Aboriginal Knowledge and Experience

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 01:47
ThreadID: 81889 Views:9153 Replies:28 FollowUps:68

There seems to be a lot of negativity within many forums, this one included, when it comes to Aboriginal people. Guess what, everyone has red blood within the same grouping.

If people put the time aside to speak to Aboriginal people, sit down and have a cuppa with the mob, then you may be more than pleasantly surprised as to how much sharing can be experienced. You could also find out the best fishing spots, the best spots for bird watching, the best spots for sunset photos, all the general stuff.

When you do this, the kids will often come running and want to know who you are and where you are from, all the normal questions for kids in remote areas. You could easily learn how nature talks to people, what to look for that will indicate what the weather is going to be like, which plants will tell you that water is close by, which berries, nuts and roots are edible.

Where I live most of the Walmajarri and Martu people didn't see a person with white skin until some 30 years ago, and unfortunately because of mistreatment at the hands of so called missionaries, they are still extremely suspect of people they do not know. Once someone walks up and offers a handshake, you know the universal sign of "hello", the people are then a bit more secure about talking.

I know that some people are going to have their noses put out by what I am saying, that is simply not my problem. If people want to travel extremely remote areas, then the local tribal people are the experts, and why not get what knowledge you can, but just being a normal person and approaching the people the same as you would anyone else.

Okay, I have opened the can of worms, now come the responses.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 04:54

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 04:54
Marc

I totally agree with you.
I used to be negative, then I thought, what the heck, we are all people and must learn to live together. Colour and race have nothing to do with it....
An Idiot is an adiot, no matter what !
Having said that, I have basically no fear walking into a community.
Try walking alone into a lot of areas of Melbourne, and espacially with my Mrs....

From another perspective, all a lot of my people want to do is learn about the Aboriginal people, and one way in which would be of benefit, is to run a lot more of the "meet the people" or "meet my tradition",... which is not as evident as maybe it should be, in many of the communities. And that is a shame, because when it does happen, it's great.
Since travelling the outback I have meet many brilliant Aboriginal people, and would never have a problem sharing a meal with them, at my place.

AnswerID: 432948

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:07

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:07
Hi Bucky

Cheers mate, nobody should have any fear walking into a remote community. The reason that there not a lot of "meet my people" or "meet my tradition" anymore is simple, some people decided to write a variety of books and embellish the facts.

Tribal people are more scared of white people than the other way around, and even though such times are over, there was some evil events. One of the Elders in my wifes family bears whip scars on his back, 6 scars for six slices of bread that he pinched. The old man doesn't hold any grudges though, he laughs because he reckons they would have killed him if they knew how many loaves he had pinched when he couldn't feed his family.

The same old man is always happy to sit down with anyone over a cuppa tea and have a chat, just don't judge him for the state of his clothes.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 703727

Reply By: Bushranger1 - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:04

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:04
100% agree with you!

On my travels I have met some great Aboriginal families & groups. I remember sitting down with a group of them in the main street of Kunnunara & 2 hrs later getting up & feeling that I really got something out of the time we spent together. In fact I have to say I learnt a lot more from them than sitting down with my friend & disscussing the footy!

Sure they have their social issues but so do lots of white people who live along the coast. In fact I can think of some very disfunctional relatives that I have!

I recall a time that we had an American visitor to our company & I overheard a conversation between my boss & him. Basically our visitor wanted to meet a group of Aboriginals but my boss said that it was a waste of time because all they want to do is lay about drinking. That was the last straw. At that point I saw red & asked him what the difference was of him coming in with a hangover every Monday having had a bender around the pool! He just did not see how hypocritical he sounded with his comments.

Even though this can be a very touchy subject I reckon its great that it is being discussed on this forum.

AnswerID: 432950

Follow Up By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:58
I'm not trying to be smart, but do you still work for the same boss.

Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

FollowupID: 703724

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:10
Hi Bushranger

You are right and what you have mentioned covers just about every race, creed and colour in the world. There are those who are a disgrace to the Aboriginal Race simply by their obnoxious behaviour in towns and cities, but get the nsame people away from the grog and into the bush, and you will see different people.

FollowupID: 703729

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:23

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:23
Marc,

Don't disagree with your comments at all, but there is an entirely separate "group" that is the root of most problems encountered by us "white people".

The problems most travellers experience is with the groups of people who live in "no man's land". The group of people who, by their own offensive behaviour, are not only shunned by us white folk, but have been ostracised by their own tribal communities.
It is these groups of people that we all see when we drive into places like the Alice, Katherine and many other places around the Country. The folk who exist on the "daily special" at the local grog outlet and cause all sorts of problems for themselves, the people they are with and anyone else who passes near by.

Bill.

AnswerID: 432951

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:14

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:14
Hi Sand Man

No problems at all with your comments there, and unfortunately it is completely true.

Give you a little bit of knowledge, there is an incredible level of Type II Diabetes amongst Aboriginal people now, as the metabolism is not adapted to the suagr in the grog. So called nutritionalists years ago told the people to use raw sugar instead of refined sugar for their health, and forgot to tell the people that it is still the same thing, hence the Diabetes went even worse.

FollowupID: 703730

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:59

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 07:59
Hi Marc
Yes, I agree with you, we had some good experiences talking with Aboriginal people, when we we travelling. One thing that created great interest with them, was that we were travelling with two white maltese x poodles, (white fluffy dogs) which most found quite amusing.
Neil
AnswerID: 432953

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:16

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:16
Hi res.q.guy

Two dogs that small and they didn't get chomped on, goodness you are lucky. Seriously thanks for that, I have no idea of the dogs that you are talking about, but apparently they are little things.

FollowupID: 703733

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:07

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:07
Good post Marc .....

Aboriginals are no less worthy of respect than any other race ... and I despise anyone who takes a set against an aboriginal ... just because they are an aboriginal.

Had a lot of aboriginal mates in west Qld back in the day ..... Also have enjoyed the company of quite a few fellas, whilst on trips across the top end .... and the interesting, "genuine" tales they were able to tell in relation to traditional lifestyles.

I particulary remember one comment from some ol scarred up kimberley fellas about 20 odd years ago about how that "rubbish art" as they described it ..... was not aboriginal.

Amazing how times change huh ???? ... Now Bradshaw figures are SOOOOOOOO aboriginal.

Theres some valid reasons for the negativity .... but not the racism.
AnswerID: 432955

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:20

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:20
Hi OzTroopy

Them scarred up fellows as you describe them are the ones who carry the law and the traditional stories, so you did well travelling with such esteemed people from an ancient race.

