Single Gal adventures through Red Centre to the West Coast

Submitted: Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:03
ThreadID: 80735 Views:5103 Replies:7 FollowUps:13
Hey fellow adventurers,
I am looking at travelling from Townsville through to Alice Springs then back up to Darwin and down to Perth. No time limits. No worries.
Will be cruising in my new Nissan Navara, with extended fuel tank and full bull bars and my swag keen for the starry skies. I plan to leave in early October.
Just wondering if anyone has any "must see / must do's" and any valuable advice for a first time Aussie trekker?

Thanks heaps
Melissa

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:25

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:25
Hi Melissa, sounds like a great adventure. You will be aware that your journey
may take in the wet season & this will mean road closures & very hot conditions.
Also the number of fellow travellers will be low, particularly on the less
travelled sections. However, with good preparation, due consideration of conditions, & the right gear aboard you
should have a ball. Good luck with it......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 427367

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:30

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:30
Thanks Oldbaz,
I was hoping to spend the wet season in Perth, I'm pretty sure it didn't really start the massive downpours until after Xmas? Not too sure, perhaps someone was there around that time? Do you have any suggestions for "the right gear on board"?
FollowupID: 698104

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:56

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 13:56
Gday Mellissa,
Here are a few places to see around the Centre. Eringa is the furthest out but its a great spot.
There are plenty more but theses would be the "must see's" not too far out of your way I guess.
They should all be on maps, but if you have trouble finding them, yell out.

Eringa Waterhole
Chambers Pillar
Ayres Rock ( just to say you've seen it)
Kings Canyon
Running Waters
Boggy Hole
Palm Valley
Eastern and Western Macs
Glen Annie and Ruby George
Policeman's water hole (Old Police Station waterhole)
Annas Reservoir

Hairy
AnswerID: 427368

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:16

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:16
While at the Rock I would highly recommend the Olgas as well.

Good luck with the move Hairy.

Fred.
FollowupID: 698045

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:47

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:47
Yeah....I second that.

Cheers Fred
FollowupID: 698052

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:31

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:31
Wonderful, much appreciated. I'll pop all of those on my map.
FollowupID: 698105

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:19

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 14:19
Hi Melissa

With no time limits and no set-in-stone itinerary, you will have a ball. My blogs from 2008 cover some of the areas around Alice Springs, and the Kimberley in WA, with the Gibb River Road being a highlight. The following year we toured north from Alice Springs to Darwin (with highlights including Kakadu and Litchfield NPs) then on through Qld. I haven't completed my blogs as yet. Are you going to Alice via the Plenty or the highway via Mt Isa?

AnswerID: 427372

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:33

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:33
Hi Motherhen,
Yes, I'll be travelling the Plenty Highway. No use doubling back. I'll have to check out your blogs, thanks for the tip!
FollowupID: 698106

Reply By: whisky_mac - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:35

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 18:35
Going a different direction Mel, water, take more than you need always, you can go a month without food but you need water, always tell people were you are going and when you expect be there, never, never ever leave your vehicle. Searchers can see a vehicle but have trouble seeing a person under a bush.

Have a really good time and enjoy the trip.
AnswerID: 427390

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:35

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:35
Thanks WhiskeyMac,
I'll ensure to double my original ration. You can never be too careful. Especially in our wonderful arid landscapes. Thanks for the advice.
FollowupID: 698108

Reply By: Chipsy - Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:22

Monday, Aug 16, 2010 at 21:22
rainbow valley out of alice springs is one of my favourites. funny that boggy hole makes the list above. a long time ago I lived at hermannsburg and we camped at boggy hole a fair bit, there was never anyone else there. a couple of weeks ago I heard reports of 54? I think poeple camped down there all at once.
bitter springs at mataranka is nice camping by the river.
edith falls is beautiful.
Umbrwara gorge.
there are so many places that you are bound to stop at wonderful spots.

AnswerID: 427401

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:38

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 08:38
Wow, hope I don't run into the party of 54. I'm looking forward to a little solitude with my Australia. I'll make special note of Boggy Hole. Thanks for the exrta tips, I can't wait to begin with all this wonderful advice
FollowupID: 698109

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 10:10

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 10:10
I wouldn't be to deterred about the 54 people thing....in the 50 odd times Ive been to Boggy Hole the crowds of people have never been a real issue.

Sure if you go Easter long weekend you might bump into a Mob from Alice but the waterhole is over 1/2 km long usually so Ive never seen it too bad. You do get the occupational load of backpackers too, but they generally have a dip and keep going. Boggy Hole is no where as near as crowded as most places as its a little harder to get in....but face it tourist attractions attract tourists?

I wouldn't camp at Boggy Hole personally as there are a lot better places along the track but the drive from the the Ernest Giles road through to ( Boggy Hole) Hermannsburg is one of the best around...Running Waters which is on Aboriginal land is a much better campspot cleaner water more yabbys and shade.
Its definitely got busier and easier to get in these days but its certainly not something you would avoid. In fact I reckon you would be mad to miss it....like I said....Ive been down that track dozens of time and went back only a few weeks ago.

Ill post some photos below.

Just my opinion.

Ps. You cant drive all the way into Raindow Valley any more either, its about a km walk.

Hairy
FollowupID: 698117

Follow Up By: Chipsy - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:04

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:04
Im sure it would still be worth checking out, and yes, the actual boggy hole isnt as beautiful as the drive in and yes there is pleanty of space to camp all the way along, Im just amazed at how things change.
we lived in the burg 99-01 and there was floods that whole time which made it harder to access but there was almost never anyone else there. maybe one other group one time. such great memories. I should see if I have any old photos too.
FollowupID: 698165

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:51

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 19:51
Ahhhh....what were you doing at he Burg? Was Handy there then? Jiarana? Selwyn would have been?????
FollowupID: 698199

Reply By: aka - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 09:01

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 09:01
Dont miss the Daley Waters pub
AnswerID: 427435

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 10:50

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 10:50
Birthday Waterhole

The rest are around Running Waters ( South on the Finke river from Boggy Hole) taken a few weeks ago.

AnswerID: 427441

Follow Up By: Ad adventurum - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:58

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 12:58
Fantastic, thanks Hairy - keen as to get started now!!
FollowupID: 698129

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:09

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 13:09
No worries mate......Ive lived in Alice for the past 20 odd years and are just about to leave.
If you want more photos or info on less touristy spots or directions yell out.

Hairy
FollowupID: 698132

Follow Up By: Chipsy - Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:05

Tuesday, Aug 17, 2010 at 17:05
beautiful photos Hairy, amkes me homesick for the centre.
FollowupID: 698166