Where would you go back to, & why?

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:02
ThreadID: 35378 Views:5851 Replies:33 FollowUps:42
OK, you've been to many different places, done the popular tracks/treks in most states. You're well sorted in terms of gear, camping, vehicle & driving skills. You can live a vagabond's life, and still have decent relationships with those immediately around you. You're not adversely stressed by changing circumstances.

Now you've got a week to be in your favourite location. None of this motel stuff, just living under the big blue roof.

Where is that location, and why is it special to you?

(For example, it may be a drive; a route; a paid up tag-along; or a place to set up base camp for a week; or a place to set up base camp & do daily sorties from.
It may be the immensely satisfying culmination of a carefully planned holiday trip; it may be where you & your mates return to every now & then; it may hold special memories & feelings for you as you approach/arrive; or it maybe just different to your normal existence. Is it where you caught that fish.............................??? )

I'll post mine soon, but for now let's open the floodgates.

Reply By: Russel & Mary - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:11
OK, I'll start. Years ago when the train used to stop here in our little town, I went to the ticket office and asked for a return ticket. He said "where to mate?", I said, "back here of course". So thistle dome. Rus.
AnswerID: 180936

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:35

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:35
ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 437235

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:31

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 22:31
Curtis Is, off Gladstone QLD.
Used to spend 6wks every xmas there (up the island a bit) and would be unlucky enough to see one other family about every 3 or 4 yrs other than that place was all ours.
Took what we needed to survive for family of 4 for the 6weeks in a beach buggy. As you can tell all we needed was there on the land and in the ocean. Only real luxury was an old chescold, gas bottle and tent. Oh and the beach buggy (if you could call a $200 vehicle a luxury).

AHHHH memories.
AnswerID: 180942

Follow Up By: Deanna & Bevan (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:35

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:35
Coral Bay Nth of WA (as it use to be in 1972), when we first went to Coral Bay there was a Motel, a Service Station and a Cavaran Park, there were two couples in the CP of which we were one, (it was our Honey Moon) a more quiet and lovely spot you could not wish to find and then came the developers, however we still love to go up there and enjoy the area out of peak time, still a lot of people but still a lovely place to go.

Yes the memories

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 437230

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 00:21

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 00:21
Hey Trevor- how lucky are we to be members of Club Curtis??? My mum spent a couple of years there as a little girl when her parents leased and ran Capricorn Lodge at South end, and I grew up hearing all her stories of riding turtles and swimming and fishing every day on their very own 'private island'. Tales of organised dances and cricket matches to get the Gladstone locals onto the Island to spend their money on weekends etc. In Sept 2004 I convinced my wife that as part of a Fraser Island, North Stradbroke, Moreton Island holiday, we HAD to see this place of childhood dreams. Well, Southend is a strange and quirky little enclave, and certainly could not be described as 'pretty', but just head out of town and up the east coast and like you said, you've got your own private Island- amazing cliffs and escarpments and then onto Turtle Street Beach. Fantastic place to 'explore', and I want to go back and try to find a way up to Cape Capricorn Lighthouse and 'Yellow Patch'. Do you know whether it can be done from Turtle street beach- have been looking at the island via 'google earth' and it looks like it might be possible.
FollowupID: 438209

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:19

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 09:19
Hi Junior,

We knew the lighthouse keepers up at Cape Cap. when it was manned and used to drive the beach buggy up there on occassions. It was impossible to drive the last bay before the lighthouse, but the keepers used to come and pick us up on their quads so maybe it was just that we were in a 2wd that made it impossible. To my knowledge Yellow Patch is a boat only proposition.
Not many people understand how big this Island is, it is huge and a lot of driving hours to get to Cape Cap.
Do you know if Monte Christo still holds the pastrol lease to the main part of the Island? If so is George still the manager?
I have been saying for a while to my wife, I would love to go back but I am sure the track up the coast would nearly have to be blazed through again by us, making it a big effort???
We used to stay at the beach known as Joey Lee's if you know where this is. Maybe 20-25km up from South End.

