MOST FAVOURED PLACE YOU HAVE VISITED

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 08:36
ThreadID: 52856 Views:3565 Replies:24 FollowUps:20
If you had to nominate just one place that you have visited in your travels around Oz so far, as your favourite, and wish was just an hour so from home so you could return more often, what would it be???

Reply By: Old Dave - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:20

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:20
It Would Be Karijini National Park

davr
AnswerID: 278424

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:24

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:24
Can't narrow it to just one..... this list could go on for a long time but I couldn't get it past these three....

Winton without a doubt, followed closely by the Warrumbungles Nat Park, followed closely by Nth Stradbroke Island etc etc.... LOL.....

AnswerID: 278425

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:39

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:39
Interesting you say Winton.. we're going to Winton/Longreach etc March April 08.
FollowupID: 542446

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:10

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:10
Winton ? Good grief, you must have spent a fair bit of time in the pubs there, my eyesight was Ok :)))))))
FollowupID: 542450

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:26

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:26
Good on you, Brian.

Winton really is a top little town. though I would be biased now, as my Wife & I have bought a home there, after living in the area for 20 years. Haven't moved into town at this stage.

No water restrictions, friendly people and at the gateway to the Channel Country, Simpson Desert etc. Only 6 hours from Townsville too!!!

Hooroo,

FollowupID: 542561

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:53

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 10:53
Fred..... make the trip out to Lark Quarry..... the Dinosaur Trackways are there, a very interesting place.

Footy.....
Winton, to date, is the furthest "outback" we've been, I'm plannning a further west trip for this year but we really loved Winton on our visit in 2007. And funnily enough, the only place I felt we weren't welcome was in the pub when I went in to buy some Bourbon and a bottle of Rum. Although it was Saturday night and there would have been at least 25 people in there so thye were pretty busy....LOL...... just a really quaint little town!

Bob Y .... Not sure I could live there, the heat might get to me, but gee I can certainly see the attraction to the place.

FollowupID: 543336

Reply By: Member - Geoff C (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:33

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:33
Eighty Mile WA beach caravan park but unfortunately they don't take dogs anymore.
AnswerID: 278426

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:08
Geoff, its remarkable how people can get different perceptions. We found the place overpriced, overcrowded and over there.

I guess coming in across the Kidson makes a difference.
FollowupID: 542448

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:59

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 09:59
Lawn Hill National Park
AnswerID: 278429

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:08
Ah,Notso,

I was just about to write Lawn Hill NP...it's my favourite place. Just sitting there on the cliff overlooking the waterfall in the early morning....and having it all to yourself ... perfect.

Next in the list Ubirr Rock and then anywhere out in the bush underneath the night stars.

Viv
FollowupID: 542449

Follow Up By: Notso - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:24

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 12:24
Great place, actually there is or was when I was up there, a great job going. Hiring out canoes under the big fig tree. I rather fancy that!
FollowupID: 542465

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 13:31

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 13:31
I'll second that , Lawn Hill is a great place.
FollowupID: 543359

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:16

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:16
Sandy Cape, West coast Tassie but then I wouldn't want it any closer as then it wouldn't be a remote peaceful destination :-)
Cheers Craig.............

AnswerID: 278435

Follow Up By: mike2ronnie - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 23:44

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 23:44
this photo is amazing, why don;t you enter it into the drive wa site you will win definately the prize of the month, just love it.cheers
FollowupID: 543007

Reply By: Allan F (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 10:27
Welford National Park
AnswerID: 278437

Reply By: bware - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:05

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:05
Awinya Creek on the West Coast of Fraser Island.
AnswerID: 278441

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:29

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 11:29
Kununurra and its surrounds.
AnswerID: 278445

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:19

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 20:19
C'mon Squizzy, living there, you've got the best of both worlds. Where else would you most like to visit again??
FollowupID: 542535

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:52

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:52
When not fishing around here the Wife and I spend a lot of time around the old gold mines between Adelaide River and Pine Creek or up on the tip of Gunn Point.
Yes and I know it is a hard life but someone has to do it, may as well be us.....grin.
FollowupID: 542568

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:29

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:29
I've been sitting here trying to pick one place, the harder I think the more places I put on the list.

