New Mobile Speed Camera Locations in Sydney

Submitted: Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 10:59
ThreadID: 80255 Views:8148 Replies:4 FollowUps:31
Car One - Mobile Speed Camera Program
Date Day Site Number Road Name Suburb McLean High Crash Periods McLean Time Allocated Start Time Finish Time Speed Limit
19/07/10 Monday 11160 Parramatta Rd Camperdown     8.00AM 11.00AM
19/07/10 Monday 11150 Parramatta Rd Stanmore     13:00 PM 16.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11330 Camden Valley Way Elderslie     8.00AM 11.00AM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11320 Heathcote Rd Holsworthy     13:00 PM 16.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11080 Hume Hwy Villawood     8.00AM 11.00AM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11190 Hume Hwy Chullora     12.00noon 16.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 11320 Heathcote Rd Holsworthy     8.00AM 11.00AM
22/07/10 Thursday 11300 Camden Valley Way Leppington     13:00 PM 16.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 11160 Parramatta Rd Camperdown     8.00AM 11.00AM
23/07/10 Friday 11150 Parramatta Rd Stanmore     12.00noon 16.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday
25/07/10 Sunday 11330 Camden Valley Way Elderslie     8.00AM 11.00AM
25/07/10 Sunday 11320 Heathcote Rd Holsworthy     13:00 PM 16.00PM

Car Two - Mobile Speed Camera Program
Date Day CRS Location Road Name Suburb McLean High Crash Periods McLean Time Allocated Start Time Finish Time Speed Limit
19/07/10 Monday 11240 Pittwater Rd Collaroy     8.00AM 11.00AM
19/07/10 Monday 11340 Pacific Highwa Pymble     13.00 noon 16.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11070 Sydney Rd Balgowlah     8.00AM 11.00AM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11240 Pittwater Rd Collaroy     13.00 PM 16.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11340 Pacific Highwa Pymble     8.00AM 11.00AM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11070 Sydney Rd Balgowlah     13.00noon 16.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday
23/07/10 Friday 11340 Pacific Highwa Pymble     8.00AM 11.00AM
23/07/10 Friday 11240 Pittwater Rd Collaroy     12.00noon 15.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11070 Sydney Rd Balgowlah     10.00AM 13.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11340 Pacific Highwa Pymble     14.00PM 17.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 11240 Pittwater Rd Collaroy     12.00noon 15.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 11340 Pacific Highwa Pymble     16.00PM 19.00PM

Car Three - Mobile Speed Camera Program
Date Day CRS Location Road Name Speed Limit Suburb McLean High Crash Periods McLean Time Allocated Start Time Finish Time

Car Three - Mobile Speed Camera Program
Date Day CRS Location Road Name Suburb McLean High Crash Periods McLean Time Allocated Start Time Finish Time Speed Limit
19/07/10 Monday 11360 Windsor Rd Rouse Hill     8.00AM 11.00AM
19/07/10 Monday 11370 Great Western Hwy Werrington     13.00noon 16.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday
21/07/10 Wednesda 11360 Windsor Rd Rouse Hill     8.00AM 11.00AM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11370 Great Western Hwy Werrington     13.00noon 16.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 11380 Great Western Hwy Wentworth Falls     8.00AM 11.00AM
22/07/10 Thursday 11280 Windsor Rd Beaumont Hills     13.00noon 16.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 11360 Windsor Rd Rouse Hill     16.00PM 19.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 11370 Great Western Hwy Werrington     20.00PM 23.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11380 Great Western Hwy Wentworth Falls     8.00AM 11.00AM
24/07/10 Saturday 11280 Windsor Rd Beaumont Hills     12.00noon 15.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday

Car Four - Mobile Speed Camera Program
19/07/10 Monday 11390 Oxford Street Centennial Park     12.00noon 15.00PM
19/07/10 Monday 11260 Lyons Rd Drummoyne     17.00PM 20.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11260 Lyons Rd Drummoyne     12.00noon 15.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday 11020 Kissing Point Rd Oatlands     17.00PM 20.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11050 Boorea Street Lidcombe     12.00noon 15.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11390 Oxford Street Centennial Park     16.00PM 19.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 11020 Kissing Point Rd Oatlands     12.00noon 15.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 11050 Boorea Street Lidcombe     16.00PM 19.00PM
23/07/10 Friday
24/07/10 Saturday 11260 Lyons Rd Drummoyne     12.00noon 15.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11390 Oxford Street Centennial Park     16.00PM 19.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 11050 Boorea Street Lidcombe     12.00noon 15.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 11020 Kissing Point Rd Oatlands     16.00PM 19.00PM

Car Five - Mobile Speed Camera Program
19/07/10 Monday 11110 King Georges Rd South Hurstville     12.00noon 15.00PM
19/07/10 Monday 11100 Blacktown Rd Blacktown     17.00PM 20.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday
21/07/10 Wednesda 10931 F6 Freeway Helensburgh     12.00noon 15.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 11040 Parramatta Rd Ashfield     17.00PM 20.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 10931 F6 Freeway Helensburgh     12.00noon 15.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 11110 King Georges Rd South Hurstville     16.00PM 19.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 11100 Blacktown Rd Blacktown     12.00noon 15.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 11040 Parramatta Rd Ashfield     16.00PM 19.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11080 Hume Hwy Villawood     12.00noon 15.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 11190 Hume Hwy Chullora     16.00PM 19.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 11110 King Georges Rd South Hurstville     10.00AM 13.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday 10931 F6 Freeway Helensburgh     14.00PM 17.00PM

Car Six - Mobile Speed Camera Program
19/07/10 Monday 11320 Heathcote Rd Holsworthy     12.00noon 15.00PM
19/07/10 Monday 11300 Camden Valley Wa Leppington     17.00PM 20.00PM
20/07/10 Tuesday 10940 F6 Freeway Mount Ousley     8.00AM 11.00AM
20/07/10 Tuesday 10860 Princes Hwy Corrimal     13:00 PM 16.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 10950 Princes Hwy Unanderra     12.00noon 15.00PM
21/07/10 Wednesda 10941 F6 Freeway Mount Ousley     17.00PM 20.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 10960 King Street Warrawong     12.00noon 15.00PM
22/07/10 Thursday 10890 Princes Hwy Fairy Meadow     17.00PM 20.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 10861 Princes Hwy Corrimal     12.00noon 15.00PM
23/07/10 Friday 10941 F6 Freeway Mount Ousley     17.00PM 20.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 10960 King Street Warrawong     12.00noon 15.00PM
24/07/10 Saturday 10862 Princes Hwy Fairy Meadow     17.00PM 20.00PM
25/07/10 Sunday
Hope this helps people out, Half of these places are not even high risk areas or as they put it. HIGH ACCIDENT SPOTS, just money making revenue. Some of these spots have been changed since this was sent out last sunday........

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:17

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:17
According to the RTA this was a leaked document, so the locations have probably changed....

1st month is warning only action, so no need to worry about it .....yet !!

Out on the open road is not a problem, but sticking exactly to the speed limit in a place like Sydney is very hard....if you go with the general flow, you will nearly always be over.....but then, I suppose they know that.....thats why they can estimate how much this crap is going to earn them..

They say nearly all deaths had speed as a factor ??????? of course it did.....if you were stopped you wouldn't have been killed......
AnswerID: 424988

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:35

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:35
Im not one for speeding on purpose but I am definately guilty of it, maybe over by5k some times more, some times I dont even know what the bloody speed limit is it changes that much, sit on 60k and you have a line of cars up your rear only to find out your in a 70k. They definately should be looking at keeping the speed limits the same along major roads, this bloody 60/70/80/60/70 and son on, there gunna nab heaps. I know a few of these locations that are indicated and they are sure as hell not hot spots for accidents etc. Bloody revenue thats all it is
FollowupID: 695443

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:37

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 11:37
Yessss ....

It does seem strange that a "safety device" which is touted to lower accidents and drivers vehicle speeds .... can have a monetary, income figure attached to it.