Yes there are valid reasons for some of the negativity, but that is no excuse for people tarring everyone with the same brush. Some of the art today is complete crap, it is done to get a quick dollar and no time is spent giving the actual definition of the art, normally because the "artist" has no idea anyway.

FollowupID: 703734

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:17

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:17
Well done, Marc, for having the guts to even post this.

My experiences with the limited amount of outback travel I have done have always been positive. Sadly, the 'industry' is what spoils it for many.

May you gain some good from the positive responses you will receive to this post, and ignore the rest.

Jack

The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 432957

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:25

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:25
Hi Jack

It hasn't taken any guts to do this, just being out and out annoyed. If people wish to be negative, I hope they have checked their own area first, and their own backyard.

Of course racism and negativity will always exist, because people are so damned inferior and insecure within themselves that they are scared to learn the truth.

FollowupID: 703737

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:21

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 08:21
Hi Marc
Sometime the negativity has been brought around from both sides of the fence. I always treat everyone the same, both black and white with a common ground of friendship.

Years ago a small family group of aboriginals came into our takeaway shop that we owned. Some people asked why I went up to them and started talking to them, it is just my nature. They were from the APY Lands in the very far north west of our state and I built up a good friendship with them, to the extent that every time that they came through Clare, they would stop and drop into my shop, have a feed and a friendly chat. At the time I did not know it, but he was an Aboriginal Elder and did some important work up in Umuwa.

Over time we met more and more people from his Community when they passed through Clare. When we sold the shop, we were invited up to see Leonard and his family. I knew that it was impossible to get permits to travel through the APY Lands and Leonard told me to put my permits in, pay the required fee which was them $10 per person and around 6 weeks later we received our approved travel permits as you wait for it..."Family Visit" was the reason that was given for our visit.

We did head up there and see Leonard and his family and were able to travel from one side right through to the WA side with no problems at all. We were also invited to attend the APY Games as family friends as well.

That was one visit that we will always remember for many reasons and to this very day I am able to get up there and see some of the many people that we know that are still living up there.

AnswerID: 432958

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:37

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:37
Hi Stephen

From what you have just explained you are family to us, as the Leonard that you have discussed is my wife's grandfather from her mothers side, assuming you know how extensively Aboriginal families range.

We live at the Mulan Aboriginal Community (Lake Gregory WA), and if you ever come this way, contact me first and you will not be paying permits.

FollowupID: 703738

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:21

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:21
Hi Marc and others,

Yes there is some negativity and perceived hostility out there to Aboriginal people. Sadly most of the proponents of such are misinformed (don’t have all the facts) or haven't been out with them and stopped to talk.

We, and I generalise here, tend to evaluate things from a white mans perspective and don't understand or maybe want to understand that the Aboriginal people look at things differently. Yet we expect them to look at our things our way.

I'll remember my one week trip earlier this year with Georgina Brown, a Martu woman from the Wiluna area, for as long as I live. I was shown the most incredible things with regards to bush tucker, tracking, plants, animals and stories about her childhood; before she came in from the desert in the late 1970s. It was just amazing.

Marc I would like to thank you on behalf of ExplorOz forumites for explaining and steering the debate with regards to whether some of the Killagurra photos should be removed or not. It was a good discussion and there wasn’t any 'attacking the man'. Well done Marc (and everyone else) and I hope we meet up one day.

cheers to all,

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 432962

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:43

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:43
Hi Phil B

Georgina Brown is yet again related to my mother-in-law, actually we are not sure if she is still alive or not, but she would not be all that old yet.

Although you express thanks, such is not required, I simply always approach things with facts, if I don't know then I will say that.

I however thankyou sincerely for sharing what you learnt and discussed, hence verifying what I have said, that I find extremely pleasing.

FollowupID: 703740

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:36

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:36
Hi Marc,

Again well done on your patience and responding to each and post. As you have seen most of us are undertsanding and rseopectful.

Re Georgina or George as she likes being called. She is alive and well, and has children and grandchildren. G spends most of her time at Patjar northish of Warburton and Yallala east of Wiluna (sorry not sure about the spelling).

You may not be aware that a book has been written about her 'Born in The Desert".

Go to
http://www.hesperianpress.com/booklist/b_title_2.html
to see more about how to buy a copy if interested.

Also she has become a respected artist with many being sold to overseas.

all the best
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 703835

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:08

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:08
Hi Phil

Have no doubt that I will buy a copy of that book, and have a great read I am sure

FollowupID: 703840

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:34

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:34
Spot on Marc!

Like someone else above said, too often we judge the whole race by the few we see in Alice or Coober or wherever.... the ones constantly waiting for the pub to open. Sad for them, but the reality is they seem to accept that as their lot in life. In Coober Pedy, I was told that you don't see the "real" aborigines... they're too busy at work or doing family things that all families do!

We spent 7 weeks this year touring the outback and I came to realize a lot of things, and amongst those things was the aboriginal people. After seeing Kings Canyon, Uluru, Kata Tjuta amongst many other highlights, I think I understand just a little better why they are sacred to the traditional owners. Such awesome beauty! No wonder they feel the way they do! And the people we met in places like Birdsville for instance, Dan Rowlands is the local ranger, and he is a thorough gentleman! Several other stockmen that I had the pleasure of saying G'day to in Birdsville also were thorough gentlemen. A trip through the town of Fincke, where everyone we saw waved and said G'day!!

We also learnt of the work that the good folk at Kings Creek Station, NT, are doing for the local Ukaka clan, a most worthy cause that we are trying to help support.
Check out Conways Kids CLICK HERE to read more about it. Ian and Lyn Conway are doing great things for their neighbours and I for one applaud them! There's a lot more to that story, but that'll do for now!

Anyways, after all that, I certainly have a new respect for these people.

Good post Marc!!

AnswerID: 432965

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:41

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 09:41
Obviously that link didn't work.....

Try this link

And according to the preview function neither will this one.....

Something wrong with EO methinks

copy-and-paste this to your browser if it doesn't

www.conwayskids.org.au

FollowupID: 703719

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:44

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:44
Brian,

You need "http://" in the URL address for it to work it seems. ;)

www.conwayskids.org.au

An interesting website and worthwhile cause, thanks for the link.

Hope that helps,
FollowupID: 703741

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:46

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:46
Hi Brian

We have no familiarity with the area that you are talking about, and I couldn't get the link to work, but thankyou so much for sharing that and your wonderful experience. Hopefully others will sit, have a chat and learn the true facts.

What you say about the Conways sounds fantastic.

FollowupID: 703742

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:44

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 07:44
Andrew,
Many thanks for that tip. I had forgotten how important that is!! For the life of me I couldn't figure out what I was doing wrong!! LOL.... Anyways, this one here WILL work, and many thanks also for posting the CORRECT link in your follow-up. Much appreciated.

