Submitted: Sunday, Aug 10, 2008 at 21:56
Member - Duncs
I am surprised to be asking this question. For years I have known all the
places I want to go. I know how long I need to do each of the trips and have a broad idea of when I will get to do them.
So here is the problem, I have the October school holidays, roughly 10 days, and would like to get out in the scrub. I would like to do a desert trip, maybe the Simpson, or that area but SWMBO suggested Fraser Island, she has always been a beach girl.
The one alternative is to go out through NW Victoria and then down into SE of South Australia. Perhaps
Robe and the Coorong then home along the Great Ocean Rd.
We will be setting off from
Sydney but having lived in
Broken Hill I don't mind driving right past most of NSW, we would happily drive to
Broken Hill or
Hungerford on the first day. If we go to Fraser we would probably lose a couple of days visiting family in
Ballina.
So hit me with some suggestions. I'll consider anything at this stage.
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:49
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 07:49
G'day Duncan
I would be going to Fraser most definitely, with those choices. October is still pretty cool in the DEEP SOUTH and especially along the coast. Could be a tad windy too.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:29
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:29
G'day Willem,
This all started with my desire to have a look at
Googs Track. SWMBO is pretty happy out in
the desert but for some reason she continues to resist
Goog's Track. She asks what there is to see in that area and I say pretty similar stuff to what we looked at in the Simpson it's just a little less known.
I could get to
Ceduna in 2 big days. We don't need to go slow and explore western NSW and the Barrier Highway is not new to us. We would probably need a coffee in the "transit lounge" at
Peterborough but that would be the only mandatory stop.
I have explained how we could do it but that is the one she resists, she lit up when I suggested the Simpson and I reckon it would take us 3 days to get to
Birdsville. Both trips would net similar time in
the desert and the return trip home would be similar in that we would come out of
the desert near
Coober Pedy.
But I think she would still like to go to
the beach, can't work it out I can have her at the beech at Cronulla in about 30 min.
Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:24
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:24
Not enough time to do a simpson trip, can also be very hot, 40+ degrees and uncomfortable travelling
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:33
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 08:33
G'day traveller, as I explained above we don't need to look at western NSW and can travel that part quickly.
We did the Simpson in October a couple of years ago, kived in
Broken Hill for 5 years and have camped along the Strezlecki Track in December. While I acknowledge the possibility of high temps at that time of the year they do not hold the same fear for us as they do for a lot of people.
Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:27
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:27
Traveller2,
With dedication it is enough time. By “dedication” I mean go to starting and from finishing point as quick as you can. Quick here means not overspeeding (no-one can win against THEM), but get up earlier and drive longer. We managed to make Simpson from
Melbourne exactly in a week – 1.5 days to get there, 1.5 days to get home and 4 days in desert. Thus 10 days is plenty. Obviously, if I would have enough spare time I would stop here and there and probably spend extra day or two in desert and definitely evening in
Birdsville. Those who retired have a choice, but for those who work there is no choice – you do it quick or do not do at all – figure out what is better option.
Duncs,
Did you consider
Stockton Beach? Seems like you can have both (sort of, of course).
Serg
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:33
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 09:33
Any school holidays is a good time NOT to visit Fraser. Too many richard craniums around. Gets VERY busy. Probably most good beaches are the same at that time....
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:04
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:04
That's part of my fear for Fraser. Do Qld and NSW School hols line up in October?
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:11
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:11
The QLD holidays are from 20 Sept to 5 Oct incl.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:06
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 10:06
Hi Duncs
Frazer has been more a scenic type
beach drive for us.
SW of
Ceduna at end of
Googs track is a great
beach drive and
play area with some real
sand dunes and even a mangrove lined inlet.
Coorong is the greatest, but not hardest
beach drive I know of, some 200km from
Murray Mouth to
Kingston in a single huge sweeping arc and a couple of tricky bits along the way.
It just has to be done.
But for the lot,
bush camping and biggest sandhill its Western Victoria.
With known , reliable and easy to get to
bush camp spots with and abundance of tracks.
However its short on cappicino opportunites.
If you decide to head that way, we can fill in more details.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:26
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:26
Thanks for the offer of more detail. We did a short trip to
Ceduna and as far west as Fowler's Bay a couple of years ago but missed out on
Googs Track. That is why I am so keen to have a look at it this time.
I'll be in touch if we end up along the SA coast.
Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 11:04
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 11:04
Hi Duncs
I’m assuming there are kids involved if you are doing school holidays? How
well they travel probably dictates the distance you can go…both Fraser and Simpson seem a long way for a week, but given a choice I’d take Fraser at that time of the year.
Other than that, I’d pick somewhere a little closer…..one of our favourites is
parking ourselves along the
Cooper Creek, not a bad spot at that time of the year…
Enjoy.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:24
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:24
The kids are 16 and 15 and will put the
miles away like astronauts. We regularly travel
Sydney to
Broken Hill and back to
Sydney in a week, have done the return trip in just 4 days.
Camped on the banks of
Cooper Creek for a few days is my idea of a short stay in heaven, check my profile and you will see what I mean. The pics were taken in October 2006.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:12
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 16:12
I'm with you Duncs, check my profile that is the
young bloke last year heading up the
Creek in the boat.......camped at
Ski Beach
Love it!
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 13:26
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 13:26
There is a great beach where the
dog fence meets the coast just east of the head of the bight.
Take her there for a swim before heading north to
Cook and across the
Great Victoria Desert to Vokes Cnr, east along the Ann Beadell Hwy, then south to
Googs Track, let her have another swim at Cactus before the run home.
Everbody's happy.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:30
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:30
I like your thinking Bob. She wasn't all that fussed about Cactus last time we were there.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:40
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 14:40
Thanks to everyone who has offered suggestions. Keep them coming 'cause what I don't use this time I will store away for future refernce.
To complicate things I have just had a call from a friend inviting us on a trip down along the
Snowy River with a bit of a crowd. That is just for the last week of the hols. That would leave the first week for a quick scoot out to Nymagee to see some friends band playing at the festival there.
Like I said in the title of this thread So many
places to go, so little time.
Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 17:32
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 17:32
Have you thought about going over to
Moreton Island? lots of tracks
good
camping spots, not as far away as Fraser, easy to get to via
the Vehicle Ferry, will be busy in October Holidays.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:48
Monday, Aug 11, 2008 at 20:48
Duncs,
Big decision, where to go, eh?
What about west to
Bourke,
Cunnamulla thence
Quilpie,
Windorah,
Jundah, then up the back road to
Winton, stopping at
Lark Quarry Dinosaur Trackways, about 107 clicks south of
Winton.
Couple of options from
Winton, down the Diamantina River road to
Diamantina Lakes national
park, or across to
Boulia, then south to
Bedourie &
Birdsville. Night or 2 at the N'
park, then across to
Birdsville, see Ruth & Ian, grab a pie from the
bakery, and maybe down B'ville Track & home via
Broken Hill.
Haven't worked out any distances, so don't know if it's achievable. You can go from
Winton to B'ville in about 8 - 10 hours, but you probably wouldn't stop much.
They reckon plannings half the fun........I dunno. I know planning for retirement has been a real adventure, going to be too busy to scratch myself.....lol.
Have a safe one,
Hooroo,