One would think also .... that the income would be decreasing every year if the things worked as a safety device ... making the income unsuitable for use in state govt budget predictions.

Must be plenty of profit in the false safety programme ... MacQuarie Bank wants to do a full takeover of the privatised part of the job .... and they dont get involved in anything unless theres big money to be gained.

Shame all that profit from the money boxes doesnt go into state infrastructure.

How many of these mobile money boxes did they actually get ??? ...

Last report I read was 6 ... and 5 of them were going out to deal with all those nasty dangerous drivers on the Newell Highway .... Who are sick to death of staring at the back end of B-Doubles and overtaking them at the previously legal speed of 110kph.

FollowupID: 695444

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:35

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:35
Even if they dont change the sites plenty will be caught anyway, as it is a fact of life many speed. As said ,it is hard to sit on the limit when everyone is 10k above it, & the number of speed zones is also a valid point. The NSW Govt have identified this as an ongoing cash cow & will hide behind the safety aspect to
cover the necessity. If this was true, the fines would go to fixing accident black
spots but they do not. If that did occur it would fix all the roads in the State....
just like the 3C a litre fuel tax..that was put on to fund roadwork 25 years ago..
Ha Ha Ha Ha. Want to beat it ? Stay under the limit....:)))...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 695454

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 00:41

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 00:41
Gronk
NOT SO, a bloke was stopped in a suburb of Darwin a few months ago, he was out of the car and still got killed.

FollowupID: 695529

Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:46

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:46
Whats with people these days. Trying to find ways of breaking the law. Who gives a rats where they are. Stay under the speed limit and all is fine.

Wake up and stop being immature.

AnswerID: 425003

Follow Up By: sweetwill - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:59

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 14:59
hi there phil.
we all try to stay under the limit but it happens and you can bet your boots that is where the camera will be, it is only another form of tax. cheers bill.
FollowupID: 695457

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:22

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:22
hey Phil - you need to ease up the angry pills a bit
FollowupID: 695458

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:35

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:35
Najh I am in a good mood today. I finally had a whole day without pain. The first one since Christmas.

I just think this business of trying not to get booked is a bit of a crock. Its so easy. Especially with all the fancy GPS's and testing we can do to make sure we know what speed we are doing.

I have been booked in the past maybe a bit more than the normal average and now I find it so easy. It took a Highway Patrol bloke 5 miles to stop me once. I didn't even know he was chasing me. The magestrate suggested he got some more training and I got off. Ha. Yet everyone rants and raves about cameras and secreted documents and so on. And they have mobile alerts on the phones etc etc etc. Just to sit 5KPH faster. Such a waste of good technology and effort and stress.

Believe me this is an excellent day for me. And the apple pie I am making to take away Monday smells too good for me to be here on the PC. But then if I wasn't here maybe the pie wouldn't be sitting on the bench in the kitchen in one piece either. Hmmmmm Sooooo tempting.

Catchya on the road. I am just hoping the CREB track will be open.

FollowupID: 695459

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:41

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 15:41
I didn't mean to appear angry. Looks like I will have to go down the street and get some more apples.

FollowupID: 695460

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 16:06

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 16:06
G'Day VK .....

Must be too much herbicide in those apples you're munching.

Hasnt been a comment yet about people "wanting" to break the law ....

Just the improperly administered method of monitoring vehicles speeds.

Always amazes me on this forum too ...... How so many presumed "seasoned " drivers spring to the defence of the money boxes and the transport depts.

Surely "seasoned" drivers understand that a enforced MAXIMUM highway speed of 100kph .... actually means a national average highway speed of closer to 80/90kph ... once all those open road situations which require slowing down for - are taken into account.

No "real" driver wants to drive fast ..... All the time.

They just want to be able to legally overtake vision blocking trucks that the govt encourage to use public roads by shutting down rail systems ...... Or build up up a bit of momentum to maintain a realistic speed up the next hill ... or be able to concentrate on the road ahead - instead of the speedo.

Life in the real world isnt always about fancy multi-lane city freeways.