I Think I've got it now!

Marc Luther,

You're welcome. I am a firm believer of the old adage "There's Good And Bad In Everyone!". Saw some white Australians on our trip that I definitely would NOT want to be associated with!!
The link in this follow up works, as does Andrew's link. When you have a spare moment, have a look at the site. The quotes by the kids are what make it all worthwhile!!!

FollowupID: 703873

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:56

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 10:56
Hi Marc,

The two cultures are so vastly different that a 'natural' form of suspicion exists between them. As previously stated, its cultural rather than racist.

I can be accused of being very negative in the past and a quick read of a few archived threads will reveal this. Sadly, something I cant change. All my experiences with aboriginals have been with the 'urban' mobs and not that positive. However, more recently, I have had the opportunity to talk to a number of Elders in town and am now beginning to understand the culture a little more.

As far as remote communities, I have not, as yet, visited any but I would expect them to be a wealth of knowledge, cultural, traditional and survival. Thats where they live, their turf so to speak.

I personally feel that this current climate of political correctness, all the associated legislations, acts of parliament, race relations etc have put more barriers up than taken down. They seem to be inferring one culture is more precious than another, hence the perceived negativity.

I think you will find that most sit somewhere in the middle. Sure there will be the odd redneck racist trying to do as much damage as the naive condescending do-gooder. Both in they minority I hope.

Cheers......Lionel.
AnswerID: 432973

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:50

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:50
Hi Lionel A

No need to change what you may have written in the past, that is gone and no reason to bring it back. If people can change from mtheir own eyes and ears, what else matters.

Many Aboriginal people in the cities and towns do not have the rightful skills and survival knowledge, and that in itself is a crying shame. Many others simply prefer the flash clothes and flash cars and could not live in the areas that their foprefathers lived in, unfortunately.

FollowupID: 703743

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:16

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:16
Marc,
As other have said, well done.
In our limited travels we have come across some wonderful Aboriginal people and have had some wonderful discussions with them.
Can remember running into one chap in the Flinders Ranges, and once he realised we were from Tassie he started talking about a trip he had down here
and mentioned places he had been to here, some of which we at that stage hadn't been to.
The part we don't like is when you get to a place like Coober Pedy and you are approached by some one who calls himself "Johnnie Walker" and he wants a couple of dollars for you know what.
We don't think you have opened a tin of worms at all.
It takes a lot of people to keep the world going around and there are good and bad in all races and countries.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 432977

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:53

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:53
Hi Baz

Thanks for the response mate. As you said, all people have to do is be prepared to sit and have a chat, and they could gain some incredible knowledge and have a good experience. The people learn at the same time, and that can only be positive.

FollowupID: 703744

Reply By: Honky - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:22

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:22
I am sorry to say that my experience has been in the negative.
I travel a lot of NSW which may be different than other states and have seen and experienced a lot of racism but not towards aboriginals but by aboriginals and the industry including government departments.
I have seen a lot of so called "positive" descimination that has no bearing on culture.
When the courts consider the a white c to be a personal attach but a black c to be racist there are a lot of laws that differ depending on who you are.
Everyone is created equal but some are more equal than others.

Honky
AnswerID: 432978

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:56

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:56
Hi Honky

Sorry to hear your experiences to be negative. I reckon that nobody is a "c" to start with, and the skin colour should make no difference what so ever, but we can't change everyone.

Blame the politicians for a lot of the political correctness, as the legislations does differ and it should not.

FollowupID: 703746

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:58
Yep .... from experience ... NSW is definitely leading the way in terms of propogating negativity.
FollowupID: 703747

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:33

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:33
Good post Marc. 50 or so years ago I wondered why we never had Australian "Stuff" taught in our schools & shown on the media. To this day there is not enough info being taught to our children about Australia. I sometimes do get cranky at the term Indigenous....well I am native to this country but unlike our aboriginal friends I do change colour at times!! Some of the Dreamtime stories I was told as a child I still remember. As a young man of 16 years I had the fortune to meet an Aboriginal man in the Barmah Forest in Victoria. We were camped there and because I did not have parents and was basically a "street kid" (yes even in those days...circa 1966) I was shown everything there was about the forest by this lovely man & I even had a ride in his dug out canoe. THe Murray was in flood & the beauty of the place was even more spectacular when shown things that "looking without seeing" I would never have known existed. We must educate our children at a young age to appreciate this country,it's people & history.
AnswerID: 432980

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:59

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 11:59
Hi OREJAP

We are in agreeance, the word Indigenous sucks, and it stands to show that someone is different, and what a load of craop that is.

Thanks for sharing your experience with the man in the forest, that would have been absolutely mind bowing.

FollowupID: 703748

Reply By: Wilko - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:27
Hi Marc,

Ive had some bad experience with aborigines in the past but I believe with every prob we need to take the colour out of it. If someone is a clown they are just that and not a black clown or a white clown I like to treat people like they treat me. I agree with breaking the ice but have noticed this with other cultures in Africa and particular PNG.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 432984

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:35

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:35
Hi Wilko

Love your attitude, treat people as they treat you, and the same comes back, people should treat you as you treat them.

FollowupID: 703763

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:32

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:32
Funny, I haven't picked up on negativity in these forums towards indigenous people. I'm sure the moderators would remove any inappropriate comments, heck they are prettty fast nowadays. I believe like most people that you treat everyone on their merits, you will always get the good and the bad so take that as it comes. I agree with the rest of your comments in terms for sure.
AnswerID: 432985

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:39

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:39
Hi TerraFirma

Aways enjoyed your posts.

I have seen a couple of negative posts, but I did not say just this forum, and I will acknowledge that the moderators here do a dmaned good job.

I can be a bad mongrel as well. I do not drink alcohol, as I have seen how absolutely stupid and obnoxious others can be after drinking it.

FollowupID: 703766

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:55

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:55
Hi Marc, Agreed. LOL have a great day..
FollowupID: 703771

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:52

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:52
Hi Marc & all involved in this can of worms. I always say that there is the good & the bad in all walks of life.
In most of the bad cases it's the booze, drugs & boredom. Katherine, Coober Pedy, Pt Augusta & The Alice being Prime examples.
We love a chat with tribal Elders but not a drunk person being black or white annoying us at a special celebration meal on our holidays.
Hubby has worked with and we have spoken with many very pleasant Aboriginal people.Both young & old.

I think that there is still a lot of bitterness out there because of what was done to the Aboriginal people & they have reason to be bitter.
So do we, people seem to have forgotten what was done to our convicts, some of whom were truely bad, but young girls convicted for stealing as you say six pieces of bread.
They were sent out in the same ships as the real scum and raped all the way!
Horrendous stories also in the convict camps in Aust.
Those days are long gone and we're a new generation of Australians & we're trying to make a mend to the bad things which were done by other people.

