Off-road Caravan

Can anyone please explain what the basic differences are between a van that is capable of being taken off-road and one that is not. My idea of an off-road van is something that is capable of being towed to isolated areas on rough and corrugated roads, not just a well maintained gravel road into a National Park.

Your comments would be appreciated.

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:48

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:48
I would say that there are three basic van levels.

Highway only, with perhaps a well made smooth dirt road or two thrown in.

Dirt road van that will handle dirt, with mild corrugations. These are basically a highway van with beefed up suspension and wheels, but interior fittings etc are the same as highway.

Full off road that you would be game to take anywhere your tow vehicle will be able to tow it, having said that things like Bush Tracker can weigh up to 3.5 tonnes. These have decent suspension, internal fittings designed to take rough tracks and corrugations and are generally waterproof up to a reasonable height.
AnswerID: 435219

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:59

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 18:59
Agree with all above with the addition that a well made off road van will have a different 'frame' construction to withstand the corrugations.

Many on road vans are timber frames with glue and staples, whilst a quality off-road van will have a well engineered aluminium frame, riveted, welded or bolted (or a combination of all three) together. Everything on the van will be heavy duty, including suspension, A frame, axles, stub axles, brakes etc.

As mentioned above, all that comes at a significant weight cost and thus your tug will need to be up to the task.

I'm no great expert on this subject, but intend to look at an offroad van in the future and from my research there are really only a small quiver of brands that cut the mustard. I/m not going to mention my choice, as sufficient research on your part will no doubt uncover what's important to you.

CHeers,

FollowupID: 706359

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:32

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:32
Hi Benmarca,

Couldn't agree more with the comments of Notso and Mark E. My wife and I love the bush and regularly go bush camping. We have just ordered an Avan with the 'Adventure Pack Plus' which makes it as 'off road' as an Avan Cruiseliner can get, but we are under no illusions that the van is an off road van. I would put it in Notso's category as a 'dirt road van'.

'Full off road' as Notso has put it, in my opinion,is a much more substantial vehicle inside and out.

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 706362

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:49

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:49
Yes, All of the above.
A true "Offroad" caravan will set you back at least $65k and that's for a reasonable 2nd hand one.

As with all things, the better the quality, the bigger the price, but top price does not necessarily mean top quality. you have to make that call for yourself.

Search all camping and outback travel forums for as much information as you can before making any decision.

Disco.

FollowupID: 706363

Reply By: Member - Carl- Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:25
Hi Mark,

The two replies above are great but once you get to this isolated beauitful place, that you have all to yourself, you have to live there.

So a true off road van can carry 300 litre + of water and have the ability to source water from dams and rivers. This is pumps, filters, hoses.

It has the ability to provide power for lights, refrigeration, heating and entertainment. So lots of batteries and solar power. At least 3 X 120 amp hour batteries and 3 x 120 solar panels. This then translates into the need for at leasta 40 amp battery charger. 800 watt inverter and the regulating electrical components. Then for bad weather a generator and the petrol and oil to keep it going.

To keep clean you need a shower and we all need a toilet facility.

Those dirty clothes need to be washed and the washing machine needs 40 litres per load. It also need electricity as it will not run off and inverter, so we are back to the generator.

Add this to the frame and suspension mentioned above and your getting a off road caravan.
AnswerID: 435221

Follow Up By: Quadlux - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 20:00

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 20:00
I hope this is "Tongue in cheek"...

I have been taking my van to some quite remote places for the last 5 yrs.
I dont have a Generator, solar panel, built in shower, batterys (in van) 300ltr tank, Invertor or any entertainment that requires power for my two children.
I do have a porta toilet as with young children under 5 its a asset.
I also tow with a hilux.
I do agree with the Heavy frame and suspension.
FollowupID: 706364

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:29

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:29
Hi Carl, nice to have, but bush camping can still be simple.