And a bit of justice recently .... 25kph over the limit, speeding offence dismissed.

Seems that an improperly set up 70kph radar trap, and careful selection of an interstate vehicle from a group of same speed vehicles ... all travelling at 5kph under the real posted limit of 100kph .... doesn't hold up in court .....
FollowupID: 695462

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:16

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:16
OK.... i dont get it now, give me just ONE good reason to speed (breaking the LAW) and i will see at least a little bit of commen sence in speeding......

I get done, good i deserve it and tell my kids just that, i dont winge and complain about it "raising revenue", i am SOOOOO glad it does as my car rego would be twice the price....

Otherwise it is simple not to get caught.... ummm DONT SPEED

Moved to Leeton, NSW from the bush, a young family all got killed within the 60k zone, 5 k's from there home, passing a truck and speeding, just HAD to get home ..... young dad on way home from hospital 30k's out, gf had just had baby, car cut in half on power pole speeding...... 12 local people within a 50klms of "home" all dead from speeding....
8 months of that rubbish i was glad to leave but only after my BOSS questioned why i did not speed back from a job, ""all the other guys do"" ..

Speed, go for it and save that one min, it may well be your last but when you get a fine, THANK YOU, it helps the national debt.

FollowupID: 695474

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:36

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:36
Its not about the speeding so much the point I see is these things are suppose to be put in high accident rated areas/positions, what a load of crap, The one at Werrington mmmm know the area well, cant remember the last time I saw an accident, You cant tell me Joe/Mel you have never been traveling over the speed limit at any stage even 2k ??? Going down a hill, oops 5 k over hit the brakes to slow it up, too late been done for 5k over, tell me you wouldnt be spewing ?? Come on look at the extremely high speeds they do legally overseas, half the problem is people dont know how to drive here and half should not be on the road they are a danger to you me and themselves. Same as safety cameras watch how many rear enders start to happen as people will hit the brakes and lock up just so they dont go through an orange light when they could have safely and without been booked. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 695478

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:48

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:48
vk1dx/Joe n Mel,

LOL you're asking motorists to wake up and/or grow up - it won't happen.

fyi

Mobile Speed Camera Locations
The following locations have been selected based on criteria developed by the RTA’s NSW Centre for Road Safety in consultation with the NSW Police Force and NRMA Motoring and Services. The full site selection criteria are available at www.rta.nsw.gov.au/mobilespeedcameras

The criteria are primarily based on crash history. The following initial locations have been selected from those previously used in the NSW Police Force program, and the NSW Centre for Road Safety has reassessed these locations and
prioritised those that have been identified as having a high number of crashes.
The crash data below are from 2006-2008. Crash data from 2009 are not yet complete but will be used in the selection of future locations.