Ohhhh I've got great memories of this place, thanks for taking me back.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 438235

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:42

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:42
There were two main beaches that we visited on the way up the coast- first one was a rough and eroded track that came out onto a grassy point- two fishermen were there when we visited, you then have two drive down a steep emankment to get to that beach.
The second beach we visited was further up again, you come to another cliff top, turn left down the side of the hill, across a freshwater creek running into the ocean and onto a really long beach (did not know name of this beach at the time) but it is now known as Turtle Street Beach now with the Villas development, which has been an on and off again proposal- looks like they've got some approvals now though?
Yes, Monte Christo is still there (owned by a yank) and from reading some online articles, (here's another one) he is still managing it- how do we get in contact with them though?- when we arrived, we asked the people at Capricorn Lodge at South End how to contact them to get permission before driving on their property, but strangely they were not much help- perhaps just drive up to front door and say Gday???
Looks like Joey Lee's is further up the island again after reading from PAGE 42 at www.epa.qld.gov.au/media/environmental_management/coast_ocean/gladstone_harbour/b_reports/6.pdf -this very interesting read about some of the history of the island!
FollowupID: 438310

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:47

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 17:47
Sorry- he being George, not the yank!
FollowupID: 438313

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:03
sorry- try s for Villas Development
FollowupID: 438326

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:08

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 18:08
bugger- third time lucky
FollowupID: 438328

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 19:21
Yeah, I remember Turtle st. But can't remember if it was nth or sth of Joey Lee's (I think nth??)
Regards to their phone details... it used to be in the local white pages under M for Monte Christo. Hope this helps. It was always required that we call and let them know when we were on their property but entry was never refused to us (don't know if that applied to everyone?).
Are you still local up there?
Will look at the links tomorrow but am now on my way to see the QLD'rs thrash NSW in the origin.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 438337

Follow Up By: junior - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:03

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 20:03
I was never a local- I'm in SE victoria.
My mum spent a couple of years there when she was a child- we visited during a Fraser Is trip in '04.
FollowupID: 438352

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:53

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 22:53
Junior,

One of those links was current (Jan 06) and it mentioned George was still manager at the Monte Christo property so I feel confident I will be able to talk my way back on to the island getaway. Thanks for your links.
When I get back over there I will get a few photo's and show the rest of EO what they are missing........mmmmm maybe I won't or the secret may get out.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 438392

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:34

Wednesday, Jun 28, 2006 at 23:34
I lived in the south west of WA as a teenager and I am continually returning to visit the area. I still have a good friend who lives in Albany, but I keep going back to the Denmark/Walpole area.

I love the forrest smell, the massive trees, and the coastline is rugged and spectacular.

We have started spreading our trips out a bit more, some up north a bit, some out east a bit, but I am drawn to the south for comfort.
AnswerID: 180956

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:15

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 00:15
Three places; 1) the whole area between Crescent Head and Port Macquarie; beautiful beaches, some council owned (dogs accepted etc), some nature reserves. Good surfing, good fishing, 4wd access to beaches(fee), Personal pick of the spots- Melauluca(spelling)- no facilities and quiet.
2)Woody Head- NP fees but excellent facilities for family; pay showers, sheltered bay, near town.
3) The camping areas around the Styx River(between Armidale and Dorrigo), a very special area.
AnswerID: 180960

Follow Up By: pprass - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:10

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:10
"1) the whole area between Crescent Head and Port Macquarie; beautiful beaches,...."

We love that area so much that we ended up buying a place in Port Macquarie. From our place we can see right up the north coast over the river entrance and observe the 4wd's driving along the beach. Just magnificent.
FollowupID: 437264

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:28

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:28
Here here, Bware and ppass.

I have lived near South West Rocks and now Port Macquarie for the last 13 years.

