cb radio

i am planning a trip through the center, sydney to darwin across to queensland and back down the coast to sydney. I tow a windsor windcheater with a nissan 3lt patrol so most of trip will be on hard road. do you think i really need a cb radio and if so where would be the best place to fit the unit? also the wife wants to take our pet pug with us do you thing it would restrict us much on our travels?

Dick

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:45

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:45
Get a GME uhf radio, very handy to have , ICOM is another good brand but complicated if your new to CB's as for a place to mount the best is the one with a remote head, If you have a roof console mount it there,
Take your precious little mate, he'll have a ball, they can be a problem though when going shopping, can't leave them in locked in the car, and keep him/her on a leash so it don't get run over,
check the links here for GME radio's

TX3420 Remote Head
TX4400

AnswerID: 386144

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:00

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:00
thanks Doug
been looking at a gme 3100 very small unit just not sure where it will go yet. also do you know if there is a good dog kennel in Darwin so we could leave him for a while when we see kakadu
dick
FollowupID: 653703

Follow Up By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 07:26

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 07:26
Hi Dick
I agree with Doug, take your little mate with you. We took our two, with us for 2 yrs around Aus. When you want to look at National Parks we hooked up with others travelling with dogs, we looked after their's for the day (or two) then they looked after ours.
I worked for us.
Neil
FollowupID: 653786

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:42

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:42
Hi Neil
looks like he is coming with us i didn't really want to leave him behind. we have always taken him on our other trips which were for only 3 to 4 weeks at a time and he was no problem. I have bought camps 5 so intend to free camp a bit on this longer trip
thanks for help
dick
FollowupID: 653822

Follow Up By: Troppo Tom (Virginia, N.T.) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 21:37

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 21:37
Hi Dick,

Helga's at Virginia have a very good reputation as a pet hotel.

Tom
FollowupID: 653890

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:14

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:14
Can't go past GME. I Have the TX3400 with remote head,The main body is behind the dash & just the remote on the console.
Cheers Dave...

GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 386148

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:25

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 16:25
thank for the photo dave

i was thinking the same spot only not sure if lighter and power supply will be covered also i have switch to dump fuel from sub tank to main tank there.
dick
FollowupID: 653707

Follow Up By: Member - Angus E (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:01

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:01
If yours is a newer (2005 or later) Patrol, there is still plenty of room to access the fuel switch and 2 spare switches. My identical GME is mounted in the same spot and I have easy access to the 2 accessory sockets and the fuel and air compressor switch.

There should be a blank switchpanel to the right under the hazard light which is where I mounted the microphone holder so as not to drill the dash itself.
FollowupID: 653771

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:15

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 23:15
My 3420 is in the same position but in the middle instead of being ofset to the right.. great radio.. but it has a bit too much junk you will never use. Michael

FollowupID: 653773

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:35

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:35
hi Angus
yes mine is a late 05 model but as you said it should fit and still allow me to get to power and switch so it looks like its going there, thanks for your help
Dick
FollowupID: 653819

Reply By: Just Cruisin - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 19:00

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 19:00
Dick,

UHF radio will come in very handy.

Click on this link below and you will see where we have mounted ours in our Patrol.

Radio Mounting

Mick & Sally
AnswerID: 386166

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:38

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:38
hi Mick & Sally
looks good there but i did not want to pull out my radio c/d player think i will put it under by power supply
Dick
FollowupID: 653821

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 08:26

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 08:26
Sorry...I did forget to answer your enquiry re dog kennels,

Links here

Boarding Kennels Darwin

AnswerID: 386215

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:45

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:45
thanks Doug
might catch up when we get up there
Dick
FollowupID: 653823

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:37

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:37
G'day Dick
Please note that it's a UHF you want, not a CB - different critters.
Also if you don't think you'll use it much just buy a hand held. My son bought one (either GME or Uniden - can't recall) not long ago. 2 watt unit with rechargeable batteries for just over $100 - worked very well on a recent outback trip we did. No installation issues, batteries lasted for ages (will also take disposables), good range, heaps of features . No point spending $300+ if you don't really need to!
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 386266