Suburb/Town Street/Road No. of crashes No.Killed No. Injured

Albion Park / Albion Park Rail Princes Highway 150 3 97
Albury Hume Highway 26 0 17
Anna Bay Nelson Bay Road 24 1 13
Arrawarra Pacific Highway 45 1 26
Ashfield Parramatta Road 73 1 49
Auburn M4 Motorway 184 1 87
Awaba Cessnock Road 9 2 15
Baan Baa / Boggabri Kamilaroi Highway 7 5 6
Balgowlah Sydney Road 67 2 35
Ballina Pacific Highway 134 2 84
Bathurst Mid Western Highway 6 1 5
Beaumont Hills Windsor Road 61 1 44
Belford New England Highway 36 1 17
Bennetts Green Pacific Highway 19 1 11
Beresfield John Renshaw Drive 31 1 15
Berkeley / Kembla Grange Southern Freeway 138 2 70
Berridale Kosciuszko Road 13 2 14
Berry Gerroa Road 18 1 7
Blackheath Great Western Highway 31 1 16
Blacksmiths Pacific Highway 30 3 32
Blacktown Blacktown Road 32 1 27
Blayney Mid Western Highway 13 2 4
Bookham Hume Highway 24 4 14
Bowenfels Great Western Highway 26 2 21
Bowral / Mittagong Moss Vale Road 62 3 35
Boxers Creek Hume Highway 30 2 17
Bradbury Appin Road 50 1 32
Branxton New England Highway 44 1 27
Bredbo / Colinton Monaro Highway 22 2 11
Broadwater / East Wardell /
North Broadwater Pacific Highway 28 3 28
Bulli Princes Highway 96 1 54
Burwood Parramatta Road 181 1 107
Camberwell New England Highway 35 1 27
Cambewarra
Cambewarra Road / Moss Vale
Road 11 1 6
Camperdown Parramatta Road 182 1 107
Capertee Castlereagh Highway 9 3 7
Caringbah Captain Cook Drive 59 1 29
Carlton Princes Highway 68 2 33
Cartwright Hoxton Park Road 99 1 71
Cassilis Golden Highway 6 1 9
Casula Hume Highway 67 1 46
Cataract / Madden Plains Southern Freeway 16 1 8
Centennial Park Oxford Street 51 1 31
Chatsworth / Maclean Pacific Highway 16 1 12
Chatsworth / Woodburn Pacific Highway 22 1 15
Chullora Hume Highway 51 3 32
Clybucca Pacific Highway 22 3 18
Coffs Harbour Pacific Highway - North 88 4 56
Coffs Harbour Pacific Highway - South 185 2 114
Collaroy Pittwater Road 96 1 54
Condell Park Edgar Street 50 1 22
Conjola Princes Highway 29 2 23
Coolgardie / North Wardell /
Pinlico Pacific Highway 28 3 28
Coonabarabran Newell Highway 10 2 21
Corowa Redlands Road 11 1 4
Corrimal / Towradgi Princes Highway 84 1 38
Cremorne Military Road 154 1 81
Cronulla Kingsway 38 1 24
Croydon Parramatta Road 113 1 62
Culcairn Olympic Highway 8 1 3
Cullen Bullen Castlereagh Highway 8 1 2
Cumbalum / Tintenbar Pacific Highway 48 3 33
Cundletown Pacific Highway 21 1 6
Dapto Princes Highway 71 1 52
Dean Park Richmond Road 108 1 68
Doonside Knox Road 60 1 39
Drummoyne Lyons Road 60 1 30
Dubbo Mitchell Highway 7 1 7
Dubbo Wingewarra Street 25 2 11
Dural New Line Road 52 1 26
East Gosford York Street 46 1 21
East Wagga Wagga / Forest Hill /
Gumly Gumly Sturt Highway 41 0 37
Elderslie Camden Valley Way 77 1 34
Eungai Rail Pacific Highway 21 3 18
Fairy Meadow Princes Highway 58 1 34
Forbes Back Marsden Road 3 2 1
Forster The Lakes Way 60 5 27
Foxground Princes Highway 6 1 3
Freemans Waterhole Palmers Road 8 1 5
Gateshead Pacific Highway 22 1 18
Geehi Alpine Way 26 2 17
Gerringong Princes Highway 51 1 33
Gillieston Heights Cessnock Road 21 1 13
Griffith / Leeton Irrigation Way 13 4 7
Halfway Creek Pacific Highway - North 27 2 17
Halfway Creek Pacific Highway - South 34 3 41
Hampton Jenolan Caves Road 16 1 12
Harpers Hill New England Highway 29 2 28
Hartley Great Western Highway 18 2 23
Heatherbrae Pacific Highway 31 2 24
Helensburgh Southern Freeway 62 1 31
Holdsworthy Heathcote Road 47 2 28
Hopefield Hopefield Rand Road 5 2 4
Ilford Castlereagh Highway 10 1 12
Ingleburn Hume Highway 71 1 42
Karuah / Tea Gardens Pacific Highway 14 2 10
Karuah / Twelve Mile Creek Pacific Highway 48 3 35
Kelso Gilmour Street 16 1 4
Kelso Great Western Highway - East 19 1 8
Kelso Great Western Highway - West 47 1 28
Kurrajong Bells Line of Road 12 4 10
Leppington Camden Valley Way - North 70 1 37
Leppington Camden Valley Way - South 52 1 37
Lismore Bruxner Highway 138 5 65
Lismore Bruxner Highway 18 2 23
Lithgow Great Western Highway 19 1 13
Maitland New England Highway 47 1 34
Marulan Hume Highway - East 45 2 23
Marulan Hume Highway - West 48 3 27
Meadow Flat Great Western Highway 17 1 6
Merewether Heights Pacific Highway 32 1 16
Monak Sturt Highway 9 1 9
Moree Newell Highway - North 10 1 8
Moree Newell Highway - South 24 1 28
Moruya Princes Highway 31 2 19
Mount Ousley Southern Freeway 139 2 69
Murrumbateman Barton Highway 29 3 14
Muswellbrook New England Highway 19 1 17
Nemingha New England Highway 17 2 13
Oatlands / Parramatta Kissing Point Road 53 1 22
Pymble Mona Vale Road 97 1 45
Pymble Pacific Highway 116 1 42
Rouse Hill Windsor Road 93 1 55
Russell Lea Lyons Road 83 1 45
South Hurstville King Georges Road 94 1 56
Stanmore Parramatta Road 160 1 100
Stockinbingal Burley Griffin Way 9 2 6
Tabbimoble / Woodburn Pacific Highway 7 1 4
Tilbuster New England Highway - North 11 1 10
Tilbuster New England Highway - South 14 1 10
Tocumwal Newell Highway 13 2 8
Turvey Park BourkeStreet 30 1 22
Unanderra Princes Highway 64 4 42
Urunga / South Urunga Pacific Highway 29 1 18
Villawood Hume Highway 115 2 92
Wallendbeen Burley Griffin Way 9 2 6
Warilla Lake Entrance Road 105 2 79
Warrawong King Street 52 1 24
Wentworth Falls Great Western Highway 46 2 18
Werrington Great Western Highway 58 3 39
West Tweed Heads Piggabeen Road 41 1 19
West Wyalong Newell Highway 9 2 4
Wyalong / West Wyalong Newell Highway 26 1 16
Yarra Federal Highway 41 2 19
Yetholme Great Western Highway 11 3 10
Young Back Creek Road 5 2 5