I'd like to see these two subjects taught in all schools so that the next generation understand Australia's early history. Maybe if future generations know both sides of the story & work towards an Australia with far more understanding.
Hubby was made a special member of the Luritja tribe South of the Alice.
On one occasion an Elder said to us that this change will not happen in our lifetime . I mean no offence in what I've said. Take care, Bye,Ma
AnswerID: 432986

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:15

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:15
P..S., I ran out of room. I agree with many of the statements made. I have a purple & white skin!( Port wine stain). Take ou t the colour reference .
The government has rdeiculous rules as Lionel said and with the do-gooders, have put up more barriers.
As said in a previous post an Ab.P.O. had been putting up all theses keep out signs but had also removed the direction signs!
Also I agree that all Australians aren't treated equally, as one of you have already stated.
Take care, safe travels Ma.
FollowupID: 703758

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 14:10
Hi Pa & Ma

My congratulations to your husband for his tribal inclusion.

Yes, the barriers that have been put into place by various loegislations and do-gooders are terrible, but as I said, the universal sign of "hello" is a simple handshake, and that is also a great acknowledgement of equality.

We have seen people washing their hands after shaking hands, guess they must think that being black is contagious, what a laugh.

FollowupID: 703774

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:28

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:28
Hi Mark Luther, thanks for that.
I also should have congratulated the Ranger at Birdsville and also the Aboriginal Rangers at Balcanoona in the Gammon Ranges.
I have no doubt that there are many other Rangers out there who are just as good. Just fantastic blokes with a wonderful sense of humour too.

Sadly I"m guilty of washing my hands after an encounter with a very drunk Aboriginal woman at Fitzroy crossing. Her hands were covered in snot,she was chewing black tabacci which drizzled all over the car & my hands. It didn't matter what colour she was but she was a filthy mess.
I should have called the Police after washing my hands though , because we later saw her weaving her way up the main road and staggering in front of a road train who miraculously managed to miss her.
We didn't know who else to ring, the Police seemed a bit harsh for her. Her boyfriend had just dumped her and she was heartbroken.
We couldn't convince her to go and lay down & sleep it off. They've put time restrictions on the sale of alcohol now but if you ban it then you're called racist.
The first one is fine but as with the white people, it is how much more they have after that which causes the problem. I'm not a tee totaller either & this is a problem everywhere in towns . The violence that is worsening is being fuelled by drugs and or alcohol, it doesn't matter what race they are.
Take care, safe travels.
Bye Ma..
FollowupID: 703801

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:46
Hi Ma

You may like to know, on the decision of the Walmajarri Elders in Fitzroy Crossing, full strength alcohol and spritis have been banned. Since that has happened, domestic violence has decreased, children are getting properly fed and clothed, and going to school, so it was a good decision.

By the way, next time you see a woman in that state, ring the police, I would. You could be saving her life, unfortunately recent enquiries have found that drunk depressed people have been committing suicide mopre than others. By the way, you obviously needed to wash your hands, I would not have hesitated to push her away from my vehicle and make her go home, but then I can be a mongrel and very intolerant of such crap behaviour.

FollowupID: 703822

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:37
Hi again Marc,
Thanks for letting me know about Fitzroy crossing. IKt's good to hear that it seems to be having some good results.
Take care, bye for now, Ma.
FollowupID: 703893

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:03

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:03
Thanks Marc

Reading from the posts your comments have been well received and respected. Each time we travel we make a point of trying to find out about the aboriginal history associated with the area, although at times we have found that this can be difficult.

One of the most enlightening books I have read in recent times was ‘Why Warriors Lie Down & Die’ as it puts into much better context some of the issues aborigines face on a daily basis. None the least of which is a language that is ‘foreign’ to them.

You will be top of my list of people to contact if when we head your way.....

Regards, The Landy
AnswerID: 432988

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:47

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 13:47
Hi Landy

Yes you are correct in the language matter. My two grandsons speak Walpirir, Walmajarri, Martu, Kukutja and Gija, but very little English, so I guess they would be viewed in the school system as uneducated.

Mind you they know nearly all the bush tucker, bush medicine, how to find water, they can track with anyone else and have excellent communication skills, just not in English.

Please feel free to make contact if you come this way, and I will oprganise some people to come out with you, tell you the story of the area, and show you how to track and catch tucker, or even bush fruits and berries.

FollowupID: 703768

Reply By: dbish - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 16:19

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 16:19
Hi Mark Luther, The only real experiences Ive had with Aboriginals are ones with profound disabillitys & there famillys in Port Agusta, as my 24yr son is also in the same care 24/7 in the same facillitys. So far my experiences have been very positive mixing with these people very frendly & caring. Dissabillity is very levelling & it is good to know my son is in verry good care. Daryl
AnswerID: 433012

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 17:36

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 17:36
Hi Daryl

I am one of those fools who don't believe in disabilities, only abilities. Sure there are some things that some people can't do, and they have some terrible health issues, but there are still other things they can do and they should be encouraged along those lines.

We have an Aboriginal friend in Carnarvon, he is almost blind and wheelchair bound, but my goodness, the man can make a guitar talk. How could he be referred to as disabled, I know that guitars have six strings and that's all I know.

Great to know the people show you the respect due and are friendly and caring with the common bond that you have.

FollowupID: 703792

Reply By: jomahk - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:31

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:31
They represent about two percent of our population; yet manage to spend about 25 % of our welfare bank; represent 30 to35 % of our prison population & are responsible for 50% of crime. Yes; I have lived & worked in areas that have high didgi populations ; & have seen them at their worst on more occasions than I care to remember - drunk abusive & without a doubt the most racist ethnic group I have ever encountered. Perhaps there are some good ones; very few I would guess & I have yet to meet one. I can only judge from what I have experienced & encountered in my years of work & travel. They ask for respect but they dont earn it being anti everyone who is not of their race and causing trouble with their drunken antisocial behaviour. I have nothing but disdain for them as a group. If you dont like my opinion - toughy. I live in the real world & tell it how I see it. Take off your rose coloured glasses. You have nothing to be sorry for.
AnswerID: 433027

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:41

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 18:41
Hi Jomahk

I wear no rose coloured glasses and I have never been to a city, which it sounds like where you are from. You are entitled to your opinion of course, and I must respect that, which I do.

None of my family have ever been on Welfare, we all pay taxes. None of our family have been accused of or convicted of a crime, nor been to prison. Of course Iforgot, we live in the bush so we would not count in such statistics.