Gods country for somewhere to live and use as a base, but still have the need to get out there and see as much as possible.

As to where would I return to, probably havent found that yet except home. There is to much to see and I havent seen it all so far, so am still looking for the "favourite" place.
FollowupID: 437302

Follow Up By: pprass - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:29

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:29
Cruiser - I am actually right now looking for employment in Port so that we can move there permanently from Melbourne. There was an opportunity in South Kempsy on Saturday that just slipped away and I am still waiting to hear whether I can get into Country Energy.

Trying, trying trying........
FollowupID: 437356

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:46

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 17:46
pprass,

Good luck with the job hunting.

I have given up trying.

Sold my business interests 9 months ago, and have applied for about 30 jobs since, had 2 interviews and no go with them.

Even applied to do Census Collection and was knocked back on that.

Must be an age thing. Oops, thats not politically correct is it.

Might see you around Port sometime (dont know how I will know you though)
FollowupID: 437408

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:01

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:01
Politically correct or not, It's a fact Cruiser.
FollowupID: 437411

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:43

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:43
So lie about your age.

And if you get the job and, later, have to provide proof of age and they don't like it ask them if they are discriminating against you on grounds of age?

FollowupID: 437419

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:18

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:18
If only it was that easy
FollowupID: 437425

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:30

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 19:30
Oh well... I've never been much of a one for rules :)
FollowupID: 437427

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:13

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:13
Went to the Styx River over the long weekend great place we camped at Farewell flat which is now known as Wattle flat 2

FollowupID: 437454

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:30

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:30
Looks like there are enough "Forumites" around the Mid North Coast to have our own get together.
FollowupID: 437459

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:31

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 00:31
Mike,

One can possibly lie away 10 years. 20 is a virtual impossibility :)
FollowupID: 437480

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 03:06

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 03:06
Anywhere in the Flinders. They've saved my sanity many times. Whether from giving me time to deal with personal problems or having few quiet beers with mates around the fire.

Took my girlfriend there for one of her first camping experiences a few years ago. Now she actually enjoys it and we will be travelling Oz in camper trailer.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 180965

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 03:55

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 03:55
Good luck to you mate; nothing better than a partner with the same interests/ views. Mould her well for the future, not the other way 'round!
FollowupID: 437244

Follow Up By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:51

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:51
LOL,
What goes around comes around.

I'm stickin with them, cos they are the power.

Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

FollowupID: 437593

Reply By: Mike Harding - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:51

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 07:51
I would spend more time on the Gulf - almost anywhere.

The High Country especially in spring - almost anywhere.

The Murray River either in far NW or far NE Victoria.

And this place - A chapel in a cave at the Gorge de Galamus in southern France, I am not religious but it is a place of total calm and tranquillity.

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

AnswerID: 180972

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:13

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:13
Hi Rick,

I'd go back to Innamincka in a flash, Kingfisher Camp in the Gulf, and anywhere in WA...

Lyn
AnswerID: 180978

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:24

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:24
The Kimberley for me. I have unfinished fishing at Kalumburu, Walcott Inlet and the lower Ord. On the Cape there are several places calling out to me and I reckon there are probably another 6 visits there for me.

AnswerID: 180983

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:26

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 16:26
I'll second the Kimberley Beatit.

A beautiful place - such great rivers , such beautiful waterfalls , such magnificent gorges , such superb rock art , such brilliant fishing , such ..........................

Willie .
FollowupID: 437354

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:27
Hmmmm. Too many new places to go to to waste much time going back where I've already been :-)

Apart from Fraser Island that is..... Back there on Saturday :-))))))
AnswerID: 180985

Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:33

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:33
Myall Lakes National Park NSW. Any one of the huge amount of camping grounds. It's got everything. Always go there when me and +1 have a spare weekend. I hardly ever go anywhere else, i probabkly should try and go to some different places ... . . . . . . . . . . . but hey, why change if it aint broken !