Solar power and enough batteries to store it is well and truly worth while, but i can do without water filtering systems and washing machine. Shower and toilet on board makes it easier and opens up more camping opportunities, but we managed with a spade and a wash bowl with our previous camper. When water is short, we still bathe in the tub rather than use the shower, and can last weeks on our 240 litres if we have to. We can use a bucket for drawing water and use direct from that; makes life really easy. My washing machine is two buckets with lids for when moving (using water drawn from outside sources), and a plumbers plunger for when stationary. Our generator didn't get used at all in the five months we were touring last year. With almost everything 12 volt, an inverter is used for charging batteries for camera and phone as it is quicker than charging on 12 v, and my husband can use an electric shaver. A small inverter will run these. Our television and DVD player is 12 volt, and the only time we ever used it was in 2008 on a freezing cold day at Alice Springs, when we watched a couple of DVDs. We have the "big picture window" all day.

Keeping camping simple

FollowupID: 706370

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:43

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:43
I reckon if you take all that stuff with you there's not much point in leaving home. Learning how to do without stuff is what it's all about for us anyway, although I do like to get the news and watch the occasional game of footy during the winter.

As Motherhen says there is the occasional really bad weather days.

Use the shower water to do the washing in.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 706371

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:16

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:16
Hey everyone, don't shoot the messenger. The beauity of camping is that has an opinion of what is a nice place and what is camping. Some like it more basic than others. I was just pointing out some things that in off road vans.

I carry a 81 cm plasma tv and foxtel as well in my van as well but was not going to mention it. Some of us live in off road caravans (so it is our home) and want to see the AFL final in the boonies.

Not everyone wants to go this far but sitting around the waterhole, we are all fellow travellers and equals. That is the great thing about camping in the outback. The last true Australia.
FollowupID: 706384

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:07

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:07
Sorry Carl I must have been watching the cricket at the time, we are upgrading to a larger van as we spent lots of time having wet trips over the last six months and we have changed vehicles.

Now I read that again I'd say I was probably green with envy as there is no solar power with the new van and I had just set us up in the Compac. I'm not really a grumpy old man, so I owe you a coupla stubbies next time I see you coming out of the desert.

Regards & apologies again (what a shocker)
Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 706390

Reply By: ob - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:55

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 19:55
Firstly may I add my vote for everything the previous posters have said.
The piece I would like to add is the tow vehicle. Now if you want to go full size with the lot i.e. mega water tanks, generators and a significant size of battery bank plus showers and toilet you will need a good size tug to pull all that around, particularly in an off road (as opposed to rough road) situation. I currently own a "on road" van and loaded up goes about 2.5 tonnes. This is ok behind our trusty Cruiser but I feel a similar specced full off road van is going to involve a bit of an upgrade in vehicle. Not just to pull the load but to have the bulk to control it as opposed to the van controlling the vehicle.

AnswerID: 435223

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:12

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:12
Very good points Pop

Our 18' Bushtracker weighed in at 3 tonne on the tow vehicle when we left for our lap last year. We were 7 tonne all up. It was nice to be sitting in the heavy end when the van swayed a bit pulling out of wheel tracks out from Hughenden for a passing truck.

FollowupID: 706367

Reply By: Rangiephil - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:46

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 21:46
Just remember that Bushtrackers et al are not only heavy but they are humungously tall.
I spoke at length to a guy at Karajini and inspected his Bushtracker, and a beautiful thing it was.
BUT he was very diappointed that he couldn't go down a lot of tracks in the Eastern states because the thing was just so tall.

I could have said "And you didn't think of that before you spent 100K?" but I restrained myself.

Another thing of course is , although they can take punishment , the weight means that you are really confined to capped roads. You would sink like a stone on sand or mud unless you like lots of winching etc..

I met 2 guys at Lorelle Springs in off road vans. Both had their Microwaves fall on the floor on the track in. That could become expensive.