By the weay, what is a didgi population, that is a phrase that I am not familiar with. I naturally assume that you are talking about Aboriginals, and it sounds like you have either worked in law enforcement or in the prison system to have such an extreme bias, but that is your right.

I wish you well.

FollowupID: 703797

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:29

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:29
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 703802

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:40

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:40
"I naturally assume that you are talking about Aboriginals, and it sounds like you have either worked in law enforcement or in the prison system to have such an extreme bias, but that is your right."

Marc, you talked earlier about "Tarring everyone with the same brush" and your comments and replies up to now have beenwell received, but I think that comment is just showing a little bias from yourself.

You are not in a position to know what the majority of those officers feel on this subject.

Tell me if I'm wrong, but that just seemed like a cheap shot at the many men and women out there who are trying their best in our outback communities.

Maybe it is time you visited a "City" and had a look at what all the cousins are up to, good or bad.

BTW I lived, in the early 50's,on a cattle station on the Tanami, not far from Yuendemu, and had a wonderful childhood with my full blooded aboriginal friends.

Fred.
FollowupID: 703804

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:55

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:55
HI Fred

Yes you are right and I was wrong in what I said. Unfortunately too many people working in those feidls only see the worst. Those same officers come outr into the desert and are incredibly nice people, mixing well and even going out shooting to get meat for locals. I stand corrected and acknowledge that I was wrong.

Sounds like you worked on Tanami Downs, also known as Mongrel Downs, if so you would remember the Mahood family, a lovely bunch of people who were white and shared their lives with everyone.

I will concede that the response above yours upset me a bit and put me right off, as I refuse to totally judge anyone like that, everyone is entitiled to their opinion.

FollowupID: 703810

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:58

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:58
Hi Equinox

I am sorry you feel that way. I am neither racist nor naive, but as I have said, you are entitled to your opinion.

Have a good day.

FollowupID: 703811

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:27
That's quite OK Marc. This is a sensitive subject, and we don't want to give any amunition so to speak, to those who don't understand.

I lived on Mt. Doreen Station. Bill and Doreen Braitling were the owners. It was abandoned due to lack of natural water, and relocated to Vaughan Springs, to the west, a little oasis where I have good memories of mobs of brumbies in large numbers, and a sensational desert swimming hole.

I was invited to Alice Springs in Sept just gone, for the first reunion for former students of the Hartley Street School reunion, but was unable to attend. However, we will be there for the next one.

In 1957, my father who was the station mechanic, accompanied/escorted, an expedition from the Melb. University led by anthropologist Dr. Horseman (spelling) out to Lake Mackay where they had first contact with the Pintubi Tribe. My father is still alive, and in a nursing home in Mildura.

I'll put together a MM and send it as I get time Marc.

Fred.

FollowupID: 703819

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:27

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:27
Hi Marc,
Sadly, I have to agree with jomahk in a few things he says, we too have seen both sides. Some towns are like this! Alice Springs, Coober Pedy , Katherine, Wilcannia, Mooree. are notorious ,non Aboriginals are also guilty of the same things.
As I've said time & again, there's the good & the bad in all walks of life.
As for walking anywhere at night in Melbourne or Colac for that matter, it's not safe anymore.
In the news today, there was an incident in Alice Springs. Not nice.
Violence is on the increase in just about every city or town.
Take care,
Bye for now Ma.
FollowupID: 703820

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:31

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:31
Marc,

We think Equinox's comment was not directed at you but at Jomahk

The ModSquad
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 703821

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:54

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:54
Hey Jomahk if you want to see drunken mongrels in large groups fighting, urinating on public property etc..

Go to Mitchell street in Darwin on a Friday or Saturday night, this is were the young fella's run a muck, they use drugs and alcohol to extremes then go onto the street and fight anyone standing up right.

2 weeks ago there were 50 people in a brawl out side Shenanigan's at 2 am, several were hurt and several hurt others.

Just so as you know, there was not one black fella among them.

Climb back under you're rock.
FollowupID: 703826

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:57

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:57
Hi Fred

The Pintupi (correct spelling) are now based in Kiwirrkurra, Kintore and Mount Liebig, I call Bobby West, one of the senior men (not Elder) my brother. There are still quite some Pintupi people who are still, (and I mean now) nomads, as we frequently see fresh tracks when we cut across Lake Mackay to get to Kiwirrkurra for various reasons.

I am aware of the good works of Dr Horseman, he has been followed by another good anthropologist from Tasmania whose name escapes me at the moment.

Thanks for the clarification.

Marc

FollowupID: 703828

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:02
Hi 3GoBush

I sincerely believe that everyone is entitled to their opinion, and instead of responding negatively o negative comments, I woulkd rather just make a correcting comment. The P word was unnecessary in the reponse, but otherwise the person had every right to expressing their opinion.

I was in error assuming that it was directed at me, but it was still uncalled for.

It sounds like there are terrible problems with substance abuse in all aspects of society, maybe I need to go out more, but I prefer to feed the grandkids at night, as my daughter and son-in-law work hard and I wont ask them to do house chores.

FollowupID: 703829

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:26

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:26
Hi ModSquad

Equinox sent me a message to that same effect, and I also said to him there that everyone has a right to their opinion, but no need for the name calling.

FollowupID: 703831

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:29

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:29
I see examples of exactly what jomahk posted nearly every time i go to a town down the road ....

Thankfully tho ... I have also seen what other aboriginals are capable of achieving .... when they set their mind to it.

Whats racist about describing how people behave ????

If aboriginals are unahamed about their behaviour in public or towards others ... Then just as with similiarly behaving whites ... or asians ... or europeans ... or martians ..... They leave themselves open to the disdain and negative comments from others - that they deserve.

Whats naive .... is to sit back and believe that the "them & us" situation doesnt exist, hide it behind closed doors ... and throw even more money at it.

Hopefully when the govt take some positive action in solving the situation ... then the people most affected ... thats ALL OF US ...... will be better off for it.

And jomahk is correct IMHO

We .... as in the, current, non aboriginal population .... have nothing to be sorry for ..... The situation is not a product of our doing ...

It would be good though if a resolution to the situation was a product of our doing .....
FollowupID: 703832

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:38

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:38
Marc, we gotta meet up one day soon, and I wish you could meet my father.

I am always bemused when I now read of the Pintubi/Pintupi people, because as I recal when that expedition returned from Lake mackay, they called them the Bindibu's. Before language interpretation I guess. That's what my 85 year old father still calls those remarkable people. They actually brought a youth, whose age they estimated at about 16, back to the homestead suffering serious camp fire burns...never worn a stitch of clothing. He was successfully treated and returned to his people. I often wonder at his fate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 703836

Follow Up By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:54

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 21:54
Sorry about that, that came out when I was still busy with a hundred jobs on at work. I still feel the same way - however, should have kept my mouth shut...

