Tassie during Christmas school holidays
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:06
Member - Norm C (QLD)
We are currently planning a trip to Tassie for early next year. I've put a post on the Caravanners
Forum, but thought I'd post here also due to the different
membership.
Our original plan was to head over to Tassie in early Feb as soon as the school holidays finish and stay for up to 8 weeks. But I'm now thinking we might like to spend more time.
We could potentially add a few weeks before or after the current plan, but the fact that we both hate the cold got me thinking about heading across in December or January. This has prompted a question about being in Tassie for the peak holiday season. Yes I know, Tassie can get cold any time - I just want to play the averages to our best advantage. I'm a Queenslander and in the past few years, we have been heading for NT for the winter months. We are there now, at King Ash Bay.
How crowded are the good free camps and popular
places to visit during the holidays?
Is there an area of the state which would be less crowded that we could focus on until the holiday crowds decrease?
Any thoughts on the best way to potentially extend our stay in Tassie to 12 weeks or more without encountering too much cold weather?
After Tassie, we'll head over to SA, then up through the centre to see out the worst of the winter in the far North again with some fishing.
Norm C
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:45
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:45
Gday Norm, there are plenty of
free camp spots around the nth east and down the east coast.You should be able to find something in the holiday period.I would extend the end of your trip here as the weather seems more stable when the kids go back to school........No truely, March is a pretty good month for
camping.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:20
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:20
Thanks Nick. Original plan was to spend pretty much all of Feb and March in Tas. Now looking at options to extend. It is either before (Jan, possibly Dec - ie school hols) or after (April, possibly into May - ie cooler weather). We chose Feb /Mar based on advice that this is the period with the most stable / pleasant weather. Your comment seems to support this.
Reply By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:54
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 12:54
we love Tassie, haven't been anywhere else last three yrs but longest we've been able to stay has been only two weeks.. so come on retirement or transfer..
it depends on what you call busy, a lot of the touristy type things are busy right up until winter, even during the week,
there's just too many beautiful spots to pick out a few or what sort of hobbies interests etc you have when your not looking around,
one spot is around Huonville/
Franklin area sth east of
Hobart..beautiful spot but not all that far from
Hobart..of course the locals will laugh about
Huonville,
got sunburnt in
Hobart in Feb last yr, different sort of heat there they reckon, been there in Sept, Oct, Feb, April, May and planning on going in Sept again..only time we needed coats was in May this year when we went out at night,
how to make it last 3 months, can't really tell you how to do that.. ya lucky bugger.. but l'd know what we'd do
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:36
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 13:36
Volvo Driver (that's a brave name), you must be more tolerant of cold than me, but that wouldn't take much. Looking at the BOM climate charts, mean temps for
Hobart for April are 17.3 max and 8.9 min. May has 14.4 max and 7.0 min. In my language that is pretty bl@@dy chilly. Inland and higher up would be much cooler I suspect.
Our current winter base has a mean max in low 30s and min in high tens - mid winter. Of course, to see beautiful Tassie, we'll have adapt a bit. But hopefully just a bit.
Looking forward to the trip though. I've been to Tassie a few times on business (cities only), but never as a tourist with plenty of time.
Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:02
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 20:02
Why would the locals laugh about
Huonville,we don't, we come from there, but are currently just south of
Cairns sweating in the FNQ winter.
The best time to visit is Jan, Feb, March, days are generally settled but can cool off in the evenings. You can always find
free camp spots, or for a small fee.
If you get to the Huon Valley give me a ring 0418 517 131
Bas&Pud
Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 23:23
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 23:23
Norm C,
well, yeh we do live in an area ( Vic )that this year has got down to -4, which is colder than
Hobart so we probably won't feel the cold as much as you,
keeping in mind that your winter temps are gonna be higher than it gets in summer in Tassie most of the time, so you will probably think it's freezing when it's 20c or so LOL
Baz & Pud.. the locals l know who laugh about
Huonville are actually in
Hobart, l think it's the old 'next town down the road' joke.. beautiful spot plus the Grand Hotel puts on a good lunch,
Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 15:45
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 15:45
Good day Norm,
You lucky so and so, If you go down in Jan your body will start to adapt as the weather cools off. I am a mad trout fly fisher so frequent the high country down their. Get two down Jackets they are unbelieable, and of course Thermals tops and bottoms. In the last three trips down their in Feb I have only struck one really cold night at Pine tier
lagoon. 3c we where coming home that day and as we got up near little pine their was snow everywhere. Because I live at
Bathurst I would be more use to the cold.
If I could make a suggestion spend some time in the Snowy before going, to get your body use to it
Another suggestion get some fly fishing lessons before going. Peter Haynes downtheir is an excellent teacher and guide. Got an idea he is doing lessons in
Brisbane shortly. Do a google on him.
I have actually found the nights at Tantangra dam to be colder at Xmas then most
places in Tas. Tantangra is in what is termed a frost gully.
A good Tas fishing website is sports fish Tas. Feel free to send me as many mms as you like on info about the fishing.
If you go into a good
camping store and buy cool weather clothes you will be4 right.
Good luck Pete
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:11
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 18:11
We spent Jan,Feb,Mar there 2 years ago and Dec,Jan,feb this year. We found The weather very nice both times of the year. Tassie has heaps of
free camping areas that are very
well set up. It does get busy at times down there at times but we found it pretty good. Don't think we ever got to a spot that was to crowded. There are some great spots along the west coast to
camp.
We have stayed in and would reccoment the following ;
HAMILTON north west of
hobart- free with bbq and $1 showers
KEMPTON north of
hobart - free with donation for power
WESTBURY west of
launceston (behind andy's
bakery) $2 per adult
GOWRIE
park - free south west of
Sheffield
WEST KENTISH - free on east side of
lake Barrington, better than
camp on west side
GREEN POINT - north west coast free right on
the beach, can be windy
ARTHUR RIVER - West coast was $10 a night $40 week or $160 for 6 months good to explor west coast from
MACQUARIE HEAD - south west of
strahan $8 a night amazing spot rough road in
LAKE BURBURY- east of Queens town on edge of lake
LAGOONS BEACH - east coast south of
St Helens no fresh
water supplyFRANKLIN- south of
Hobart $8 a night on road side
Hope these help, prices may have changed now. We catch the boat over on the 12 Sept to spend 2-3 years over there, Let me know when you get over there, drop by if you can.
Josh
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 11:57
Monday, Jul 27, 2009 at 11:57
Thanks for those locations Josh very helpful. I've added them to my list.
Norm C
Reply By: Member - KC (TAS) - Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:43
Saturday, Jul 25, 2009 at 22:43
Hi Norm, If you are here and the weather is on your side, do the West Coast.
It can be very cold here for no apparent reason, over night. Or it will rain just for something to do. If you get good weather seize the moment.
If it is ordinary do the North West Coast, Lots to see here, weather here can be middle of the road, wind may be your enemy close to the
water on the wrong days.
if it gets cold go over to the East Coast. This will be the warmest place to be if things go bad for you.
That would be my pick. good luck with the weather. Hope it's good for you.