Oh ... and Mt Chanomix (snow skiing location in France)
AnswerID: 180986

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:38

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:38
Aw, I can't decide between....

Cullyamurra Waterhole near Inamincka
Katarapko Creek (National Park) near Berrie
Brachina Gorge, Flinders Ranges.

If I HAD to choose.....Flinders Ranges..... otherwise, I'll return to all of them.

AnswerID: 180988

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:43

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:43
Yep I'm for the Flinders too. When I was a kid my parents took us up there a lot. The smell of native pine on the campfire take me back there in an instant.
FollowupID: 437491

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:44

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:44
The Kimberley for me too. Was based in Derby for a couple of years in the 70s when the mining exploration activity was high. Got to know people out on the stations and was shown many spots that few know about. Magic.

Did a lot of 4WD on station tracks and boat travelling around the coast with an aboriginal friend which opened my eyes to to things I would not have seen otherwise.

Australia has many wonderful places but I seem to keep going back to the Kimberley. Pity it is not like the 70s - too many people and controls now, but I guess that is progress and necessary because of the increasing idiot density.

Why did you have to ask this question? I won't be able to concentrate all day now.

alastair
AnswerID: 180991

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:56

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 08:56
Hi Rick

For us the answer is the Talbotville area near Dargo in Victoria.

We have also been to many of the great places in this country, and
some are truly spectacular, more so than this area, but many of then are driveby
look/see don't play and keep going on the single road e.g. fruit bat falls etc etc.

It is the confluence of features that make this area so special.

It begins with being acessible all year round, even to soft roaders and
you can camp free out of the back of the car by a river, light a fire all year round
and even take the dog.

Just the above rules out so many areas now.

But then it continues by having so many of the classic tracks completable within less than a days drive, such as Blue Rag, the 4000ft climb up Billy goats, Wonanggata and the list goes on.
But then you throw in the fact that there are at least eight tracks in the immediate area from Basalt knob to Collingwood spur that climb from the river valley to high ridges, most of which can be done in an hour or two. Some of these can be seen from your campsite even.
Then we get serious with not less than 50 river crossings across 4 rivers, mine sites and old relics to explore, spectacular roads with huge dropoffs and overhanging rocks.
Its then less than an hour to top up on supplies or to have a classic Dargo Pub experience.
The place can even still supply camping spots in peak season. Relative safe to send the kids of all ages down a river on lilo's and warm enough to enjoy swimming in the rivers.
But even at Xmas, once every 2 or 3 years you can find snow on the nearby Hotham ski resorts and overlook the ski runs with cappicino in hand.

Its near unbelieveable but most of the camping areas are not in national parks but
state forest, and the area is supported by first class accurate maps.

On second thoughts please erase this post before the authorites read it and ban something.

AnswerID: 180993

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:07

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:07
"On second thoughts please erase this post before the authorites read it and ban something."

LMAO. But it is the truth.

FollowupID: 437263

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:08

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:08
I'd like to go back to the Gunnadoo Caravan Park in Longreach. It was the place where, on our very first big trip we first felt the excitement of travelling. Our kids were small, eyes big with excitement as we sat around the campfire with other travellers singing and telling stories. That feeling of excitement carried us through our first trip and never left us.

I'd like to go back to sitting on the grass at Springvale Station in the dusk, watching the bats blackening the sky as they flew back from wherever they'd been for the day.

I'd like to be at Oenpelli Open Day watching the footy and the kids running around kicking the ball with bare feet.

Jowallbinna Bush Camp near Laura...talking to Percy Trezise

Chili Beach camp with the wind howling through the palms and the coconuts thudding down around us.

Walking through Windjana Gorge in the early morning

Canoeing down Dimond Gorge..only us to enjoy the peace and beauty

Parap Market Saturday mornings...Mindil Markets Thursday nights

I'd just like to go back to capture the feeling that I had at those time and many, many others.