FollowupID: 703837

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:02

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:02
Hi OzTroopy

As always a good post from you. What you have said is factual, and will only change with communication and mutual understanding of each other.

I do not believe the government wants to take action, as to do so would not involve just throwing money around, which they are good at, but actually getting out to the communities and asking what the people want.

There is a project nationwide in communties called CDEP (Community Development Employment Project). People are expected to do work they are not familiar with, painting houses, picking up rubbish (which must be done I agree), and otrher general work. I attempted to get a project going, where older people could be paid to take the youth out, and get their traditional skills happening again. This had the intention of allowing the young people to get involved in tourism, taking travellers out and showing them the country, explain the stories, and teach bush tucker. Many travellers would love such an experience.

You are also right, the current population has nothing to be sorry for, and so many hated the political stance that Mr Rudd took on that issue. Sure the apology was good, by why the need for such a public spectacle, we all know the answer for that. I would rather see monies for trades people to come out to the communtiies to teach the youth a trade, and give them a reason to be proud. You know, that valuable bit of paper that can get work just about anywhere, a trade qualification.

We are also disgusted by the behaviour fo some, and they earn, well and truly, the degradation that they receive, even from us, as they are a disgrace to the Aboriginal race.

FollowupID: 703839

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:10

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:10
Hi Fred

You have my word that I will speak with a couple of the Elders and find out about that young fellow for you. I have previously heard of that incident, and know the people that recall it, so I will find out and message you.

FollowupID: 703841

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:48

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:48
Im normally fairly middle of the road, Marc ....

My, tell it as it is, writing style sometimes leads to a bit of confusion for some of those more "delicate" readers tho ..... so Im trying to type verrrryyyyy carefully in this thread ...... LOL

Im a "little" familiar with CDEP .... and LALCs etc.

Ive witnessed the rorting of the CDEP scheme at a nearby town ....

Where the power struggles between several aboriginal families vieing for control ... so as to get the most available funding for personal gain - both monetary ... and lax conditions for family members on community service ....

.... made the whole thing an absolute farce ... and a funding waste that would have had jomahk's knickers in knots .....

In your case however ... With a "working" and close knit community .... It could be utilised to good advantage and provide lots of benefits ... So Good Luck with getting something established.
FollowupID: 703850

Reply By: whisky_mac - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:23

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:23
G'Day Marc

I have not walked in your shoes and only have a limited contact with our local Kouri people who I have always found to be pleasant and knowledgeable

What does concern me is walking down the main street of my country town on a Friday or Saturday night. Those causing trouble are young white men full of grog and looking for trouble.

Jim
AnswerID: 433031

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:39

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:39
Hi Jim

Nor have I walked in your shoes my friend. The same thing apparently happens in Halls Creek, except it is young black men full of grog and looking for trouble, and it is usually the young black women who end up fighting, so that problem is across society.

I guess the old days (even though I am only 51) of night socialising and the like are finished.

FollowupID: 703803

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:29

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:29
There seems to be two types of Aboriginals that I have come across.
Those in the rural/outback areas, living and learning traditional ways. (did I say that right?)

Then there are those living in the city, living as a "white fella" and using the racism act when they do get in trouble. These are the ones who give the rest a bad name. Many of these only have the minimum amount of Aboriginal ancestary (1/32 from memory) which many of us "whites" can't understand how they can get all the benefits.

I have met both. I've got all the time in the world for the Rural Mob. Always treated me with respect, and I in return. I have friends amoung the City mob, but all of them say they have more white in them than black, work, don't drink etc.

There would be good and bad in both mobs, just as there are good and bad white fellas
AnswerID: 433032

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:49

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 19:49
Hi SDG

Unfortunately you are 100% correct in your response. Many of the people even here refer to the city Aboriginals as Kartiya (White people) as they cannot see them as being black.

You would probably be very surpriused to learn that all those "benefits" that the city mob get, the people out here do not get. Of course if some family get hungry, I will go and shoot a couple of roos, or a beef, for them, even the occasional camel. Thedn it is tea, damper and whatever meat is cooking, and the tummies are full. They go to sleep happy.

I am white, but I have been through Aboriginal law, and have fluency in 16 Aboriginal languages, and have "met" via Skype, some really nice people from this forum. We are slightly remote, about halfway between Broome and Alice Springs geographically.

The funny thing is, when my wife and I go to town, the Aboriginal drinkers stay away from me, as they seem to be scared of someone like me. They cannot abuse me in language as I understand, they cannot threaten me with law, been there done that, and physically I am a bit larger than most, so they stay away from trying anything.

My greatest wish is for people to see Australia, not just the coast, and meet the real people who are at one with their land.

FollowupID: 703806

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:43

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:43
What could be interesting is to grab a few of these Kartiya, send them out to their country cousins, and teach them some traditional ways.

I'm a foster carer, and mostly get kids with some Aboriginal ancestery. None of them know anything about their heritage, except for what they learn at school during NAIDOC week, which some, from my understanding is inaccurate or misleading.
I have plans on taking a trip up north in the next couple of years, and bringing one or two of these kids with me, to give them a sence of their culture. (I'm aware different culture between inland and coastal etc)
Been approved by DoCS, but for some reason, there has been some disapproval among the local Aboriginals.
FollowupID: 703864

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:58

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:58
Hi SDG

Unfortunately I can understand the disapproval of some of the locals. Even in Perth the Noongar people have a strong dislike for the tribal people in the Kimberleys, as they simply do not understand.

Personally I would do what the youngsters want, and if they want a sense of their true heritage, then cater for that., By the way, what the heck is NAIDOC week, and how do they learn about culture during this week. I have asked my wife, my father in law and a few others, and we have not heard of this week.

It would be interesting to know why a week is set aside to teach people what tribal people take their lives to learn.

FollowupID: 703867

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:41

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:41
Have a look at this.

http://www.naidoc.org.au/

NAIDOC stands for National Aborigines and Islanders Day Observance Committee.

In the schools they run activities, talk about dreamtime, art, etc.
Girls are being taught how to make/design dideridoos (as well as boys), both are playing games to demonstrate hunting skills (sometimes taught by female elder) etc.
One 7yr old child I get believes he is allowed to kill animals because he is of Aboriginal decent. No body bothered to explain clearly enough to him, that this was only done for food, not sport. As far as I know Hunting was not a sport in traditional culture. Correct me if i'm wrong.

All schools, all towns/cities will have different things happening, but generaly based on a themewhich changes each year.