My old Camp'o'matic just followed along. Sometimes simple is good.
Regards Philip A

AnswerID: 435226

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 23:11

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 23:11
Hi Philip

OK, we got stuck for a bit in the stones at Carawine Gorge - the F250 rather than the caravan though, and we got out of it OK without winching (although a pair of MaxTrax made the job easier). The people who followed with a Pajero and one of the tiny rear door Supremes were equally as bogged. Other than that, the F250 took it through sand with no problems. We did avoid deep sand when pulling with the auto Patrol out of respect for the auto gearbox and 3 litre motor.

Microwave? Wouldn't take one with me caravanning in a pink fit; heavy and take up space. Do you have a microwave in your camp'o'matic? I can cook without a microwave. The 12 v pie warmer is a lot slower than a microwave, but we can have hot pies without a microwave - and in the car.

Height? My husband needs something he won't keep bashing his head on and won't need to stoop with his bad back. It is no taller than other full height vans, but is higher due to the high clearance - we've appreciated that a few times. We have pruned the odd twig with our annex, but have dodged trees in the bush with success.

Still keeping camping simple

FollowupID: 706376

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:44

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 08:44
Hi Motherhen

Long time no chat.

This is a bit off track but what's this "pie warmer" thing you mentioned?

Just a tiny bit "on track". I haven't seen much mention of ground clearance needs at the back of the van and also for the tow bar! I thought that would be paramount. Especially in the alps. Isn't that the main reason apart, from ego (tongue in cheek), that we "lift" our cars. To get better approach, ramp ove and departure clearance. I know we did. And we needed it also on the Cape drive.

TThanks

FollowupID: 706388

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:16

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 11:16
Phil,

It's a 12 volt oven, get them at Trickies for about $25. Very small and only heat to about 140 C, draws about 8 amps. The heating element is only in the bottom section.

Great for heating up to 4 pies but you have to rotate them regularly. Also will steam 12 dimmies in an oven bag.

Greta bit of kit.

FollowupID: 706400

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:09

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 14:09
Hi Phil

The block on the Hayman Reece WDH has sometimes scraped in the crown between wheel tracks, but this has not been hard dirt. The cutaway at the back resolves any rear issues. Now we are towing with the F250, the long wheel base is more of a limiting factor on steep deep dips.

Jim has given you the info about the pie warmer - purchased after great reports from members here, and used a lot when in Tasmania in 2006. Not good on really corrugated roads though - a few hours of that and you have one big pie.

Mh

FollowupID: 706427

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:14

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:14
Thanks Mh

Thats what I thought. I think we will stick to the frame in the bonnet. It can still shake them up a bit. But it uses less power.

Ran acros a 250 up on the starkie track on the Cape. They had to turn around as the track was too twisty for them to get through. We all have limits and I hope you dont want to go that way.

Take care

FollowupID: 706439

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:38

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:38
Hi Phil

Yes, we have to be selective, but with so many more roads to be travelled, most of it will be done where we can take the caravan with ease, and travel and camp in comfort.

We chickened out on much of the Holland Track when we first got the F250, but probably did the worst bits anyway and sustained a few surface scratches. Winding through the trees there was OK but wouldn't have been if towing the caravan 0:

Terrified trees were bending out of our way on the winding track to Jimjim Falls in Kakadu, and many of them had chunks taken out from the adventure tour buses, which had a much shorter wheel base than us, but were higher. We got through unscathed.

We chose not to take the Frew River track in the Davenport Ranges NT after discussion with others at the camp ground who did it as a day trip from the camp, because at least one of the dips may have given us trouble; we looked at one when we took a walk along the track and thought we might dig a hole with the tow hitch.

Other than that the extra size is not a problem except when i want to park in a shopping centre car park!

FollowupID: 706443

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 00:14

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 00:14
Fair enough. A nephew had one but got stuck in the Vic High hills following us. The daughter in law has fun to and from work in Sydney. Its just a 100 series but she gets the right of way easier. Or so she says.