FollowupID: 695480

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:56

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 18:56
Wont grow up - - - TOO TRUE TOO TRUE

I don't know why you told me about the locations. I really don't give a rats.

I hope they put more out. Read Joe n Mels post and you will know why I say that.

FollowupID: 695482

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 19:32

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 19:32
vk1dx,

The info re the locations was directed at whoever is interested in this thread not specifically at you or Joe n Mel. Readers can make up their own minds on specific locations.

ps I agree with you both.
FollowupID: 695487

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:28

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:28
Cheers Gramps
FollowupID: 695501

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:49

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:49
yes "Wherehegon" i do speed and have been in situations where i am over the limit (way over) but at the end of the day i am breaking the law and i wont blame the revenue raiser, cops or whoever put it there because they put it there to catch ME, the speeder and i will (biteing my tounge) let my kids know i was in the wrong and should not have done it and deserved to get caught ...... no not some "churchy" or do-gooder or whatever either....
My kids get caught stealing a lolly, just one little lolly, and they are in line for a damm good whack with the wooden spoon as the law is dont steal, no ifs n buts you just dont steal...
The law sets the speed limits based on factual information about the location/s and we have to abide by the law, i dont agree on many of the speed limits in place, QLD of all places, but it is the law and probally made to protect the dumbest from the dumb but at least it does and those of us that are good drivers could very well drive in a safe manner at a higher speed than most but it then means that there is at least one person driving someware near you that can not drive at that speed and they cause an accident..... so do we have a different speed limit for some of us or just have a blanket speed that protects "us" from the idiots .... we have that "blanket" speed limit ....
Thank god the speed limits are what they are with some of the drivers out there .....
I do think it is a very good thing to post the locations, the post alone slows drivers down but dont really think it is real wise to bag the reason they are there, if that speed camera saves one life and that life is my "dumb", speeding kid from himself or someone else then i thank god they are there ....
FollowupID: 695505