On a different note. Ever been to the garden in Richmond QLD. They have got native plants, with descriptions on each for what they were traditionally used for. From medicine to weapons. Pity when I was there they were out of season. Could not try anything.
FollowupID: 703981

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:11

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:11
Hi SDG

You are correct, even now hunting is done for food only, and that is all it has ever been. Incidentally, until a boy becomes a man through law, he has NO RIGHT at all to be hunting animals, only gathering snakes, lizards and a bush tucker like berries and bush potato with the womenfolk.

I cannot believe that girls are taught didgeridoos, I know some Elders that would be absolutely furious if they ever heard of that. That is a total NO NO.

I do not think I will ever bother with that NAIDOC thing, who needs a special day of the year, we are all humans everyday of the year, though some days I am an absolute mongrel.

I have never been outside the Kimberleys, so no I have never been to the Richmond place, maybe someone one day could take some photos. You need to know that various tribes use plants and other tribes cannot touch them, so it is very generic to the area that the person is in and is from.

If you ever come this way, look me up, and my wife will show you some of the bush tucker around here.

FollowupID: 704015

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:17

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:17
We are all people, there are good bad and ordinary amongst all of us.

AnswerID: 433045

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 20:46
Hi D200Dug

Oh how true that is.

FollowupID: 703824

Reply By: Joe n Mel - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:00

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:00
Intresting reading all of the above, my concern is we simply can not get anyone local willing to work for us, we want to help and train up someone to be a manager and not a single person is interested, we have like 15 staff "on the books" and lucky to get 4 in for a full day, we pay equal for skilled, unskilled, ticketed or whatever .......
And do i blame them, no as they will get paid by the govt if they DONT work ....
AnswerID: 433060

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:29

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:29
Hi Joe n Mel

Please tell me you are not serious. Here at Mulan we have a strict policy of "no work no pay", nobody gets paid if they don't work.

I have no idea what kind of business you are talking about, or whether the people are tribal or not, so I cannot offer any suggestions to help.

FollowupID: 703857

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:51

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:51
Hi Marc... sorry about the dely. been on hols on the "road".......
Yes i am serious, we manage the Roadhouse at Doomadgee,QLD, population of about 1200 people, we have 2 "problems here, 1 being that "mining Royaltys" are always rolling in and the other is we have "CDEP" but it has been "outsourced" to job network style companys and they only make money when someong is looking, leaving or signing up and if someone actually gets and stays in a job the money for "job placements" drys up...
We get offered all sorts of "baits" to take people on but we always tell them that all we want are people who will turn up and let us know if they CANT turn up ......
We have girls that we have helped with training, paperwork, forms and so on and they have done well, we even have had one girl ending up as the assistant manager (Bickerton Island) but here we cant even get 1 person interested ...
Yes it is "technically" no work no pay here also but if the mob who run it did it by the book they would put most off and loose there funding (Isa Skills & Job Network) and the govt dont like that as people on unemployment money equate to unemployed numbers so they MUST keep them on CDEP or the "unemployed" number will rise...........
Dont worry as we are far from giving up but it makes us peeved off as we are asked to "help & train" but not a single person wants to.....
Cheers, Joe
FollowupID: 704011

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:26

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 23:26
Gaday Marc. You seem to have over simplified what in reality is a very complex series of issues. While many including myself would love nothing better than to sit down & speak with the locals, at times it is very difficult to gain access to communities unless you already know someone that lives there. (Catch 22) Even then the lack of time travellers have to gain trust & the language barrier can make it impossible.
We were fortunate to spend time with an Elder inside the APY lands recently but felt guilty for being there as his house was trashed & then kicked out of his town by his own family. While a few may want contact I get the feeling for the majority in remote areas we are unfortunately not welcome.
Craig...............
AnswerID: 433063

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:27

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:27
Hi Crackles

You may be interested to know that it can be surprisingly easy to talk to people, if you follow a few "guidelines'.

Firstly men do not approach the women and vice versa, and most importantly, always offer a handshake.

Secondly it is better to approach the older people, as once the younger people see a conversation happening, they will wander closer to find out what it is about, then the older person will introduce others, especially their own family members out of pride.

Thirdly, keep it simple, remembering that for many of the people, English is not the normal language.

Fourthly, and most importantly, be at their level. If they are sitting, sit with them, if standing, stand with them.

Follow those basic guidelines nd you will find the people know that you have spoken to tribal people before, it is not that hard.

FollowupID: 703856

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:16

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:16
Yes I've been briefed on most of that & more in the past from people in the know but you do relize that after saying how easy it is to strike up a conversation you then went on to contradict yourself :-) The point I was trying to make is that's all very fine but if the avarage Joe has no access to the communities in the 1st place there simply can not be a conversation which is a pity as there is alot to be learnt in both directions.
Cheers Craig..................
FollowupID: 703860

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:25

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:25
Hi Crackles

I don't know how I contradicted m,myself by explaining four simple guidelines. It basically comes down to a mutual respect. There is the difference of course between male and female. I offer everyone I meet, be they black white or from Saturn a handshake, and always the male first, if the male chose noty to introduce me to his wife/partner, I would never be offended and would not offer handshake to the other.

I agree with you wholeheartedly, there is so much to be learned in both directions. I think the tribal people have to come to terms with the fact that the white people are not going to push them around, or take their land off them again. Things will again settle down and with mutual undertsanding will come better explanations and improved quality communications between ALL Australians, no matter the background.

FollowupID: 703862

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:38

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:38
Hi Marc, great post, thanks. Yes it's a vexed Q and there seems no end to the difficulties as raised by other posters.

But... in relation to your premise "There seems to be a lot of negativity within many forums, this one included, when it comes to Aboriginal people", I have a different view, in the case of ExplorOz, and one that generally seems borne out by the responses above.

Over the two years now that I have followed the Forum I continue to be pleasantly surprised at the understanding of the issues and sympathy for the problems faced by remote area Aboriginal people.

Even the abrupt shutting down of access to the Calverts and Carnarvon Range area has met with very little upset. Rather, people seem to generally respect Traditional Ownership.

There are other viewpoints but they're usually expressed in a reasonable manner.

I'd like to meet you one day and, as the northern half of the CSR is still on my destination list, I hope I get the opportunity.

AnswerID: 433067

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:15

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:15
Hi John Baas

Please understand that I am more than aware that a otr of the negativity is caused by the minority of Aboriginal people themselves, and may I say moreso by the people that live in towns and revolve their lives around grog.

I do have some knowldege aboput the Calverts and Carnarvon Range, and I will say that they will not be permanently closed, as there are Rangers being trained as guides and the like. I believe that such is also necessary.

