Member - Mark G (NSW)
gday all
what is your all time favourite
camping spot?
..........and why?
cheers.
Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:50
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:50
There have been many memorable campsites but the one at Sheepyard Flats along side the Howqua River(Vic) always come to mind as a favourite.
I stayed there in xmas in 1993 ,the weather was beaut, the
water crystal clean,and the tranquillity was hard to describe.
Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55
MMM Hairs tells me it's your place and why,cause he can't find he's way home LOL.cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 19:55
Halls Gap in victorias south west, go there every year and can walk thru the surrounding bushlands and rock/mountain climb for weeks, feels like you are on another planet. i do like many many other
places around this wonderful country but this one is so close also. cheers Paul
Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:00
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:00
Manning Gorge. 1996-1998. Had many enjoyable, memorable, romantic moments there when I was younger. Watched one of the commets there
easter 97 I think. Great swimming, awesome falls just after the wet. Great place it was.
Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:06
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:06
Any were in the Flinder's,but not the Pound to commercialized for me and there are heaps of better
camp spots out side the pound.cheer's GREENDOG
Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:06
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:06
Mark,
Any where on a clear nigh,t laying in a swag watching the stars.
Sorry I can't be more specific but as long as I have the
Southern Cross in sight I an a happy camper.
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:11
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:11
Agree with you, Wayne.
I miss not being able to see it over here.
Weather update!
-2 here, just gone 9am.
Heavy snow last night, everything looks lovely covered.
Dennis
Reply By: Dunaruna - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:09
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:09
Windchester, on the Wongungarra River.
Reply By: toyocrusa - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:10
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:10
Hi Mark.We still return to the same place after 41 years.Lake Conjola, NSW South Coast. Just a great place to have a quiet rest,Or get involved in fishing,prawning, campfires,swimming, surfing,
water skiing, bushwalking. Country life with City conveniences.(but try not to tell to many as it is getting more and more popular) Bob.
Reply By: Cruiser .- Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:17
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:17
Mark G,
A little place called Gullmarrad near McLean in NSW.
There is a great private
camping area there, just 1 acre big, but ya can go ferel without any worries.
Cruiser .
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:20
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:20
Trough Well in the WA Goldfields. Check it out in
Places on this site.
The photos are
mine.
History. Peace & quiet. A natural meadow. Plenty of campsites.
Just outstanding.
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:15
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:15
Mate, your really copping it lately.....lol.
Cheers.....Lionel.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:21
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:21
I think it's some form of initiation ceremony for those who upgraded to Lifetime
Membership....
Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:44
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:44
I suppose for us, Cathedral Ranges National
Park near
Buxton in VIC has a special place.
We first went there
well before we were married, and some 27 years on we still have very fond memories.
Haven't been there since our first was born 23 years ago, perhaps we should.
Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:18
Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:18
Ditto - never seen so many stars at night - and Jim - you never got in touch re that old caravan book - still want to have a look?
jules
Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:49
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:49
Isolation, great fishing, perfect sunsets.
And if I told you all where it is the 1st two reasons for going would soon dissapear ;-))
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:51
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:51
looks perfect
Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:11
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:11
I know were it is .
Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:07
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:07
You'd be one of a handful Eric but your web name is a good starting point for others to look :-)
Cheers Craig.........
Follow Up By: Member - Perry H (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 13:21
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 13:21
Looks like the she oak trees at
Cullen Point
Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 19:14
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 19:14
Just to the right of the picture about 100 m there could be a river that has a friendly croc that runs in and out with the tide and an old long drop just behind the camera person.
Reply By: Big Woody - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:57
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 20:57
Rocky River near
Tenterfield in NNSW. 20 years ago
camping on private property with the entire river to ourselves. Used to
camp there every
Easter growing up. Lovely fast flowing fresh
water with great
rock pools and canoeing spots. Gold panning was quite fruitfull some years too.
2nd favourite spot was the top end of Fraser Island 25 years ago. Would
camp for a month and only see another set of wheel tracks on
the beach every second day when camped on
the beach near
Ocean Lake turn off. It was like being the only people on the entire island. Went there last Christmas and it has changed too much. Dont care now if I never go back. The introduction of the boardwalks made it too easy for high volumes of people to get to
Orchid Beach and higher. Was great fun when it used to take 8 hours to get from the Inskip Barge to
Waddy Point.
Favourite spot now is our own secret 1100ha peice of rainforest paradise about 90 minutes from
Bundaberg. Full of wildlife, waterfalls, cliffs, gorges etc. It is very rugged country and would take 4 or 5 days just to hike the
boundary. Now I go
camping every fortnight with no rules about campfires and no risk of being beside annoying campers. Kids are now learning to drive in an old MQ SWB and are also learning about being the caretakers responsible for the long term viability and protection of such a pristine and sensitive environment. It is such an important lesson for the kids to learn that future generations are relying on us to manage the property effectively or it could be lost forever.