Then there are any of the many lunch time stops by the sides of many different roads...just to get the feeling of being "on the road"....Or the setting up camp at any of the various campsites...just because it means we're "on holiday".

There has never been a place that bad that I wouldn't go back and never been a place that I haven't wanted to go. I just love to get out there and see it all.

AnswerID: 180997

Follow Up By: Deanna & Bevan (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:37

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:37
"Then there are any of the many lunch time stops by the sides of many roads.. just to get the feeling of being 'on the road.'

" there has never been a place that bad that I wouldn't go back and never been a place that I haven't wanted to go."

My sentiments exactly, we just love to get out there to see what is there and just that feeling the day before you leave and when you actually get in the vehicle to take off and sing "We're on the road again" Ha ha ha

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 437461

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:04
That's exactly right. It's a great feeling to finally get away after all the planning and dreaming. We always leave straight after work and drive about four hours then stop for the night. We're way too excited to sleep at home...feet just itching to get going. On the way home the hand gets twitchy on the steering wheel wanting to turn around and do it all again!!

Best wishes

Viv
FollowupID: 437466

Reply By: pprass - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:22

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:22
A special place to us?

Of all the places we have been to, there is something strangely alluring about Fraser Isl. We will never forget the very first time that we hit the Eastern Beach after driving across the island from Moon Point (I think?). It felt like total freedom - we were so excited and had smiles from ear to ear. We have been back 4 times since then and each time we have been totally rejuvinated as soon as we touch that magic beach. It is a certain cure when you become somewhat jaded after years of tripping around.
AnswerID: 181000

Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:57

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 09:57
Lawn Hill Gorge, by canoe. Magic
AnswerID: 181005

Reply By: brian - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:41

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:41
great places for me?....camping along yalwal creek near the junction of shoalhaven river,now locked up,almost any desert area,innaminka,victoria alpine regions when snow is about,flinders,fraser island something special,lifes too short to see enough of this land.
AnswerID: 181010

Reply By: Michael B - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:44

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 10:44
Morning Rick,

So many places, and each have that certain 'something' special to that dot on the map.

However Nhulunbuy in the NT is one place that I will return to. Weather is good, plenty of beaches, solitude, brilliant fishing, great 4WD tracks, magnificent sunsets,
and when we left in '92 it still hadn't really been 'discovered'

Memories are just great, and they keep us going when you just cannot get away.

Michael B (SA)

AnswerID: 181011

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 11:26
Now this is a real challenge.m After last years long is trip away there are so many places I would revisit however these would be my favorites:
Mataranka: I just loved it there, sitting ( standing) in the thermal pools for hours on end discussing & solving all the problems of the world, with fellow members of the grey brigade, was very relaxing.
Alice Springs: I was just over awed by the majestic, rugged scenery and the colours of the landscape.
Port Stephens: When I had a boat this was a truly spectacular place, a nice spot to get your gear off to at Samurai beach.
The Gippsland Lakes: A lovely part of Australia but becomming just a tad "upmarket" & "trendy"....The rugged coastal dunes and sweeping ocean vistas make up for it though.
AnswerID: 181016

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 11:52

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 11:52
Hi Rick,

For us our absolute favourites are Moreton and Fraser Islands. Moreton reminds me a bit of Fraser going back some years when it was not quite so busy.

Even though our kids have grown up and left home we all still regularly go to these two spots and have a great time.

The appealing thing is the sense of freedom and relaxation in the pristine surroundings.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 181018

Reply By: ro-dah-o (WA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 13:45

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 13:45
many many places id like to return to, but the stand out would be the wa goldfields for me. Alot of beutiful country to explore, alot of history and for me one of the greatest sky shows at night- nothing like the stars on the edge of the desert, with the warm flickering glow of a camp fire. the only downside is the three weeks you spend cleaning out the red dust from the car after!
AnswerID: 181025