I will state that the remore community people don't want sympathy from anyone, they basically need acceptance that they are very different from the urban people (Aboriginal) and they are still very traditional. There are several aspects of culture which mean that they do not care about their houses, as any time they may have to leave their house and find another. An example, if a family member dies, the family will immediately leave the house and find another.

There is also the fact that the people don't have many material possessions, basically what can be carried quickly.

The negativity is, quite understandably, because of bad experiences with those we refer to as "a disgrace to the Aboriginal race", you know the type. Wait every morning for the grog shop to open, and have public displays of violence, urination and complete stupidity. I have never hesitated to tell such people to get a job and get some pride. Many have called me racist, then my wife, a tribal Kukutja/Martu woman, pipes up and shouts at them, "No, he justs hates bast...s who have no pride or respect in themselves".

I would never call out in such a way to a white person doing the same, as to me it is none of my business.

If you ever come this way, I would be happy to know when you plan to be in Billiluna and I will take the back track to come and meet with you, it's only an hour from where I am through the back tracks.

FollowupID: 703859

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:43

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:43
Thaks Marc. That's good to hear re future access to the Calverts and Carnarvons.

I travelled the southern half of the CSR this June and had been disappointed to have my application for a Calvert permit rejected (as for everyone else). So I didn't get to see them.

However, I did visit the Carnarvons a month before notices came on this Forum that acess was also being denied. And I was amazed at the level of visitatation, there must have been at least 20 vehicles in there when I had expected to be alone, virtually all coming off the CSR rather than from the west (which was the direction we exited).

I was very pleased to see that there was no litter and no evidence of damage to the art sites (as far as I could ascertain) but I do think that if these levels of visitation were to be sustained or increased, then a management regime would need to be put in place.

I'll definitely look you up when I come through, probably in 2012.

FollowupID: 703911

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:13
Hi John

I look forward to meeting you and sharing a cup of tea and a chat. I love hearing about peoples travels, so bring the photos as well.

FollowupID: 704036

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:17

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:17
No worries Marc. Here's a pic of last week near the Fortescue River mouth.

FollowupID: 704054

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:55

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:55
Yes 100% right there are good and bad in all people no matter where you were born and what race you belong to and we should be giving all people a fair go equally. Unfortunately not everyone thinks on the same plane.
AnswerID: 433068

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:16

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 01:16
Hi Howesy

Totally agree with you.

FollowupID: 703861

Reply By: Honky - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:24

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:24
Whislt I had a negetive comment this is a great post and gives me some hope for the future.
Most of the comment are from people who have visited and seen the Australia as it is in all in glories and problems so can comment with knowledge
It seems that a lot of major decisions are made by people that are unaware of what the real Australia is like and are not willing to find out.
Again in NSW any visits by politicians are sanatized and I have heard of even moving any troublemakers out of town to paint a rosier picture than it is.
It is interesting about some of the references to Aboriginals that act like whites.
The term used in Country NSW and please note this is their term is "Coconut" black on the outside and white in the middle.
And if someone can explain the term "Murray" which is used in northern nsw and Qld not Kouri?

Honky
AnswerID: 433091

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:14

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:14
Not just out of "town" Homky .....

There was some "interesting" demographic changes in various rural NSW towns for the sydney olympics ...... the effects of which - are still being endured.
FollowupID: 703906

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:05

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:05
Hi Honky

Thanks for the laugh, it really was good. I love that term coconut, and damn it seems so appropriate. As i said previously,my wife is a tribal woman, and she had a great belly laugh when I toild her about it. We know so many people that fit that term perfectly, and they are generally the ones sitting in offices making decisions for people they know nothing about.

We do have a white woman in the area, she believes that she should be black and she reckons (although nobody agrees) that she has the same knowledge as the Elders. She has a PhD in anthropology from University, and she reckons she is gods gifty to Aboriginals. What the people think of her I will not say as my post would be deleted.

I had the great [privilege of meeting a couple of grey nomads a couple of weeks ago on the Tanami, they had "broken down" so I got them going, and the wife made a lovely coffee and shouted the wife and I some scones and home made jam. We gave them some directions to a couple of places they may like to see, and a written note to the rangers there that they were there at our invite.

There really are some lovely people on the road.

FollowupID: 704049

Reply By: OzTroopy - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:00

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:00
FollowupID: 703864 Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:43
SDG posted:
................... None of them know anything about their heritage, except for what they learn at school during NAIDOC week, which some, from my understanding is inaccurate or misleading.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can only re-iterate that comment ...

NAIDOC week success is primarily dependant on the involvement and actual knowledge of the aboriginals in the community tho.

FollowUp 2 of 3 FollowupID: 703867 Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 00:58
Member - Marc Luther B (WA) posted:

......... Unfortunately I can understand the disapproval of some of the locals. Even in Perth the Noongar people have a strong dislike for the tribal people in the Kimberleys, as they simply do not understand.

Personally I would do what the youngsters want, and if they want a sense of their true heritage, then cater for that., By the way, what the heck is NAIDOC week, and how do they learn about culture during this week. I have asked my wife, my father in law and a few others, and we have not heard of this week.

It would be interesting to know why a week is set aside to teach people what tribal people take their lives to learn.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can understand the disapproval as well ... The inter-tribal animosity ... and even the inter -family animosity Ive witnessed ..... seems to cause huge rifts which prevent making changes for the better.

Lack of co-operation between LALC's (tribes) in NSW is obvious ..... but then as is the case with most govt style operations ..... department heads are always cagey about sharing any glory .... or losing any individual benefits ... despite the greater good that could be achieved.

And then there is the belief that only aboriginals know enough about aboriginals and "REAL" assistance such as SDG intends ... is shunned.

e.g. Recently a trainee - newly hired into an established aid group, instructed the group manager not to enter a clients house because ...

" you're white and dont know about us ".

and demanded a vehicle of their own ..... or they would quit.

Not bad job ettiquette for a "trainee" huh ????

The GLOSSY and OFFICIAL insight to NAIDOC ---> NAIDOC

Whether it is actually of use / a success in depends on the aboriginal involvement.

Here in NSW - Some LALC's manage quite a good turnout ..... Generally the week is a bit "carnival" like ... with aboriginal displays and attractions ... and general all round community involvement.

The idea of which seems to be to promote some knowledge and understanding for ALL ... not just aboriginals.

Where-as in other NSW LALC areas ..... Its just the local govt depts/welfare groups doing their "obligatory bit" for the week .... and the LALC presence is extremely "low key" ... despite the amount of funding available to put on a show.
AnswerID: 433113

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18
Hi OzTroopy

I got lost at about the second line in that lot, so I will not trespond in case I have misunderstood something there.

FollowupID: 704038