BW
Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:11
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:11
Lake Waikaremoana, Urewera National
Park NZ, 34 years ago.
5 mates, 5 canoes.
Spent 10 days exploring every arm, stream and
creek.
Sleeping bags and a ground sheet, we was tuff then.
Chivas Regal was only $11 a bottle.
Rainbow trout for breakfast, lunch and tea.
Swapping trout for fresh wild pork and venison with local hunters.
The
water from the streams, filtered through moss was as sweet as nector.
All the stars in the universe would come and sit over us every night.
Possum spotting with our 'Big Jims'.
Suppose it was a cross between Deliverence and Stand By Me.
Awesome place, and wilderness area, probably filled with caravans, boats, resort and shops now.
Cheers....Lionel.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:11
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:11
Mark,
and like, I'd tell you ......... as if !!!! Hahahahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:01
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:01
Maybe we could all come
camp on your front lawn Al, you just watch out one morning you'll wake up to a couple swags and a dome tent out there hahahahah
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:03
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:03
Ssssssshhhhhh Bonz !!! Trying to keep it a secret.
Reply By: wendys - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:17
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:17
The best is by
Camp Creek on Pungalina Station, NT. Isolated, scenery to die for, a
creek without crocs, heaps of birds, really untouched environment.
Second best -
Seisia, near top of
Cape York.
Views out over Torres Strait and islands to die for.
Third best - Adels Grove, NW Qld - down by
Lawn Hill Creek, in
the Grove.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:21
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:21
All of Australia
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:06
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:06
Hi Willem
I agree with your comment, with the proviso - but not in a city or town.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:45
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 21:45
WellI guess it varies but my best memories are from a
camp at Buandik in the Grampains, its stuffed now with tomber
carpark bits and cordoned off areas but it was idyllic
Follow Up By: Member - Paul Mac (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 09:39
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 09:39
Bonz, Buandik used to be a beautiful area. I remember taking the boys to Buandik back in the early 80's. Camped up there one August weekend and had a scare when the kids went missingin the wee hours of the morning. After a frantic 5 minute search I found them in the stream there playing and splashing around. The
water was FREEZING.......lol
With all those bollards around now its just not the same. Went there in March this year to relive some memories.
I think one place I enjoyed most though was Hattah-Kullkyne NP and
camping around
Lake Mournpool with the boys. We went there every
Easter for about 15 years and the kids used to love kayaking on the
lake or walking through
the desert country. After recently loosing one of my sons I'm glad I have all those memories.
Cheers mate.
Reply By: tazbaz - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:07
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:07
Has to be the Coorong (SA
Murray mouth area) for me but I go there now in trepidation given the low
water inflows as a result of drought and greedy inefficient irrigators upstream!
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:07
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:07
Pennefather River. No road, just a track throught the paper bark
swamp.
If you got bogged someone had to stand on a bonnet looking for mud gecko's while the vehicle got extracted.
No facilities and at peak times maybe 2 or 3 groups that you hardly ever saw!
Fantastic fishing, mud crabs the size of dinner plates, tiger
sharks as long as tomorrow and bloody big mud gecko's!
I was given Ron and Viv Moon's
Cape York book a couple of years ago and apparently the place now has a
ranger station,
camp grounds and a solar shower! That book also reckons there is a
bridge on the Wenlock, go figure!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:12
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:12
Not bad.
All the bset
Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:14
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:14
Hi Mark
This should be an interesting thread.
I agree with Wayne as to the very best. Just to
camp under the stars in some remote location
miles from anyone is the very best Australia can offer.
To pick
places:
This year's favourite was the
King Edward River camp in the
Kimberley. We shared it with others - all good company. The location on a clear
pool of the
King Edward River was delightful. Good swimming, in
the pool and by
cascades, and glorious sunsets.
My favourite on the Eyre Peninsular was
Lipson Cove. We had this lovely bay to ourselves, although the nesting terns are rather noisy. Again the feeling of remoteness.
So many wonderful
places - the few we have been to and so many yet to be experienced.
Reply By: Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:16
Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:16
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:16
Black Springs in the
Coffin Bay National Park does it for me...Crystal clear
water to swim in, excellent
camping area and great fishing...what more could you want...in fact we are heading there for a week or two after christmas....
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:25
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:25
Curtis Is off the coast from
Gladstone Qld. Been 20 yrs since I was there but I would lay money not much has changed, very few venture up the island and
camp. Many go there and stay at a small village on the south end of the island but that is where most of them stay.
I recall a very memorable
camp at Clayton's wetlands down the
Birdsville track with a couple of good mates off this
forum. That is also another spot I would love to go back to, maybe just to revisit a good night on the turps LOL!!