Reply By: Jacked off - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:16

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:16
I would say the Pilbara region of WA. Many happy expeiences camping at places like Kalgan Pool, Weeli Wolli Creek (hope the spelling is right) and around the Wittenoom Georges. Unfortunately I don't get enough opprotunities to return often enough.
AnswerID: 181031

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:22

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:22
West Kunderang,

Upper reaches of the Macley River below Armidale. One of the last pieces of freehold cattle run in the centre of the Oxley Wild Rivers Wilderness Area. The owners (McRae Family), allow no more than five groups in at a time, each have their own seperate camp site. Bass, Freshwater Herring, Mullet & Catfish. Beautiful swimming holes, bushwalking and general lazing around. Wallabies, kanga's, platapussies, tortles and all sorts of flighty life.

Take everything in with you and bring everything out at the end of you trip (other than what you leave in the long hole at each campsite). Great cooking fireplace at each camp and heaps of aged hardwood supplied. The owners actually live at Jeogla, not on the property and you often have the whole place to yourself.

Yes! Definately go back there and am trying to set a date.

Happy to post more info if anyone desires.

AnswerID: 181032

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:58

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 14:58
Yes please!
FollowupID: 437306

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:55

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 18:55
Now ya talking.

Been there and it is somewhere that everyone should try to get to at some stage.

Magic Magic Magic, sure helps keep the blood pressure down and the hosts (Cindy and Max) are great as well.
FollowupID: 437421

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 12:53

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 12:53
Bware,

This has become a long, long thread. Don't know if it's correct etiquit but have started a new post (July 1st) for some info on West Kunderaing.

FollowupID: 437685

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:14

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 14:14
I am having a massive clean out today and only just threw the info on West Kunderang in the bin.

If you want me to send it to you, I can retrieve it if you like.

Member message me and give contact details.
FollowupID: 437692

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:49

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 21:49
Cheers fellas, thanks to you both

FollowupID: 437739

Reply By: ThePunter - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:32

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 15:32
I was born in Gympie and spent most of my youth in the surrounding areas some 30+ years ago. I spent a lot of my weekends at Noosa, Rainbow Beech, Inskip Point Double Island Point and Fresh Water. One of my favourite spots was Fresh Water. In those days they used to drive the sand mining trucks up and down the beach and that was about the only traffic there was. Then the greenies came in and advertised the area to the rest of the world. Now I believe it is like Queen/Burke/Pitt Street. Does anybody have any photos of Fresh Water as I am told that there is a Caravan Park there now? I could see Fraser from our boat but I have not been there. One day I will get there again. Anyway I digress.

I now live in Melbourne and whenever I can, not nearly enough, I visit the High Country. Winter, Spring, Sumer Autumn, Doesn’t matter what time of the year, it is a fantastic and diverse place to visit. As Robin said in a previous post, there are plenty of challenging tracks and a lot to see. In fact I will be going there in a couple of weeks even though a lot of the tracks will be closed. We will do some driving, some eating, and some drinking of good wine around the camp fire. All in all it will be a relaxing weeks. I can’t wait to get up there again.
AnswerID: 181042

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:19

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:19
Anywhere around the northern rivers area after revisiting the Styx River i must say it hasn't changed much over the last 25yrs.

AnswerID: 181106

Reply By: Jagg - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:45

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 21:45
There are just too many great places to choose from but these would be right up there;

Cape Leveque
Coral Bay
Kimberly Region
Lawn Hill National Park
Nhulunbuy
Coburg Peninsula
Bungles........................and then there's Central Aust, Simpson Desert, the Gulf Country, South West WA & I could go on & on.........what a great country we have!

cheers & enjoy
AnswerID: 181112

Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:34

Saturday, Jul 01, 2006 at 16:34
All of the above - and add - Kakadu - Fraser - Tassy (all over) - anywhere along the murray - Karajini - 80 Mile Beach - Kalgoorlie - Flinders (South) - Palm Valley - Vic High Country - and on and on - on the road would be good - just love to be travelling.
jules
FollowupID: 437705

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:05

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 22:05
Rick,
Not sure what you are after, but if it is somewhere close to Adelaide for a quick trip, then we like Pine Soak Hut, Ngakat NP, nice camp site and central to some good drives.

