Lark Quarry to Carisbrooke Station

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 13:00
ThreadID: 97424 Views:2190 Replies:2 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
Newbie here, I am travelling from Longreach to Lark Quarry later this month and wonder about getting across to Carisbrooke Sation in my 2011 model Subaru Forester?
If I go to the Lark Quarry midday tour after leaving Longreach, what is the best way to make for Carisbrooke that afternoon? Do I need to return to Winton?

Thankyou
Deest
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: AdrianLR - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 13:11

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 13:11
Deest,

We did this trip in reverse at the beginning of July. The road between Carisbrooke and Lark Quarry is in excellent condition although dirt most of the way. The Forester will be fine. Your only consideration will be fuel - Winton is the nearset fuel so depends where you'll be heading beyond Carisbrooke.

We camped at the House dam which was very nice. You can use the facilities at the sheering shed which is within 5-10 minutes walk. Plenty of wood for a fire around the creek. The facilities are amongst the cleanest and best maintained I've come across at any camping area.

There is a station track that comes out from the back gate of Carisbrooke that's a much shorter route to Winton but you need to check in at the front of the property on the western boundary.

Lots to do on Carisbrooke. They have notes for 4WD drives and walks.

It was a highlight.

Adrian
AnswerID: 492914

Follow Up By: AdrianLR - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 13:37

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 13:37
I just reread my raply - I didn't answer your question!

You go direct from Lark Quarry to Carisbrooke without returning to Winton. The roads are clearly shown on the Hema Outback Qld map and take you to the main property entry.

Adrian
FollowupID: 768517

Follow Up By: Yarra - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 14:18

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2012 at 14:18
Thanks Adrian,