Anyway

Nice catching up to you. Currently planning a Canning trip top to bottom. Love to do it on our own. But . . . !!!

FollowupID: 706494

Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:08

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:08
The basic differences are the offroad van has chequer plate sides, an all terrain coupling, 15" white wheels & a stone guard. Some are even called "Outbacks" so you can tell them apart from the road going vans ;-)
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 435229

Follow Up By: disco driver - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:54

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 22:54
Hi Crackles,
Do I detect just a small touch of cynicism in your reply.
I agree that there are many vans marketed as "Offroad" or "Outback" that do fit your description.
Be well aware of the apparent "Truth" in advertising. Not all Offroad or Outback vans will get home from the "Outback" in one piece.

Disco.
FollowupID: 706374

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 23:36

Saturday, Nov 06, 2010 at 23:36
Unfortunately in many cases I see it as a touch of realism & the sad bit is many people believe the marketing (or just go for the cheaper price) then we see them on here asking will my van be alright on the Plenty Highway?
Craig.......
FollowupID: 706377

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 00:34

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 00:34
Hi Mark,

I have had off-road vans and camper trailers and have finally have what is an idela setup for me. My first off-road van (not a true off-roader) was a Windsor Rapid. While I dragged it most places, it was simply too wide and long to get where I wanted to go. After one particular trip I had to replace both side panels and the awning.

I then went to a camper trailer and it simply goes anywhere you can tow it, no issues with ny track at all. I also realised how much I liked cooking outside and how much a van was anti-social with its indoor cooking. But I must admit the easier setup of a van was appealing even with a Camprite (one of the quickest setup campers around).

So now I have a full off-road van thats suits ME. It doesn't have an indoor kitchen, but it does have a shower and toilet and can sleep 4. It is only the width of a normal vehicle (actually narrower than my 200) , is the same height as my 200 and is only 600mm longer than my camper trailer and is 160kg empty. Yet it has reverse cycle a/c, a diesel heater and up to 300L of water capacity. Its off-road ability is only limited by where my modded 200 can drag it. For me, thats what an off-road van is; small, relatively light but enough creature comforts that make life easy.

AnswerID: 435232

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 00:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 00:42
Oops, meant to be 1,600kg empty.... oh for an edit function :(

FollowupID: 706378

Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:35

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 07:35
Don't they look beauitful when they are new.
FollowupID: 706380

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:43

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:43
And they cost What $75,000????????

FollowupID: 706391

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 12:29

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 12:29
Only if you don't want the a/c, heater, annexe, bike rack, kids beds.... otherwise be prepared to spend another $10K... all depends on what you want I suppose.

FollowupID: 706412

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:40

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 13:40
I'd consider Kimberley Karavan another in that hybrid class. I have only seen one Quantum, but quite a few Kimberleys out there.

Mh

FollowupID: 706422

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:20

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 18:20
Capt,

I camped next to one recently on the Murrimbidgee, a really nice bit of gear, the owner was a good fella and let me have a good look over it, I think he said his cost about $80k, but it's all relative, if I had the $80k spare I'd have one, but only good for a couple though no room for the kids!

Cheers.....Browny
FollowupID: 706449

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 22:51

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 22:51
Onya Mutha, yes the Karavans seem to get everywhere. Several I am aware of to the Cape this year, even behind lighter weight utes. The beauty of the Kimberley Karavan is that it tows in your car wheel tracks and your standard mirrors can see past it. It will miss the white posts if your car does.

There are several EO members who are also members of the Kimberley Karavan Owners Group but to join, you will need to be able to provide details of your Karavan.

They are good for up to two people but provide comfort and reliability and a maximum payload of just over 2T with water loaded.
FollowupID: 706484

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:16

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:16
Hi Browny,

Actually they can sleep 5. And I also have a 4 bike carrier on the front too (thats what the front "flap" folds done for). I have the optional single bunk bed (can be 2) and the table also converts to a bed so mine is set up for my family of 4. Yes, it is on the tight side but hey, the van is only for sleeping in IMHO. I did look at the KK and in previous models they too had an internal kids bed option, but now they only have an external "tent" that goes under the slideout bed on the outside - didn't suit my 2 kids. Also, the KK has an internal kitchen, something I specifically didn't want - been there done that.