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:59

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:59
vk1dx,
I think the idea of this post was to point out that the camera's aren't put in high risk areas, which makes it look like they are just revenue raising. The Mid Nth Coast is the highest death accident area in NSW it just seems funny why there are none of the new cameras here.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 695508

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:07

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:07
Thankyou Dave(NSW)

.... but as ususal ... all the rhetoric from those that cant tell the difference between a dangerous driver doing excessive speeds for the conditions ... and a driver caught out at 4kph over the limit .... has to be voiced.
FollowupID: 695509

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 00:47

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 00:47
vk1dx
Staying at the speed limit is no guarantee of surviving, it makes me laugh about the BS sing in Qld, 1 K over is a killer, what rubbish that is, so at 99Kph , 59Kph etc etc and you won't be killed , totally immune to death.

FollowupID: 695530

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:13

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 07:13
Totally agree. Speed isn't the killer. Its what causes the crash that is the killer. Like the drunk behind the wheel at 30KPH that runs a red light and hits another car that is doing 61KPH.

But thems the rules and I would rather keep my money to myself.

FollowupID: 695535

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:55

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 11:55
"OK.... i dont get it now, give me just ONE good reason to speed"

1. Your riding along minding your own business sitting on the speed limit approaching a "T" junction, you have right of way but coming from the left is another car approaching the corner looking the other way and you are damn sure he hasn't seen you, stopping isn't an option.......there is also a car coming straight on at you......
Do you.
A- Smash straight into the side of him because that would be the legal thing to do?
B- Accelerator briefly to get around the car to avoid an accident?

2. Your driving along sitting on the speed limit.....you have taken your eyes off the speedo for a couple of seconds to see where you are going and there is a slight decline in the road...........bugger.....2km over the speed limit before you know it.

If people are deliberately speeding, then book them.....
But what's the world coming to when you get fined for human error! We 're not robots....yet!

FollowupID: 695575

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:31

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:31
"OK.... i dont get it now, give me just ONE good reason to speed"

Because following the no-speeding senario specifically kills more people, its that simple and our intentions should be to do what lowers the road toll !

It is a counter intuitive argument, but in reality this is the way our society simply works !

An extract below from roadsense shows a little of the real problem ->

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Over the next three years, 2005, 2006 and 2007 the road toll increased which totally reversed the previous long term down trend with an alarming rise in 50km/h zone fatalities. Fortunately 2008 showed some improvement yet 2009 rose again. (See Lower Limits failed.)

So why are more people dying on our roads?

The only major factor that changed during the second (1997 to 2004) period was the widespread introduction of speed cameras with lower speed limits accompanied by a reduction in the number of police officers on our roads. Our perception tells us that tough speed limit enforcement would have to reduce the road toll.
The facts tell us an alarmingly different story - that speed cameras are in fact making things worse.
FollowupID: 695601

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 17:38

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 17:38
fair enough ..... but i may be wrong, the stats are on "numbers" and every year exactly how many more people get the licence and are on the road ....
If the numbers stay the same next year then it is actually down in percentage ..... tell me, how many more do get on the road each year ???
I know it is far from perfect the way it is handled but if you removed every camera and cop from the road for just one day and let everyone know that day then there would be one hell of an increase of prangs that day, i for one would not drive on that day, speed cameras really cant make it worse, if that was the case we could blame traffic lights for someone running a red light, if the light was not there it would not have happened, stop signs are making thing worse, roundabouts are making things worse, even roads are making things worse as they get cars all in close togeather and they hit each other, rail crossings as they make the car stop.... bridges are cause boats hit them and cars fall in the water, lollypop crossings at schools as they make kids go on the road, we could sue the car makers for making the car in the first place, In americia they do.......
Not having a crack at anyone but the rules are "leveled" for every single person and we just have to put up with cameras, lights, stop signs, ect as long as we all continue to bonk and have kids we will be putting more people on the roads that are NOT built to handle it ...... :-)
FollowupID: 695604

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 17:46

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 17:46
Mmmm.......roundabouts? bridges? boats????????
Cant see the relevance to speed cameras?
FollowupID: 695607

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 19:10

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 19:10
Hi Joe

I am happy to go with the evidence , that site has a lot and it would have been screamed down by now if it wasn't credibile , as least with regard to raw data.