Other wise, can't go wrong with Flinders Ranges.

Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 181118

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:43

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 17:43
Prickle, did you get your name from the feeling you got when the Crows beat Power last time they met, by about 15 goals?
FollowupID: 437590

Reply By: extfilm - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:09

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:09
Rick,

One word sums it up for me

"AUSTRALIA"
AnswerID: 181125

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:31

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 08:31
Hmmm, pretty well covers it for me too :))))
FollowupID: 437501

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:50

Thursday, Jun 29, 2006 at 23:50
I thought Russel & Mary's reply (the first reply) was gunna be hard to beat, but maybe the last reply, # 28, from extfilm was OK too.

However, I was not looking for somewhere to go, but I WAS interested in "why you do what you do".

Here's a bit about "why I do what I do".

I prefer to plan an iteneray with a theme. I consider places of intrigue & see if I can construct an itinerary that fits a given time frame (still working for a living).
Then, given the miles/days/time frames, I think about who I will invite to be with me in the car, or in their car with us. This really makes a difference as it can make or break a trip. For exmple, I would never take a novice camper/driver for an 8 hour excursion & the expect them to set up camp, cook, and then feel satisfied . It's too much, and unfair on such a person. (I love creating a themed journey & planning & executing the menus, side day trips, special features, etc.)

Then I spend heaps of time reseearching the history, flora, fauna, and land use patterns etc. I get all available maps of the area, and re consider/re jig my route(s) if necassary. Then I get to the history aspects, and often carry all the relevant historical notes, plus regional field books on birds, animals, plants etc. By the time i get to "That location", I hardly need the maps. This lets me immerse myself in that location /route.

So what I am saying is I attempt to get an intimate understanding of that location. I re- live many of these trips , and it is the buzz from a well understood locality that enables me to identify with that region. It is immensley rewarding, beleive me.

I'm not a fastidiuos geek, plenty of rough edges here, but INTERPRETATION is the key for a very rewarding experience.

e.g. I drove nearly all the 1300 km length of the Georgina River system in 2004, when it carried water in it for virtualy all of that length,. A once in a lifetime opportunity. Great vsitas, fantastic camp spots , hot as hell , tooo may flies - unbeatable, really. All with my 76 y.o. father. Tops for both of us, in so many ways.

& thanks for the responses.
AnswerID: 181130

Follow Up By: Muzzgit (WA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 01:15

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 01:15
Thats funny, really funny, cos that's exactly the oppisite of how we do it.

Usually while we are sitting around the camp fire after tea, and after opening a bottle of port, we will nominate the person who decides on the next destination. Usually that next destination is chosen because we have never been there before and wonder what it's like. The only thing that is decided by the "group" is which weekend we're gonna do it on.

Once we get to a place, we cruise around and "check it out" and casually decide where we're going to sleep and whether we'll stay for another day or should we "cruise on".
FollowupID: 437483

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:31

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:31
I think I get what you're saying. You know we all like to travel, camp, explore etc..you would like to know the processes behind why we choose to go where and the reasons why we do it in all the varying ways we do. A bit confused there, but I think that's what you were meaning.

What I do is decide where to go....eg Kimberley. Then I get the maps out and try to work out the most interesting way to get there....trying to stay off the main roads and trying to involve visiting many different places as possible. I read, make phone calls and find out as much about places as I can. Because we love horse sports (races, rodeos, campdrafts etc) I find out what events are on in the areas while we're there. There's always something. Once I get a list of these, I then try to link our travels up with what's on so that almost every week end we have something to go to. I also find out about the history of the areas and the places that we can visit to learn more about the people that pioneered the area.