And I don't know if you have ever tried to look at or buy a KK, they would have to be the most arrogant people I have ever come across. The KK was high on my list and I was glad to be able to cross it off, the attitude of the sales people and also the attitude of KK after purchase (read on forums) would have been enough to cross it off my list anyway.

Kids dinette bed

Kids bunk bed (can also get a double bunk)

The Quantum is not for everyone, but it certainly is for me. I am lucky enough to be able to get what I want and this was chosen on what I thought would suit me and my family best and where I like to travel.

FollowupID: 706488

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:42

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 23:42
Hi Captain

Your family Quantum appears like a mobile bedroom with outdoor living. I prefer inside living when the mozzies and midgees set in, or in a freezing cold wind. Happy travels.

Gunyah by Ozzie Off Road is another than fits into the hybrid caravan-camper type group. Another similar is a model by North Coast Campers. Both seem to be like to the Quantum. I have never seen either of them.

Mh

FollowupID: 706492

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 00:17

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 00:17
Hi Motherhen

Thats the beauty of all the choice we have for our "homes away from home". I know what I have doesn't suit all, but it works well for me and my family. Also, I am sure as I get older my needs will change and that I will want even more creature comforts. I used to be happy with just a 2 man tent, an esky and my old Diahatsu - now I wouldn't know how to camp without an Engels, innerspring mattress and portable shower/toilet !!!

The hybrids are arguably the fastest growing market at the moment, there are many worthy models out there and it takes some time to sort out what you want/need. And there are some shoddy makers out there trying to cash in on this boom too.

But the point is to get out there and enjoy it no matter what you have. Some of us are lucky enough to have what we want, but that wasn't always the case and I used to get out there with what I had, it certainly didn't make the trip any less worthy.

FollowupID: 706495

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 09:13

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 09:13
Captain, they must listen at Kimberley to some extent as they now have an external kitchen option like this
in what they term the X-Series. It may suit some but we find the options of in and out great.

I saw a Quantum at Uluru camp ground in July with all the vents taped up. The guy hadn't been able to keep dust out of it. He seemed not at all interested in what I could advise with the aircon which was the same as I have. They have four air passage holes which can move many litres of dusty air an hour than is necessary.
FollowupID: 706509

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 13:01

Monday, Nov 08, 2010 at 13:01
Hi John,

Yeah, the outdoor kitchen is a popular option. I agree each to their own as what suits them, its great there are so many quality models on the market that we get to have a choice of what we prefer.

With regards to the aircon, I thought the KK had it roof mounted? On the Quantum, its under the seat and there are two vents under the RHS wheel arch that need to be opened when in use. These have covers to seal them when travelling, but could be a source of dust if you forgot to put the lockable covers in place.

PS. sorry for hijacking the original thread - but its sorta still on track as its about off-road vans :)
FollowupID: 706522

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:24

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 09:24
Hi Benmarca,
I agree with a lot than has been said, we have had numerous vans, camper trailers and there is a different set up that suits you at different times of your lives well ours anyway and that is our excuse. We now have gone for a crossover like the post before except we went for a Topaz by Track trailer, for various reasons my hubby wanted to do lots of 4x4 stuff and I am really susceptable to sand flies and mossies and we live on the North coast of NSW where everytime we go camping it rains so I wanted to be able to get out of those things, Do your research think what suits you and where you live and where you want to go then be happy with your decision everyone's requirements are different
Barb
AnswerID: 435248

Reply By: Benmarca - Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:28

Sunday, Nov 07, 2010 at 16:28
Thankyou for the responses, your comments are noted.

AnswerID: 435271