They know all the issues about more road miles , more people and slower average speeds over the years , and there appears little dispute with the figures - as opposed to conclusions drawn.

Then you need to and in some significant extra information - like cars have increasingly got safter over the years and this alone should guarantee a significant drop in road toll - not just a flattening out, so there is real concern amongst many that things have in reality taken a significant dive as policing goes automatic.

I know its hard to accept but I can't find a comprehensive rebuke of this type of data that includes all the hidden factors.
FollowupID: 695617

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:14

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:14
If everyone wants to know the current speed limit, buy a Garmin or other GPS that tells you the current speed limit. My garmin 760 is pretty good at this and it only has 2009 software.. 2010 should be even better as they progress with this technology..
So remember if you dont want to get fined, keep one eye on the GPS, one eye on the road and one eye on your speedo!!! Michael
AnswerID: 425033

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:58

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 20:58
3 eyes ??? :-)

If they are able to do that is it possible to have an alarm set at the speed limit as set on the GPS ??
If set it "on" you would get an "alarm" if you go over the speed limit and not need to re-set it with changing limits and locations......

THAT i would love to have in my car, would use it more than the GPS mapping, probally never need to look at the speedo and that would surely save a few bucks with the cameras ...
FollowupID: 695507

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:14

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 21:14
Joe and Mel !! Check the latest Garmin,, the more expensive ones should have the alarm for overspeed. I read about a model in England recently that had it, The problem with the units that come with new cars as accessories is you have to set for each speed zone but the GPS based would be able to do this for you automatically!! Michael
FollowupID: 695510

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 23:49

Friday, Jul 23, 2010 at 23:49
Joe n Mel, the tomtom I have does have this feature,(one under the top of the range) I have it set for 3k over so when it goes off you just lift the foot a bit, I try and use cruise where I can but with so many varying speed limits your continously changing it, then with the tomom, while there great you also have to remove it from the windscreen when ever parking so some low life scum dont help themselves to it. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 695528

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 06:43

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 06:43
That's the only reason I use my gps. If I am even 1 km over the lady says 'you are over the speed limit!'. Sometimes she is wrong because the limit has changed but in general she keeps me out of trouble especially in areas I am unfamiliar with like interstate. I also think it would be a valuable safety tool to have the cars current speed displayed on the back somewhere. I reckon it would shake some people up because I think they don't look at their speedo's much....just drive along with the herd so having it in front of them on the next car would hit them better. Mike
FollowupID: 695533

Follow Up By: Ray - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:21

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 08:21
I remember a few years ago in the UK (I've been in Australia for fourty five years) a Smiths van that had a massive speedometer mounted on the roof.
FollowupID: 695540

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:15

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 10:15
Well eye witnesses to anything untoward would also be able to give an accurate report as well. Reports would change from the guy who knocked that child over went past me really fast to the guy was doing 120 in the 60 zone. I can't see a down side safety wise.
FollowupID: 695556

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:50

Saturday, Jul 24, 2010 at 16:50
I been reading all the answers and replies, you lot that live in the big cities spend 90% of your driving time at 70Ks and below, it has been drilled into the brains that speed is the killer, I don't care what you think or what your attitude is , it's a means of revenue raising...period, My firm belief is the reasons for accidents are thus, Incompetence, Fatigue, lack of concentration, and Alcohol and drugs, and my opinion comes from probably around 4 or 5 millions Klms over a period of 44 years of driving with 30 of those years in Trucks, now I'm not going to say it has been accident free, during the 30 years in trucks I was involved in 5 accidents with cars, all cases were the car was at fault, one of those accidents a young 21 y/o woman lost her life, and she was engaged to be married, there's not a lot one can do when people just pull out into the path of 42 tonnes.
Now quit your bickering and face the facts and take a good hard look at your selves .

AnswerID: 425089