Karajini NP, Coral Bay, Valley of the Giants, really if it is in the bush I want to be there.

We haven't been down the Eastern Seaboard yet but I think it would be hard to beat the beauty of good old WA. Before I duck for cover now I would like to point out that I wasn't born in WA.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 278464

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 13:55
Hi Fred

This is something i ask travellers who have done the big lap.

We have seen mainly only the southern parts. How can Tasmania compare to the outback? I cannot pick one.

Apart from everything we have seen (excluding cities and some of the larger towns), highlights - not in any order of favoritism include;

Mountains in Tasmania (my memories refreshed from a recent thread). Most of Tasmania is so scenic.
Daintree Forest - beautiful rain forest right to the coast
Karijini NP
Northern Flinders Ranges
Ningaloo Coast
The Pilbara
Karri Forests in the SW of WA
Cape Le Grande NP (east of Esperance)

and so many other places.

AnswerID: 278467

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:51

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:51
All of those wonderful placers you mention are someones absolute favourite place visited "so far." We're spoilt with this wonderful country aren't we? It is impossible to compare one location with another, they are all unique, but we all have somewhere special.
Some of the photo galleries in members profiles say it all. I so enjoy browsing through them.
Phillip Island is a place I never tire of visiting.
Ahhh...those whiting are something else.
FollowupID: 542498

Reply By: Tony - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:54

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 14:54
Euro Bluff, near Pannawonica.

Ell Pool (Running Waters) on Skull Springs Road. East of Nullagine
AnswerID: 278474

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:19

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:19
Any MacDonalds , burp
AnswerID: 278477

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:29

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 15:29
If not MacDonalds , then the Calvert Range .
FollowupID: 542496

Reply By: Smudger - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:08

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:08
I'd die happy watching a sunset over the beach at Karrumba.
But, there's a heap more sunsets in a hundred other places to come before that happens.
AnswerID: 278482

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:57

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:57
Smudger, I hope you get to see many thousands of SUNRISES yet.
FollowupID: 542517

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:20

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:20
Half the fun is getting to your favourite spot so I wouldn't want mine to be only an hour away. Also, the spots you find along the way to your "favourite spot" can sometimes be nicer than your prefered destination.

I however (according to your post request) choose my favourite spot as Curtis Island off Gladstone CQ. Awesome fishing, isolated, turtle nesting, crays, did I mention isolated.... 6 week christmas stays and only one other vehicle turning up.

Gotta go, this post is making my feet itchy LOL!!!

Happy xmas,
Trevor.
AnswerID: 278485

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:49

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 16:49
It's true there are so many places that could be on a list like this.Lawn Hill for me is mainly because of how it affected me the first time we were there. I think sometimes, it's more the feeling you get from a place than it's actual physical appearance.

Some of my favourite places...now that I've thought more...aren't exactly awe inspiriing but just thinking about them instantly bring back the feeling of being there.

For instance, the first trip we had to the NT and we were sitting just on dusk at Springvale Homestead, Katherine when the bats flew overhead. I'll never forget the sight of wave upon wave of these huge bats in the evening sky. I think of that and I feel the hot, Katherine night and I'm back there again.

Camped at Policeman's Waterhole in Davenport NP and in the night the raucous bray of a donkey nearly gave me a heart attack...I'll always remember that place.

Coming to the top of the jump up between Windorah and Jundah...that view never fails to take give me delight.

Seeing the Peak Ranges poke their pointy heads up against the skyline as we're driving between Emerald and Clermont.

I could go on and on....but isn't it great that we've got such a great country, with so much to see and such diversity.

I'm like Trevor...my feet are itchy!!!

