity......L
FollowupID: 530622

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:49

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:49
Smudge, the shire of Bogan is in NSW.

And we're having enough problems providing the infastructure for the non geographically challenged, thanks.

Visit, but if looking for rednecks I suspect you'll be sadly disappointed.
FollowupID: 530681

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:53

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 15:53
Daylight savings is what has buggered everything from rain to droughts, as mother nature does not know if to rain or shine.

Fix that and problem solved.
AnswerID: 268146

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:02

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:02
Another Neanderthal!!!
FollowupID: 530692

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:13

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:13
Willem,

I'll agree on that one LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530769

Reply By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:28

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:28
Ahhh well - It was fun while it lasted you'd have to agree.

Cheers.......L
AnswerID: 268149

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:41

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:41
yeah!

good bye and good luk!
FollowupID: 530644

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:43

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 16:43
I didn't notice anyone ask why. The thought has crossed my mind but the roots are deep in the shire.
.. yeah the other gods country.
FollowupID: 530647

Reply By: deserter - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 17:18

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 17:18
Most importantly - do we let them become Maroon supporters immediately or should they serve some sort of apprenticeship ????
AnswerID: 268157

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:57

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 18:57
They definitely need to serve an apprenticeship, we need someone to pay out on LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 530688

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:00

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:00
Len

I don't know why people get so excited about Queensland

Hot, dry and featureless in the west and almost as many flies as in WA

Overcrowded(mainly Mexicans) on the beaches and coastal towns.

Roads are inferior except around Brisvegas and the GC.

Work is scarce and Queenslanders are reknown for paying low wages

Queenslanders loathe to part with money for any reason.

Politics are dubious to say the least.

BUT its a nice place for a three week holiday in the crowded slurbs where you can get a touch of Asia without really going there....lol

Happy travels Queensland Kev!!!!

AnswerID: 268178

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:05

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:05
Willem,

I am looking forward to finally meeting you at Pyrenees, I am looking forward to my upcoming travels to somewhere in QLD. It will be the beginning of yet another chapter in my life.

FollowupID: 530693

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:25

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 19:25
Yes Kev, new chapters open up all the time. Hope yours is all good.

Hopefully I will make it to the Pyrenees. I am off to the Gold Coast on Friday on a family related matter(need this like a hole in the head) and hope to be back in time to leave for them thar Mexican Hills on 8 November. Driving to the GC in the Softroader via the blacktop.

FollowupID: 530697

Follow Up By: Laura aka diver 1 - Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:57

Wednesday, Oct 24, 2007 at 21:57
80% of people who move to QLD - usually the mexicans...move back to within 200km of where they started....says something i reckon ! ! ! ! !
Kiwi
FollowupID: 530749

Follow Up By: QLD Kev - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:16

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 06:16
Willem,

We are heading for the Pyrenees on the 8th as well but stopping in overnight at Tawonga to let the kids blow a bit of steam off and to give my back a break that it will probably need :))
Then roll in sometime on the 9th

FollowupID: 530770

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:18

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:18
Willem,
Y'know.... after 21 years of living here in Qld.....
I've often thought the same of SA

LOL......
FollowupID: 530772

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:33

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:33
Hmmmmm

Brian, we will be in the Gold Coast area from this Sunday arvo for a week or so. Maybe we can catch up if possible. Email me if you wish through my website below.

FollowupID: 530773

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:19

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 07:19
Len,
Love it all mate!!

But one suggestion.....

perhaps the Kimberleys could be relocated to the stretch between Marlboro and Sarina...... pretty desolate up there and they could use the scenery!

AnswerID: 268237

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:14

Thursday, Oct 25, 2007 at 08:14
You're not vi'ing for the position of "King of QLD" at the upcoming election are you? pretty sure you'd get a few votes with that sprook LOL!! We may even be brothers???? as I think along the same lines.

Before the ringins are permitted to support the mighty maroons they must first complete a challenging boot camp (Lord knows all us original Cane Toad supporters have been through it........many times, some of us). This boot camp involves a week of non stop alcohol induced sledging of the Cockroaches in a sleazy Kings Cross bar whilst still being able to remember and re-tell "the truth" about the boot camp to "She who Matters" upon your return to God's own country. That reminds me, I better re-enrol or I'll miss out on next years camp LOL!!!!

Keep up the good word.
Brothers in arms. Trevor.
AnswerID: 268244

Reply By: Selena - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:47

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:47
Hi Len,
Had a great laugh at your thread, but I must say as a Melbournite looking to move to QLD in the New Year I'm going to miss Day Light Savings unless you can tell me it is still light at 9.00 p.m. in QLD. ???

I'm currently living in rural Melbourne and have 4 x 25,000 gallon tanks Full of beautiful cool rain water. But buggered if I can think of a way to get them to you. Thinking caps on.

Best Wishes
Selena
AnswerID: 268460

Follow Up By: Member - Len H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:57

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 15:57
Hi Selena

The offer of 100,000 GALLONS got me thinking.

For that amount of water, all 3 odd million of us will get ourselves way up north to the Cape pronto; when the east coast tips up at your end, open the cocks on all the tanks and the lot will flow north!

The beauty of this proposal of course is that in the process, we'll inherit all of NSW's as well!

Wonder why we never thought of that before?

On the subject of DS, I regret to say that until we change the QLD Gumints mind, it will remain dark after 7pm.

You are welcome though, you appear to have the appropriate mindset!

Cheers......Len
FollowupID: 531048

Follow Up By: Selena - Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:34

Friday, Oct 26, 2007 at 16:34
hahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahaha,

what a way to finish off the working week- can't stop laughing - THANKS

See ya in QLD!

Selena
FollowupID: 531056