Lately I've become interested in Len Beadell and his roads, Madigan, Calvert and others who have ventured out into the deserts and pioneered tracks across them. I've always been interested in the drovers like Nat Buchanan, Matt Savage etc and the various stock routes throughout the country as well as the explorers like Stuart, Leichardt etc. Our trips try to involve following some of their paths and I hope future trips will follow all of the Beadell roads.

So, unlike a lot of others on the forum, I don't do a lot of just heading out into the bush and camping. Not that I wouldn't like to have more time to do that... My trips are usually over four to eight weeks and hopefully take me somewhere warm....at the moment have only one month to go to get away from Victoria's frosts. Can't wait.
Viv
FollowupID: 437489

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:08

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 12:08
Yes, Viv, that is it exactly it for me.

Interesting that others do differently. I am not passing judgement on any method or modus operandi.

I am fascinated with the Rangelands (aka deserts) I usually travel with a theme of exploration, as I am particularly interetsed in the exploration of SA & the NT. Favourite explorers, many of whom I have crossed the tracks of, include:
Stuart (www.johnmcdouallstuart.org.au)
McKinlay
Ernest Giles
Larry Wells
Carnegie
AC Gregory
Warburton
Goyder
Gosse
Madigan
Terry
RT Maurice
Charles Winnecke
Eyre
Frome
Parry
Burke & Wills
Davidson
David Lindsay
etc.

And I have had the pleasure of meeting Len Beadell, and hearing his famous talk 'live'

I have published some work on some of the 'stuff' I have found & seen, and that was very rewarding., as I certainly am not an acedemic.

Viv, hit me off line if you like on: r i c k m o o r e @ p a c i f i c dot net dot a u

FollowupID: 437544

Follow Up By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:39

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 20:39
Rick,

You must put a lot of work into the planning of your trips. It certainly makes it mean a lot when you can relate where you are to a person or an event. We went on the Bullita Stock Route a couple of years ago mainly because of Charlie Schultz and Beyond the Big Run. Would like to go back and do more in that area.

I'll get in touch...would really like to read what you have published.

We're off on our trip in a month...Gary Junction Road to Marble Bar then Broome and the Gibb River Road, Mitchell Falls and Kalumburu.

Viv
FollowupID: 437634

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:50

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 07:50
Send me to the Flinders.

I spent a lot of time up there camping with my parents and some time working on my uncle' property near Devils Peak in the Pitchi Ritchi Pass. The smell of native pine smoke takes me back there in an instant.

There is just something about the area that is in my blood. I drive a lot from Adelaide to Whyalla for work and every time I go through Port Augusta the temptation is to turn right and keep on going.

Paj
AnswerID: 181142

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:08

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:08
Pete,
My steering pulls to the right there too :-)))
FollowupID: 437638

Reply By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:22

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 21:22
Im going back up to the Pilbara next week, particularly Wittenoom, Millstream and Karijini I hope it is all still where I left it 25 years ago.

Plan to include Mt Augustus to Parabadoo, Karijini national park, Dampier (Burrup peninsula) Exmouth to Coral Bay.

As for the other side of Aus I would love to go back to the Vic High Country, Blue Rag. Love to see the Tasie wset coast tracks again Tryal Harbour to Granville when it is not raining or fogged out. The highlihgts of Tas for me were Montezuma falls and the track from Queenstown to Mount McCall and the Franklin River.
AnswerID: 181300

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:03

Friday, Jun 30, 2006 at 23:03
Litchfield NP for me. Got to go back as it was only on return day trip from Darwin to Katherine and I preferred it to Kakadu NP which I did the day before.
AnswerID: 181307

Reply By: Off-track - Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:33

Wednesday, Jul 05, 2006 at 23:33
Starting to get the impression that you croweaters dont get out of the state much?

Anyway for me it would be back to Alice and Central Australia. I grew up there as a kid in the 70's and my heart still skips a beat every time I see a pic or go back there. Seems like a millenium ago I lived there but at the same time it's like I never left.
AnswerID: 182047