Posting this response from a secluded little spot 15 odd K's from West Wyalong, here with a few mates called Jim and Beam. Stars out, smiley face in the sky from last night is now a sad face (Mars-Venus and the moon) and life can't get much better apart from the fact that I am getting paid to do this :-))
Oh yeah, Cold Chisel playing on the CD player too hehehehehe
CYA Regards Trevor.
Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:37
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:37
Well if i told you that on here then it wouldnt be my favourite for very long would it . Seriously though its fraser in winter . BEEEEAUTIFUL .
Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:47
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 22:47
DRAFTYS
CAMP on the Warren River SW OZ.
Canoeing and Bream fishing on the River, 4wding in the dunes to pristien white sandy beaches with surf and salmon fishing!
dam!! I want to go
camping now, but I'm stuck on a stinkin oil rig!
Evan
Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:02
Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:02
Burdekin River NQ at
the junction of Douglas Ck in the 1980's
Stop in at for a beer on the way at Hidden Valley ... before the place was yuppified.
Poke around the
old mine sites, talk to some of the old miners, good
camping & hiking - peace & quiet.
Like most
places Ive enjoyed around Australia ... not game to go back now and see the "improvements"
Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 02, 2008 at 23:39
Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 00:06
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 00:06
As much as I dont have much to say for SA the best
camping I ever had was on Brown's Beach, Eyre Peninsula, fishing for salmon in winter.
Got there in the arvo, fished, drank port and smoked cigars on
the beach with some mates til very late until swagging it in the dunes with a chandelier of stars - stunning.
Awoke to the sounds of breakers and the most beautiful and crisp dawn I have ever seen and fished some more.
That was a good weekend.
Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 07:22
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 07:22
Anywhere is Aussie is great where you can find a place with peace and tranquility.
We try to explore somewhere different all the time for new ventures.
The beach, the bush or the highlands, it doesn't matter. This holiday break we are going to explore Tassie for just over 3 weeks. Any suggestions on some good
camping areas. We are starting from Smithton and
Arthur River on 25/12 and then down the west coast. Your suggestions would be welcomed. Regards
John & Pill
| Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain! Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: mintabiegeoff - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:37
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:37
My best is a place called Tookaninna
waterhole north of
Oodnadatta where the
Andado track crosses the Alberga. Two km of crystal clear
water, big gum trees and pure, clean
sandy beach. No amenities, no fees, no fences and no one else for 200 km.
Geoff from outbacksecrets.com
Reply By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:47
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 08:47
Pineapple Flat, Howqua river area,
lake Cobbler, Buckland valley........
Not a good way to start the day at work thinking of favourite
camping spots.........will be most unproductive
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:40
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 10:40
Gday all
all these replies are great.........it just goes to show that we live in THE best country in the world for enjoying what we have in Aus.
its just getting out there in the open air with the family and just enjoying it all.
cheers.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 12:51
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 12:51
There are plenty off course but i certainly liked my time at
Kalumburu where the fishing is great.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:25
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:25
Just being "
camping " is a joy, anywhere. I do mourn the fate of my previous all time favourite....on
the beach at Fraser. Our first trip in early 90s saw a pristine place, not a struck match as far as
pollution went. The last time in early 00s saw a rubbish tip,
complete with feral backpackers tearing about day & night, their
excrement & rubbish marking every stop. Hardly a
sign of any
real progress of the human race. I clean every site of as much
rubbish as I can & hope others will do likewise.......oldbaz.
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:36
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 16:36
With you on that one oldbaz ....... sheer laziness for the most part.
The place was even better back in the late 70's - early 80's ... when you were considered an idiot for taking your brand new $12k pride and joy over to play in the salt.
Now that the pride and joys are $80k-$100 ... it seems to be the right thing to do .... lololol
Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 17:31
Wednesday, Dec 03, 2008 at 17:31
i agree, went to
inskip point after we got back from our honeymoon, Teena ( wife) and me plus my sisters 2 youngest went for a week or so
camp, had to clean the area around us first then had to help a guy in a short wheel base get his fourby around with a trailer, then helped a
young bloke with dog fix his truck and help push him out of the sand patch, then taught said
young bloke to drive on sand with reducedt yre pressures, watched six other people get bogged in front and cleaned up any mess we made and others people messes. Teen and i will be up there cause my sisters place will be chocka block with people for chrissy.
If anyones interested in dropping by for coffee/ tea we will be at the
dorrigo camp site, hopefully, as i don't have a fourby, just look for the laser in my
pic's can't miss it or the worlds smallest trailer.
so will be seeing anyone up there??
Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:19
Thursday, Dec 04, 2008 at 19:19
All of the above!!!!! - just out of here!!!!
jules