Viv
AnswerID: 278488

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:55

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:55
Yeah Viv and Trevor, I think we have stirred up some emotions here, especially when you look at yours and all the other beautiful photo galleries in the profiles.
And like a few have confessed, half the fun is getting there. That's the gypsy/nomad in us, isn't it.
CU on the track.
FollowupID: 542516

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:21

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:21
Rudall River National Park in W.A.

AnswerID: 278493

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:54

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:54
Same here, Even though I have only been to 10% of it, the very anticipation of visiting some of the other places there makes it my favorite.

Followed by the Kimberley...

FollowupID: 542533

Reply By: Mainey (wa) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:27

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 17:27
It has to be experienced, as it can't adequately be described--> KAKADU map

Mainey...
AnswerID: 278494

Follow Up By: Member - Steve NT - Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 11:16

Saturday, Dec 29, 2007 at 11:16
I would have to agree, the thing is I don't travel there I live there, so the best place I have visited so far is Frazer Island, thats why I'm headed back next week.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 542930

Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:52

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:52
The campsite on the Southern Bank of Cockatoo Creek OTL.
Go swimming all day, lounge around in the fast flowing water watching other travellers strut their stuff, meeting the other travellers, awesome campfire, the tranquillity at night time, the rain during the night, ...... HOW GOOD IS THAT?...
AnswerID: 278504

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:53

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 18:53
Fred

I could not argue with any of the above, but I reckon my tops is Durba Springs along the Canning. We took a break there for three nights and it was like paradise.

Max
AnswerID: 278505

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:04
Yeah Max, there some places we just can't get enough of, even though we know we have to move on. Then blow me down, down the road we find another. Like a dog with six tails, "Don't know which one to wag first." :))
FollowupID: 542520

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:12

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:12
Fred,

Australia

AnswerID: 278512

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:45

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:45
Now come on Wayne, you have to pick a destination... :))
FollowupID: 542532

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 13:45

Tuesday, Jan 01, 2008 at 13:45
Troopy owners must think alike as I was going to say the very same thing.....Australia its just a great place to visit from the tip to the toe from the left side to the right side and the high bits to the low ones :-)

FollowupID: 543360

Reply By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:38

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 19:38
Jeez were doe's one start,for some one that love's the outback i ca'nt go past LAWN HILL N/P sitting there on top of that rock over looking the river and taking it all in what a feelin.cheer's GREENDOG
AnswerID: 278516

Reply By: arofs1 - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:04

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:04
All of Tasmania, but Freycinet Peninsula, town of Ross, areas around Deloraine, Strahan, Cradle Mountain etc. Being able to set up the caravan on a quiet part of beach or in a forest without any great crowds or restrictions was memorable. Watching heaps of platypus playing in the river near Latrobe was probably the most memorable, as was the ferry trip back from Devonport to Sydney on a perfect Sunday morning up the east coast and in through the heads.

Whitecliffs in Western NSW has special memories because it was so different particularly because a super friendly local resident gave us a great guided tour of her underground house.Birdsville and the races.

We are also lucky to have access to a large family property in the Lockyer Valley SEQ, where we spend a week camping every 6 weeks or so during the cooler months of the year to catch up with relatives and friends. We have a great camp kitchen and nearly all the comforts of home. If ever you are near Mulgowie which is 10K south of Laidley, make sure you visit the local pub for a Counter Tea on a Friday and Saturday night, it is the best!!!!

Brian DJ
AnswerID: 278546

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:35

Wednesday, Dec 26, 2007 at 22:35
Fred,

Police Hole, Keep River NP.

Worked around there for 6 years, long before it was ever gazetted.

Definitely God's country!

Second choice: Top of Mayne Range, with friends, food & cold drinks, when it's still 40 degrees, and the sun is slowing sinking into the channels of the Diamantina.

They'll do for starters........

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 278553

Reply By: Off-track - Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 00:44

Thursday, Dec 27, 2007 at 00:44
Ormiston Gorge. Used to be in my backyard. Or Ellery Ck Gorge which was a great place for a dip.
AnswerID: 278560